DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 19 recites” the thermostat” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this imitation in the claim. It should be written “ a thermostat”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clarke et al. (US 2022/0140411), hereinafter Clarke, in view of KR20040075653A, hereinafter 653’.
As to claim 1, Clarke discloses 1b, a climate-controlled battery charging container [figure 1b], comprising: an insulated housing [the housing is insulated; see ¶0093];
a plurality of power outlets [USP ports (158); and ¶0096]; and
a power supply [power supply 102; see ¶0096].
Clarks does not disclose explicitly, a heated panel positioned inside of the insulated housing.
653’ discloses in figure 6, a heated panel [heated panel 12].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use both heating and colling components in Clarke’s apparatus as taught by 653’ in order to avoid charging circuit damage due to heat.
As to claim 3, Clarke in combination with 653’discloses, wherein the insulated housing comprises a temperature gauge [see ¶0089].
As to claim 6, 653’discloses in figure 1, wherein the heated panel comprises at least one heating element configured to transfer heat via conduction or convection to air within the climate-controlled battery charging container [¶0089].
As to claim 9, Clarke discloses in figure 1, a climate-controlled battery charging container [see figure 1b], comprising: an insulated housing [see ¶0069]; and a plurality of power outlets [USP ports (158); and ¶0096].
Clarks does not disclose explicitly, a thermostat; a thermally-controlled panel positioned within the insulated housing;.
653’ discloses in figure 6, a thermostat [PCT (12)[; a thermally-controlled panel [heater panel (12)[ positioned within the insulated housing;.
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use both heating and colling components in Clarke’s apparatus as taught by 653’ in order to avoid charging circuit damage due to heat.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clarke in view of 653’, and further in view of Truettner et al. (US 2018/0376625), hereinafter Truettner.
As to claim 2 neither Clarke nor 637’ discloses, wherein the insulated housing comprises a thermostat configured to adjust an internal temperature within the climate-controlled battery charging container via the cooled panel or heated panel.
Truettner discloses in figure 1 , wherein the insulated housing comprises a thermostat configured to adjust an internal temperature within the climate-controlled battery charging container via the cooled panel or heated panel [see figure 32].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use temperature adjusted means in Clarke’s apparatus as taught by Truettner in order to avoid circuit overheating.
Claims 4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clarke in view of 653’, further in view of view of CN100423357C, hereinafter 357’.
As to claims 4 and 10, Clarke in combination with Neary discloses in figure 1, wherein the insulated housing comprises a first power switch configured to turn a thermostat on and off and a second power switch configured to turn the plurality of power outlets on and off..
564’ discloses in figure 4, wherein the insulated housing comprises a first power switch [power switch 442] configured to turn the thermostat on and off and a second power switch [switch 446] configured to turn the plurality of power outlets on and off.
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to use power and temperature switches in Clarke’s apparatus as taught by 564’ in order to control the power supply of the charger and the temperature sensor effectively.
Claims 5,7 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clarke et al. (US 2022/0140411), hereinafter Clarke, in view of 653’, in view of Krieger (US 2005/0156564), hereinafter Krieger.
As to claims 5 and 11, neither Clarke nor 637’ discloses explicitly, discloses in figure 1, wherein the insulated housing comprises a base , a hinged lid removably couplable to the base, one or more handles [handles and strips disclosed] , and one or more wheels .
Krieger discloses in figure 1, wherein the insulated housing comprises a base [base], a hinged lid [lid 12] removably couplable to the base, one or more handles [handles and strips disclosed] , and one or more wheels [Wheels; ¶0012].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to add wheels and lid in Clarke’s apparatus as taught by Krieger in order to easily transport the charger.
As to Claims 7 and 12, , wherein an internal temperature of the climate-controlled battery charging container is substantially maintained between 72-90°F during use.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to utilize appropriate temperature ranges for the charger circuit of Clarke’s in order to maintain the charger temperature at normal temperature to control the charging circuit temperatures to prevent circuit damage due to high temperature, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clarke et al. (US 2022/0140411), hereinafter Clarke, in view of KR20040075653A, hereinafter 653’.
As to claim 14, Clarke discloses in figure 1b, a climate-controlled battery charging container [charger ; see figure 1b], comprising:
an insulated housing [insulated housing is disclosed; see ¶0093];
a plurality of power outlets [see ports (158); see ¶0096].
Clarke does not disclose explicitly, a heated panel; a cooled panel
653’ discloses in figure 6, a heated panel [heated panel 12]; a cooled panel [cool panel 11].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use both heating and colling components in Clarke’s apparatus as taught by 653’ in order to avoid charging circuit damage due to heat.
Claims 8 ,13 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clarke in view of 653’, and further in view of Taga (US 2015/0244034).
As to claims 8 and 13, neither Clarke nor 653’ discloses, wherein the insulated housing comprises a charging station for a power tool.
Krieger discloses in figure 1, wherein the insulated housing comprises a charging station for a power tool [Abstract, ¶0032].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use the charging circuit of Clarke with power tool as taught by Taga in order to extend charger usage.
As to Claim 15, neither Clarke nor 637’ discloses explicitly, a liquid cooling system.
Taga discloses in figure 1, a liquid cooling system [liquid water is used to cool down; see ¶0010].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use liquid such as water in Clarke’s apparatus as taught by Taga in order to cool down the charging circuit and void any overheating.
As to claim 16, Taga discloses in figure 1, comprising an intake vent [ventilation vent 211 is disclosed; see ¶0033].
As to claim 17, Taga discloses in figure 1, comprising at least one fan [fan 4 is disclosed; see ¶0032].
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clarke in view of 653’, further in view of Truettner et al. (US 2018/0376625), hereinafter Truettner.
As to claim 18, neither Clarke nor 653’ discloses, wherein the insulated housing comprises a thermostat configured to adjust an internal temperature within the climate-controlled battery charging container via the cooled panel or heated panel.
Truettner discloses in figure 1 , wherein the insulated housing comprises a thermostat configured to adjust an internal temperature within the climate-controlled battery charging container via the cooled panel or heated panel [see figure 32].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use temperature adjusted means in Clarke’s apparatus as taught by Truettner in order to avoid circuit overheating.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clarke in view of 653’, further in view of view of CN100423357C , hereinafter 357’.
As to claim 19, neither Clarke nor 653’ discloses explicitly, wherein the insulated housing comprises a first power switch configured to turn the thermostat on and off and a second power switch configured to turn the plurality of power outlets on and off.
564’ discloses in figure 4, wherein the insulated housing comprises a first power switch [power switch 442] configured to turn the thermostat on and off and a second power switch [switch 446] configured to turn the plurality of power outlets on and off.
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to use power and temperature switches in Clarke’s apparatus as taught by 564’ in order to control the power supply of the charger and the temperature sensor effectively.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clarke in view of 653’, further in view of view of Krieger (US 2005/0156564).
As to claim 20, neither Clarke nor 637’ discloses, wherein the insulated housing comprises a base, a hinged lid removably couplable to the base, one or more handles, and one or more wheels.
Krieger discloses in figure 1, wherein the insulated housing comprises a base [base], a hinged lid [lid 12] removably couplable to the base, one or more handles [handles and strips disclosed] , and one or more wheels [Wheels; ¶0012].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to add wheels and lid in Clarke’s apparatus as taught by Krieger in order to easily transport the charger.
Conclusion
/SAMUEL BERHANU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859