DETAILED ACTION
Elections/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I (Claims 1-6) in the reply filed on 03/30/2026 without traverse is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yu ( CN 204011021 ).
Regarding Claim 1:
Yu teaches that a primary coil suitable to use in a transformer, comprising:
a primary winding bobbin (not explicitly labeled; i.e. first insulating layer; see Abstract) on which a layer of a primary winding (4, Fig, 2; see para 0025) and at least one layer of a fixed number of 1 to 3 layers of an interlayer (2; para 0026) insulation material are wound alternately;
wherein the interlayer insulation material and the primary winding are impregnated with an epoxy (see para 0026); and
wherein the interlayer insulation material is a {nonwoven material} or a crepe paper (see Abstract or para 0025-0026).
Regarding Claim 3:
As applied to claim 1, Yu teaches that at least one layer of the interlayer insulation material and a high voltage (see para 0025) screen disposed over an external layer (3) of the primary winding, wherein at least one layer of the interlayer insulation material and a grounding screen (see para 0028) are disposed over the high voltage screen.
Regarding Claim 4:
As applied to claim 3, Yu teaches the high voltage screen is made of a semiconducting paper sheet (i.e. copper foil; para 0026) {or semiconducting paper tape, or a semiconducting nonwoven sheet or a semiconducting nonwoven tape, or a semiconducting foam}.
Regarding Claim 5:
Yu teaches that transformer, comprising:
a core (8, Fig. 2; see para 0025);
a primary winding (4, Fig, 2; see para 0025; and
a secondary winding (6);
wherein the primary winding is a primary coil, the primary coil comprising:
a primary winding bobbin (not explicitly labeled; i.e. first insulating layer; see Abstract) on which a layer of a primary winding and at least one layer of a fixed number of 1 to 3 layers of an interlayer insulation material are wound alternately;
wherein the interlayer insulation material and the primary winding are
wherein the interlayer insulation material and the primary winding are impregnated with an epoxy (see para 0026); and
wherein the interlayer insulation material is a {nonwoven material} or a crepe paper (see Abstract or para 0025-0026).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu in view of Yio (US 20190355509 A1).
Regarding Claim 2:
As applied to claim 1, Yu teaches the interlayer insulation material except the interlayer insulation material is a nonwoven fabric made of polyethylene terephthalate, PET .
However, Yio taught in para 0073 that insulating layer 77 may be formed of an insulating film such as PET (polyethylene terephthalate)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the interlayer insulation material is a nonwoven fabric made of polyethylene terephthalate, PET to provide high tensile strength, impact resistance, and durability.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu in view of Outten (US 20130106546 A1).
Regarding Claim 6:
As applied to claim 5, Yu does not teach that a housing, the housing being made of dielectric material {and/or being grounded}.
However, Outten teaches that a housing (14, Fig. 6), the housing being made of dielectric material (see para 0039 or claim 3).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have a housing, the housing being made of dielectric material to provide better insulation for the transformer to protect coil components from short circuit and damages.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. A list of pertinent prior art is attached in form 892.
/KAZI HOSSAIN/
Examiner, Art Unit 2837
/SHAWKI S ISMAIL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837