DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for the examination.
§ 101 2. 35 U.S.C. 101 reads as follows
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
As to Claims 1, 8, 15 should have been rejected under 35 USC 101 for abstract idea without significantly more. Under Step 2A, Prong 1, the “ identify one or more entities from the catalog , wherein each identifier from the plurality of identifiers in the first index is mapped to an ordinal number” recite a mental process since “ identifying”, “ mapping” are function that can be reasonably performed in the human mind with the aid of pen and paper through observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion.
Under Prong 2, the additional element “ loading a first index in memory at a first microservice of a plurality of microservices associated with an application, wherein the first index comprises a plurality of entity identifiers corresponding to a plurality of entities in a catalog, composing, at the first microservice, transmitting, from the first microservice, the message to a second microservice of the plurality of microservices, wherein a memory for the second microservice comprises a second index, wherein the second index is consistent with the first index, and wherein the bitset is decoded into entity identifiers corresponding to the one or more entities using the second index” are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component, or merely a generic computer or generic computer components to perform the judicial exception, Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application, and the claim is therefore directed to the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Under Step 2B, the additional elements “ loading a first index in memory at a first microservice of a plurality of microservices associated with an application, wherein the first index comprises a plurality of entity identifiers corresponding to a plurality of entities in a catalog; composing, at the first microservice” this generally should have been a mental process although the plurality of microservices associated with an application could be a generic computer component if the spec describes it as actual computer hardware, “composing, at the first microservice, transmitting, from the first microservice, the message to a second microservice of the plurality of microservices, wherein a memory for the second microservice comprises a second index, wherein the second index is consistent with the first index, and wherein the bitset is decoded into entity identifiers corresponding to the one or more entities using the second index” this is just information that is being processed in the identified mental process and should have been included in the mental process amounts to merely generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field or use, and is merely applying the judicial exception, therefore, does not amount to significantly more, hence, cannot provide an inventive concept.
4. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(d). Thus, the claim is not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 12, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin( US 20200112626 A1) in view of Smith( US 9275155 B1) and further in view of Ponaka(US 20230049690 A1).
As to claim 1, Lin teaches loading a first index in memory at a first microservice of a plurality of microservices associated with an application( using a major index field 812a and a plurality of data fields 820 shown in FIG. 4, and the data format table 800, the major index description table 700, and the string table 900 are stored in the computer host 300, para[0012], ln 2-7/ The logic analyzer 100 is electrically connected to an electronic device 200 to fetch a plurality of packets 500 of a bus of the electronic device 200 and is further electrically connected to a computer host 300 to merge the plurality of packets into a file and to store the file in the computer host 300, para[0021], ln 1-7),
wherein the first index comprises a plurality of entity identifiers corresponding to a plurality of entities in a catalog( As shown in FIG. 6, the major index description table 700 includes a standard format table 701 and a major index table 702. In addition, the major index description table 700 includes a packet section name field 712a, a displaying name field 714a corresponding to the packet section name field 712a, and a length field 716a corresponding to the packet section name field 712a, which are adapted to be respectively filled with a packet section name 712, a packet section displaying name 714, and a bit length value 716 for describing a characteristic of the packet section name field 712a, para[0031], ln 1-15);
wherein each identifier from the plurality of identifiers in the first index is mapped to an ordinal number( At least one of the packet section names 712 of the first packet sections 501 corresponds to at least one of the bit length values 716. The start bit value 724 and the end bit value 726 form a bit fetching range to determine a start bit fetching position and an end bit fetching position of the bit length value 716. In the current embodiment, the start bit value 724 is 0 bit, and the end bit value 726 is also 0 bit, para[0031], ln 24-33),
wherein a given bit in the bitset is set if a position of the given bit in the bitset corresponds to a respective ordinal number in the index associated with the one or more entities( The major index table 702 has a major index field 722a, a start bit field 724a, and an end bit field 726a, wherein the major index field 722a is adapted to be filled with at least one of the packet section names 712 of the first packet sections 501 as a name of the major index 722. The start bit field 724a is adapted to be filled with a start bit value 724. The end bit field 726a is adapted to be filled with an end bit value 726. The major index 722 corresponds to at least one of the packet section names 712 of the first packet sections 501. At least one of the packet section names 712 of the first packet sections 501 corresponds to at least one of the bit length values 716. The start bit value 724 and the end bit value 726 form a bit fetching range to determine a start bit fetching position and an end bit fetching position of the bit length value 716. In the current embodiment, the start bit value 724 is 0 bit, and the end bit value 726 is also 0 bit, para[0031]/ the computer host 300 fetches a plurality of fetching bits of the first packet sections 501 within the bit fetching range based on the bit fetching range and compares the major index variables 812 of the data format table 800 to find the major index variable 812 that matches the fetching bits, and analyzes the bits of the second packet section 502 according to a characteristic of the data field 820 describing the characteristic of the major index variable 812, para[0032], ln 1-9);
and transmitting, from the first microservice, the message to a second microservice of the plurality of microservices( The logic analyzer 100 is electrically connected to an electronic device 200 to fetch a plurality of packets 500 of a bus of the electronic device 200 and is further electrically connected to a computer host 300 to merge the plurality of packets into a file and to store the file in the computer host 300. The computer host 300 executes a decoding program to retrieve the file and analyzes the plurality of packets according to a predetermined format defined in advance, para[0021, ln 1-10);
wherein a memory for the second microservice comprises a second index, wherein the second index is consistent with the first index( when the major index field 722a is filled with “Channel Name” as the major index 722, the computer host 300 fetches a plurality of fetching bits of the first packet sections 501 within the bit fetching range based on the major index 722 and compares the major index variables 812 of the data format table 800 to find the major index variable 812 that matches the fetching bits of the first packet sections 501, and analyzes the bits of the second packet section 502 according to a characteristic of the data field 820 describing the characteristic of the major index variable 812, para[0040], ln 16-27);
and wherein the bitset is decoded into entity identifiers corresponding to the one or more entities using the second index( FIG. 3b is a schematic diagram, showing the packet 500 is analyzed. The computer host 300 divides the bits of the second packet section 502 into a plurality of message partitions 600 according to the predetermined format, wherein each of the message partitions 600 has a value 602. Each of the message partitions 600 corresponding to one of the values 602 is given a message name 601. The message names 601[identifiers] and the values 602 corresponding to the message partitions 600 are displayed on the operating screen of the display 400, para[0024]/ fetches a plurality of fetching bits of the first packet sections 501 within the bit fetching range based on the bit fetching range and compares the major index variables 812 of the data format table 800 to find the major index variable 812 that matches the fetching bits, and analyzes the bits of the second packet section 502 according to a characteristic of the data field 820 describing the characteristic of the major index variable 812. Then, the computer host 300 analyzes the value 602 based on the section length value 832, the significant bit variable 836, and the data-type name 834 corresponding to the major index variable 812, and based on the data displaying name 906 corresponding to the data-type name 902 and the values 904 in the string table 900, thereby to give the value 602 the corresponding data displaying name 906 as the message name 601[identifiers] of the message partition 600, para[0032]).
Smith teaches wherein the first index comprises a plurality of entity identifiers corresponding to a plurality of entities in a catalog( The contents of the tables 102A and 102B are ingested by a search engine 103 and indexed in a search engine index 104. The search engine 103 associates a globally unique identifier (GUID) with each record of each database table that is taken into the index 104. For each GUID, the search engine 103 also can store in the index 104 a set of (field, value) pairs for the fields and values of the corresponding record in the relational database 101. Along with (field, value) pairs for a GUID, the index 104 preferably also includes a “table” field that is paired with the name of the relational database table from which the corresponding record was obtained, col 3, ln 45-55),
wherein each entity identifier from the plurality of entity identifiers in the first index is mapped to an ordinal number( associates the DOC_ID foreign key values of the tables 102A and 102B with their respective GUIDs in the search index, col 4, ln 28-31/ The DOC_ID field will be referred to as the “join key” field for this join mapping as it is the foreign key based upon which the tables 102A and 102B can be joined. The join mapping 106 preferably subsists within the data of the search engine index 104 by way of the indexed data of the DOC_ID field and the GUID field, col 4, ln 34-40/ Fig. 1)
composing, at the first microservice, a message comprising a bitset to identify one or more entities from the catalog( a set of matching join keys is modeled as a bitset to make efficient use of memory and to simplify the computation of logical operations, col 9, ln 40-43/ The search engine 103 creates the join bitsets 406A-D in a manner similar to the join bitsets 204A and 204B, col 7, ln 36-40/ the join bitsets 204A and 204B identify the DOC_ID join field values t, col 6, ln 15-20/ Tables 102A and 102B in FIG. 1 also show a common field, DOC_ID, which serves as an identifier of the text document and a foreign key by way of which the data in these two tables are related, col 4, ln 2-7)
wherein a given bit in the bitset is set if a position of the given bit in the bitset corresponds to a respective ordinal number in the first index associated with the one or more entities( do this in an efficient manner the search engine 103 maps the GUIDs using the join mapping 106 and bitset index 202, to bits in join bitsets 204A and 204B. The search engine 103 associates the ordinal index locations of individual bits in the bitsets, through the join mapping 106 and bitset index 202, with values for the join keys that correspond to the GUIDs. The presence of a join key associated with a GUID in a result can be indicated by setting the corresponding bit, according to the join mapping 106 and bitset index 202 to a “1, col 6, ln 5-16).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Lin and Smith with Wang to incorporate the above feature because this avoiding transmission of multiple copies of the same message over the same network link and prevenst looping and replication of packets.
Ponaka teaches a plurality of microservices associated with an application( FIG. 4 illustrates an example high-level workflow diagram 400 for handling data packets, in accordance with one or more implementations. Example operations described in illustration 400 can be executed, performed, or otherwise carried out by one or more components of the system 300 (e.g., OS 301, NIC 302, network driver 303, application 304, VPN application 340, FP 336, etc.), the computer 101, the cloud computing environment 214, or any other computing devices described herein in conjunction with FIGS. 1A-2C. The illustration 400 can include at least a VPN application 404, a VPN service 408, a FP callout driver 412 (sometimes generally referred to as a FP or driver), and a local system application 416 (sometimes generally referred to as an application), para[0140]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Lin and Smith with Ponaka to incorporate the above feature because this allows the client device to forward the packet to the corresponding recipient based on at least the destination port and the destination address.
As to claim 2, Ponaka teaches the application is implemented in a cloud computing environment( para[0140]) for the same reason 1 above.
As to claims 12, 18, they are rejected for the same reason as to claim 1 above.
Claim(s) 3, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin( US 20200112626 A1) in view of Smith( US 9275155 B1) in view of Ponaka(US 20230049690 A1) and further in view of Ito( US 20160036886 A1).
As to claim 3, Ito teaches the application is associated with a content streaming platform( he incoming data flow may be multicast or unicast. When the incoming data flow is a multicast data flow, it sends packets to multiple destinations simultaneously. In streaming platform 100, the multiple destinations include multiple workers, and incoming data flow 180 multicasts into distributed data flows 182 and is transmitted to workers 152-158. When the incoming data flow is a unicast data flow, stream coordinator 170 converts the unicast data flow into distributed data flows 182 thus workers 152-158 process them indiscriminately., para[0044]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Lin, Smith and Ponaka with Ito to incorporate the above feature because this permits the streaming platform to operate efficiently and reliably using a wide range of cloud infrastructure.
As to claim 13, it is rejected for the same reason as to claim 3 above.
Claim(s) 4, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin( US 20200112626 A1) in view of Smith( US 9275155 B1) in view of Ponaka(US 20230049690 A1) and further in view of Wijnands( US 20180316520 A1).
As to claim 4, Wijnands teaches storing the bitset in memory at a computing device associated with the first microservice as a precomputed bitmask, wherein the one or more entities identified by the precomputed bitmask are referenced within the application on a recurring basis to perform computations related to the one more entities( Method 1100 of FIG. 11 begins at step 1102 with receiving from a non-BIER-capable node a data message comprising a local label and a message bit array. The message bit array is modified to exclude as destination nodes for the data message any nodes not represented by relative bit positions associated with the local label and stored in an ingress filter data structure (step 1104). Method 1100 continues with accessing an entry in a bit indexed forwarding table, where the entry corresponds to the relative bit position of an intended destination node identified by the modified message bit array (step 1106). A copy of the data message, comprising a forwarded message bit array, is forwarded to the BIER-capable neighbor node identified in the accessed forwarding table entry (step 1108). If other intended destination nodes, based on the modified message bit array, have not been forwarded to (“yes” branch of decision step 1110), steps 1106 and 1108 are repeated using a different forwarding table entry, para[0105], ln 1-27).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Lin, Smith and Ponaka with Wijnands to incorporate the above feature because this allows a source to send data to a group of receivers in a domain while preventing the data from being sent to other receivers in the domain.
As to claim 14, it is rejected for the same reason as to claim 4 above.
Claim(s) 8, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin( US 20200112626 A1) in view of Smith( US 9275155 B1) in view of Ponaka(US 20230049690 A1) and further in view of Tasman(US 20020080755 A1).
As to claim 8, Tasman teaches wherein the first index is associated with a particular type of content in the catalog( A unicast TOS table maps the TOS indicator of the packet to a specific unicast forwarding table index number that is associated with the specified type-of-service requirements, para[0084], ln 8-14).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Lin, Smith and Ponaka with Tasman to incorporate the above feature because this allows Nodes in an ad-hoc network preferably employ known routing protocols to accomplish their routing requirements. .
As to claim 20, it is rejected for the same reason as to claim 8 above.
Claim(s) 5, 6, 7, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin( US 20200112626 A1) in view of Smith( US 9275155 B1) in view of Ponaka(US 20230049690 A1) in view of Wijnands( US 20180316520 A1)in view of TIAN( US 20220263760 A1).
As to claim 5, Wijnands teaches storing the bitset in memory at a computing device associated with the first microservice as a precomputed bitmask, wherein the one or more entities identified by the precomputed bitmask are referenced within the application on a recurring basis to perform computations related to the one more entities ( (para[0105], ln 1-27) for the same reason as to claim 4 above.
Tian teaches performing a logical computation between the precomputed bitmask and one or more other precomputed bitmasks in response to a query ( n a possible implementation, the identifier in the first BIER packet is a bit string, and each bit in the bit string is used to identify a bit forwarding egress router (BFER). For example, a bit value of a least significant (rightmost) bit of the bit string is 1 to identify a node of BFR-id=1. The bit string includes at least one target bit of a first value, and the first value may be set to 1. For example, a bit whose bit value is 1 is the target bit. When the bit string is 0111, it indicates that the bit string includes three target bits. An implementation in which the first network device queries the bit index forwarding table of the first network device based on the identifier in the first BIER packet, to obtain the target next-hop node that reaches the destination address of the first BIER packet from the plurality of next-hop nodes of the first network device includes: querying the bit index forwarding table of the first network device based on the bit string, to obtain a next-hop node corresponding to the target bit in the plurality of next-hop nodes of the first network device. Then, the first network device determines, based on the next-hop node corresponding to the target bit, the target next-hop node that reaches the destination address of the first BIER packet, para[0010]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Lin, Smith, Ponaka and Wijnands with Tian to incorporate the above feature because to improve efficiency of forwarding a BIER packet by a network device.
As to claim 6, Wijnands teaches receiving, at the first microservice, a plurality of precomputed bitmasks from a data storage service, wherein each of the plurality of precomputed bitmasks comprises a respective bitset associated with a category of entities in the catalog( para[0105], ln 8-28) and Tian teaches receiving, at the first microservice, a query related to the catalog from the second microservice; responsive to the query, performing logical operations between one or more precomputed bitmasks to compute a result; and transmitting the result to the second microservice(para[0010]/ para[0108], ln 3-16) for the same reason as to claims 4 and 5 above.
As to claim 7, Wijnands teaches receiving, at the first microservice, a plurality of precomputed bitmasks from a data storage service, wherein each of the plurality precomputed bitmasks comprises a respective bitset associated with a category of entities in the catalog( para[0105], ln 8-28) , and wherein a data storage service stores precomputed bitmasks uploaded from a computing device configured to compute and store precomputed bitmasks on a recurring basis( , para[0105], ln 1-27) ; receiving, at the first microservice, a query related to the catalog; responsive to the query, performing logical operations, at the first microservice, between the bitset and at least one precomputed bitmask to compute a result; and transmitting the result of the logical operations ( para[0010]/ para[0108], ln 3-16) for the same reason as to claim 1 above.
As to claim 15, it is rejected for the same reason as to claim 5 above.
Claim(s) 9, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin( US 20200112626 A1) in view of Smith( US 9275155 B1) in view of Ponaka(US 20230049690 A1) and further in view of Sriharsha(US 20220036002 A1).
As to claim 9, Sriharsha teaches for an entity from the plurality of entities to be removed from the catalog( certain implementations, the indexing node 404 can delete locally stored buckets. For example, once the buckets are stored in common storage 216, para[0428]; reserving a position for a respective entity identifier in the first index for a predetermined duration of time( the data store catalog can store an identifier for a sets of data in common storage 216, a location of the sets of data in common storage 216, tenant or indexes associated with the sets of data, timing information about the sets of data, etc. In implementations where the data in common storage 216 is stored as buckets, the data store catalog 220 can include a bucket identifier for the buckets in common storage 216, a location of or path to the buckets in common storage 216, a time range of the data in the bucket (e.g., range of time between the first-in-time event of the bucket and the last-in-time event of the bucket), a tenant identifier identifying a customer or computing device associated with the bucket, and/or an index or partition associated with the bucket, etc., para[044], ln 5-23).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Lin, Smith and Ponaka with Sriharsha to incorporate the above feature because to reduces or eliminates the loss of data that was being processed by the unavailable component.
As to claim 16, it is rejected for the same reason as to claim 9 above.
Claim(s) 10, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin( US 20200112626 A1) in view of Smith( US 9275155 B1) in view of Ponaka(US 20230049690 A1) and further in view of Xue(US 20220182878 A1).
As to claim 10, Xue teaches receiving, at the first microservice, a plurality of precomputed bitmasks from a data storage service, wherein one or more of the plurality of precomputed bitmasks are compressed using gap encoding, wherein the gap encoding comprises encoding a precomputed bitmask as a sparse set, wherein the sparse set encodes bit positions in the precomputed bitmask associated with set bits as integers; and decoding the one or more precomputed bitmasks prior to performing a computation using the one or more precomputed bitmasks( described techniques provide for a user equipment (UE) to determine applicability of a control message to the UE based on addressing information in the control message. In some cases, a base station may transmit a control message via a group common control channel, such as a group common physical downlink control channel (GC-PDCCH). The control message may be monitored by a group of UEs, para[0004, ln 5-14/ the control message may include one or more flag bits. The flag bits may indicate a format of the control channel (e.g., the flag bits may indicate a size of the control message, a bit size of the prime number, a bit size of the integer values, or the like). Additionally, or alternatively, the control message may be encoded by selecting a format from a set of configured formats. The UEs may perform blind decoding to determine the format of the control channel. In some examples, by addressing the subgroup of UEs intended to receive the control messages using a prime number (e.g., or a number of bits that represent an index of the prime number in a prime number sequence) and a set of integers, a base station may reduce the number of bits for transmitting address information in a control message, thereby allowing for more UEs to be addressed by the control information in a single control message payload, para[0064]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Lin, Smith and Ponaka with Xue to incorporate the above feature because to allows sending multiple messages, where each message is addressed to different subgroups of UEs from the group of UEs.
As to claim 17, it is rejected for the same reason as to claim 10 above.
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin( US 20200112626 A1) in view of Smith( US 9275155 B1) in view of Ponaka(US 20230049690 A1) and further in view of Wang(US 20190253077 A1).
As to claim 11, Wang teaches the bitset comprises a temporal entity set, and wherein the temporal entity set comprises a base bitset representing a state of the catalog at an initial time, one or more timestamps associated with times when a bit in the base bitset is expected to flip, and one or more bit positions for each timestamp corresponding to bits in the base bitset that are expected to flip( receiving a message through a receiving terminal to obtain the received message; for each bit in the received message, determining a bit state of the bit according to a bit value of the bit; selectively changing the bit state of each bit according to at least a weighting vector and a current value of a flipping threshold, wherein the bit state has a plurality of change ranges; selectively flipping the bit according to the bit state, para0004], ln 2-10).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Lin, Smith and Ponaka with Wang to incorporate the above feature because to allows sending multiple messages, where exits many excellent decoding algorithms and related circuits in the state of art, these decoding algorithms and related circuits still can be further improved.
Response to the argument:
A. Applicant amendment filed on 10/24/2025 has been considered but they are not persuasive:
Applicant argued in substance that :
(1) “ In sum, because the pending claims do not recite an abstract idea”
(2) “ Lin is silent about any of the bit fields being set when the position of the bit field range corresponds to an ordinal number in the major index description index table, as amended claim 1 expressly recites. In view of these”
B. Examiner respectfully disagreed with Applicant's remarks:
As to the point(1), As to Claims 1, 8, 15 should have been rejected under 35 USC 101 for abstract idea without significantly more. Under Step 2A, Prong 1, the “ identify one or more entities from the catalog , wherein each identifier from the plurality of identifiers in the first index is mapped to an ordinal number” recite a mental process since “ identifying”, “ mapping” are function that can be reasonably performed in the human mind with the aid of pen and paper through observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion.
Under Prong 2, the additional element “ loading a first index in memory at a first microservice of a plurality of microservices associated with an application, wherein the first index comprises a plurality of entity identifiers corresponding to a plurality of entities in a catalog, composing, at the first microservice, transmitting, from the first microservice, the message to a second microservice of the plurality of microservices, wherein a memory for the second microservice comprises a second index, wherein the second index is consistent with the first index, and wherein the bitset is decoded into entity identifiers corresponding to the one or more entities using the second index” are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component, or merely a generic computer or generic computer components to perform the judicial exception, Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application, and the claim is therefore directed to the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Under Step 2B, the additional elements “ loading a first index in memory at a first microservice of a plurality of microservices associated with an application, wherein the first index comprises a plurality of entity identifiers corresponding to a plurality of entities in a catalog; composing, at the first microservice” this generally should have been a mental process although the plurality of microservices associated with an application could be a generic computer component if the spec describes it as actual computer hardware, “composing, at the first microservice, transmitting, from the first microservice, the message to a second microservice of the plurality of microservices, wherein a memory for the second microservice comprises a second index, wherein the second index is consistent with the first index, and wherein the bitset is decoded into entity identifiers corresponding to the one or more entities using the second index” this is just information that is being processed in the identified mental process and should have been included in the mental process amounts to merely generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field or use, and is merely applying the judicial exception, therefore, does not amount to significantly more, hence, cannot provide an inventive concept.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(d). Thus, the claim is not patent eligible.
As to the point (2), Smith teaches wherein The contents of the tables 102A and 102B are ingested by a search engine 103 and indexed in a search engine index 104. The search engine 103 associates a globally unique identifier (GUID) with each record of each database table that is taken into the index 104. For each GUID, the search engine 103 also can store in the index 104 a set of (field, value) pairs for the fields and values of the corresponding record in the relational database 101. Along with (field, value) pairs for a GUID, the index 104 preferably also includes a “table” field that is paired with the name of the relational database table from which the corresponding record was obtained, col 3, ln 45-55),
wherein each entity identifier from the plurality of entity identifiers in the first index is mapped to an ordinal number( associates the DOC_ID foreign key values of the tables 102A and 102B with their respective GUIDs in the search index, col 4, ln 28-31/ The DOC_ID field will be referred to as the “join key” field for this join mapping as it is the foreign key based upon which the tables 102A and 102B can be joined. The join mapping 106 preferably subsists within the data of the search engine index 104 by way of the indexed data of the DOC_ID field and the GUID field, col 4, ln 34-40/ Fig. 1/ a set of matching join keys is modeled as a bitset to make efficient use of memory and to simplify the computation of logical operations, col 9, ln 40-43/ The search engine 103 creates the join bitsets 406A-D in a manner similar to the join bitsets 204A and 204B, col 7, ln 36-40/ the join bitsets 204A and 204B identify the DOC_ID join field values t, col 6, ln 15-20/ Tables 102A and 102B in FIG. 1 also show a common field, DOC_ID, which serves as an identifier of the text document and a foreign key by way of which the data in these two tables are related, col 4, ln 2-7/ do this in an efficient manner the search engine 103 maps the GUIDs using the join mapping 106 and bitset index 202, to bits in join bitsets 204A and 204B. The search engine 103 associates the ordinal index locations of individual bits in the bitsets, through the join mapping 106 and bitset index 202, with values for the join keys that correspond to the GUIDs. The presence of a join key associated with a GUID in a result can be indicated by setting the corresponding bit, according to the join mapping 106 and bitset index 202 to a “1, col 6, ln 5-16).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
US 20130262471 A1 teaches the particular API call request and TPID. The query term is in the form of a bitset. This allows the TPID, which is not stored in any inverted index in data source 105, to be expanded into a bitset that can be stored in memory (e.g., RAM) and applied to data source 105 at query time. The bitset corresponds to one or more documents stored in data source 107 that are associated with an item in the taste profile associated with the TPID.
US 20170272465 A1 teaches destinationIPv4Address default The IPv4 destination address in the IP packet header. egressInterface identifier The index of the IP interface where packets of this Flow are being sent.
US 20060002386 A1 teaches each record 212 is associated with a decision table row index and includes: a packet header offset of a frame type identification bit pattern, a frame type identification test bit pattern, and jump instructions. The frame type identification test bit pattern may include a bit mask, a binary value
/LECHI TRUONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2194