Response to Amendment
This action is responsive to amendments/remarks received 11/18/2025. Claims 20, 26-28, 31-34 and 41-44 amended. Claims 20-28, 31-39 and 41-44 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20, 22, 24, 26-28, 31-32, 34, 36, 38, 41-42 and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eckert (US Patent No. 20190295397), in view of Lewis (US Patent No. 20100245083 A1).
In re claim 20, Eckert teaches A system comprising:
a plurality of sensors, wherein each sensor [1] is configured to monitor at least one parameter of an indoor space and to generate sensed data, and [2] is at a known location (Para [0022]: “The EIS receives information using sensor device units 10 (FIGS. 1 and 2) which are strategically placed throughout a building to detect an emergency event, such as a fire, active shooter event, chemical, carbon monoxide, hazmat, tornado, flood, bomb threat, suspicious package, etc. For example, in the case of an active shooter event, sensors 10 will detect an audible boom sound from a gunshot. In some embodiments, the sensors 10 include microphones to detect the sound of a gunshot. Sensors 10 will be positioned throughout the building at critical areas such as north and south doors 14 and 18 (FIG. 4), large gathering areas and some designated rooms. The sensor unit 10 can detect a variety of sensory events caused by a gunshot such as high decibel audible boom sound, muzzle flash, or gunpowder smoke etc. within the detectable area of the sensor unit 10 and in response, relay a signal indicative of a gunshot to a main processing system.”);
one or more light emitting visual indicators placed in the indoor space (SEE FIG.s 1-7, Green Arrows 22, Red X’s 26, etc.); and
a processor configured to:
analyze the sensed data to detect occurrence of an event (Para [0025]: “The EIS main processing system will be able to determine the threat type and severity level that was sensed by the sensor unit(s) and will initiate a response which is appropriate for the event detected. For example, the system can detect the difference between a gunshot and a fire within the building so it can notify the proper emergency responders to the event, i.e. police and/or fire departments.”) and determine an approximate location of the event based on the known location of the plurality of sensors (Para [0022]: “In response to receiving the signal from the sensor unit 10, the main processing system can determine the approximate or exact location of the gunshot within the building.”);
generate one or more evacuation paths in the indoor space in response to the determining the approximate location of the event in which the one or more evacuation paths avoid the approximate location of the event (Para [0025]: “Additionally, the EIS will use the threat information to calculate the safest route out of the building (as described in sections below). The system can distinguish between safe and unsafe zones, based on sensor unit 10 locations and pre-programmed floor plan layouts such as the one shown in FIG. 4.”); and
operate a plurality of adjacent visual indicators of the one or more light emitting visual indicators to provide directional information to occupants (Paras [0033]-[0034]: “The graphic style will vary depending on the event type and severity level. Examples of graphics are, artwork such as arrows, “X's,” other directional symbols, text descriptions, animated movement, colors, or any other visual effect best suited to communicate a particular message in a given situation or venue.” “In some embodiments, to manage a scenario involving an active shooter 20, the output device 46 indicates safe areas with the first graphic such as “green arrows” 22 (FIGS. 1 2, 4 and 5) and indicates unsafe areas with the second graphic, such as “red X's” 26 (FIGS. 3 and 4). Green arrows 22 indicate direction of safe travel away from the shooter 20 and red X's 26 indicate the location of the shooter or unsafe locations within line-of-sight of the shooter.”).
Eckert fails to teach by blinking the adjacent visual indicators in sequence along the one or more evacuation paths,
wherein each of the plurality of adjacent visual indicators is located at a different location within the indoor space.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lewis teaches by blinking the adjacent visual indicators in sequence along the one or more evacuation paths (Para [0159]: “Alternatively, indicators 1002 and 1004 may be simultaneously enabled green for a short period (e.g., 1 second) and may then be simultaneously disabled. Subsequently, indicators 1010 and 1012 may be simultaneously enabled green for a short period and may then be disabled. This sequence may be repeated, thereby creating a visual effect in which a first green arrowhead pointing right is displayed on the left side of guide 1000 (formed by indicators 1002 and 1004) followed by a second green arrowhead pointing right on the right side of guide 1000 (formed by indicators 1010 and 1012) followed again by the first green arrowhead, and so on.”),
wherein each of the plurality of adjacent visual indicators is located at a different location within the indoor space (Para [0039]: “Of course, other embodiments of electronic guides are possible that include some or all of the components described above or that include a greater or lesser number of the components described above. For example, in one embodiment, an electronic guide may have a single visual indicator (such as indicator 112) that can be configured to display either an arrow pointing left or an arrow pointing right. This electronic guide may have a flat front face to which the single visual indicator is affixed.” and para [0086]: “…management circuitry 400 may configure the electronic guides to consecutively generate visible blinks or pulses of light in such a way that only one blink is visible at a time. In this manner, a path may be established and a person may follow the path by following the consecutive blinks of light.” and para [0094]: “Note that although several different types of indicators (e.g., arrows, audible chirps, audible consecutive chirps, visual consecutive blinks, and colors) have been individually described above, in some embodiments, management circuitry 400 may configure the electronic guides to produce more than one or all of these different types of indicators. For example, in one embodiment, management circuitry 400 may configure the electronic guides to produce arrows, consecutive audible chirps, consecutive visual blinks, and red and green colors. Doing so may help the greatest number of people evacuate a venue since those who are vision impaired may rely on the consecutive audible chirps and those who are color blind may rely on the arrows or consecutive visual blinks, thereby increasing building safety with respect to life safety.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Eckert to incorporate the teachings of Lewis to provide by blinking the adjacent visual indicators in sequence along the one or more evacuation paths, wherein each of the plurality of adjacent visual indicators is located at a different location within the indoor space with the Event Indicator System of Eckert. Doing so enables a sequence to be repeated, thereby creating a visual effect and enables directing someone viewing guide 1000, a path may be established and a person may follow the path by following the consecutive blinks of light, and may help the greatest number of people evacuate a venue since those who are color blind may rely on the arrows or consecutive visual blinks, thereby increasing building safety with respect to life safety, as recognized by Lewis (Paras [0159], [0161], [0086] and [0094]).
Method claim 34 is rejected for the same reasons as system claim 20 for having similar limitations and being similar in scope.
In re claim 22, Eckert and Lewis teach all of the limitations of claim 20 stated above where Eckert further teaches wherein the processor generates the one or more evacuation paths in response to determining the approximate location of the event using a pre- stored building model (Para [0025]: “Additionally, the EIS will use the threat information to calculate the safest route out of the building (as described in sections below). The system can distinguish between safe and unsafe zones, based on sensor unit 10 locations and pre-programmed floor plan layouts such as the one shown in FIG. 4.”).
Method claim 36 is rejected for the same reasons as system claim 22 for having similar limitations and being similar in scope.
In re claim 24, Eckert and Lewis teach all of the limitations of claim 20 stated above where Eckert further teaches wherein the event is a gunshot (Para [0022]: “For example, in the case of an active shooter event, sensors 10 will detect an audible boom sound from a gunshot.”).
Method claim 38 is rejected for the same reasons as system claim 24 for having similar limitations and being similar in scope.
In re claim 26, Eckert and Lewis teach all of the limitations of claim 20 stated above where Eckert further teaches wherein the one or more visual indicators are integrated into the sensors (SEE FIGS 6-7 and para [0035]: “In some embodiments, the output device 46 can have a T-housing 50 and be capable of projecting lasers, as shown in FIGS. 6 and 7. Thus, as shown in FIG. 7, the output device 46 with the T-housing 50 can be mounted a T-intersection in the building and display the green arrows 22 down the intersecting hallway and display red X's 26 down the intersected, perpendicular hallway or vice versa.”).
In re claim 27, Eckert and Lewis teach all of the limitations of claim 20 stated above where Eckert further teaches wherein the one or more visual indicators are mounted on the sensors (SEE FIGS 6-7 and para [0032]: “Contained within the sensor units 10 is an output device unit 46 (hereafter called, “output device”) (FIGS. 1 and 2) of the EIS. The output device 46 includes light emitting components capable of producing projected images onto surrounding surfaces such as the floor and walls of a building interior, other surrounding objects or onto particulates in the air.”).
In re claim 28, Eckert and Lewis teach all of the limitations of claim 20 stated above where Eckert further teaches wherein the visual indicator is one of an light emitting diode (LED) ring, an LED strip, an illuminating direction signage, or any combination thereof (Para [0032]: “The output device 46 includes light emitting components capable of producing projected images onto surrounding surfaces such as the floor and walls of a building interior, other surrounding objects or onto particulates in the air. The light could be generated using LEDs, lasers or other light emitting technologies.”).
In re claim 31, Eckert and Lewis teach all of the limitations of claim 20 stated above where Eckert further teaches wherein the processor is configured to operate the one or more visual indicators to emit green color to indicate a safe evacuation path (Para [0034]: “In some embodiments, to manage a scenario involving an active shooter 20, the output device 46 indicates safe areas with the first graphic such as “green arrows” 22 (FIGS. 1 2, 4 and 5) and indicates unsafe areas with the second graphic, such as “red X's” 26 (FIGS. 3 and 4). Green arrows 22 indicate direction of safe travel away from the shooter 20 and red X's 26 indicate the location of the shooter or unsafe locations within line-of-sight of the shooter.”).
Method claim 41 is rejected for the same reasons as system claim 31 for having similar limitations and being similar in scope.
In re claim 32, Eckert and Lewis teach all of the limitations of claim 20 stated above where Eckert further teaches wherein the processor is configured to operate the one or more visual indicators to emit red color to indicate an unsafe zone (Para [0034]: “In some embodiments, to manage a scenario involving an active shooter 20, the output device 46 indicates safe areas with the first graphic such as “green arrows” 22 (FIGS. 1 2, 4 and 5) and indicates unsafe areas with the second graphic, such as “red X's” 26 (FIGS. 3 and 4). Green arrows 22 indicate direction of safe travel away from the shooter 20 and red X's 26 indicate the location of the shooter or unsafe locations within line-of-sight of the shooter.”).
Method claim 42 is rejected for the same reasons as system claim 32 for having similar limitations and being similar in scope.
In re claim 44, Eckert and Lewis teach all of the limitations of claim 34 stated above where Lewis further teaches wherein the one or more visual indicators are operated by the processor to sequentially blink to provide the directional information based on the one or more evacuation paths (Para [0159]: “Alternatively, indicators 1002 and 1004 may be simultaneously enabled green for a short period (e.g., 1 second) and may then be simultaneously disabled. Subsequently, indicators 1010 and 1012 may be simultaneously enabled green for a short period and may then be disabled. This sequence may be repeated, thereby creating a visual effect in which a first green arrowhead pointing right is displayed on the left side of guide 1000 (formed by indicators 1002 and 1004) followed by a second green arrowhead pointing right on the right side of guide 1000 (formed by indicators 1010 and 1012) followed again by the first green arrowhead, and so on.”).
Claims 21, 25, 33, 35, 39 and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eckert (US Patent No. 20190295397), in view of Lewis (US Patent No. 20100245083 A1) and further in view of Kronz (US Patent No. 20210043053 A1).
In re claim 21, Eckert and Lewis teach all of the limitations of claim 20 stated above where Lewis further teaches [wherein the at least one parameter includes at least one of] smoke, oxygen, occupancy, sound (Para [0022]: “The EIS receives information using sensor device units 10… to detect an emergency event, such as a fire, active shooter event, chemical, carbon monoxide, hazmat, tornado, flood, bomb threat, suspicious package, etc. For example, in the case of an active shooter event, sensors 10 will detect an audible boom sound from a gunshot. In some embodiments, the sensors 10 include microphones to detect the sound of a gunshot… The sensor unit 10 can detect a variety of sensory events caused by a gunshot such as high decibel audible boom sound, muzzle flash, or gunpowder smoke etc… Other emergency events such as a fire, hazmat situation etc. may also be detected by the sensor unit...” and para [0045]: “Using sensors to detect areas with low or high numbers of people…”).
The combination fails to teach [wherein the at least one parameter includes at least one of] pressure, temperature, humidity, and motion.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kronz teaches [wherein the at least one parameter includes at least one of] pressure, temperature, humidity, and motion (Para [0004]: “For example, one embodiment of the system consists of a distributed network of temperature, humidity, motion, smoke, and sound detectors embedded in fire pull stations and sensor and signal units located on wall and ceilings, respectively. These distributed sensors detect indications across a wide spectrum (e.g. infrared, moisture, particulate matter, and pressure wave) and transmit anomalous data to a data processing station located within a building.” and para [0027]: “Motion and sound detectors are useful for detecting which portions of the interior of a building are occupied.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Eckert and Lewis to further incorporate the teachings of Kronz to provide [wherein the at least one parameter includes at least one of] pressure, temperature, humidity, and motion with the Event Indicator System of Eckert as modified by Lewis. Doing so enables distributed sensors to detect indications across a wide spectrum and transmit anomalous data to a data processing station located within a building, as recognized by Kronz (Para [0004]).
Method claim 35 is rejected for the same reasons as system claim 21 for having similar limitations and being similar in scope.
In re claim 25, Eckert and Lewis teach all of the limitations of claim 20 stated above but fails to teach wherein the generating one or more evacuation paths is dynamically generated.
However, Kronz teaches wherein the generating one or more evacuation paths is dynamically generated (Para [0004]: “Either the local control unit or remote control station are capable of autonomously processing the sensor network data and evaluating the predefined building evacuation route to determine whether the source of the emergency is located in the path of an evacuation route. If it is, an alternate route can be automatically generated to avoid the emergency source. This alternate route is transmitted to the sensor and signal units and pull station, which display either text, symbols, or patterns directing evacuees along the appropriate evacuation route. An alternate building evacuation route can also be generated manually by a building fire marshal, municipal fire chief, police on-scene commander, or other authority having jurisdiction on the scene from either the local or remote data processing stations, or from a personal computing device such as a smartphone or tablet device having application software that interfaces via wireless network with the local and remote data processing stations.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Eckert and Lewis to further incorporate the teachings of Kronz to provide wherein the generating one or more evacuation paths is dynamically generated with the Event Indicator System of Eckert as modified by Lewis. Doing so enables determination of whether or not the source of the emergency is located in the path of an evacuation route, if it is, an alternate route can be automatically generated to avoid the emergency source, as recognized by Kronz (Para [0004]).
Method claim 39 is rejected for the same reasons as system claim 25 for having similar limitations and being similar in scope.
In re claim 33, Eckert and Lewis teach all of the limitations of claim 20 stated above but fails to teach wherein the processor is configured to operate the one or more visual indicators to emit orange color to indicate an alert of an unsafe zone proximal to the one or more visual indicators.
However, Kronz teaches wherein the processor is configured to operate the one or more visual indicators to emit orange color to indicate an alert of an unsafe zone proximal to the one or more visual indicators (Para [0026]: “Signal lights 53 illuminate in specific colors and patterns, each corresponding to a different evacuation plan, depending upon the evacuation signal generated at local control unit 12 or remote control station 20. These evacuation signals are transmitted to a microcontroller 55 located in SSU 14. A microcontroller 55 translates the evacuation signals into a specific light pattern corresponding to the particular evacuation order. The color of the lights are dictated by the nature of the alarm and the signal provided by the control units 12, 20…” and para [0032]: “The route to a severe weather shelter could be indicated, e.g. by a rotating amber beacon alternating with a red/green pattern indicating the route to a storm shelter.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Eckert and Lewis to further incorporate the teachings of Kronz to provide wherein the processor is configured to operate the one or more visual indicators to emit orange color to indicate an alert of an unsafe zone proximal to the one or more visual indicators with the Event Indicator System of Eckert as modified by Lewis. Doing so enables signal lights 53 to illuminate in specific colors and patterns, each corresponding to a different evacuation plan, depending upon the evacuation signal, as recognized by Kronz (Para [0026]).
Method claim 43 is rejected for the same reasons as system claim 33 for having similar limitations and being similar in scope.
Claims 23 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eckert (US Patent No. 20190295397), in view of Lewis (US Patent No. 20100245083 A1) and further in view of Wedig (US Patent No. 20210335107 A1).
In re claim 23, Eckert and Lewis teach all of the limitations of claim 20 stated above but fails to teach wherein the processor generates the one or more evacuation paths in response to determining the approximate location of the event using a pre-stored building model and an identifier corresponding to the sensor that provided the sensed data used to detect the occurrence of the event.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wedig teaches wherein the processor generates the one or more evacuation paths in response to determining the approximate location of the event using a pre-stored building model and an identifier corresponding to the sensor that provided the sensed data used to detect the occurrence of the event (Para [0071]: “In an operation 410, location(s) of the evacuation condition are identified. The location(s) can be identified based on the identity of the node(s) which detected the evacuation condition. For example, the evacuation condition may be detected by node A. Node A can transmit an indication of the evacuation condition to a decision node B along with information identifying the transmitter as node A. Decision node B can know the coordinates or position of node A and use this information in determining an appropriate evacuation route. Alternatively, node A can transmit its location (i.e., coordinates or position) along with the indication of the evacuation condition.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Eckert and Lewis to further incorporate the teachings of Wedig to provide wherein the processor generates the one or more evacuation paths in response to determining the approximate location of the event using a pre-stored building model and an identifier corresponding to the sensor that provided the sensed data used to detect the occurrence of the event with the Event Indicator System of Eckert as modified by Lewis. Doing so enables the location(s) to be identified based on the identity of the node(s) which detected the evacuation condition, as recognized by Wedig (Para [0071]).
Method claim 37 is rejected for the same reasons as system claim 23 for having similar limitations and being similar in scope.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 11/18/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 8-9 of applicant Remarks, applicant argues:
“Figure 10 shows an electronic guide and paragraph [0159] discloses that indicators 1002 and 1004 can be simultaneously enabled green, then disabled, then indicators 1010 and 1012 can be simultaneously enabled green and then disabled. In others words, the electronic guide causes a first arrow, e.g., ">", to be illuminated green, then turned off and then causes a second arrow, e.g., ">" to be illuminated green, then turned off. In contrast, in amended independent claim 1, adjacent visual indicators provide directional information by blinking the adjacent visual indicators in sequence along the one or more evacuation paths. For example, Figure 21, reproduced below, shows an exemplary visual indicator having a left pointing arrow, an X and a right pointing arrow. By emitting different colors via the different indicators, an occupant can be guided towards an evacuation route. Figure 10, reproduced below shows five visual indicators with the right pointing arrows being used to direct an occupant to use the evacuation path to the right. For example, by emitting or blinking green light in the right pointing arrow, the occupant would be guided towards the fire exit to the right. To provide further assistance, the five visual indicators can be blinked in sequence, 1-2-3-4-5, to provide further guidance to the occupant towards the evacuation path. Lewis does not disclose or suggest such a blinking sequence.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Lewis teaches at least in para [0039] “an electronic guide may have a single visual indicator (such as indicator 112) that can be configured to display either an arrow pointing left or an arrow pointing right.”, and in para [0086] “…management circuitry 400 may configure the electronic guides to consecutively generate visible blinks or pulses of light in such a way that only one blink is visible at a time. In this manner, a path may be established and a person may follow the path by following the consecutive blinks of light.”, Lewis therefore appears to teach applicant amended features of guiding using different adjacent-location-spaced indicators, and teaches ‘management circuitry 400’ configuring the electronic guides to create a path, as claimed by applicant.
Examiner notes, applicant may want to amend claims in future correspondence to include the operation of the individual units themselves, further describing the use case depicted in fig 20, ie, both arrows and x appear to be illuminated depicting the hazard event, an ‘arrow’ and an ‘X’ are depicted in the upper corridor appearing to depict a different scenario, etc. Currently claimed ‘guiding’ aspect of applicant amendment is taught by Lewis.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
WO Patent No. 2021144576 A1 teaches an evacuation management system comprises six zones 1-6. Within each zone 1-6 is provided at least one fire detector (11), at least one evacuation alarm unit (12) and, optionally, at least one monitoring unit (13). The evacuation control unit (20) is operable automatically in response to an evacuation signal output by a fire detector (11) in one zone 1-6 to generate evacuation signals to be communicated to evacuation alarms in neighbouring zones 1-6. Additionally, evacuation control unit (20) is operable to enable selection of one or more zones 1-6, such that the evacuation of the selected zones 1-6 can be triggered. This can allow a phased evacuation or partial evacuation to be managed out directly via the evacuation control unit (20) rather than requiring fire officers to directly manage the evacuation process within the required zones 1-6.
RU Patent No. 2760114 C1 teaches invention relates to the field of saving people’s lives in a fire due to the use of special active light elements guiding to the exit on evacuation paths. An evacuation and navigation system in buildings contains a power unit, at least one battery, sensors, a light source, equipment of sound-speech notification, and a control unit made with the possibility of receiving a signal from sensors and controlling the light source and sound-speech notification, while the control unit contains a case of non-combustible material, inside which a programmable controller, triacs and field effect transistors are installed, the number of which corresponds to the number of connected light sources, while the programmable controller is made with the possibility of automatic issuing commands to triacs or field effect transistors to switch in a mode corresponding, at the moment, to the situation in the building, and the light source is made in the form of an electroluminescent cord or a LED tape to mark evacuation paths in the building in the form of a running light path, to combine a function of simultaneous illumination and indication of the evacuation path with the possibility of remote changing the direction of marking evacuation paths according to commands from the programmable controller.
CN Patent No. 105185021 B teaches a fire indicating method and system, the method comprises: receiving the set information of the building on fire detector, information comprises identification of fire detector and fire parameter, judging the fire parameter is greater than a threshold value, if so, determining position of the ignition point according to the fire detector identification, the portable locating device in building prompting information sent fire fire prompting information, comprising: a fire alarm and fire point position. when there is a fire, the user of the portable locating device The fire indication, it is possible to promptly learn the fire, and determining the ignition point position, the escape, it can avoid the fire site, selecting the safe escape route.
WO Patent No. 2008076715 A1 teaches An emergency notification and directional signaling apparatus includes an alarm remotely mountable from and responsive to an emergency event detector and alarm. The remote alarm activates one of a supplementary visual and audible alarm which may include one or more different colored lights, one of which is a pulsed strobe, and an audible sound which may include a recorded voice message, A temperature sensor in the remote alarm housing activates a second notification and signaling event when the ambient temperature surrounding the remote alarm reaches a preset threshold. The remote alarm may be mounted in a portable housing, on a faceplate of an existing wall electrical junction box, or in an electrical duplex body mounted in a junction box.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES E MUNION/Examiner, Art Unit 2688 01/30/2026
/STEVEN LIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2688