DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Endo et al. (US 2019/0264034, “Endo”) in view of Jang et al. (US 2015/0241737, “Jang”).
Regarding claims 1, 4, 8, and 11, Endo teaches a laminate comprising anisotropic layers including a substrate and a polarizing film or layer (wherein the polarizing layer corresponds to the claimed absorption anisotropic layer, [0296], [0312], [0331] – [0334]), an optically anisotropic layer (e.g., [0029], including various liquid crystalline compounds described from paras. [0025]-[0200]). Endo teaches the optically anisotropic film may have liquid crystalline compounds arranged in a nematic or smectic phase ([0293], [0294], and may be uniformly arranged). Endo teaches that the liquid crystalline compound need not contain silicon or fluorine atoms (e.g., [0015] – [0025]). Endo teaches that the retardation film (i.e., the optically anisotropic film) may have a polarizing film, which may be considered to be a light absorption anisotropic layer, applied thereon ([0312]). Absorption type polarizing films include dichroic dyes thus providing absorption of different polarities and thus may be considered to be anisotropic since it is not transparent to light in every direction or polarity ([0331] - [0334], [0312]). Endo additionally teaches that the alignment of the slow axis of the optically anisotropic layer and the absorption axis of the polarizing layer may be different ([0315], [0325]). Endo additionally teaches that there may be first and second optically anisotropic layers and that they may be laminated on one another (e.g., A-plate, C-plate, laminated directly together [0313] - [0316]) and further laminated on a polarizer ([0293], [0312], polarizer may be considered a light absorption anisotropic layer). Endo fails to specifically teach that the inclusion of a photo-aligned group unevenly distributed in the light absorption film at the interface of the optical and light absorption anisotropic layers. However, in the same field of endeavor of anisotropic films for ruse in display devices ([0002] – [0005]), Jang teaches to provide a composition which is unevenly distributed in an alignment film (e.g., [0073] – [0076]). Jang teaches to include photopolymerizable compounds in an adjacent alignment film and concentrated at the interface of the alignment film and the anisotropic film having liquid crystals in order to improve alignment and ultimately to produce a film that provides better visual outputs for use in a display device ([0074] – [0076]). It therefore would have been obvious to have included photopolymerizable compounds in the underlying substrate alignment film of Endo and to have concentrated the compounds at the interface of the alignment film and the anisotropic film having liquid crystals in order to improve alignment and ultimately to produce a film that provides better visual outputs for use in a display device ([0074] – [0076]).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Endo additionally teaches that the optically anisotropic film may have reverse wavelength dispersion and a ratio of Re(450)/Re(550) of 0.864 ([0350], [0003]).
Regarding claim 5, Endo additionally teaches that there may be first and second optically anisotropic layers and that they may be laminated on one another (e.g., A-plate, C-plate, [0313], [0315], [0316]) and further laminated on the substrate ([0293], as described in rejection of claim 1, above, substrate may be considered a light absorption anisotropic layer).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Endo additionally teaches that first anisotropic film may be a positive A-plate and a second anisotropic film may be a positive C-plate ([0313], [0315], [0316])
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Endo additionally teaches that the laminate may be used in a polarizing plate (e.g., [0002], [0325]) and a display device ([0009], [0012]).
Regarding claim 12, Endo teaches a laminate comprising anisotropic layers including a substrate and a polarizing film or layer (wherein the polarizing layer corresponds to the claimed absorption anisotropic layer, [0296], [0312], [0331] – [0334]), an optically anisotropic layer (e.g., [0029], including various liquid crystalline compounds described from paras. [0025]-[0200]). Endo teaches the optically anisotropic film may have liquid crystalline compounds arranged in a nematic or smectic phase ([0293], [0294], and may be uniformly arranged). Endo teaches that the liquid crystalline compound need not contain silicon or fluorine atoms (e.g., [0015] – [0025]). Endo teaches that the retardation film (i.e., the optically anisotropic film) may have a polarizing film, which may be considered to be a light absorption anisotropic layer, applied thereon ([0312]). Absorption type polarizing films include dichroic dyes thus providing absorption of different polarities and thus may be considered to be anisotropic since it is not transparent to light in every direction or polarity ([0331] - [0334], [0312]). Endo additionally teaches that the alignment of the slow axis of the optically anisotropic layer and the absorption axis of the polarizing layer may be different ([0315], [0325]). Endo additionally teaches that there may be first and second optically anisotropic layers and that they may be laminated on one another (e.g., A-plate, C-plate, laminated directly together [0313] - [0316]) and further laminated on a polarizer ([0293], [0312], polarizer may be considered a light absorption anisotropic layer). Endo additionally teaches the inclusion of a photo-alignment material that reads on presently claimed Formula (A) ([0287] – [0289], and including polyvinyl cinnamate, which reads on the claimed Formula (A) compound). Endo fails to specifically teach that the inclusion of a photo-aligned group unevenly distributed in the light absorption film at the interface of the optical and light absorption anisotropic layers. However, in the same field of endeavor of anisotropic films for ruse in display devices ([0002] – [0005]), Jang teaches to provide a composition which is unevenly distributed in an alignment film (e.g., [0073] – [0076]). Jang teaches to include photopolymerizable compounds in an adjacent alignment film and concentrated at the interface of the alignment film and the anisotropic film having liquid crystals in order to improve alignment and ultimately to produce a film that provides better visual outputs for use in a display device ([0074] – [0076]). It therefore would have been obvious to have included photopolymerizable compounds in the underlying substrate alignment film of Endo and to have concentrated the compounds at the interface of the alignment film and the anisotropic film having liquid crystals in order to improve alignment and ultimately to produce a film that provides better visual outputs for use in a display device ([0074] – [0076]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 11/13/25 are considered moot in light of the new grounds of rejection, which were necessitated by Applicant’s amendments. Arguments that are relevant to the current rejections are addressed below.
Applicant argues that Endo fails to teach the claimed laminate structure. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As described in the body of the rejection above, Endo teaches that there may be first and second optically anisotropic layers and that they may be laminated on one another (e.g., A-plate, C-plate, laminated directly together [0313] - [0316]) and further laminated on a polarizer ([0293], [0312], polarizer may be considered a light absorption anisotropic layer). Therefore, the Examiner maintains that the laminate stack structure as presently claimed is described by Endo.
The applicant asserts that unexpected results overcome the obviousness rejection. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Although the applicant appears to have shown that the results are preferred, the applicant has failed to show that the results are necessarily unexpected and unexpected to a degree sufficient to overcome obviousness. Any differences between the claimed invention and the prior art may be expected to result in some differences in properties. The issue is whether the properties differ to such an extent that the difference is really unexpected. Please see MPEP §716.02. The burden is on the applicant to establish results are unexpected and significant. The evidence relied upon should establish that the differences in results are in fact unexpected, unobvious, commensurate in scope with the claims, and of both statistical and practical significance. See MPEP §716.02(b) and §716.02(d). The applicant is reminded that an affidavit or declaration must compare the claimed subject matter with the closest prior art to be effective to rebut a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP §716.02(e).
Applicant further argues that because Endo does not recite a positive limitation that the photo-aligned polymer does not contain a fluorine atom or a silicon atom this limitation is not described by Endo. The Examiner respectfully disagrees and maintains that because Endo teaches embodiments wherein the photo-aligned polymer does not include a fluorine or silicon atom this limitation is met. That is, the claimed structure wherein a silicon or fluorine atom is absent from a photo-aligned polymer is described in various embodiments of Endo. Please see rejection of claims 1, 8, and 12, above.
Therefore, claims 1-4 and 6-12 are rejected as described above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANTHONY J FROST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782