DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-2) in the reply filed on 12/29/2025 is acknowledged.
Groups II-VII (claims 3-14) are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/29/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada et al (US 20220066335 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yamada teaches a method for producing a fluorine-containing resin [abstract], which comprises emulsion polymerizing fluoroolefins including a copolymer of two or more monomers which are at least one fluoroolefin monomer and a non-fluorine-based monomer [0078]. The fluoroolefin monomers include tetrafluoroethylene (TFE), chlorotrifluoroethylene (CTFE), and vinylidene fluoride (VdF) [0079]. The emulsion polymerization is carried out in a dispersion medium (water) [0084, 0371].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to produce a fluorine-containing resin homopolymer or copolymer comprising CTFE and/or VdF, with less than 99 mass% of TFE, as these are expressly disclosed as being suitable in this capacity. It has been established that selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obvious (Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)). See MPEP 2144.07.
The water medium for emulsion polymerization reads on the claimed aqueous medium.
Yamada teaches that the fluorine-containing resin particles may have a fluorine atom-containing dispersant comprising polymers obtained by homopolymerization or copolymerization of polymerizable compounds including 2-methoxyethyl methacrylate and methoxypolyethylene glycol methacrylate [0096-0097, 0100].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to produce the fluorine-containing resin particles by emulsion polymerization in the presence of the dispersant comprising polymers of 2-methoxyethyl methacrylate and methoxypolyethylene glycol methacrylate, as these are expressly disclosed as being suitable in this capacity. It has been established that selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obvious (Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)). See MPEP 2144.07.
The examiner submits that 2-methoxyethyl methacrylate and methoxypolyethylene glycol methacrylate meet the claimed formula (1), as evidenced by the applicant [0078, 0083 spec.].
Regarding claim 2, Yamada does not specifically teach the amount of the dispersant (corresponding to the claimed specific polymer) relative to the amount of the aqueous medium. However, Yamada teaches that the amount of the fluorine-containing dispersant contained relative to, for example, the fluorine-containing resin particles is preferably 0.5 mass % or more and 10 mass % or less [0124]. In addition, Example 5 discloses a fluorine-containing resin dispersion made with 1000 g of TFE in 3 L of water [0371]. Thus, the ratio of the fluorine-containing resin particles to water is 1:3. This specific example does not contain the dispersant. However, based on Yamada’s general teaching that a dispersant can be added as stated above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to add a dispersant to a fluorine-containing resin dispersion in an amount of 0.17 to 3.3 parts by mass of the dispersant per 100 parts by mass of water, as calculated by the examiner.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to form a fluorine-containing resin dispersion according to Yamada including the dispersant in an amount of 0.17 to 3.3 parts by mass per 100 parts by mass of water, as Yamada demonstrates this range to be suitable for this type of fluorine-containing resin dispersion. "The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416-21 (2007). See MPEP 2141.
The amount of the dispersant is 0.17 to 3.3 parts by mass per 100 parts by mass of water overlaps the claimed range of 0.0001 to 1.0 parts by ass per 100 parts by mass of the aqueous medium. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" (MPEP 2144.05.I).
Conclusion
/JIANGTIAN XU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762