DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 10 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Mogi (JP 2011166393).
Mogi teaches a cleaning device comprising: a cleaning unit comprising a brush (52) that cleans a cleaning section by coming into contact with the cleaning section, the cleaning section being disposed in a transport space through which a medium (D) is transported; a support unit comprising a drum (51) that supports the cleaning unit, the support unit rotating about a rotation center to cause the cleaning unit to pass the cleaning section in a direction along a transporting direction in which the medium is transported; and a removing unit comprising a rib (58) that is disposed upstream of the cleaning section with respect to the transporting direction of the medium (figure 5 and 6e-6f) and an upper surface of the removing unit comes into contact with the cleaning unit to remove a substance adhering to the cleaning unit.
With regards to claim 2, the removing unit is disposed in a region through which the cleaning unit passes from an outside to an inside of the transport space (figure 5).
With regards to claim 3, a reservoir unit (see figure above) disposed on an upper surface of the removing unit, the reservoir unit having a recessed shape and being capable of storing the substance.
With regards to claim 4, the cleaning unit is disposed on a portion of an outer peripheral surface of the support unit in a rotation direction in which the support unit rotates (figure 5).
With regards to claim 5, there is a guide unit comprising a guide (surface of 51 that does not have brush; semispherical shaped surface) that is supported on the outer peripheral surface of the support unit and that guides the medium in a state such that the guide unit faces the cleaning section.
With regards to claim 6, the support unit causes the guide unit to continuously face the cleaning section when the medium is transported, and rotates to cause the cleaning unit to pass the cleaning section and clean the cleaning section in a predetermined cleaning period (figure 5).
With regards to claim 7, Mogi teaches a reading unit comprising an image sensor (40) including a reading portion disposed in a transport space through which a medium is transported, the reading unit reading an image on the medium; a cleaning unit comprises a brush (52) that cleans the reading portion by coming into contact with the reading portion; a support unit that supports the cleaning unit, the support unit comprising a drum (51) rotating about a rotation center to cause the cleaning unit to pass the reading portion in a direction along a transporting direction in which the medium is transported; and a removing unit comprising a rib (58) that is disposed upstream of the reading portion with respect to the transporting direction of the medium and an upper surface of the removing unit comes into contact with the cleaning unit, which moves as the support unit rotates, to remove a substance adhering to the cleaning unit.
With regards to claim 10, Mogi teaches a recording unit including a plurality of photoconductors (30-31, 34-36) that records an image on a medium; and the reading device according to claim 7 that reads the image recorded on the medium by the recording unit.
With regards to claim 13, Mogi teaches a cleaning means comprising a brush (52) for cleaning a cleaning section by coming into contact with the cleaning section, the cleaning section being disposed in a transport space through which a medium (D) is transported; support means comprising a drum (51) for supporting the cleaning means, the support means rotating about a rotation center to cause the cleaning means to pass the cleaning section in a direction along a transporting direction in which the medium is transported; and removing means comprising a rib (58) that is disposed upstream of the cleaning section with respect to the transporting direction of the medium and an upper surface of the removing means comes in contact with the cleaning means to remove a substance adhering to the cleaning means.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-9, 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mogi (‘393) in view of Yamashita (PGPub 20200401355).
Mogi teaches all the essential elements of the claimed invention including a recording unit including a plurality of photoconductor (30-31, 34-36) that records an image on a medium; and a reading device (40) according to claim 7 that reads the image recorded on the medium by the recording unit (claims 9, 11-12). Mogi however fails to teach a calibrating unit that is supported on an outer peripheral surface of the support unit and that calibrates the reading unit in a state such that the calibrating unit faces the reading portion (claim 8) and that the calibrating unit includes: a first calibrating unit having a predetermined color; and a second calibrating unit having a color that differs from the color of the first calibrating unit (claim 9).
Yamashita teaches a calibrating unit (69) that is supported on an outer peripheral surface of the support unit and that calibrates the reading unit in a state such that the calibrating unit faces the reading portion. The calibrating unit includes: a first calibrating unit (695) having a predetermined color (black); and a second calibrating unit (694) having a color (white) that differs from the color of the first calibrating unit.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the reading device of Mogi so that it has a calibrating unit as taught by Yamashita to allow for inspection and correction to avoid abnormalities such as dots, streaks, dirt and displacement.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The applicant amended claim 1 clarify upstream and also to clarify what surface the removing unit comes in contact with the cleaning unit. A new search was required and a new rejection was made.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAY KARLS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723