CTNF 18/181,762 CTNF 82708 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. DETAILED ACTION This Office Action is in response to Application No. 18/181,762 filed 03/10/2023. Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/10/2023 was considered by the examiner. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claim contains the typographical error “content.;” in line 8 . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1, 2, 6, 8, 9, 13, 15, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patel et al. (US 2023/0298276), herein Patel, in view of Candelore et al. (US 2019/0012931), herein Candelore . Consider claim 1 , Patel clearly teaches a computer-implemented method, (Fig. 7) comprising: determining a context of a text block using natural language processing (NLP); (Figs. 2, 3, 4B: Natural language processing (NPL) is used to identify objects of interest 318 in video content based on audio inputs 316, e.g. narration by a lecturer or comments by a commentator, [0038], [0046]-[0049].) identifying a clip of a video content synced with the text block, wherein the clip includes at least one frame of the video content; (The video content comprises a plurality of frames and the audio input may be part of the content with associated time stamps, [0038], [0040], [0050].) selecting a most relevant region of the at least one frame of the video content based on the context of the text block; (Figs. 3, 4B: The region of interest determining module 306 determines one or more regions of interest 320 based on the objects of interest 318 identified by NPL, [0050]-[0052].) storing the most relevant region of the at least one frame of the video content. (Fig. 3: Region of interest data 320 is stored in memory 116, [0044].) However, Patel does not explicitly teach storing the most relevant region of the at least one frame of the video content as a zoom region of the at least one frame; and in response to displaying the at least one frame of the video content, dynamically magnifying the zoom region of the at least one frame of the video content. In an analogous art, Candelore, which discloses a system for video processing, clearly teaches storing the most relevant region of the at least one frame of the video content as a zoom region of the at least one frame; and in response to displaying the at least one frame of the video content, dynamically magnifying the zoom region of the at least one frame of the video content. (Figs. 2, 9, 12, 13: Video elements of interest 1202 in a portion of the video frame are identified and displayed magnified from their original size, [0050], [0062]-[0064], [0066].) Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Patel by storing the most relevant region of the at least one frame of the video content as a zoom region of the at least one frame; and in response to displaying the at least one frame of the video content, dynamically magnifying the zoom region of the at least one frame of the video content, as taught by Candelore, for the benefit of improving the viewing experience for people with vision impairments ([0003] Candelore). Consider claim 2 , Patel combined with Candelore clearly teaches detecting, using image segmentation, at least one region of interest (ROI) in the at least one frame of the video content; and comparing the context of the text block with the at least one ROI in the at least one frame to determine the most relevant region of the at least one frame, wherein the most relevant region of the at least one frame visually represents the context of the text block. (Fig. 4B: Region of interest 410A is selected because it contains object of interest 408A determined based on the commentary 406A, [0049]-[0051] Patel.) Consider claim 6 , Patel combined with Candelore clearly teaches storing the most relevant region of the at least one frame of the video content as the zoom region of the at least one frame further comprises: storing a respective most relevant region of a plurality of frames of the video content as a set of zooming instructions for the video content, wherein the set of zooming instructions indicates a respective zoom region of the plurality of frames of the video content. (Fig. 1: Computer instructions are stored in memory which allow the system to enlarge the selected portion of the video frame, [0005], [0011], [0024]-[0031], [0050] Candelore.) Consider claim 8 , Patel clearly teaches a computer system for context-based dynamic zooming, (Fig. 8) comprising: one or more processors, one or more computer-readable memories and one or more computer-readable storage media; ([0065]-[0068]) program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage media for execution by at least one of the one or more processors via at least one of the one or more memories, to determine a context of a text block using natural language processing (NLP); (Figs. 2, 3, 4B: Natural language processing (NPL) is used to identify objects of interest 318 in video content based on audio inputs 316, e.g. narration by a lecturer or comments by a commentator, [0038], [0046]-[0049].) program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage media for execution by at least one of the one or more processors via at least one of the one or more memories, to identify a clip of a video content synced with the text block, wherein the clip includes at least one frame of the video content; (The video content comprises a plurality of frames and the audio input may be part of the content with associated time stamps, [0038], [0040], [0050].) program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage media for execution by at least one of the one or more processors via at least one of the one or more memories, to select a most relevant region of the at least one frame of the video content based on the context of the text block; (Figs. 3, 4B: The region of interest determining module 306 determines one or more regions of interest 320 based on the objects of interest 318 identified by NPL, [0050]-[0052].) program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage media for execution by at least one of the one or more processors via at least one of the one or more memories, to store the most relevant region of the at least one frame of the video content. (Fig. 3: Region of interest data 320 is stored in memory 116, [0044].) However, Patel does not explicitly teach program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage media for execution by at least one of the one or more processors via at least one of the one or more memories, to store the most relevant region of the at least one frame of the video content as a zoom region of the at least one frame; and program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage media for execution by at least one of the one or more processors via at least one of the one or more memories, to in response to displaying the at least one frame of the video content, dynamically magnify the zoom region of the at least one frame of the video content. In an analogous art, Candelore, which discloses a system for video processing, clearly teaches program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage media for execution by at least one of the one or more processors via at least one of the one or more memories, to store the most relevant region of the at least one frame of the video content as a zoom region of the at least one frame; and program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage media for execution by at least one of the one or more processors via at least one of the one or more memories, to in response to displaying the at least one frame of the video content, dynamically magnify the zoom region of the at least one frame of the video content. (Figs. 2, 9, 12, 13: Video elements of interest 1202 in a portion of the video frame are identified and displayed magnified from their original size, [0050], [0062]-[0064], [0066].) Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Patel by program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage media for execution by at least one of the one or more processors via at least one of the one or more memories, to store the most relevant region of the at least one frame of the video content as a zoom region of the at least one frame; and program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage media for execution by at least one of the one or more processors via at least one of the one or more memories, to in response to displaying the at least one frame of the video content, dynamically magnify the zoom region of the at least one frame of the video content, as taught by Candelore, for the benefit of improving the viewing experience for people with vision impairments ([0003] Candelore). Consider claim 9 , Patel combined with Candelore clearly teaches program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage media for execution by at least one of the one or more processors via at least one of the one or more memories, to detect, using image segmentation, at least one region of interest (ROI) in the at least one frame of the video content; and program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage media for execution by at least one of the one or more processors via at least one of the one or more memories, to compare the context of the text block with the at least one ROI in the at least one frame to determine the most relevant region of the at least one frame, wherein the most relevant region of the at least one frame visually represents the context of the text block. (Fig. 4B: Region of interest 410A is selected because it contains object of interest 408A determined based on the commentary 406A, [0049]-[0051] Patel.) Consider claim 13 , Patel combined with Candelore clearly teaches the program instructions to store the most relevant region of the at least one frame of the video content as the zoom region of the at least one frame further comprises: program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage media for execution by at least one of the one or more processors via at least one of the one or more memories, to store a respective most relevant region of a plurality of frames of the video content as a set of zooming instructions for the video content, wherein the set of zooming instructions indicates a respective zoom region of the plurality of frames of the video content. (Fig. 1: Computer instructions are stored in memory which allow the system to enlarge the selected portion of the video frame, [0005], [0011], [0024]-[0031], [0050] Candelore.) Consider claim 15 , Patel clearly teaches a computer program product for context-based dynamic zooming, the computer program product ([0026]) comprising: one or more computer-readable storage media; ([0065]-[0068]) program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage media, to determine a context of a text block using natural language processing (NLP); (Figs. 2, 3, 4B: Natural language processing (NPL) is used to identify objects of interest 318 in video content based on audio inputs 316, e.g. narration by a lecturer or comments by a commentator, [0038], [0046]-[0049].) program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage media, to identify a clip of a video content synced with the text block, wherein the clip includes at least one frame of the video content; (The video content comprises a plurality of frames and the audio input may be part of the content with associated time stamps, [0038], [0040], [0050].) program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage media, to select a most relevant region of the at least one frame of the video content based on the context of the text block; (Figs. 3, 4B: The region of interest determining module 306 determines one or more regions of interest 320 based on the objects of interest 318 identified by NPL, [0050]-[0052].) program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage media, to store the most relevant region of the at least one frame of the video content. (Fig. 3: Region of interest data 320 is stored in memory 116, [0044].) However, Patel does not explicitly teach program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage media, to store the most relevant region of the at least one frame of the video content as a zoom region of the at least one frame; and program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage media, to in response to displaying the at least one frame of the video content, dynamically magnify the zoom region of the at least one frame of the video content. In an analogous art, Candelore, which discloses a system for video processing, clearly teaches program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage media, to store the most relevant region of the at least one frame of the video content as a zoom region of the at least one frame; and program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage media, to in response to displaying the at least one frame of the video content, dynamically magnify the zoom region of the at least one frame of the video content. (Figs. 2, 9, 12, 13: Video elements of interest 1202 in a portion of the video frame are identified and displayed magnified from their original size, [0050], [0062]-[0064], [0066].) Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Patel by program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage media, to store the most relevant region of the at least one frame of the video content as a zoom region of the at least one frame; and program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage media, to in response to displaying the at least one frame of the video content, dynamically magnify the zoom region of the at least one frame of the video content, as taught by Candelore, for the benefit of improving the viewing experience for people with vision impairments ([0003] Candelore). Consider claim 16 , Patel combined with Candelore clearly teaches program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage media, to detect, using image segmentation, at least one region of interest (ROI) in the at least one frame of the video content; and program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage media, to compare the context of the text block with the at least one ROI in the at least one frame to determine the most relevant region of the at least one frame, wherein the most relevant region of the at least one frame visually represents the context of the text block. (Fig. 4B: Region of interest 410A is selected because it contains object of interest 408A determined based on the commentary 406A, [0049]-[0051] Patel.) Consider claim 20 , Patel combined with Candelore clearly teaches the program instructions to store the most relevant region of the at least one frame of the video content as the zoom region of the at least one frame further comprises: program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage media, to store a respective most relevant region of a plurality of frames of the video content as a set of zooming instructions for the video content, wherein the set of zooming instructions indicates a respective zoom region of the plurality of frames of the video content. (Fig. 1: Computer instructions are stored in memory which allow the system to enlarge the selected portion of the video frame, [0005], [0011], [0024]-[0031], [0050] Candelore.) 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 3, 10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patel et al. (US 2023/0298276) in view of Candelore et al. (US 2019/0012931) in view of Decrop et al. (US 11,122,341), herein Decrop . Consider claim 3 , Patel combined with Candelore clearly teaches determining the context of the text block using NLP. However, Patel combined with Candelore does not explicitly teach extracting a set of keyword candidates from the text block; ranking the set of keyword candidates based on a relevance score assigned to each keyword candidate, respectively, of the set of keyword candidates, wherein the relevance score assigned to each keyword candidate indicates a relative importance of each keyword candidate to understanding the context of the text block; and selecting a subset of keywords from the set of keyword candidates based on the subset of keywords having a highest ranking set of the relevance scores, wherein the subset of keywords indicates the context of the text block. In an analogous art, Decrop, which discloses a system for video processing, clearly teaches extracting a set of keyword candidates from the text block; (Fig. 4B: In step 422 closed captioning corresponding to window of time is extracted, col. 15 lines 44-49.) ranking the set of keyword candidates based on a relevance score assigned to each keyword candidate, respectively, of the set of keyword candidates, wherein the relevance score assigned to each keyword candidate indicates a relative importance of each keyword candidate to understanding the context of the text block; and selecting a subset of keywords from the set of keyword candidates based on the subset of keywords having a highest ranking set of the relevance scores, wherein the subset of keywords indicates the context of the text block. (Keywords corresponding to a triggering event keyword database are retrieved and used for an event summary, col. 8 lines 27-45, col. 15 lines 44-59.) Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Patel combined with Candelore by extracting a set of keyword candidates from the text block; ranking the set of keyword candidates based on a relevance score assigned to each keyword candidate, respectively, of the set of keyword candidates, wherein the relevance score assigned to each keyword candidate indicates a relative importance of each keyword candidate to understanding the context of the text block; and selecting a subset of keywords from the set of keyword candidates based on the subset of keywords having a highest ranking set of the relevance scores, wherein the subset of keywords indicates the context of the text block, as taught by Decrop, for the benefit of improving the accuracy of determining the content of the content.. Consider claim 10 , Patel combined with Candelore and Decrop clearly teaches the program instructions to determine the context of the text block using NLP further comprises: program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage media for execution by at least one of the one or more processors via at least one of the one or more memories, to extract a set of keyword candidates from the text block; (Fig. 4B: In step 422 closed captioning corresponding to window of time is extracted, col. 15 lines 44-49 Decrop.) program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage media for execution by at least one of the one or more processors via at least one of the one or more memories, to rank the set of keyword candidates based on a relevance score assigned to each keyword candidate, respectively, of the set of keyword candidates, wherein the relevance score assigned to each keyword candidate indicates a relative importance of each keyword candidate to understanding the context of the text block; and program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage media for execution by at least one of the one or more processors via at least one of the one or more memories, to select a subset of keywords from the set of keyword candidates based on the subset of keywords having a highest ranking set of the relevance scores, wherein the subset of keywords indicates the context of the text block. (Keywords corresponding to a triggering event keyword database are retrieved and used for an event summary, col. 8 lines 27-45, col. 15 lines 44-59 Decrop.) Consider claim 17 , Patel combined with Candelore and Decrop clearly teaches the program instructions to determine the context of the text block using NLP further comprises: program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage media, to extract a set of keyword candidates from the text block; (Fig. 4B: In step 422 closed captioning corresponding to window of time is extracted, col. 15 lines 44-49 Decrop.) program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage media, to rank the set of keyword candidates based on a relevance score assigned to each keyword candidate, respectively, of the set of keyword candidates, wherein the relevance score assigned to each keyword candidate indicates a relative importance of each keyword candidate to understanding the context of the text block; and program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage media, to select a subset of keywords from the set of keyword candidates based on the subset of keywords having a highest ranking set of the relevance scores, wherein the subset of keywords indicates the context of the text block. (Keywords corresponding to a triggering event keyword database are retrieved and used for an event summary, col. 8 lines 27-45, col. 15 lines 44-59 Decrop.) 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patel et al. (US 2023/0298276) in view of Candelore et al. (US 2019/0012931) in view of Kerofsky et al. (US 2020/0351543), herein Kerofsky . Consider claim 7 , Patel combined with Candelore clearly teaches in response to detecting a selection of a zoom-to-context option on the user device, initiating the set of zooming instructions for the video content; and dynamically magnifying the respective zoom region of the plurality of frames of the video content. (Fig. 2: In step 200 user input indicates the “sweet spot” to display enlarged video content and in step 208 the enlarged video content is displayed, [0049], [0050] Candelore.) However, Patel combined with Candelore does not explicitly teach broadcasting the video content with the set of zooming instructions to a user device. In an analogous art, Kerofsky, which discloses a system for video processing, clearly teaches broadcasting the video content with the set of zooming instructions to a user device. (Figs. 11, 12: Metadata in the video broadcast instructs the user device to display the magnified region of video content, [0062]-[0067].) Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Patel combined with Candelore by broadcasting the video content with the set of zooming instructions to a user device, as taught by Kerofsky, for the benefit of reducing the processing load required by the user device. Consider claim 14 , Patel combined with Candelore and Kerofsky clearly teaches program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage media for execution by at least one of the one or more processors via at least one of the one or more memories, to broadcast the video content with the set of zooming instructions to a user device; (Figs. 11, 12: Metadata in the video broadcast instructs the user device to display the magnified region of video content, [0062]-[0067] Kerofsky.) program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage media for execution by at least one of the one or more processors via at least one of the one or more memories, to in response to detecting a selection of a zoom-to-context option on the user device, initiate the set of zooming instructions for the video content; and program instructions, stored on at least one of the one or more storage media for execution by at least one of the one or more processors via at least one of the one or more memories, to dynamically magnify the respective zoom region of the plurality of frames of the video content. (Fig. 2: In step 200 user input indicates the “sweet spot” to display enlarged video content and in step 208 the enlarged video content is displayed, [0049], [0050] Candelore.) Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 4, 5, 11, 12, 18 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion In the case of amending the claimed invention, applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JOHN R SCHNURR whose telephone number is (571)270-1458. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 6a-4p. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Brian Pendleton can be reached at (571)272-7527. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JOHN R SCHNURR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425 Application/Control Number: 18/181,762 Page 2 Art Unit: 2425 Application/Control Number: 18/181,762 Page 3 Art Unit: 2425 Application/Control Number: 18/181,762 Page 4 Art Unit: 2425 Application/Control Number: 18/181,762 Page 5 Art Unit: 2425 Application/Control Number: 18/181,762 Page 6 Art Unit: 2425 Application/Control Number: 18/181,762 Page 7 Art Unit: 2425 Application/Control Number: 18/181,762 Page 8 Art Unit: 2425 Application/Control Number: 18/181,762 Page 9 Art Unit: 2425 Application/Control Number: 18/181,762 Page 10 Art Unit: 2425 Application/Control Number: 18/181,762 Page 11 Art Unit: 2425 Application/Control Number: 18/181,762 Page 12 Art Unit: 2425 Application/Control Number: 18/181,762 Page 13 Art Unit: 2425