DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Raman et al. (US 2002/0175597).
With respect to claim 1, Raman et al. discloses an actuator (Fig 1) comprising: a first drive body including a first piezoelectric body (item 20) extending in a first axial direction intersecting a polarization axis (Fig 1); a second drive body including a second piezoelectric body (item 40) extending in the first axial direction (Fig 1); and a shim material (item 12) disposed between the first drive body and the second drive body (Fig 1), wherein one end of the actuator in the first axial direction is a fixed end, and another end of the actuator in the first axial direction is a free end (Fig 1, paragraph 7), and the shim material is exposed from the first piezoelectric body and the second piezoelectric body at an end in the first axial direction (Fig 1, wherein the shim material is exposed from the piezoelectric elements throughout the moving end of the shim material).
With respect to claim 2, Raman et al. discloses the actuator according to Claim 1, wherein the end of the shim material which is exposed from the first piezoelectric body and the second piezoelectric body in a part of the free end of the actuator (Fig 1, wherein the shim material is exposed from the piezoelectric elements throughout the moving end of the shim material).
With respect to claim 3, Raman et al. discloses the actuator according to Claim 2, wherein the shim material is exposed from the first piezoelectric body and the second piezoelectric body on one side surface of the actuator (Fig 1, wherein the shim material is exposed from the piezoelectric elements throughout the moving end of the shim material).
With respect to claim 4, Raman et al. discloses the actuator according to Claim 2, wherein the shim material is exposed from the first piezoelectric body and the second piezoelectric body on both side surfaces of the actuator (Fig 1, wherein the shim material is exposed from the piezoelectric elements throughout the moving end of the shim material on both sides of the shim material).
With respect to claim 5, Raman et al. discloses the actuator according to Claim 2, wherein the shim material is further exposed from the first piezoelectric body and the second piezoelectric body at a central part of the actuator (Fig 1, wherein the shim material is exposed from the piezoelectric elements throughout the moving end of the shim material, which includes the central portion).
With respect to claim 6, Raman et al. discloses the actuator according to Claim 1, wherein the first piezoelectric body and the second piezoelectric body are removed to expose the shim material (Fig 1, wherein the shim material is exposed from the piezoelectric elements throughout the moving end of the shim material).
Conclusion
/DEREK J ROSENAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837