DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levy (US 8,125,667B2) in view of Fujitani et al. (Fujitani) (US 2005/0264844 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Levy discloses an information processing apparatus (e.g., FIG. 1, system 100 can include, but is not limited to, a supplier, such as print media supplier 32, or facilitator 33, three print media reader/recorders 50, print media monitor 11, print media database 87, a provider such as establishment 21 or facilitator 33, and user computer 25 such as, for example, a personal computer (PC), a cell phone 26, or a personal data assistant (PDA) 28, paragraph 18 in Detailed Description) comprising:
a processor (e.g., personal computer (PC), paragraph 18) configured to:
receive an operation relating to payment of a deposit and obtain payment information, which is information regarding the payment of the deposit, from a transaction apparatus connected to the information processing apparatus over a network (e.g., a method for use of a generic print medium credit/debit card such as would be used at Macy's or for Verizon, in the context of the print media 40 of the present invention, can include, but is not limited to, the steps of verifying 323 that the user has credit or debit amount established and successfully transferred to the database server of the organization, paragraph 30);
receive the payment of the deposit corresponding to the payment information (e.g., setting 325 the user's credit debit amount (UCDA). Method 300A can further include the steps of issuing 327 a recorded security code (WSN) and storing that WSN in print media database 87 (FIG. 1). Method 300A can still further include the steps of allowing 329 the user to transact e-commerce on the establishment website, and transmitting 333 the transaction cost, paragraph 30);
add the deposit to a balance (e.g., assigning a user comment code (UCN). If, referring to method step 337, the UCDA balance is greater than the cost of the transaction that is desired, method 300A can include the steps of authorizing 339 the transaction and deducting the cost of the transaction from the UCDA. If, referring to method step 337, paragraph 30, figure 10A);
receive execution of at least one job in consideration of the balance (e.g., the UCDA balance is not greater than the cost of the transaction that is desired, method 300A can include the steps of denying 341 the transaction and informing the merchant and user that an insufficient UCDA balance exists to cover the cost of the transaction desired by the user, paragraph 30); and
output, to the transaction apparatus, transaction information based on a cumulative charge, which is a sum of a charge for the at least one job (e.g., method 300B can further include the steps of transacting 307 commerce, and sending 309 the transaction amount and detail to the data base server. If customer comments are desired, method 300B can include the step of sending 311 customer comments to the data base server where a customer comment number is assigned. If (decision 315) the balance is greater than the transaction amount, method 300B can include the step of authorizing the transaction and deducting the last transaction amount, paragraph 31, figure 10B), wherein
Levy does not specifically disclose the at least one job comprises at least one of a copying operation, a printing operation, or a scanning operation performed by the information processing apparatus that is a multifunction device, and
the cumulative charge represents a sum of charges for a plurality of document processing operations executed against the balance.
Fujitani discloses the at least one job comprises at least one of a copying operation, a printing operation, or a scanning operation performed by the information processing apparatus that is a multifunction device, and the cumulative charge represents a sum of charges for a plurality of document processing operations executed against the balance (e.g., a system for printing information from a portable digital device, including: a base station for managing information; a portable digital device wirelessly connected to the base station on demand for receiving and transmitting the information including printable information; and printer processing units located at predetermined locations for establishing a temporary connection with the portable digital device, the selected printer processing unit offering an interface for selecting the printable information, the printer processing unit obtaining a selected portion of the printable information via the portable digital device, the printer processing unit printing the selected portion of the printable information, the printer processing unit charging a fee for printing the selected portion of the printable information, paragraph 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified Levy to include the at least one job comprises at least one of a copying operation, a printing operation, or a scanning operation performed by the information processing apparatus that is a multifunction device, and the cumulative charge represents a sum of charges for a plurality of document processing operations executed against the balance as taught by Fujitani. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified Levy by the teaching of Fujitani to print the information using one of a plurality of printer stations placed at predetermined or remote locations. In other words, as public phones are widely available for use for a fee, it is desired that public printers should be also widely available as taught by Fujitani, paragraph 4.
Regarding claim 2, Levy discloses wherein the processor is configured to receive an operation for adding another deposit (e.g., the security code could also represent a fixed dollar amount that the user transferred from a bank account to the coin-size debit envelope. Such a debit envelope could be used to transfer money from person to person through, for example, the mail. Other possible print medium applications can include, but are not limited to, ATM card, phone card, gift card, storage medium, travel ticket, sporting/entertainment event ticket, commuter ticket, deposit/withdrawal slip, hotel key, security identification, and gaming identification, paragraph 24).
Regarding claim 3, Levy discloses wherein the processor is configured to receive, in a case where an instruction to add another deposit is received from a user, the operation for adding another deposit (e.g., referring now primarily to FIG. 12, method 400, a method by which a customer can use print media 40 (FIG. 1) for making a bank deposit, can include, but is not limited to, the steps of manufacturing 401 print media 40 (FIG. 1) having electronic print information including bank supplier and identifiers recorded in the electronic recording medium, paragraph 33).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Levy discloses wherein the processor is configured to display the balance in a case where the execution of the at least one job is received (e.g., method 300A can further include the steps of issuing 327 a recorded security code (WSN) and storing that WSN in print media database 87 (FIG. 1). Method 300A can still further include the steps of allowing 329 the user to transact e-commerce on the establishment website, and transmitting 333 the transaction cost and other details as may be required to print media database 87 (FIG. 1) after the user has selected the goods or other activity that is desired, paragraph 30).
Regarding claim 6, Levy discloses wherein the processor is configured to receive specification of an amount of the deposit as the operation (e.g., referring now primarily to FIG. 12, method 400, a method by which a customer can use print media 40 (FIG. 1) for making a bank deposit, can include, but is not limited to, the steps of manufacturing 401 print media 40 (FIG. 1) having electronic print information including bank supplier and identifiers recorded in the electronic recording medium, paragraph 33).
Regarding claim 7, Levy discloses wherein the payment information is a code image indicating information for identifying a transaction performed by the transaction apparatus corresponding to the specified amount (e.g., Further the provider electronic print information or facilitator electronic print information can include a unique identifier that can be used to obtain from the Internet any data associated with the print medium such as, for example, name address, account code, credit card code, security password, web site address, telephone number, transaction code, etc, paragraph 11), and wherein the processor is configured to receive the deposit by reading the payment information or making a user read the payment information using another apparatus (e.g., the electronic print medium of the present invention could be a more secure alternative to credit/debit cards. In the present invention, if the print medium is in the form of an envelope, it can be converted to a credit card by simply writing security code related to a specific debit or credit amount, paragraph 21).
Regarding claim 8, Levy discloses wherein the processor is configured to output, as the transaction information, at least a balance that is a difference between the cumulative charge and a sum of deposits or the charge for the at least one job (e.g., If the balance remaining in the UCDA is greater than zero, method 300A can include the step of storing 335 a new UCDA balance amount so that the user may continue to conduct e-commerce so long as there is a sufficient UCDA balance to permit the same, paragraph 30).
9. (Original) An information processing system comprising: the information processing apparatus according to claim 1; a terminal that transmits an instruction to pay a deposit; and a transaction apparatus that receives the instruction and that performs a transaction with the deposit (e.g., the security code could also represent a fixed dollar amount that the user transferred from a bank account to the coin-size debit envelope. Such a debit envelope could be used to transfer money from person to person through, for example, the mail. Other possible print medium applications can include, but are not limited to, ATM card, phone card, gift card, storage medium, travel ticket, sporting/entertainment event ticket, commuter ticket, deposit/withdrawal slip, hotel key, security identification, and gaming identification, paragraph 24, Summary).
10. (Original) An information processing system comprising: the information processing apparatus according to claim 2; a terminal that transmits an instruction to pay a deposit; and a transaction apparatus that receives the instruction and that performs a transaction with the deposit (e.g., the security code could also represent a fixed dollar amount that the user transferred from a bank account to the coin-size debit envelope. Such a debit envelope could be used to transfer money from person to person through, for example, the mail. Other possible print medium applications can include, but are not limited to, ATM card, phone card, gift card, storage medium, travel ticket, sporting/entertainment event ticket, commuter ticket, deposit/withdrawal slip, hotel key, security identification, and gaming identification, paragraph 24).
11. (Original) An information processing system comprising: the information processing apparatus according to claim 3; a terminal that transmits an instruction to pay a deposit; and a transaction apparatus that receives the instruction and that performs a transaction with the deposit (e.g., the security code could also represent a fixed dollar amount that the user transferred from a bank account to the coin-size debit envelope. Such a debit envelope could be used to transfer money from person to person through, for example, the mail. Other possible print medium applications can include, but are not limited to, ATM card, phone card, gift card, storage medium, travel ticket, sporting/entertainment event ticket, commuter ticket, deposit/withdrawal slip, hotel key, security identification, and gaming identification, paragraph 24).
12. (Original) An information processing system comprising: the information processing apparatus according to claim 4; a terminal that transmits an instruction to pay a deposit; and a transaction apparatus that receives the instruction and that performs a transaction with the deposit (e.g., the security code could also represent a fixed dollar amount that the user transferred from a bank account to the coin-size debit envelope. Such a debit envelope could be used to transfer money from person to person through, for example, the mail. Other possible print medium applications can include, but are not limited to, ATM card, phone card, gift card, storage medium, travel ticket, sporting/entertainment event ticket, commuter ticket, deposit/withdrawal slip, hotel key, security identification, and gaming identification, paragraph 24).
13. (Original) An information processing system comprising: the information processing apparatus according to claim 5; a terminal that transmits an instruction to pay a deposit; and a transaction apparatus that receives the instruction and that performs a transaction with the deposit (e.g., the security code could also represent a fixed dollar amount that the user transferred from a bank account to the coin-size debit envelope. Such a debit envelope could be used to transfer money from person to person through, for example, the mail. Other possible print medium applications can include, but are not limited to, ATM card, phone card, gift card, storage medium, travel ticket, sporting/entertainment event ticket, commuter ticket, deposit/withdrawal slip, hotel key, security identification, and gaming identification, paragraph 24).
14. (Original) An information processing system comprising: the information processing apparatus according to claim 6; a terminal that transmits an instruction to pay a deposit; and a transaction apparatus that receives the instruction and that performs a transaction with the deposit (e.g., the security code could also represent a fixed dollar amount that the user transferred from a bank account to the coin-size debit envelope. Such a debit envelope could be used to transfer money from person to person through, for example, the mail. Other possible print medium applications can include, but are not limited to, ATM card, phone card, gift card, storage medium, travel ticket, sporting/entertainment event ticket, commuter ticket, deposit/withdrawal slip, hotel key, security identification, and gaming identification, paragraph 24).
15. (Original) An information processing system comprising: the information processing apparatus according to claim 7; a terminal that transmits an instruction to pay a deposit; and a transaction apparatus that receives the instruction and that performs a transaction with the deposit (e.g., the security code could also represent a fixed dollar amount that the user transferred from a bank account to the coin-size debit envelope. Such a debit envelope could be used to transfer money from person to person through, for example, the mail. Other possible print medium applications can include, but are not limited to, ATM card, phone card, gift card, storage medium, travel ticket, sporting/entertainment event ticket, commuter ticket, deposit/withdrawal slip, hotel key, security identification, and gaming identification, paragraph 24).
16. (Original) The information processing system according to The information processing system according to wherein the transaction apparatus repays the balance on a basis of the transaction apparatus (e.g., if the balance remaining in the UCDA is greater than zero, method 300A can include the step of storing 335 a new UCDA balance amount so that the user may continue to conduct e-commerce so long as there is a sufficient UCDA balance to permit the same, paragraph 30).
17. (Original) The information processing system according to The information processing system according to wherein, in a case where a plurality of payments occur as a result of a plurality of instructions, the transaction apparatus performs transactions in order of reception of the plurality of instructions (e.g., If, referring to method step 337, the UCDA balance is greater than the cost of the transaction that is desired, method 300A can include the steps of authorizing 339 the transaction and deducting the cost of the transaction from the UCDA. If, referring to method step 337, the UCDA balance is not greater than the cost of the transaction that is desired, method 300A can include the steps of denying 341 the transaction and informing the merchant and user that an insufficient UCDA balance exists to cover the cost of the transaction desired by the user. If the balance remaining in the UCDA is greater than zero, method 300A can include the step of storing 335 a new UCDA balance amount so that the user may continue to conduct e-commerce so long as there is a sufficient UCDA balance to permit the same, paragraph 30).
18. (Original) The information processing system according to The information processing system according to wherein the transaction apparatus is capable of receiving the plurality of instructions from a plurality of terminals (e.g., Establishment 21, as used herein, is intended to be applicable to any user of print media 40 for any desired application as will become more apparent from the description in the spreadsheets and flow charts that will follow. Facilitator 33 refers to, for example, but not limited to, a systems integrator, a hardware or software supplier, an internet company or any other entity facilitating the transactions between the print media supplier 32, provider, the establishment 21 and the physical transport courier of print media 40. After the provider (e.g. establishment 21 or facilitator 33) has authenticated and verified print media 40, the provider (e.g. establishment 21 or facilitator 33) can apply to the print media whatever information is desired to be transmitted to a recipient, paragraph 18).
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 is a non-transitory computer readable medium with limitations similar of limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claim 19 is rejected as set forth above as claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 is a method for processing information claim with limitations similar of limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claim 20 is rejected as set forth above as claim 1.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/QUANG N VO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683