DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, 10-13, 15-16, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuramoto et al. US 20220250714 A1 in view of Cai et al. US 20180244305 A1.
Regarding independent claim 1, Kuramoto et al. discloses [a vehicle system comprising: a first intermediate gear 45 fixed to a first pinion 46, the first intermediate gear and the first pinion aligned along a first axis of rotation J3, the first pinion engaged with the ring gear 31;] (Annotation of Fig. 5; Paragraph 0043; As shown in the annotated Fig. 5 below, Kuramoto et al. illustrates wherein a first intermediate gear 45 is fixed to a first pinion 46 and the first intermediate gear and first pinon are aligned along a first axis of rotation J3.) [a second intermediate gear 43 fixed to a second pinion 44, the second intermediate gear and the second pinion aligned along a second axis of rotation different than the first axis of rotation, the second pinion directly engaged with the first intermediate gear;] (Annotation of Fig. 5; Paragraph 0043; As shown in the annotated Fig. 5 below, Kuramoto et al. illustrates wherein a second intermediate gear 43 is fixed to a second pinion 44 and the second intermediate gear, wherein the second pinion directly engages with the first intermediate gear 45 and the second pinon and second intermediate gear are aligned along a first axis of rotation.) [a motor 20 fixed to a third pinion 22, the third pinion engaged with the second intermediate gear or a third intermediate gear.] (Annotated Fig. 5; Paragraph 0032; As shown in the annotation of Fig. 5 below, Kuramoto et al. illustrates a motor 20 fixed to a third pinion 22, the third pinion engaged with the second intermediate gear 43.)
Annotated Fig. 7 of Kuramoto et al.
Kuramoto et al. does not disclose the vehicle steering system comprising; a worm gear; a ring gear fixed to an end of the worm gear; a ball nut surrounding a portion of the worm gear, the ball nut including ball bearings and ball guides; the motor to rotate the worm gear to translate the ball nut.
Cai et al. teaches [the vehicle steering system 20 comprising; a worm gear 46;] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0013) [a ring gear 114 fixed to an end of the worm gear;] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0020; As shown in Fig. 1, Cai et al. illustrates wherein a ring gear 114 is fixed to an end portion of the worm gear 46.) [a ball nut 58 surrounding a portion of the worm gear, the ball nut including ball bearings 62 and ball guides 60;] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0014) and [a sector gear 68, 70 engaged with the ball nut, the sector gear to rotate as the ball nut translates;] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0016) [the motor rotates the worm gear to translate to the ball nut;] (Fig. 1-4; Paragraph 0018 and 0024) [wherein the end of the worm gear is a first end of the worm gear, further including an input shaft 76 to couple a steering shaft of a vehicle to a second end of the worm gear;] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0017; Cai et al. discloses an input shaft 76 that is directly connected to the second end section 54 of a worm shaft 46 along the axis of rotation A. The input shaft extends from the second end of the worm shaft and is responsive to rotation of a steering wheel, thus functioning to couple the vehicle’s steering shaft to the worm gear. Cai further explains that a lost motion connection 82 allows a small degree of relative motion between the input shaft and the worm shaft, while a torsion bar 84 interconnects them to bias against the motion, which demonstrates that the worm gear has a first end and a second end coupled to the steering shaft through the input shaft.) [wherein the worm gear 46 and the ring gear 114 are aligned along a third axis of rotation A parallel to the first axis of rotation.] (Fig. 1 of Cai et al.; As shown in Fig. 1, Cai illustrates the worm gear 46 and the ring gear 114 forming a third axis of rotation that would be parallel to the first rotation axis of Kuramoto et al.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the worm gear, ring gear, ball nut, and sector gear configuration of Cai et al. with the vehicle system of Kuramoto et al. with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for conventional recirculating ball steering operation by translating rotation of the worm gear into motion of the ball nut and sector gear, thus improving load transfer, durability, and steering functionality
Regarding claim 3, Kuramoto et al., as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [a bearing journal 411 for the second intermediate gear 43 and the second pinion 44, the bearing journal positioned at least one of within a circumference of the second intermediate gear or on a side of the second intermediate gear opposite the second pinion.] (Fig. 5 of Kuramoto et al.; Paragraph 0067 of Kuramoto et al.; As shown in Fig. 5, Kuramoto et al. illustrates wherein the bearing journal 411 is positioned on a side of the second intermediate gear 43 opposite to the second pinion 44.)
Regarding claim 4, Kuramoto et al., as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [wherein the bearing journal 411 is a first bearing journal,] (Fig. 5 of Kuramoto et al.; Paragraph 0067 of Kuramoto et al.) [further including a second bearing journal 412 for the second intermediate gear 43 and the second pinion 44, the second bearing journal positioned on an opposite side of the second intermediate gear from the first bearing journal.] (Fig. 5 of Kuramoto et al.; Paragraph 0067 of Kuramoto et al.; As shown in Fig. 5, Kuramoto et al. illustrates wherein the bearing journal 412 is positioned on an opposite side of the second intermediate gear 43 from the first bearing journal 411.)
Regarding claim 6, Kuramoto et al., as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [a bearing journal 422 for the first intermediate gear 45 and the first pinion 46, the bearing journal positioned on a side of the first pinion opposite the first intermediate gear.] (Fig. 5 of Kuramoto et al.; Paragraph 0068 of Kuramoto et al.; As shown in Fig. 5, Kuramoto et al. illustrates a bearing journal 422 for the first intermediate gear 45 and the first pinion 46, the bearing journal positioned on a side of the first pinion opposite the first intermediate gear.)
Regarding claim 7, Kuramoto et al., as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [wherein the bearing journal 422 is a first bearing journal,] (Fig. 5 of Kuramoto et al.; Paragraph 0068 of Kuramoto et al.) [further including a second bearing journal 421 for the first intermediate gear and the first pinion, the second bearing journal positioned between the first intermediate gear and the first pinion.] (Fig. 5 of Kuramoto et al.; Paragraph 0068 of Kuramoto et al.; As shown in Fig. 5, Kuramoto et al. illustrates a second bearing journal 421 for the first intermediate gear 45 and the first pinion 46, the second bearing journal 421 positioned between the first intermediate gear and the first pinion.)
Regarding claim 10, Kuramoto et al., as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including the worm gear configuration recited in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 11, Kuramoto et al., as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [wherein the second axis of rotation J2 is parallel to the first axis of rotation J3.] (Fig. 5 of Kuramoto et al.; As shown in Fig. 5, Kuramoto et al. illustrates wherein the second axis of rotation J2 is parallel to the first axis of rotation J3.)
Regarding claim 12, Kuramoto et al., as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including the third and first axis of rotation arrangement recited in the rejection of claim 1 above and [wherein the motor 20 and the third pinion 22 are aligned along a fourth axis of rotation J1 parallel to a third axis of rotation J4.] (Fig. 5 of Kuramoto et al.; As shown in Fig. 5, Kuramoto et al. illustrates wherein the motor 20 and the third pinion 22 are aligned along a fourth axis of rotation J1 parallel to a third axis of rotation J4.)
Regarding independent claim 13, Kuramoto et al. discloses [an apparatus comprising: a first gear set including a pinion 22 of a motor 20 engaged with a first intermediate gear 43,] (Annotated Fig. 5 above) [wherein the first gear set provides a first gear reduction from the pinion of the motor to the first intermediate gear;] (Fig. 5 of Kuramoto et al.; As shown in Fig. 5, Kuramoto et al. illustrates wherein the first gear set provides a first gear reduction from the pinion 22 of the motor 20 to the first intermediate gear 43.) [a second gear set including a pinion 46 of the first intermediate gear 45 engaged with a second intermediate gear 43, wherein the second gear set provides a second gear reduction from the pinion of the first intermediate gear to the second intermediate gear;] (Fig. 5 of Kuramoto et al.; As shown in Fig. 5, Kuramoto et al. illustrates wherein a second gear set including a pinion 46 of the first intermediate gear 45 engaged with a second intermediate gear 43.) [and a third gear set including a pinion 44 of the second intermediate gear 43 engaged with the ring gear 31 or a third intermediate gear, wherein the third gear set provides a third gear reduction from the pinion 44 of the second intermediate gear 43 to the ring gear 31 or the third intermediate gear.] (Fig. 5 of Kuramoto et al.; As shown in Fig. 5, Kuramoto et al. illustrates the third gear set provides a third gear reduction from the pinion 44 of the second intermediate gear 43 to the ring gear 31.)
Kuramoto et al. does not disclose a worm gear fixed to a ring gear and a fourth gear set including a ball nut engaged with a portion of the worm gear, the ball nut to translate as the worm gear rotates.
Cai et al. teaches [a worm gear 46 fixed to a ring gear 114] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0020; As shown in Fig. 1, Cai et al. illustrates wherein a ring gear 114 is fixed to an end portion of the worm gear 46.) and [a fourth gear set including a ball nut 58 engaged with a portion of the worm gear, the ball nut to translate as the worm gear rotates;] (Fig. 1; Paragraph 0016) [wherein the worm gear 46 and the ring gear 114 are aligned along a third axis of rotation A parallel to the first axis of rotation.] (Fig. 1 of Cai et al.; As shown in Fig. 1, Cai illustrates the worm gear 46 and the ring gear 114 forming a second axis of rotation that would be parallel to the first rotation axis of Kuramoto et al.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the worm gear, ring gear, and ball nut configuration of Cai et al. with the vehicle system of Kuramoto et al. with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for conventional recirculating ball steering operation by translating rotation of the worm gear into motion of the ball nut, thus improving load transfer, durability, and steering functionality.
Regarding claim 15, Kuramoto et al., as modified, further discloses all of the claimed limitation above, including [a first bearing 421 disposed between the first gear set and the second gear set;] (Fig. 5 of Kuramoto et al.; Paragraph 0068; As show in Fig. 5, Kuramoto et al., illustrates a first bearing 421 disposed between the first gear set and the second gear set.) [a second bearing 422 disposed on an opposite side of the second gear set relative to the first bearing.] (Fig. 5 of Kuramoto et al.; Paragraph 0068As show in Fig. 5, Kuramoto et al., illustrates a second bearing 422 disposed on an opposite side of the second gear set relative to the first bearing 421.)
Regarding claim 16, Kuramoto et al., further discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including the first and second axis of rotation arrangement recited in the rejection of claim 13 above and [wherein the first intermediate gear 45 and the pinon of the first intermediate gear 46 are aligned along a first axis of rotation J3.] (Fig. 5 of Kuramoto et al.; As shown in Fig. 5, Kuramoto et al. illustrates wherein the first intermediate gear 45 and the pinon of the first intermediate gear 46 are aligned along a first axis of rotation J3.)
Regarding claim 21, Kuramoto et al., as modified, discloses all of the claimed limitations above, including [wherein a first engagement between the first pinion 46 and the ring gear 31 provides a first gear reduction,] (Fig. 5 of Kuramoto et al.; As shown in Fig. 5, Kuramoto et al. illustrates a first engagement between the first pinion 46 and the ring gear 31 provides a first gear reduction.) [a second engagement between the second pinion 44 and the first intermediate gear 45 provides a second gear reduction,] (Fig. 5 of Kuramoto et al.; As shown in Fig. 5, Kuramoto et al. illustrates a first engagement between the second pinion 44 and the first intermediate gear 45 provides a second gear reduction.) and [a third engagement between the third pinion 22 and the second intermediate gear 43 or the third intermediate gear provides a third gear reduction.] (Fig. 5 of Kuramoto et al.; As shown in Fig. 5, Kuramoto et al. illustrates a third engagement between the third pinion 22 and the second intermediate gear 43 or the third intermediate gear provides a third gear reduction.)
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuramoto et al. in view of Cai et al. and further in view Hauck EP 2019021 A1 (page/line numbering used for foreign references below corresponds to the machine-translation preceding the original patent, as attached to the prior Office Action – note page numbers of the translation are marked as TP-1, TP-2, etc.).
Regarding claim 8, Kuramoto et al., as modified, does not disclose wherein the first intermediate gear and the second pinion are aligned along a geometric plane, and wherein the second intermediate gear and the first pinion are positioned on a same side of the geometric plane.
Hauck teaches [wherein the intermediate gear and the pinion are aligned along a geometric plane,] (Annotation of Fig. 3; As shown in the annotation of Fig. 3 below, Hauck illustrates wherein the intermediate gear 3 and the pinion 12 are aligned along a geometric plane.) and [wherein the second intermediate gear and the first pinion are positioned on a same side of the geometric plane.] (Annotation of Fig. 3; As shown in the annotation of Fig. 3 below, Hauck illustrates wherein another intermediate gear 5 and another pinion 8 are aligned along another geometric plane.)
Annotated Fig. 3 of Hauck
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the geometric plane alignment of Hauck with the vehicle system of Kuramoto et al., as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for improved spatial organization and meshing consistency of the gears, thus enhancing packaging efficient and reducing misalignment stresses in the steering system.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuramoto et al. in view of Cai et al. and further in view Saruwatari JP 2008254624 A (page/line numbering used for foreign references below corresponds to the machine-translation preceding the original patent, as attached to the prior Office Action – note page numbers of the translation are marked as TP-1, TP-2, etc.).
Regarding claim 9, Kuramoto et al., as modified, does not disclose [wherein the first intermediate gear includes a first diameter, and wherein the second intermediate gear includes a second diameter smaller than the first diameter.]
Saruwatari teaches [wherein the first intermediate gear includes a first diameter, and wherein the second intermediate gear includes a second diameter smaller than the first diameter.] (Fig. 1; As shown in Fig. 1, Saruwatari illustrates wherein a first intermediate gear 84 has a larger diameter than a second intermediate gear 85.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the different diameter configurations of Saruwatari with the vehicle system of Kuramoto et al., as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for optimization of torque transmission and packaging efficiency within the steering system, thus improving performance while reducing space requirements.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 5, and 14 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 2 contains the limitation a fourth pinion fixed to the third intermediate gear, wherein the third pinion is engaged with the third intermediate gear, and wherein the fourth pinion is engaged with the second intermediate gear. The closest prior art, Kuramoto et al. US 20220250714 A1, discloses a third pinion, but does not disclose a fourth pinion fixed to the third intermediate gear, wherein the third pinion is engaged with the third intermediate gear, and wherein the fourth pinion is engaged with the second intermediate gear.
Claim 5 contains the limitation a third bearing journal for the second intermediate gear and the second pinion, the third bearing journal positioned between the second intermediate gear and the second pinion. The closest prior art, Kuramoto et al. US 20220250714 A1, discloses third bearing journal for the second intermediate gear and the second pinion, but does not disclose the third bearing journal positioned between the second intermediate gear and the second pinion.
Claim 14 contains the limitation of a fifth gear set wherein the pinion of the second intermediate gear is engaged with the third intermediate gear, the fifth gear set including the third intermediate gear and a pinion of the third intermediate gear, the pinion of the third intermediate gear engaged with the ring gear. The closest prior art, Kuramoto et al. US 20220250714 A1, fails to disclose a fifth gear set wherein the pinion of the second intermediate gear is engaged with the third intermediate gear, the fifth gear set including the third intermediate gear and a pinion of the third intermediate gear, the pinion of the third intermediate gear engaged with the ring gear.
Claim 17-19 allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 17 recites the limitation wherein a placement of the second axis of rotation and the third axis of rotation is orbital relative to the first axis of rotation. The closest prior art, Hikida et al. US 20210261186 A1, discloses a first, second, and third axis of rotation, but does not disclose wherein a placement of the second axis of rotation and the third axis of rotation is orbital relative to the first axis of rotation.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments, see pages 7-13 on Remarks, filed 05/13/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-16 and 21 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Kuramoto et al. US 20220250714 A1.
Conclusion
/Mohamed M Medani/Examiner, Art Unit 3611
/VALENTIN NEACSU, Ph.D./Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3611