DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2. The instant application claims priority to the Foreign application Filed: 03/10/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted, IDS - 03/10/2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Continued Examination (RCE)
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this
application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action
has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on
01/21/2026 has been entered.
Response to Amendment
5. The amendment filed 01/21/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-18 remain pending
in the application. Claims 1, and 10 were amended. And Claims 19-20 were cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any
correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will
not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale
supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the
differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the
claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which
he claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner
in which the invention was made.
under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
• Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
• Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
• Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
• Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating
• obviousness or nonobviousness.
claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any
evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to
point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly
owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to
consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2)
prior art against the later invention.
9. Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Mars et. al. US-20200143119-A1), hereinafter “Mars” in view of Erdmann et al. (US-20220301410-A1) hereinafter “Erdmann”.
Regarding Claim 1,
Mars discloses, ‘A method comprising: providing a user application on a first device with an interactive feature’ (Fig. 3 illustrates a user app on a user device or mobile. Fig. 1 and Fig. 2 further provides interactive features and smart phone includes user app [0043]. Fig. 6 is a process flow initiate interaction and create a session to the device [0025].);
And discloses, ‘receiving a user input to interact with the interactive feature on the user application’ (Fig. 9 illustrates user input devices to interact on the user application and uses sensors/input devices [0072, 0076-0077, 0080]. The communication between the devices and the interactive steps process flow in Fig. 6 and Fig. 11 [0059-0062].);
Mars discloses, ‘generating a data packet in response to the user input on the interactive feature’ (Disclosure includes transponder (e.g., transceiver) beacon apparatus can be used as a smart phone and a detector apparatus that perform as a scanner or sensors [0009, 0091]. When a user device near to a short range transceiver receive an ephemeral id (identification-data packet) transmit within proximity [0013]. Proximity detection and scanning or queries or monitoring ephemeral ID from beacon (e.g., mobile device) performed and implemented by scanner device. And, mobile user device performed security and authentication [0010].
Technique includes authentication door lock or keylock process, receiving by the first short-range transceiver of the reader device from the smart device, an ephemeral ID, and an input received as a data packet (disclosure claim 1), an identifier a unique data packet [0013], Fig. 11 and disclosure Claim 1 to Claim 3.
Regarding claim element, ‘and transmitting the data packet to a second device, using communications established directly between the first device and the second device,
Validating the data packet at the second device;
and based on the validation of the data packet establishing
during the session second device dynamically changing is reduced during the session thereby causing faster information exchange between the second device and the first device
Mars discloses, ‘and transmitting the data packet to a second device, using communications established directly between the first device and the second device’; ‘and based on the validation of the data packet establishing a session between the first device and the second device advertise for transmitting a beacon signal to the first device’
Fig. 11 illustrates the communication between the first device and the second device that is a user device and a reader device. Transmits the data packet to a second device and establish session: request[Wingdings font/0xE0] identifier[Wingdings font/0xE0] validation [Wingdings font/0xE0] ACK.
This is further illustrated in a process flow diagram in Fig. 6, validation and establish session [0065]. In Fig. 11 the validation-step 1112 to 1126.
Disclosure includes, a process may include receiving with the first short-range transceiver of the reader device from the smart device a token, wherein the token is determined by an authentication server in response to the second identifier and the unique data packet, and wherein the token comprises a payload portion, determining with a processor of the reader device whether the token is valid, and directing with the processor of the reader device the transaction system to perform a user-perceptible action for the user, that authorizes the user to enter or exit a location associated with the transaction system in response to determining the token to be valid [0013].
A reader device 1420 in Fig. 14, provide the functionality described above with regards to a reader device including: generating an advertising signal for smart devices; receiving ephemeral ID signals from smart devices in the vicinity; transmitting reader data (e.g. reader identifier, nonce, time stamp, etc.) to a smart device [0105];
validation period of a token. Validation period can vary and this security feature is typically set to wait before a user has to re-authenticate with the device [0070].
each token in the array is valid for a limited time period and vary depends on types of authentication or security features [0063], [0070].
Transceiver broadcast an advertising signal to the smart device and transmit from the device ephemeral id (disclosure claim 9).
Disclosure uses reader detector device (lockbox, keybox, lock/unlock door, security door) that scan user device beacon (uses a transponder/transceiver) whenever comes in proximity. That is a process of scanning of short range transceiver [0009-0011]. To reduce power consumption and reduce scanning when not in use, the reader device can be in low power or sleep mode. While user approaches to a reader device, can use a button to activate the reader device [0109] and in Fig. 10 and Fig. 11 illustrates authentication process;
Mars though discloses beacon transmit advertise/broadcast, disclosure claim 2, and for transmitting a beacon signal to the first device based on the validation of the data packet (disclosed above).
And didn’t disclose,
‘during the session wherein the second device dynamically changing advertising interval for transmitting a beacon signal to the first device so that the advertising interval is reduced during the session thereby causing faster information exchange between the second device and the first device.’
Erdmann in the relevant art discloses, dynamic connection interval for Bluetooth low energy connections in connection interval [0135], and varying advertising beacon rate to connect and session establishment to the wireless device and accessories wireless devices in Fig. 2 and Fig.3.
Fig. 2 wireless accessory 201 can transmit beacon signal 301 every two seconds although other beacon rate can be used. Beacon rate can also vary based on accelerometer triggered events, during alarm. Further, advertising rate can be reduced based on accelerometer [0044-0045].
Fig. 3 illustrates a system of pairing and locating wireless accessory. Connect to device locator server and perform the authentication to locate a device.
Fig. 5, the transmit interval of the beacon between a first transmit and a second transmit. After the first transmit beacon if the response is “Yes” then begin transmit at a second in slower transmit interval [0062-0063].
And, in Fig. 15 illustrates the session between the devices and establishes connection step-1518. That is connected and faster information between the devices than before establishes the connection. And, reduces beacon transmit/advertisement rate [0044-0045] to a slower interval [0063].
Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of Mars and to include
with that of Erdmann to come up with the claim invention;
Disclosure of Mars includes advertising signal to transmit from the user device to reader device ephemeral ID and validation time period and token validity can vary. Proximity based connectivity. Reduces power consumption of the device by low power/sleep status [0109].
Someone would use the feature; beacon transmit advertising signal at varying/reduced broadcast rate to interact with user device at proximity and adapt beacon interval. Further, proximity detector or scanner can be on power saving mode unless receiving input from device. When any user device/transceiver within proximity range, the beacon transmitter sensing a user device can become active and take input data packet receive signal from the user device. This would be more useful for a place of entry or gate or parking lot specially when number of entry point placed nearby distance, the interference from the user device that is in contact/communicating nearby reader/detector and low energy device could be optimized and the power consumption.
In addition, Mars motive to reduce or minimized beacon device user connectivity and seamless interactive approach [0038]. That can be enhanced by using dynamically connection interval and varied beacon interval for low peripheral devices, Erdmann [0135]
Regarding Claim 2,
‘The method as claimed in claim 1’ (disclosed above),
Mars discloses, ‘wherein the first device and the second device are communicably coupled using a Bluetooth.’ (Fig. 3 illustrates beacon user device and a detector device that connects by Bluetooth component [0045]).
Regarding Claim 3,
‘The method as claimed in claim 1’ (disclosed above),
Mars discloses, ‘wherein the interactive feature is an icon which is executed on receiving user input using at least one gestures.’ (Fig. 1 illustrates two types of interaction between device and a user. A passive where device detect user, presence of beacon signal. User can be identified by their identity.
Another secured, detection and share authentication data. Token are used to authenticate. The beacon signal authenticates the user to the device [0040-0042].
Regarding the interactive feature an icon, disclosure includes user interface options to interact the user applications that pre-defined features and can be customized. An example: lock/unlock feature and more options [0051]. )
Regarding Claim 4,
‘The method as claimed in claim 1’ (disclosed above),
Mars discloses, ‘wherein the data packet comprises a unique identifier indicating identity of the first device.’(User device have installed app to communicate with detector device. As part of configuration unique ID or identifier includes in user device and for security purpose the unique Identifier not shared with detector device rather an temporary ephemeral ID include random or pseudo random data that generated within user device. The authenticating data digitally signed message that reader or second device verify itself or by back-end server or server in Fig. 10. Ephemeral ID shared or broadcasted (e.g., data that identifies to reader, ephemeral id broadcasted from user app) [0049]. Therefore, due to security features instead of sharing unique identifier ephemeral ID is shared.)
Regarding Claim 5,
‘The method as claimed in claim 4’ (disclosed above),
Mars discloses, ‘wherein the second device validates the data packet by matching the unique identifier of the first device with a prestored unique identifier.’ (Fig. 6 illustrates the validation by a flow diagram. From user device beacon transmit signal for validation and if the session not active then app receive nonce and unique ID. Authentication token can be stored in the user device app for the session n active can perform validation. Token stored in user device at predetermined time/threshold [0067]. If the session not active then nonce from the device and a fixed unique ID for that device or random data or pseudo random data selected from predetermined set of data. Identifier can come from service provider server as illustrated in Fig. 11 through near-field communication or beacon. In response to the transmission 1112 of the ephemeral ID, reader 1104 may provide 1118 the identifiers. At step 606 the app receives 1118 these values. At step 608 the app 1102 connects to the service provider server 1106 and transmits 1128 these two values to the server 1106. [0061]. Further, ephemeral ID or identifier during setup or configuration stored in the server Fig. 10 and [0049].)
Regarding Claim 6,
‘The system as claimed in claim 4’ (disclosed above),
Mars discloses, ‘wherein the second device matches the unique identifier of the first device after establishing a communication with a cloud.’ (Disclosed in Claim 5 above, validation process. Fig. 11, in response to the transmission 1112 of the ephemeral ID, reader 1104 may provide 1118 the identifiers. At step 606 the app receives 1118 these values. At step 608 the app 1102 connects to the service provider server 1106 and transmits 1128 these two values to the server 1106. [0061]. And, 1106-cloud-based-server [0058]. )
Regarding Claim 7,
‘The method as claimed in claim 1’ (disclosed above),
Mars discloses, ‘wherein on validation of the data packet, the first device is connected directly with the second device using a short range wireless’ ( Fig. 1 illustrates two types of connectivity: passive and secured means/authentication that direct communication between the two devices and appropriate authentication procedure need to be performed for validations. Disclosure, includes the detection of presence of a user need to be validated uses authentications by a beacon transmit signal. The user has to prove as an authorized user [0042]. And, uses short-range transceiver to perform the procedure [0013].
Regarding Claim 8,
‘The method as claimed in claim 1’ (disclosed above),
Identical to Claim 1 disclosed above, ‘wherein on invalidation of the data packet, the advertising interval of the beacon signal is not changed.’ (As disclosed above in Claim 1, interval can vary depends on types of safety procedure, security protocols and configurations used and response as illustrates Fig. 5, Erdmann. Transmit beacon interval the first and the second when the response is not received then continue to first transmit interval without change [0063]. And, motive would be identical disclosed above in Claim 1.)
Regarding Claim 9,
‘The system as claimed in claim 1’ (disclosed above),
Mars discloses, ‘wherein the first device is a mobile device and the second device is a key-box.’ (Fig. 3 illustrates user mobile device and the second device detector can be lock-box or key-box includes reader device [0111] and Fig. 11, Fig. 14.)
Regarding Claim 10,
Identical to claim 1 disclosed above only inclusion system [0008-0009] instead of method, ‘A system comprising: a first device configured with a user application, wherein the user application comprises an interactive feature, the first device configured to: receive a user input to interact with the interactive feature on the user application; generate a data packet in response to the user input on the interactive feature;
transmit the data packet to a second device using communications established directly between the first device and the second device’;
Mars discloses, ‘and a second device configured to: receive the data packet’ (disclosure claim 1 to claim 6 includes configuration);
Identical to claim 1 disclosed above, ‘and validate the data packet;
based on the validation of the data packet, establish a session between the first device and the second device during the session, with the first device and the second device are in a connected state change thereby causing faster information exchange between the second device and the first device’.
Regarding Claim 11,
‘The system as claimed in claim 10’ (disclosed above),
Identical to claim 2 disclosed above, ‘wherein the first device and the second device are communicably coupled using a Bluetooth.’
Regarding Claim 12,
‘The system as claimed in claim 10’ (disclosed above),
Identical to claim 3 disclosed above, ‘wherein the interactive feature is an icon which is executed on receiving user input using at least one gestures.’
Regarding Claim 13,
‘The system as claimed in claim 10’ (disclosed above),
Identical to claim 4 disclosed above, ‘wherein the data packet comprises a unique identifier indicating identity of the first device.’
Regarding Claim 14,
‘The system as claimed in claim 13’ (disclosed above),
Identical to claim 5 disclosed above, ‘wherein the second device validates the data packet by matching the unique identifier of the first device with a prestored unique identifier.’
Regarding Claim 15,
‘The system as claimed in claim 13’ (disclosed above),
Identical to claim 6 disclosed above, ‘wherein the second device matches the unique identifier of the first device after establishing a communication with a cloud.’
Regarding Claim 16,
‘The system as claimed in claim 10’ (disclosed above),
Identical to claim 7 disclosed above, ‘wherein on validation of the data packet, the first device is connected directly with the second device using a short range wireless communication technology.’
Regarding Claim 17,
‘The system as claimed in claim 10’ (disclosed above),
Identical to claim 8 disclosed above, ‘wherein on invalidation of the data packet, the advertising interval of the beacon signal is not changed.’
Regarding Claim 18,
‘The system as claimed in claim 10’ (disclosed above),
Identical to claim 9 disclosed above, ‘wherein the first device is a mobile device and the second device is a keybox.’
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are
not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
Arguments:
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as allegedly being unpatentable over Mars et al., (US 20200143119-A1, hereinafter "Mars") in view of Erdmann et al., (US 20220302420- A1, hereinafter "Erdmann"). Applicant respectfully traverse these rejections.
The Office admits that Mars does not disclose "wherein the second device dynamically changes advertising interval so that the advertising interval is reduced during the session,"1 as recited in independent claim 1, and turns to Erdmann to teach the recited deficiency. Applicant respectfully disagrees.
Next, Erdmann fails to teach the recited limitations. The Office relies on [0002], [0044]- [0045], [0062]-[0063], [0133], [0109], [0135]-[0137], and FIGs 2, 3 and 5 to teach "wherein the second device dynamically changes advertising interval so that the advertising interval is reduced during the session." This phrasing has been modified with the above amendments to better clarify differentiation from the reference.
Erdmann teaches the opposite of what is claimed. The dynamic changing of advertising intervals is discussed in the Advisory Action with citations to [0063] and [0135] to [0136] of Erdmann. These state as follows:
[0063] After transmitting a beacon signal, the wireless accessory can listen for a response from the owner device. If the wireless signal receives a response from the owner device (block 504, "yes"), the wireless accessory can enter a near owner state (block 505) and begin to transmit the beacon signal at a second, slower transmission interval (block 507). If the wireless accessory does not receive a response from the owner device (block 504, "no") , the wireless accessory can continue beaconing at the first trans mission interval (block 506).
1 See Final Office Action dated October 21, 2025, p. 7.
Here, Erdman discusses slowing down by extending the beacon interval, opposite of Applicant's claims. Next:
[0135] In one embodiment, the Bluetooth daemon 1427 may be required to simultaneously communicate with more Bluetooth devices than there are active communication slots available. For example, if the Bluetooth controller 1433 supports a maximum of M active data transfers, a connection a to device M+1 may require an existing connection to be temporarily dropped, then subsequently re-obtained. In one embodiment, dynamic connection intervals can be used for beacon peripherals that are leashed via a Bluetooth Low Energy connection. Bluetooth Low Energy connections are pulsed connections, in which the communication hardware of the central and peripheral devices communicate in bursts during connection events is idle otherwise. The connection interval is a connection parameter that specifies the amount of time between connection events. Nothing in paragraph 0135 suggests reducing the advertising interval to thereby increase the information transfer rate, as Applicant's claims recite. Finally:
[0136] As with the beaconing and scan rates, the connection intervals can be varied dynamically. Initially, a default connection interval can be used for beacon peripherals. When a larger number of peripherals are in the area, a longer connection interval can be specified. During the period between the longer connection intervals, communication with multiple beacon peripherals can be performed using a single connection slot, allowing M+1 devices to be communicated with, although only M active connections are physically supported. Under some circumstances, the connection intervals can be further extended by adjusting the slave latency for the beacon peripheral. The slave latency specified for a beacon peripheral allows up to a specified number of connection events to be skipped, increasing the effective connection interval
between the companion device and the beacon peripheral.
Here, Erdman is describing increasing the connection intervals when there are more devices in the area, and not doing so within a session. Not only is a different phenomenon the trigger for changing the connection intervals, the intervals are being extended and not shortened, opposite of the change in advertising intervals recited in Applicant's change.
Claims 1 and 10 each recite that the advertising interval is reduced, which increases the transmission rate, contrary to the "slower" transmission described in Erdmann.
For at least the reasons stated above, independent claim 1, and claims 2-9 that depend from independent claim 1, are not obvious and are patentable over Mars in view of Erdmann. Independent claim 10 recites elements that same as or analogous to those recited in independent claim 1 and not disclosed or suggested by Mars in view of Erdmann. As such, independent claim 10, and dependent claims 11-18 are patentable over Mars in view of Erdmann. Reconsideration and withdrawal of the 35 U.S.C. §103 rejection, and notification of the allowance of claims 1-18 are respectfully requested.
Examiners response:
With respect to applicant’s arguments/remarks, examiner responses are:
Examiner reviewed the applicant’s arguments/remarks and further amended claims and
provided relevant disclosures in the office actions from the closest prior
art that covers the claims. Addressed all the claims and applicant’s
argument/remarks disclosed from the presented prior arts “Mars”, and “Erdmann”.
Examiner summarized the claimed subject matter and the claims yet the details disclosures and the recited claims are presented to this office actions above.
Examiner intend to summarize the claims subject matters includes most important features in the amended claims in contrast to the relevant disclosures from the prior arts would be precisely presented here to identify whether the method are derivable from the presented prior art disclosures.
- validation/authentication between a first device and a second device by a UI or user app
- generate/transmit and validate the data packet that is validation/authentication procedure
Validate the data packet at the second device/establish session between two devices
Above three procedure disclosed by Mars. In Fig. 3 user app [0043]. the first short-range transceiver of the reader device to the smart device, an input received as a data packet (disclosure claim 1), an identifier and a unique data packet [0013] and disclosure Claim 1 to Claim 3 and Fig. 6.
In Fig. 6 and Fig. 11 illustrates the procedures to generate/transmit and perform validation at the second device [0105]; And, establish the session in Fig. 11, step 1112 to 1126 receive an ACK. In Fig. 11, Transmits the data packet to a second device and establish session: request[Wingdings font/0xE0] identifier[Wingdings font/0xE0] validation[Wingdings font/0xE0] ACK.
- during the session second device dynamically changes advertising interval and advertising interval is reduces during the session for faster communication between two devices
Regarding the dynamically changes advertising interval not disclosed by Mars, and Erdmann discloses, transmit beacon signal at a second, slower interval in Fig. 5 and [0063]. In Fig. 15 illustrates the step of connection attempt and establish the session 1518. Erdmann includes dynamic connection interval and specific active slots. The connection interval dynamically changes [0135]. Distinctly specify the reduce the interval at slower interval [0063].
Examiner respectfully thanks to applicant and attorney for their valuable time and effort.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure:
Ole-Petter Skaaksrud et al. (US-20170012830-A1), “Systems, apparatus, and methods of enhanced checkpoint summary based monitoring for an event candidate related to an id node within a wireless node network”. In Fig. 22 includes connectivity between a node and an access point includes two intervals as non-connectable interval 10sec and a connectable interval 5sec [0259] and perform connectivity/establish session [0261]. In Fig. 30, dynamically set parameter consecutive transmission and the time interval may be reduced from a prior value from a first transmission to a second transmission. [0384].
G. Shan and B. -H. Roh, "Advertisement Interval to Minimize Discovery Time of Whole BLE Advertisers," in IEEE Access, vol. 6, pp. 17817-17825, 2018 (Year: 2018).
SHIN et al. (US20170294061A1) “Digital door-lock system”. Reduces a time period of Bluetooth connection so as to be more quickly connected to the user terminal 20 adjacent to the door-lock [0040].
Nunzio et al. (US-20170197568-A1), “SYSTEM IDENTIFYING A DRIVER BEFORE THEY APPROACH THE VEHICLE USING WIRELESS COMMUNICATION PROTOCOLS”; The beacon optimizer module is configured to dynamically adjust at least one of a transmission time, a transmission rate, and a transmission duration of the BLE, claim 18 and [0010].
Xiafei et al. (US-10123266-B2), “Method And Apparatus For Power Savings In A Wireless Local Area Network”; The access point use a beacon, a short beacon, or other types of control or management frames to dynamically adjust the duration; STAs can access each beacon interval or beacon sub-interval following the beacon or short beacon [0100].
conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an
interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request
(AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by
telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Faruk Hamza can be reached
on (571) 272-7969. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or
proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is
available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center,
visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-
center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For
additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197
(toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service
Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/S.A./Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/CHRISTOPHER M CRUTCHFIELD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466