DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
2. Applicant’s amendments with respect to claims filed on 06/19/2026 have been entered. Claims 1-7 and 9-16 remain pending in this application and are currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104. Claim 8 has been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 7 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, the recitation “0.30≤a≤0.70” in claim 7, line 8 is indefinite because in claim 1 upon which claim 7 depends, the content of nickel is 55 to 70 mol% based on a total number of atoms of all elements except for lithium and oxygen, however in claim 7 the total nickel content is in a broader range than 55 to 70 mol% so it is unclear how the content of nickel given by equation 7 can be less than 55 mol%. For examination purposes the aforementioned recitation will be interpreted as “0.55≤a≤0.70”.
Regarding claims 9-11, the claims are rejected as being dependent upon a claim which is rejected under this statute.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 or 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 1-5, 7, and 9-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Liu et al. (Pub. No. CN 114590847 A).
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches a cathode active material (ternary cathode material particles, see [0078]) for a lithium secondary battery (secondary battery, see [0079]) comprising: lithium-transition metal composite oxide particles (ternary cathode material particles, see [0078]) wherein the lithium-transition metal composite oxide particles (ternary cathode material particles, see [0078]) include Ni, Co, and Mn (see [0077] where the examples provided include Ni, Co, and Mn), wherein a content of nickel (Ni, see [0077]) in the lithium-transition metal composite oxide particles (ternary cathode material particles, see [0078]) is 55 to 70 mol % (LiNi0.6Co0.1Mn0.30O2, see [0077] gives specific embodiment and example of the ternary cathode material particles) based on a total number of atoms of all elements except for lithium and oxygen (see [0077] where 0.6 is mol % of nickel compared to all elements except lithium and oxygen) but is silent to having a (113) plane FWHM change rate of 75% or less, which is measured through in-situ X-ray diffraction (XRD) and defined by Equation 1 below:
(113)plane FWHM change rate (%)=100×{(FWHM.sub.max(113)−FWHM.sub.min(113))/FWHM.sub.max(113)} Equation 1 wherein FWHM.sub.max (113) is a maximum FWHM value of a peak of (113) plane of the lithium-transition metal composite oxide particle measured through the in-situ XRD, and FWHM.sub.min (113) is a minimum FWHM value of the peak of (113) plane of the lithium-transition metal composite oxide particle measured through in-situ XRD.
However, Liu teaches the same composition (see [0077] the specific embodiment of LiNi0.6Co0.1Mn0.30O2 which adheres to the composition of the instant published specification [0069-0070] and adheres to the composition given by Example 2 in the instant published specification [0130-0131]) and teaches towards a similar purpose of having high structural stability (see [0044]-[0046] of instant published application described prevention of lattice structure deformation caused by charging and discharging, see [0080] of Liu the positive electrode material has high gram capacity, cycle stability, and structural stability) and further as evidenced by of *Ming balancing the content of nickel in lithium nickel cobalt manganese ternary material balances the energy density of the material with the amount of side reactions of the material which cause volume change and cracks and degradation of the material (see [0016] of *Ming).
Therefore if the lithium-transition metal composite oxide particles (ternary cathode material particles, see [0078]) as taught by Liu were measured in the same way as claimed, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the transition metal to exhibit the same FWHM characteristic, thereby implicitly teaching the claim. Alternatively, the claimed invention is found to be obvious because even if the Liu ternary cathode material particles would not exhibit the same FWHM characteristic, if measured, the difference is not a patentable distinction as the structure of the prior art and claimed materials are close enough that no significant difference in function is associated the difference, noting that both materials are taught to have the same or similar advantageous properties as described above (ternary cathode material particles, see [0078]).
*Additional Evidence provided by Ming et al. (Pub. No. CN 113666436 A).
Regarding claim 2, Liu is silent to wherein the (113) plane FWHM change rate is 30 to 70%.
However, if the lithium-transition metal composite oxide particles (ternary cathode material particles, see [0078]) as taught by Liu were measured in the same way as claimed, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the transition metal to exhibit the same FWHM characteristic, thereby implicitly teaching the claim. Alternatively, the claimed invention is found to be obvious because even if the Liu ternary cathode material particles would not exhibit the same FWHM characteristic, if measured, the difference is not a patentable distinction as the structure of the prior art and claimed materials are close enough that no significant difference in function is associated the difference, noting that both materials are taught to have the same or similar advantageous properties as described above (ternary cathode material particles, see [0078], see detailed explanation in rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 3, Liu is silent to wherein a value of the FWHM.sub.max (113) is greater than 0.200 and less than 0.510.
However, if the lithium-transition metal composite oxide particles (ternary cathode material particles, see [0078]) as taught by Liu were measured in the same way as claimed, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the transition metal to exhibit the same FWHM characteristic, thereby implicitly teaching the claim. Alternatively, the claimed invention is found to be obvious because even if the Liu ternary cathode material particles would not exhibit the same FWHM characteristic, if measured, the difference is not a patentable distinction as the structure of the prior art and claimed materials are close enough that no significant difference in function is associated the difference, noting that both materials are taught to have the same or similar advantageous properties as described above (ternary cathode material particles, see [0078], see detailed explanation in rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 4, Liu is silent to wherein a value of the FWHM.sub.min (113) is 0.125 to 0.500.
However, if the lithium-transition metal composite oxide particles (ternary cathode material particles, see [0078]) as taught by Liu were measured in the same way as claimed, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the transition metal to exhibit the same FWHM characteristic, thereby implicitly teaching the claim. Alternatively, the claimed invention is found to be obvious because even if the Liu ternary cathode material particles would not exhibit the same FWHM characteristic, if measured, the difference is not a patentable distinction as the structure of the prior art and claimed materials are close enough that no significant difference in function is associated the difference, noting that both materials are taught to have the same or similar advantageous properties as described above (ternary cathode material particles, see [0078], see detailed explanation in rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 5, Liu is silent to wherein the (113) plane FWHM change rate (%) of the lithium-transition metal composite oxide particle according to the charging and discharging of the lithium secondary battery are measured in real time through the in-situ XRD.
However, if the lithium-transition metal composite oxide particles (ternary cathode material particles, see [0078]) as taught by Liu were measured in the same way as claimed, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the transition metal to exhibit the same FWHM characteristic, thereby implicitly teaching the claim. Alternatively, the claimed invention is found to be obvious because even if the Liu ternary cathode material particles would not exhibit the same FWHM characteristic, if measured, the difference is not a patentable distinction as the structure of the prior art and claimed materials are close enough that no significant difference in function is associated the difference, noting that both materials are taught to have the same or similar advantageous properties as described above (ternary cathode material particles, see [0078], see detailed explanation in rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 7, Liu teaches wherein the lithium-transition metal composite oxide particles (ternary cathode material particles, see [0078]) are represented by Formula 1 (LiNi0.6Co0.1Mn0.30O2, see [0077] gives specific embodiment and example of the ternary cathode material particles) below:
Li.sub.xNi.sub.aCo.sub.bMn.sub.cM.sub.dO.sub.2+y Formula 1 (LiNi0.6Co0.1Mn0.30O2, see [0077] gives specific embodiment and example of the ternary cathode material particles) wherein M includes at least one of Na, Mg, Ca, Y, Ti, Hf, V, Nb, Ta, Cr, Mo, W, Fe, Cu, Ag, Zn, B, Al, Ga, C, Si, Sn, Sr, Ba, Ra, P and Zr (note the total content of M can be equal to 0, therefore it is not present in the formula), and a, b, c, d, x and y are in a range of 0.8<x<1.5 (1, see [0077] LiNi0.6Co0.1Mn0.30O2), 0.30≤a≤0.70 (0.6, see [0077] LiNi0.6Co0.1Mn0.30O2), 0<b<0.20 (0.1, see [0077] LiNi0.6Co0.1Mn0.30O2), 0.02≤c≤0.50 (0.30, see [0077] LiNi0.6Co0.1Mn0.30O2), 0≤d≤0.05 (0, see [0077] LiNi0.6Co0.1Mn0.30O2), 0.98≤a+b+c≤1.02 (1.0, see [0077] LiNi0.6Co0.1Mn0.30O2, 0.6+0.1+0.3 = 1.0), and −0.1≤y≤0.1 (0, see [0077] LiNi0.6Co0.1Mn0.30O2), respectively. See 112 rejection above for interpretation.
Regarding claim 9, Liu teaches wherein in Formula 1 (LiNi0.6Co0.1Mn0.30O2, see [0077] gives specific embodiment and example of the ternary cathode material particles), b is in a range of 0.03≤b≤0.15 (0.1, see [0077] LiNi0.6Co0.1Mn0.30O2).
Regarding claim 10, Liu teaches wherein in Formula 1 (LiNi0.6Co0.1Mn0.30O2, see [0077] gives specific embodiment and example of the ternary cathode material particles), a and b satisfy 3≤a/b≤40 (6, see [0077] LiNi0.6Co0.1Mn0.30O2, 0.6/0.1 = 6).
Regarding claim 11, Liu teaches wherein in Formula 1 (LiNi0.6Co0.1Mn0.30O2, see [0077] gives specific embodiment and example of the ternary cathode material particles), a and b satisfy 4.5≤a/b≤10 (6, see [0077] LiNi0.6Co0.1Mn0.30O2, 0.6/0.1 = 6).
Regarding claim 12, Liu is silent to wherein the lithium-transition metal composite oxide particles have a (101) plane FWHM ratio of 300% or less, which is defined by Equation 3 below:
(101)plane FWHM ratio(8)=100×(FWHM.sub.max(101)/FWHM.sub.min(101)) Equation 3 wherein in Equation 3, FWHM.sub.max (101) is a maximum FWHM value of a peak of (101) plane of the lithium-transition metal composite oxide particle measured through the in-situ XRD, and FWHM.sub.min (101) is a minimum FWHM value of the peak of (101) plane of the lithium-transition metal composite oxide particle measured through in-situ XRD.
However, if the lithium-transition metal composite oxide particles (ternary cathode material particles, see [0078]) as taught by Liu were measured in the same way as claimed, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the transition metal to exhibit the same FWHM characteristic, thereby implicitly teaching the claim. Alternatively, the claimed invention is found to be obvious because even if the Liu ternary cathode material particles would not exhibit the same FWHM characteristic, if measured, the difference is not a patentable distinction as the structure of the prior art and claimed materials are close enough that no significant difference in function is associated difference, noting that both materials are taught to have the same or similar advantageous properties as described above (ternary cathode material particles, see [0078], see detailed explanation in rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 13, Liu is silent to wherein the (101) plane FWHM ratio is 250% or less.
However, if the lithium-transition metal composite oxide particles (ternary cathode material particles, see [0078]) as taught by Liu were measured in the same way as claimed, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the transition metal to exhibit the same FWHM characteristic, thereby implicitly teaching the claim. Alternatively, the claimed invention is found to be obvious because even if the Liu ternary cathode material particles would not exhibit the same FWHM characteristic, if measured, the difference is not a patentable distinction as the structure of the prior art and claimed materials are close enough that no significant difference in function is associated the difference, noting that both materials are taught to have the same or similar advantageous properties as described above (ternary cathode material particles, see [0078], see detailed explanation in rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 14, Liu teaches a lithium secondary battery (secondary battery, see [0079], see [0086] where the battery is a lithium ion battery), comprising: a cathode (positive electrode sheet, see [0079]) comprising a cathode active material layer (active material layer, see [0082]) comprising the cathode active material (ternary cathode material particles, see [0078]) for a lithium secondary battery (secondary battery, see [0079]) according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above); and an anode (lithium as counter electrode, see [0097], see [00139] the battery of example 8 is made the same way with the material of example 8) disposed to face the cathode (positive electrode sheet, see [0079], see [0097] the positive electrode sheet and counter electrode are placed into a battery, therefore at least one face of the counter electrode will face the positive electrode sheet).
Regarding claim 15, Liu teaches a cathode active material (ternary cathode material particles, see [0078]) for a lithium secondary battery (secondary battery, see [0079]) comprising: lithium-transition metal composite oxide particles (ternary cathode material particles, see [0078]) having a composition represented by Formula 1 (LiNi0.6Co0.1Mn0.30O2, see [0077] gives specific embodiment and example of the ternary cathode material particles):
Li.sub.xNi.sub.aCo.sub.bMn.sub.cM.sub.dO.sub.2+y Formula 1 (LiNi0.6Co0.1Mn0.30O2, see [0077] gives specific embodiment and example of the ternary cathode material particles) wherein M includes at least one of Na, Mg, Ca, Y, Ti, Hf, V, Nb, Ta, Cr, Mo, W, Fe, Cu, Ag, Zn, B, Al, Ga, C, Si, Sn, Sr, Ba, Ra, P and Zr (note the total content of M can be equal to 0, therefore it is not present in the formula), and a, b, c, d, x and y are in a range of 0.8<x<1.5 (1, see [0077] LiNi0.6Co0.1Mn0.30O2), 0.30≤a≤0.70 (0.6, see [0077] LiNi0.6Co0.1Mn0.30O2), 0<b<0.20 (0.1, see [0077] LiNi0.6Co0.1Mn0.30O2), 0.02≤c≤0.50 (0.30, see [0077] LiNi0.6Co0.1Mn0.30O2), 0≤d≤0.05 (0, see [0077] LiNi0.6Co0.1Mn0.30O2), 0.98≤a+b+c≤1.02 (1.0, see [0077] LiNi0.6Co0.1Mn0.30O2, 0.6+0.1+0.3 = 1.0), and −0.1≤y≤0.1 (0, see [0077] LiNi0.6Co0.1Mn0.30O2), respectively, but is silent to having a (113) plane FWHM change rate of 75% or less, which is measured through in-situ X-ray diffraction (XRD) and defined by Equation 1 below:
(113)plane FWHM change rate (%)=100×{(FWHM.sub.max(113)−FWHM.sub.min(113))/FWHM.sub.max(113)} Equation 1 wherein FWHM.sub.max (113) is a maximum FWHM value of a peak of (113) plane of the lithium-transition metal composite oxide particle measured through the in-situ XRD, and wherein FWHM.sub.min (113) is a minimum FWHM value of the peak of (113) plane of the lithium-transition metal composite oxide particle measured through in-situ XRD.
However, Liu teaches the same composition (see [0077] the specific embodiment of LiNi0.6Co0.1Mn0.30O2 which adheres to the composition of the instant published specification [0069-0070] and adheres to the composition given by Example 2 in the instant published specification [0130-0131]) and teaches towards a similar purpose of having high structural stability (see [0044]-[0046] of instant published application described prevention of lattice structure deformation caused by charging and discharging, see [0080] of Liu the positive electrode material has high gram capacity, cycle stability, and structural stability) and further as evidenced by of *Ming balancing the content of nickel in lithium nickel cobalt manganese ternary material balances the energy density of the material with the amount of side reactions of the material which cause volume change and cracks and degradation of the material (see [0016] of *Ming).
Therefore if the lithium-transition metal composite oxide particles (ternary cathode material particles, see [0078]) as taught by Liu were measured in the same way as claimed, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the transition metal to exhibit the same FWHM characteristic, thereby implicitly teaching the claim. Alternatively, the claimed invention is found to be obvious because even if the Liu ternary cathode material particles would not exhibit the same FWHM characteristic, if measured, the difference is not a patentable distinction as the structure of the prior art and claimed materials are close enough that no significant difference in function is associated the difference, noting that both materials are taught to have the same or similar advantageous properties as described above (ternary cathode material particles, see [0078]).
*Additional Evidence provided by Ming et al. (Pub. No. CN 113666436 A).
Regarding claim 16, Liu teaches wherein in Formula 1 (LiNi0.6Co0.1Mn0.30O2, see [0077] gives specific embodiment and example of the ternary cathode material particles): b is in a range of 0.03≤b≤0.15 (0.1, see [0077] LiNi0.6Co0.1Mn0.30O2), and a and b satisfy 3≤a/b≤40 (6, see [0077] LiNi0.6Co0.1Mn0.30O2, 0.6/0.1 = 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (Pub. No. CN 114590847 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shizuka et al. (Pub. No. US 20110003200 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Liu fails to teach wherein the lithium-transition metal composite oxide particles include at least one doping element.
However, Shizuka teaches the lithium-transition metal composite oxide particles (lithium transition metal, see [0168], see [0090] the powder composition is an oxide) include at least one doping element (foreign elements, see [0172] where the element is present in grain boundaries, see [0410-0411] B and W are introduced in the mixture, but not part of the composition overall therefore are dopants).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Liu to include a foreign element such as B and W as dopants before firing as taught by Shizuka to exhibit excellent powder properties, high load characteristics, high-voltage resistance, and high degree of safety (see [0069] of Shizuka). Further, Liu teaches modifications can be made (see [0082] of Liu).
Response to Arguments
9. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7 and 9-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely the same combination or interpretation of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/DOUGLAS C MARROQUIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723