DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The proposed amendment file 3/2/2026 has been accepted and entered. Accordingly, claims 1 and 18-20 have been amended.
Claims 1, 4-5, 7-12, and 14-21 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 4-5, 7-12, and 14-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 10 and 15-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2023/0156780 A1), hereinafter referred to as Chen, in view of Ghosh et al. (US 2016/0205065 A1), hereinafter referred to as Ghosh, and Lim et al. (US 2018/0176066 A1), hereinafter referred to as Lim, and Huang et al. (WO 2020/040693 A1), hereinafter referred to as Huang.
Re. Claim 1, Chen teaches:
A wireless transmitting device for transmitting one or more physical layer protocol data units (PPDUs) to one or more multi-user multi-input multi-output (MU-MIMO) groups of user devices, (¶0069 The APs 102 [i.e. wireless transmitting devices] and STAs 104 transmit and receive wireless communications (hereinafter also referred to as “Wi-Fi communications”) to and from one another in the form of physical layer convergence protocol (PLCP) protocol data units (PPDUs). & ¶0226 FIG. 32B shows a second example table 3210 with different options for compression modes that may be used in the EHT-SIG including a compression mode for a PPDU that includes partial bandwidth MU-MIMO [i.e. PPDUs configured for MU-MIMO])
the wireless transmitting device being configured to: obtain, via a processor, (¶0006 The apparatus may include a processor configured to perform any one of the above-mentioned methods) a compressed-mode PPDU that comprises one or more spatial configuration (SC) fields, (¶0005 The method includes receiving, via a wireless channel, a packet [i.e. a PPDU] including a preamble portion and a data portion. The preamble portion may include a universal signal field (U-SIG) followed by one or more version-specific signal fields. The one or more version-specific signal fields may include a third signal field (EHT-SIG) [i.e. EHT-SIG included in PPDU] & ¶0191 Further by observing the order of user fields in the EHT-SIG, the device can determine how many SS is allocated for it (from NSTS[1] for the first listed device, NSTS[2] for the second listed device, and so on). & ¶0192 To signal a value for the spatial stream configuration, 6 bits would be used in the spatial stream configuration subfield in the user field of the EHT-SIG [i.e. a spatial configuration field included in the PPDU]. ¶0219 This disclosure includes a design option for the compressed EHT-SIG that may follow a U-SIG For example, the compressed EHT-SIG may be used [i.e. used for transmitting PPDU] when the EHT-SIG follows a U-SIG formatted for a unified SU/MU PPDU frame format [i.e. obtaining the compressed mode PPDU]. Other uses of the compresses EHT-SIG may be relevant for MU PPDUs. In some implementations, the compressed EHT-SIG may be reduced in size by omitting the RU allocation subfield in the EHT-SIG common field or using reduced sized RU allocation subfields for the EHT-SIG common field. [i.e. description of a compressed-mode PPDU])
and transmit, via a transmitter, (¶0171 the wireless communication device 1800 can be an AP or a STA that includes such a chip, SoC, chipset, package or device as well as at least one transmitter) the PPDU to the user devices of the one or more MU-MIMO groups over a predetermined bandwidth. (Fig. 7 & ¶0053 Among other things, a preamble portion of a PPDU may include signaling to indicate which RUs are allocated to different devices. Other types of signaling include indicators regarding which subchannels include further signaling or which subchannels may be punctured. [i.e. involves transmitting PPDU over a specific or pre-determined bandwidth by not utilizing unused portions of the transmission bandwidth, as shown in Figure 7]. & ¶0069 The APs 102 and STAs 104 transmit and receive wireless communications (hereinafter also referred to as “Wi-Fi communications”) to and from one another in the form of physical layer convergence protocol (PLCP) protocol data units (PPDUs). [i.e. transmitting the PPDUs] & ¶0110 The U-SIG 1016 may include frequency occupation indications that permit any WLAN devices on the wireless channel to determine the utilization of the various parts of the wireless channel. For example, the U-SIG 1016 may include a PPDU BW and punctured channel information field 1052 [i.e. field indicates the predetermined bandwidth for transmitting PPDU]. The PPDU BW and punctured channel information field 1052 may include a PPDU BW value, punctured channel indicators, or any combination thereof.)
wherein the one or more SC fields are replicated over each segment of the predetermined bandwidth. (¶0104 the information in RL-SIG 1014, the U-SIG 1016 and EHT-SIG 1018 may be duplicated and transmitted in each of the component 20 MHz subchannels (which may include content channels) & ¶0149 FIG. 13 shows a conceptual diagram of an EHT-SIG 1300 in a content channel of a first example content channel structure according to some implementations. For example, when the content channel structure uses a [1,2,1,2] structure that spans the entire 320 MHz bandwidth wireless channel, the common field (shown as common-1A and common-1B) may use multiple coding blocks for the common field in each content channel. The EHT-SIG 1300 shown in FIG. 13 is an example of the EHT-SIG that may be included on a first content channel. & ¶0150 FIG. 14 shows a conceptual diagram of EHT-SIGs [i.e. SC fields contained in EHT-SIG, as explained below in ¶0192 citation] in different content channels of a second example content channel structure according to some implementations. For example, FIG. 14 may be used to describe an example in which a 320 MHz bandwidth wireless channel is divided into an upper 160 MHz bandwidth portion and a lower 160 MHz bandwidth portion [i.e. EHT-SIGs with SC fields are replicated across each of the segments/portions of the predetermined bandwidth]. & ¶0192 The spatial configuration subfield may use a non-increasing order of NSTS for MU-MIMO users (for example, NSTS[i+1]<=NSTS[i], where i is the MU-MIMO user index). The highest quantity of spatial stream configurations may be 54 in a lookup table that supports up to 4 spatial streams per user and up to 8 users. To signal a value for the spatial stream configuration, 6 bits would be used in the spatial stream configuration subfield in the user field of the EHT-SIG. In yet another option, 6 bits would be used in the spatial configuration subfield in the user field of the EHT-SIG.)
wherein the PPDU comprises one or more common fields and a user-specific field, (Fig. 10 & Fig. 13 & ¶0117 Note that some of these aforementioned indicators may carry over into part of the EHT-SIG 1018 or may be signaled in the EHT-SIG 1018 (rather than the U-SIG 1016). For example, a common field 1082 may include the overflow bits from the additional signaling fields 1062. Furthermore, the common field 1082 may include resource allocation information (such as RU allocations for one or more STAs). A user specific field 1084 may include one or more user block fields. For example, there may be a different user block field for each resource allocation indicated in the common field 1082.)
wherein the one or more common fields comprise one or more first information elements, (¶0117 Note that some of these aforementioned indicators may carry over into part of the EHT-SIG 1018 or may be signaled in the EHT-SIG 1018 (rather than the U-SIG 1016). For example, a common field 1082 may include the overflow bits from the additional signaling fields 1062. Furthermore, the common field 1082 may include resource allocation information (such as RU allocations for one or more STAs). [i.e. common field contains one or more first information elements])
wherein each first information element is to be used by all user devices of one associated MU-MIMO group, (¶0060 The preamble design options in this disclosure may support flexible RU allocations for OFDMA communication during the data portion of the PPDU. Alternatively, or additionally, the preamble design options may enable MU MIMO based on new RU allocation tables & ¶0117 For an MU PPDU, the common field 1082 may include resource allocation information (such as RU allocations for one or more STAs). [i.e. common field is used by multiple STAs (a group) for MU PPDU (a MU-MIMO group)])
and wherein the user-specific field comprises one or more second information elements, (¶0201 The user specific field 3150 of the EHT-SIG 3110 may include user fields that include the RU assignments for each user. Some potential new subfields that may be included in each user field may include the RU assignment, and MU-MIMO indicator (to indicate whether the RU assignment is for MU-MIMO or non-MU-MIMO), the NSTS of this user, and the starting stream index (when using MU-MIMO), among other examples [i.e. one or more second information elements].)
wherein each second information element is to be used by one associated user device. (¶0118 Note that some of these aforementioned indicators may carry over into part of the EHT-SIG 1018 or may be signaled in the EHT-SIG 1018 (rather than the U-SIG 1016). For example, a common field 1082 may include the overflow bits from the additional signaling fields 1062. If the unified SU/MU PPDU is directed to multiple users, the common field 1082 may include resource allocation information (such as RU allocations for one or more STAs). A user specific field 1084 may include one or more user block fields. For example, if the unified SU/MU PPDU is directed to multiple users, there may be a different user block field for each resource allocation indicated in the common field 1082. & ¶0201 The user specific field 3150 of the EHT-SIG 3110 may include user fields that include the RU assignments for each user. Some potential new subfields that may be included in each user field may include the RU assignment, and MU-MIMO indicator (to indicate whether the RU assignment is for MU-MIMO or non-MU-MIMO), the NSTS of this user, and the starting stream index (when using MU-MIMO), among other examples [i.e. one or more second information elements of user specific field 3150 for each user, therefore each second information element is used by one associated device].)
Yet, Chen fails to teach: wherein each SC field corresponds to one MU-MIMO group of the one or more MU-MIMO groups and is indicative of a spatial stream configuration for user devices of that MU-MIMO group; wherein the one or more SC fields of the PPDU comprise a first SC field and a second SC field, wherein the first SC field corresponds to a first MU-MIMO group and the second SC field corresponds to a second MU-MIMO group.
However, in the analogous art, Ghosh teaches such a limitation:
wherein each SC field corresponds to one MU-MIMO group of the one or more MU-MIMO groups and is indicative of a spatial stream configuration for user devices of that MU-MIMO group; (¶0023-¶0024 in response to a determination that it is an addressee of PPDU 226, the 60 GHz-capable receiving device may use DL MU-MIMO control information 230 to identify one or more spatial streams via which it is to receive data from 60 GHz-capable device 102. FIG. 3 illustrates an example of an information element (IE) 300 such as may be representative of DL MU-MIMO group management information & ¶0028 FIG. 4 illustrates an example of a header structure 400 such as may be representative of a header structure that may be used in some embodiments to implement techniques for group-based spatial stream assignment signaling in 60 GHz wireless networks. More particularly, header structure 400 may be representative of a structure of PHY header 228 of FIG. 2 in various embodiments. In some embodiments, after determining its DL MU-MIMO group ID based on a DL MU-MIMO group management IE such as IE 300 of FIG. 3, a 60 GHz-capable STA may use information in header structure 400 to determine whether it is an addressee of a PPDU comprising header structure 400 and, if so, to identify one or more spatial streams via which it is to receive data comprised in the PPDU. & ¶0031 FIG. 5 illustrates an example of a header structure 500 such as may be representative of a header structure that may be used in various embodiments to implement techniques for group-based spatial stream assignment signaling in 60 GHz wireless networks. As shown in FIG. 5, header structure 500 comprises many of the subfields discussed above in reference to header structure 400 of FIG. 4. In some embodiments, each Spatial Stream Bitmap subfield 528-j may comprise a bitmap specifying the particular respective spatial stream(s) assigned to a respective STA among those in the DL MU-MIMO group. In various embodiments, the order in which the various Spatial Stream Bitmap subfields 528-j appear in header structure 500 may correspond to the order in which the AIDs of their associated STAs appear in a MIMO group information subset 308-i for the DL MU-MIMO group within IE 300 of FIG. 3. [i.e. Figures 3-5 are correlated, wherein the spatial stream configurations (SC fields) corresponding to each of the one or more groups using the MIMO group information subset 308-i and MU-MIMO Group ID, figures shown below])
wherein the one or more SC fields of the PPDU comprise a first SC field and a second SC field, (¶0031 As shown in FIG. 5, header structure 500 comprises many of the subfields discussed above in reference to header structure 400 of FIG. 4. However, instead of NSS subfields 418-j, header structure 500 comprises Spatial Stream Bitmap subfields 528-j. In some embodiments, each Spatial Stream Bitmap subfield 528-j [i.e. multiple SC fields] may comprise a bitmap)
wherein the first SC field corresponds to a first MU-MIMO group and the second SC field corresponds to a second MU-MIMO group. (¶0030 As reflected in FIG. 4, in various embodiments, header structure 400 may comprise one or more other subfields in addition to DL MU-MIMO Group ID subfield [i.e. MU-MIMO group pointer] 416 & ¶0031 FIG. 5 illustrates an example of a header structure 500 such as may be representative of a header structure that may be used in various embodiments to implement techniques for group-based spatial stream assignment signaling … As shown in FIG. 5, header structure 500 comprises many of the subfields discussed above in reference to header structure 400 of FIG. 4. However, instead of NSS subfields 418-j, header structure 500 comprises Spatial Stream Bitmap subfields 528-j. In some embodiments, each Spatial Stream Bitmap subfield 528-j may comprise a bitmap specifying the particular respective spatial stream(s) assigned to a respective STA among those in the DL MU-MIMO group [i.e. each SC field corresponds to a particular MU-MIMO group defined by the group ID subfield]. In various embodiments, the order in which the various Spatial Stream Bitmap subfields 528-j appear in header structure 500 may correspond to the order in which the AIDs of their associated STAs appear in a MIMO group information subset 308-i for the DL MU-MIMO group within IE 300 of FIG. 3.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Chen’s invention of a physical layer preamble and signaling for wireless communication to include Ghosh’s teaching of each SC fields corresponding to a MU-MIMO group, because it would allow the device to assign spatial stream configuration to respective user devices in each MU-MIMO group. (see Ghosh ¶0031)
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: wherein a second information element of the user specific field of the PPDU comprises a user position indication for the associated user device, and a user group indication for the associated user device, wherein the user position indication is indicative of an index of an entry within the SC field that the associated user device corresponds to, and the user group indication is indicative of the MU-MIMO group that the associated user device belongs to.
However, in the analogous art, Lim teaches such limitations:
wherein a second information element of the user specific field of the PPDU comprises a user position indication for the associated user device, (¶0187 the transmitting STA may transmit user specific HE-SIG-B, which includes information on the receiving STA, [i.e. information element of a user specific field of receiving STA (associated user device)] by masking the user specific HE-SIG-B with PAID/AID. In this case, only the receiving STA to which the corresponding PAID/AID is assigned may perform decoding of the user specific HE-SIG-B. Therefore, the transmitting STA may include the number of streams for the corresponding receiving STA and indication for LTF starting in the user specific HE-SIG-B. As a result, the receiving STA may identify the number of streams assigned thereto and a position where its stream starts among a plurality of streams transmitted within 20 MHz. [i.e. information element of a user specific field contains a receiving STA (user device) position indication for respective STAs (associated user device)])
and a user group indication for the associated user device, (¶0183 The transmitting STA may mask CRC of user specific HE-SIG-B transmitted per 20 MHz with GID (Group ID) and transmit the masked CRC during MU-MIMO operation after indicating a format in HE-SIG-A as above.)
and the user group indication is indicative of the MU-MIMO group that the associated user device belongs to. (¶0017 According to one embodiment of the present invention, user information specific to STA is detected based on group ID in MU-MIMO based transmission of a wireless LAN system & ¶0183 The transmitting STA may mask CRC of user specific HE-SIG-B transmitted per 20 MHz with GID (Group ID) and transmit the masked CRC during MU-MIMO operation after indicating a format in HE-SIG-A as above. [i.e. Group ID is for MU-MIMO operations for indicating groups of receiving STA (associated user devices)])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Chen and Ghosh’s invention of a physical layer preamble and signaling for wireless communication to include Lim’s teaching of an information element of a user specific field comprising a user position indication for an associated user device, because it would reduce complexity of blind-decoding in MU-MIMO based transmission and efficiently indicate streams and PPDU field information assigned to user devices. (see Lim ¶0178)
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: wherein the user position indication is indicative of an index of an entry within the SC field that the associated user device corresponds to,
However, in the analogous art, Huang teaches:
wherein the user position indication is indicative of an index of an entry within the SC field that the associated user device corresponds to, (Pg. 12 Ln. 20-29 “If, on the other hand, the User field is associated with a MU-MIMO allocation then the method progresses to determine a User field position in the User Specific field [i.e. user specific field contains user position for MU-MIMO devices] at step 522. An MCS index and spatial configuration information, such as an NSTS and SSI, according to the value of the Spatial Configuration/MCS subfield is then derived, as well as the number of the users and the User field position in the User Specific field, at step 524. For example, for a given number of users (/V.sub.user) in the MU-MIMO allocation, the STA may utilize a spatial configuration/MCS look-up table to obtain the MCS index and NSTS allocated to it by using the row corresponding to the value of the Spatial Configuration/MCS subfield and the column corresponding to the User field position in the User Specific field [i.e. user position field corresponds to a look-up table of Spatial Configuration (index of an entry within the SC subfield associated to user devices)]”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Chen, Ghosh, and Lim’s invention of a physical layer preamble and signaling for wireless communication to include Huang’s teaching of a user group indication for the associated device, because it enables the use of a user position to indicate per user allocation and spatial configuration information in a MU-MIMO PPDU. (see Huang Pg. 12 Ln. 20-29)
Re. Claim 4, Chen combined with Ghosh, Lim, and Huang teaches claim 1.
Chen further teaches:
wherein the one or more SC fields are included in at least one of the one and more common fields. (Fig. 28 shown below - RU Allocation 2822 within common field 2820, that contains the spatial configuration field [3 1 1 1 1 1] & 0192 Table 16 provides an example of a spatial stream configuration with the entries associated with the third table 2622. The spatial configuration subfield [i.e. SC field corresponding to a MU-MIMO group] may use a non-increasing order of NSTS for MU-MIMO (for example, NSTS[i+1]<=NSTS[i], where i is the MU-MIMO user index users [i.e. indications for spatial configurations of user devices part of MIMO group, a 6 bit representation [1 2 3 4 5 6]] & ¶0196 The common field 2820 may include, among other subfields, an RU allocation 2822. The RU allocation 2822 describes the RU sizes within that 80 MHz bandwidth portion as well as the number of users in each RU [i.e. a spatial configuration]. & ¶0198 Using the example in FIG. 29, the RU allocation subfield 2922 of a 20 MHz subchannel in a first 80 MHz bandwidth portion is for a different 80 MHz bandwidth portion but defines the same [3 1 1 1 1 1] RU allocation as described in FIG. 28.)
Re. Claim 5, Chen combined with Ghosh, Lim, and Huang teaches claim 1.
Chen further teaches:
wherein each SC field comprises a plurality of entries, (Fig. 28 shown above - RU Allocation 2822 within common field contains the spatial configuration field [3 1 1 1 1 1] & 0192 Table 16 provides an example of a spatial stream configuration with the entries associated with the third table 2622. The spatial configuration subfield [i.e. SC field corresponding to a MU-MIMO group] may use a non-increasing order of NSTS for MU-MIMO (for example, NSTS[i+1]<=NSTS[i], where i is the MU-MIMO user index users [i.e. a plurality of entries in each SC field] & ¶0196 The common field 2820 may include, among other subfields, an RU allocation 2822. The RU allocation 2822 describes the RU sizes within that 80 MHz bandwidth portion as well as the number of users in each RU [i.e. a spatial configuration]. & ¶0198 Using the example in FIG. 29, the RU allocation subfield 2922 of a 20 MHz subchannel in a first 80 MHz bandwidth portion is for a different 80 MHz bandwidth portion but defines the same [3 1 1 1 1 1] RU allocation as described in FIG. 28.)
wherein each entry corresponds to one user device of the MU-MIMO group that the SC field corresponds to, (¶0201 FIG. 31 shows an example RU allocation in which RU assignments are included in user fields according to some implementations. Rather than including the RU allocation field (not shown) in the common field 3120 of the EHT-SIG 3110, the technique illustrated and described with reference to FIG. 31 includes the RU assignment for each user in their corresponding user field. The user specific field 3150 of the EHT-SIG 3110 may include user fields that include the RU assignments for each user.)
and the entry is indicative of a number of spatial streams allocated to the user device that the entry corresponds to, and an index of each spatial stream of the MU-MIMO group. (¶0201 A first user field 1 3111 includes the RU assignment for the first user, a second user field 2 3112 includes the RU assignment for the second user, and so on.)
Re. Claim 10, Chen combined with Ghosh, Lim, and Huang teaches claim 1.
Chen further teaches:
wherein the predetermined bandwidth comprises a primary segment and one or more secondary segments. (¶0124 the PPDU BW and punctured channel information field 1052 may convey partial channel puncturing information (at the content channel level. The PPDU BW and punctured channel information field 1052 may represent the puncturing for the primary 80 MHz subchannel [i.e. a primary segment] and the value of the PPDU BW and punctured channel information field 1052 may be duplicated in each 80 MHz subchannel [i.e. one or more secondary segments] that makes up the full channel.)
Re. Claim 15, Chen combined with Ghosh, Lim, and Huang teaches claim 1.
Chen further teaches:
wherein at least one of the first information element of the one or more common fields is indicative of a number of user devices in the associated MU-MIMO group. (Fig. 28 & ¶0196 The content of the EHT-SIG 2810 may include a common field 2820 and user specific fields 2850 as described elsewhere in this disclosure & ¶0235 the EHT-SIG common [i.e. common fields] may be revised to include the total number of users and total number of spatial streams (N.sub.sts,total) for MU-MIMO RUs [i.e. first information elements including total number of user devices].)
Re. Claim 16, Chen combined with Ghosh, Lim, and Huang teaches claim 10.
Chen further teaches:
wherein an indication of the number of user devices in each MU-MIMO group is replicated over each segment of the predetermined bandwidth. (Fig. 14 shows common field which is replicated over each segment/portion of the predetermined bandwidth & ¶0196 The content of the EHT-SIG 2810 may include a common field 2820 and user specific fields 2850 as described elsewhere in this disclosure & ¶0235 the EHT-SIG common [i.e. common fields] may be revised to include the total number of users and total number of spatial streams (N.sub.sts,total) for MU-MIMO RUs [i.e. first information elements including total number of user devices].))
Re. Claim 17, Chen combined with Ghosh, Lim, and Huang teaches claim 1.
Chen further teaches:
wherein the predetermined bandwidth is 160 MHz, 240MHz, or 320MHz. (¶0070 Each of the frequency bands may include multiple channels (which may be used as subchannels of a larger bandwidth channel as described below). For example, PPDUs conforming to the IEEE 802.11n, 802.11ac and 802.11ax standard amendments may be transmitted over the 2.4 and 5 GHz bands, each of which is divided into multiple 20 MHz channels. As such, these PPDUs are transmitted over a physical channel having a minimum bandwidth of 20 MHz, but larger channels can be formed through channel bonding. For example, PPDUs may be transmitted over physical channels having bandwidths of 40 MHz, 80 MHz, 160 or 320 MHz by bonding together multiple 20 MHz channels (which may be referred to as subchannels) [i.e. only 160 MHz and 320 MHz are shown, but 240 MHz is implied since it is also a multiple of 20 MHz].)
Re. Claim 18, Chen teaches:
A user device for a multi-user multi-input multi-output (MU-MIMO) group, (Fig. 1 & ¶0063 The WLAN 100 may include numerous wireless communication devices such as an access point (AP) 102 and multiple stations (STAs) 104. & ¶0064 Each of the STAs 104 also may be referred to as a mobile station (MS), a mobile device, a mobile handset, a wireless handset, an access terminal (AT), a user equipment (UE), a subscriber station (SS), or a subscriber unit, among other possibilities. & ¶0078 FIG. 3B shows another example PDU 350 usable for wireless communication between an AP and a number of STAs. The PDU 350 may be used for MU-OFDMA or MU-MIMO transmissions.)
the user device being configured to: receive, via an antenna, (¶0101 The STA 904 also includes one or more antennas 925 coupled with the wireless communication device 915 to transmit and receive wireless communications) a compressed-mode physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) from a wireless transmitting device, (Fig. 17 explains process of receiving PPDU & ¶0219 This disclosure includes a design option for the compressed EHT-SIG that may follow a U-SIG For example, the compressed EHT-SIG may be used [i.e. used when transmitting PPDU] when the EHT-SIG follows a U-SIG formatted for a unified SU/MU PPDU frame format)
which comprises one or more spatial configuration (SC) fields, (¶0191 Further by observing the order of user fields in the EHT-SIG, the device can determine how many SS is allocated for it (from NSTS[1] for the first listed device, NSTS[2] for the second listed device, and so on). & ¶0192 To signal a value for the spatial stream configuration, 6 bits would be used in the spatial stream configuration subfield in the user field of the EHT-SIG [i.e. a spatial configuration field included in the PPDU].)
and decode, via a processor, (¶0006 The apparatus may include a processor configured to perform any one of the above-mentioned methods) the PPDU to obtain a SC field corresponding to the MU-MIMO group that the user device belongs to. (Fig. 18 shows a decoding module 1804 & ¶0171 In some implementations, the wireless communication device 1800 can be a device for use in a STA, such as one of the STAs 104 and 904 described above with reference to FIGS. 1 and 9B, respectively. & ¶0174 The decoding module 1804 is configured to decode the bits in the demodulated symbols and to interpret bits in the decoded bits based on a WLAN communication protocol. [i.e. the decoding module used for decoding the bits of the PPDU; which in Fig. 28 and Fig. 31 shows RU allocation which includes the SC field] & ¶0196 The RU allocation 2822 describes the RU sizes within that 80 MHz bandwidth portion as well as the number of users in each RU [i.e. a spatial configuration])
and wherein the one or more SC fields are replicated over each segment of the predetermined bandwidth. (¶0104 the information in RL-SIG 1014, the U-SIG 1016 and EHT-SIG 1018 may be duplicated and transmitted in each of the component 20 MHz subchannels (which may include content channels) & ¶0149 FIG. 13 shows a conceptual diagram of an EHT-SIG 1300 in a content channel of a first example content channel structure according to some implementations. For example, when the content channel structure uses a [1,2,1,2] structure that spans the entire 320 MHz bandwidth wireless channel, the common field (shown as common-1A and common-1B) may use multiple coding blocks for the common field in each content channel. The EHT-SIG 1300 shown in FIG. 13 is an example of the EHT-SIG that may be included on a first content channel. & ¶0150 FIG. 14 shows a conceptual diagram of EHT-SIGs [i.e. SC fields contained in EHT-SIG, as explained below in ¶0192 citation] in different content channels of a second example content channel structure according to some implementations. For example, FIG. 14 may be used to describe an example in which a 320 MHz bandwidth wireless channel is divided into an upper 160 MHz bandwidth portion and a lower 160 MHz bandwidth portion [i.e. EHT-SIGs with SC fields are replicated across each of the segments/portions of the predetermined bandwidth]. & ¶0192 The spatial configuration subfield may use a non-increasing order of NSTS for MU-MIMO users (for example, NSTS[i+1]<=NSTS[i], where i is the MU-MIMO user index). The highest quantity of spatial stream configurations may be 54 in a lookup table that supports up to 4 spatial streams per user and up to 8 users. To signal a value for the spatial stream configuration, 6 bits would be used in the spatial stream configuration subfield in the user field of the EHT-SIG. In yet another option, 6 bits would be used in the spatial configuration subfield in the user field of the EHT-SIG.)
wherein the PPDU comprises one or more common fields and a user-specific field, (Fig. 10 & Fig. 13 & ¶0117 Note that some of these aforementioned indicators may carry over into part of the EHT-SIG 1018 or may be signaled in the EHT-SIG 1018 (rather than the U-SIG 1016). For example, a common field 1082 may include the overflow bits from the additional signaling fields 1062. Furthermore, the common field 1082 may include resource allocation information (such as RU allocations for one or more STAs). A user specific field 1084 may include one or more user block fields. For example, there may be a different user block field for each resource allocation indicated in the common field 1082.)
wherein the one or more common fields comprise one or more first information elements, (¶0117 Note that some of these aforementioned indicators may carry over into part of the EHT-SIG 1018 or may be signaled in the EHT-SIG 1018 (rather than the U-SIG 1016). For example, a common field 1082 may include the overflow bits from the additional signaling fields 1062. Furthermore, the common field 1082 may include resource allocation information (such as RU allocations for one or more STAs). [i.e. common field contains one or more first information elements])
wherein each first information element is to be used by all user devices of one associated MU-MIMO group, (¶0060 The preamble design options in this disclosure may support flexible RU allocations for OFDMA communication during the data portion of the PPDU. Alternatively, or additionally, the preamble design options may enable MU MIMO based on new RU allocation tables & ¶0117 For an MU PPDU, the common field 1082 may include resource allocation information (such as RU allocations for one or more STAs). [i.e. common field is used by multiple STAs (a group) for MU PPDU (a MU-MIMO group)])
and wherein the user-specific field comprises one or more second information elements, (¶0201 The user specific field 3150 of the EHT-SIG 3110 may include user fields that include the RU assignments for each user… Some potential new subfields that may be included in each user field may include the RU assignment, and MU-MIMO indicator (to indicate whether the RU assignment is for MU-MIMO or non-MU-MIMO), the NSTS of this user, and the starting stream index (when using MU-MIMO), among other examples [i.e. one or more second information elements].)
wherein each second information element is to be used by one associated user device. (¶0118 Note that some of these aforementioned indicators may carry over into part of the EHT-SIG 1018 or may be signaled in the EHT-SIG 1018 (rather than the U-SIG 1016). For example, a common field 1082 may include the overflow bits from the additional signaling fields 1062. If the unified SU/MU PPDU is directed to multiple users, the common field 1082 may include resource allocation information (such as RU allocations for one or more STAs). A user specific field 1084 may include one or more user block fields. For example, if the unified SU/MU PPDU is directed to multiple users, there may be a different user block field for each resource allocation indicated in the common field 1082. & ¶0201 The user specific field 3150 of the EHT-SIG 3110 may include user fields that include the RU assignments for each user. Some potential new subfields that may be included in each user field may include the RU assignment, and MU-MIMO indicator (to indicate whether the RU assignment is for MU-MIMO or non-MU-MIMO), the NSTS of this user, and the starting stream index (when using MU-MIMO), among other examples [i.e. one or more second information elements of user specific field 3150 for each user, therefore each second information element is used by one associated device].)
Yet, Chen fails to teach: wherein each SC field corresponds to one MU-MIMO group and is indicative of a spatial stream configuration for user devices of that MU- MIMO group; wherein the one or more SC fields of the PPDU comprise a first SC field and a second SC field, wherein the first SC field corresponds to a first MU-MIMO group and the second SC field corresponds to a second MU-MIMO group.
However, in the analogous art, Ghosh teaches such limitations:
wherein each SC field corresponds to one MU-MIMO group and is indicative of a spatial stream configuration for user devices of that MU- MIMO group; (¶0023-¶0024 in response to a determination that it is an addressee of PPDU 226, the 60 GHz-capable receiving device may use DL MU-MIMO control information 230 to identify one or more spatial streams via which it is to receive data from 60 GHz-capable device 102. FIG. 3 illustrates an example of an information element (IE) 300 such as may be representative of DL MU-MIMO group management information & ¶0028 FIG. 4 illustrates an example of a header structure 400 such as may be representative of a header structure that may be used in some embodiments to implement techniques for group-based spatial stream assignment signaling in 60 GHz wireless networks. More particularly, header structure 400 may be representative of a structure of PHY header 228 of FIG. 2 in various embodiments. In some embodiments, after determining its DL MU-MIMO group ID based on a DL MU-MIMO group management IE such as IE 300 of FIG. 3, a 60 GHz-capable STA may use information in header structure 400 to determine whether it is an addressee of a PPDU comprising header structure 400 and, if so, to identify one or more spatial streams via which it is to receive data comprised in the PPDU. & ¶0031 FIG. 5 illustrates an example of a header structure 500 such as may be representative of a header structure that may be used in various embodiments to implement techniques for group-based spatial stream assignment signaling in 60 GHz wireless networks. As shown in FIG. 5, header structure 500 comprises many of the subfields discussed above in reference to header structure 400 of FIG. 4. In some embodiments, each Spatial Stream Bitmap subfield 528-j may comprise a bitmap specifying the particular respective spatial stream(s) assigned to a respective STA among those in the DL MU-MIMO group. In various embodiments, the order in which the various Spatial Stream Bitmap subfields 528-j appear in header structure 500 may correspond to the order in which the AIDs of their associated STAs appear in a MIMO group information subset 308-i for the DL MU-MIMO group within IE 300 of FIG. 3. [i.e. Figures 3-5 are correlated, wherein the spatial stream configurations (SC fields) corresponding to each of the one or more groups using the MIMO group information subset 308-i and MU-MIMO Group ID, figures shown above])
wherein the one or more SC fields of the PPDU comprise a first SC field and a second SC field, (¶0031 As shown in FIG. 5, header structure 500 comprises many of the subfields discussed above in reference to header structure 400 of FIG. 4. However, instead of NSS subfields 418-j, header structure 500 comprises Spatial Stream Bitmap subfields 528-j. In some embodiments, each Spatial Stream Bitmap subfield 528-j [i.e. multiple SC fields] may comprise a bitmap)
wherein the first SC field corresponds to a first MU-MIMO group and the second SC field corresponds to a second MU-MIMO group. (¶0030 As reflected in FIG. 4, in various embodiments, header structure 400 may comprise one or more other subfields in addition to DL MU-MIMO Group ID subfield [i.e. MU-MIMO group pointer] 416 & ¶0031 FIG. 5 illustrates an example of a header structure 500 such as may be representative of a header structure that may be used in various embodiments to implement techniques for group-based spatial stream assignment signaling … As shown in FIG. 5, header structure 500 comprises many of the subfields discussed above in reference to header structure 400 of FIG. 4. However, instead of NSS subfields 418-j, header structure 500 comprises Spatial Stream Bitmap subfields 528-j. In some embodiments, each Spatial Stream Bitmap subfield 528-j may comprise a bitmap specifying the particular respective spatial stream(s) assigned to a respective STA among those in the DL MU-MIMO group [i.e. each SC field corresponds to a particular MU-MIMO group defined by the group ID subfield]. In various embodiments, the order in which the various Spatial Stream Bitmap subfields 528-j appear in header structure 500 may correspond to the order in which the AIDs of their associated STAs appear in a MIMO group information subset 308-i for the DL MU-MIMO group within IE 300 of FIG. 3.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Chen’s invention of a physical layer preamble and signaling for wireless communication to include Ghosh’s teaching of each SC fields corresponding to a MU-MIMO group, because it would allow the device to assign spatial stream configuration to respective user devices in each MU-MIMO group. (see Ghosh ¶0031)
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: wherein a second information element of the user specific field of the PPDU comprises a user position indication for the associated user device, and a user group indication for the associated user device, wherein the user position indication is indicative of an index of an entry within the SC field that the associated user device corresponds to, and the user group indication is indicative of the MU-MIMO group that the associated user device belongs to.
However, in the analogous art, Lim teaches such limitations:
wherein a second information element of the user specific field of the PPDU comprises a user position indication for the associated user device, (¶0187 the transmitting STA may transmit user specific HE-SIG-B, which includes information on the receiving STA, [i.e. information element of a user specific field of receiving STA (associated user device)] by masking the user specific HE-SIG-B with PAID/AID. In this case, only the receiving STA to which the corresponding PAID/AID is assigned may perform decoding of the user specific HE-SIG-B. Therefore, the transmitting STA may include the number of streams for the corresponding receiving STA and indication for LTF starting in the user specific HE-SIG-B. As a result, the receiving STA may identify the number of streams assigned thereto and a position where its stream starts among a plurality of streams transmitted within 20 MHz. [i.e. information element of a user specific field contains a receiving STA (user device) position indication for respective STAs (associated user device)])
and a user group indication for the associated user device, (¶0183 The transmitting STA may mask CRC of user specific HE-SIG-B transmitted per 20 MHz with GID (Group ID) and transmit the masked CRC during MU-MIMO operation after indicating a format in HE-SIG-A as above.)
and the user group indication is indicative of the MU-MIMO group that the associated user device belongs to. (¶0017 According to one embodiment of the present invention, user information specific to STA is detected based on group ID in MU-MIMO based transmission of a wireless LAN system & ¶0183 The transmitting STA may mask CRC of user specific HE-SIG-B transmitted per 20 MHz with GID (Group ID) and transmit the masked CRC during MU-MIMO operation after indicating a format in HE-SIG-A as above. [i.e. Group ID is for MU-MIMO operations for indicating groups of receiving STA (associated user devices)])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Chen and Ghosh’s invention of a physical layer preamble and signaling for wireless communication to include Lim’s teaching of an information element of a user specific field comprising a user position indication for an associated user device, because it would reduce complexity of blind-decoding in MU-MIMO based transmission and efficiently indicate streams and PPDU field information assigned to user devices. (see Lim ¶0178)
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: wherein the user position indication is indicative of an index of an entry within the SC field that the associated user device corresponds to,
However, in the analogous art, Huang teaches:
wherein the user position indication is indicative of an index of an entry within the SC field that the associated user device corresponds to, (Pg. 12 Ln. 20-29 “If, on the other hand, the User field is associated with a MU-MIMO allocation then the method progresses to determine a User field position in the User Specific field [i.e. user specific field contains user position for MU-MIMO devices] at step 522. An MCS index and spatial configuration information, such as an NSTS and SSI, according to the value of the Spatial Configuration/MCS subfield is then derived, as well as the number of the users and the User field position in the User Specific field, at step 524. For example, for a given number of users (/V.sub.user) in the MU-MIMO allocation, the STA may utilize a spatial configuration/MCS look-up table to obtain the MCS index and NSTS allocated to it by using the row corresponding to the value of the Spatial Configuration/MCS subfield and the column corresponding to the User field position in the User Specific field [i.e. user position field corresponds to a look-up table of Spatial Configuration (index of an entry within the SC subfield associated to user devices)]”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Chen, Ghosh, and Lim’s invention of a physical layer preamble and signaling for wireless communication to include Huang’s teaching of a user group indication for the associated device, because it enables the use of a user position to indicate per user allocation and spatial configuration information in a MU-MIMO PPDU. (see Huang Pg. 12 Ln. 20-29)
Re. Claim 19, Chen teaches:
A method for a wireless transmitting device transmitting one or more physical layer protocol data units (PPDUs) to one or more multi-user multi-input multi-output (MU-MIMO) groups of user devices, (Fig. 17 explains steps of how a PPDU transmitted from an AP is received and interpreted)
the method comprising: obtaining a compressed-mode PPDU that comprises one or more spatial configuration fields, (¶0005 The method includes receiving, via a wireless channel, a packet [i.e. a PPDU] including a preamble portion and a data portion. The preamble portion may include a universal signal field (U-SIG) followed by one or more version-specific signal fields. The one or more version-specific signal fields may include a third signal field (EHT-SIG) [i.e. EHT-SIG included in PPDU] & ¶0191 Further by observing the order of user fields in the EHT-SIG, the device can determine how many SS is allocated for it (from NSTS[1] for the first listed device, NSTS[2] for the second listed device, and so on). & ¶0192 To signal a value for the spatial stream configuration, 6 bits would be used in the spatial stream configuration subfield in the user field of the EHT-SIG [i.e. a spatial configuration field included in the PPDU]. ¶0219 This disclosure includes a design option for the compressed EHT-SIG that may follow a U-SIG For example, the compressed EHT-SIG may be used [i.e. used for transmitting PPDU] when the EHT-SIG follows a U-SIG formatted for a unified SU/MU PPDU frame format [i.e. obtaining the compressed mode PPDU]. Other uses of the compresses EHT-SIG may be relevant for MU PPDUs. In some implementations, the compressed EHT-SIG may be reduced in size by omitting the RU allocation subfield in the EHT-SIG common field or using reduced sized RU allocation subfields for the EHT-SIG common field. [i.e. description of a compressed-mode PPDU])
and transmitting the PPDU to the user devices of the one or more MU-MIMO groups over a predetermined bandwidth. (Fig. 7 & ¶0053 Among other things, a preamble portion of a PPDU may include signaling to indicate which RUs are allocated to different devices. Other types of signaling include indicators regarding which subchannels include further signaling or which subchannels may be punctured. [i.e. involves transmitting PPDU over a specific or pre-determined bandwidth by not utilizing unused portions of the transmission bandwidth, as shown in Figure 7]. & ¶0069 The APs 102 and STAs 104 transmit and receive wireless communications (hereinafter also referred to as “Wi-Fi communications”) to and from one another in the form of physical layer convergence protocol (PLCP) protocol data units (PPDUs). [i.e. transmitting the PPDUs] & ¶0110 The U-SIG 1016 may include frequency occupation indications that permit any WLAN devices on the wireless channel to determine the utilization of the various parts of the wireless channel. For example, the U-SIG 1016 may include a PPDU BW and punctured channel information field 1052 [i.e. field indicates the predetermined bandwidth for transmitting PPDU]. The PPDU BW and punctured channel information field 1052 may include a PPDU BW value, punctured channel indicators, or any combination thereof.)
and wherein the one or more SC fields are replicated over each segment of the predetermined bandwidth. (¶0104 the information in RL-SIG 1014, the U-SIG 1016 and EHT-SIG 1018 may be duplicated and transmitted in each of the component 20 MHz subchannels (which may include content channels) & ¶0149 FIG. 13 shows a conceptual diagram of an EHT-SIG 1300 in a content channel of a first example content channel structure according to some implementations. For example, when the content channel structure uses a [1,2,1,2] structure that spans the entire 320 MHz bandwidth wireless channel, the common field (shown as common-1A and common-1B) may use multiple coding blocks for the common field in each content channel. The EHT-SIG 1300 shown in FIG. 13 is an example of the EHT-SIG that may be included on a first content channel. & ¶0150 FIG. 14 shows a conceptual diagram of EHT-SIGs [i.e. SC fields contained in EHT-SIG, as explained below in ¶0192 citation] in different content channels of a second example content channel structure according to some implementations. For example, FIG. 14 may be used to describe an example in which a 320 MHz bandwidth wireless channel is divided into an upper 160 MHz bandwidth portion and a lower 160 MHz bandwidth portion [i.e. EHT-SIGs with SC fields are replicated across each of the segments/portions of the predetermined bandwidth]. & ¶0192 The spatial configuration subfield may use a non-increasing order of NSTS for MU-MIMO users (for example, NSTS[i+1]<=NSTS[i], where i is the MU-MIMO user index). The highest quantity of spatial stream configurations may be 54 in a lookup table that supports up to 4 spatial streams per user and up to 8 users. To signal a value for the spatial stream configuration, 6 bits would be used in the spatial stream configuration subfield in the user field of the EHT-SIG. In yet another option, 6 bits would be used in the spatial configuration subfield in the user field of the EHT-SIG.)
wherein the PPDU comprises one or more common fields and a user-specific field, (Fig. 10 & Fig. 13 & ¶0117 Note that some of these aforementioned indicators may carry over into part of the EHT-SIG 1018 or may be signaled in the EHT-SIG 1018 (rather than the U-SIG 1016). For example, a common field 1082 may include the overflow bits from the additional signaling fields 1062. Furthermore, the common field 1082 may include resource allocation information (such as RU allocations for one or more STAs). A user specific field 1084 may include one or more user block fields. For example, there may be a different user block field for each resource allocation indicated in the common field 1082.)
wherein the one or more common fields comprise one or more first information elements, (¶0117 Note that some of these aforementioned indicators may carry over into part of the EHT-SIG 1018 or may be signaled in the EHT-SIG 1018 (rather than the U-SIG 1016). For example, a common field 1082 may include the overflow bits from the additional signaling fields 1062. Furthermore, the common field 1082 may include resource allocation information (such as RU allocations for one or more STAs). [i.e. common field contains one or more first information elements])
wherein each first information element is to be used by all user devices of one associated MU-MIMO group, (¶0060 The preamble design options in this disclosure may support flexible RU allocations for OFDMA communication during the data portion of the PPDU. Alternatively, or additionally, the preamble design options may enable MU MIMO based on new RU allocation tables & ¶0117 For an MU PPDU, the common field 1082 may include resource allocation information (such as RU allocations for one or more STAs). [i.e. common field is used by multiple STAs (a group) for MU PPDU (a MU-MIMO group)])
and wherein the user-specific field comprises one or more second information elements, (¶0201 The user specific field 3150 of the EHT-SIG 3110 may include user fields that include the RU assignments for each user… Some potential new subfields that may be included in each user field may include the RU assignment, and MU-MIMO indicator (to indicate whether the RU assignment is for MU-MIMO or non-MU-MIMO), the NSTS of this user, and the starting stream index (when using MU-MIMO), among other examples [i.e. one or more second information elements].)
wherein each second information element is to be used by one associated user device. (¶0118 Note that some of these aforementioned indicators may carry over into part of the EHT-SIG 1018 or may be signaled in the EHT-SIG 1018 (rather than the U-SIG 1016). For example, a common field 1082 may include the overflow bits from the additional signaling fields 1062. If the unified SU/MU PPDU is directed to multiple users, the common field 1082 may include resource allocation information (such as RU allocations for one or more STAs). A user specific field 1084 may include one or more user block fields. For example, if the unified SU/MU PPDU is directed to multiple users, there may be a different user block field for each resource allocation indicated in the common field 1082. & ¶0201 The user specific field 3150 of the EHT-SIG 3110 may include user fields that include the RU assignments for each user. Some potential new subfields that may be included in each user field may include the RU assignment, and MU-MIMO indicator (to indicate whether the RU assignment is for MU-MIMO or non-MU-MIMO), the NSTS of this user, and the starting stream index (when using MU-MIMO), among other examples [i.e. one or more second information elements of user specific field 3150 for each user, therefore each second information element is used by one associated device].)
Yet, Chen fails to teach: wherein each SC field corresponds to one MU-MIMO group of the one or more MU-MIMO groups and is indicative of a spatial stream configuration for user devices of that MU-MIMO group; wherein the one or more SC fields of the PPDU comprise a first SC field and a second SC field, wherein the first SC field corresponds to a first MU-MIMO group and the second SC field corresponds to a second MU-MIMO group.
However, in the analogous art, Ghosh teaches such a limitation:
wherein each SC field corresponds to one MU-MIMO group of the one or more MU-MIMO groups and is indicative of a spatial stream configuration for user devices of that MU-MIMO group; (¶0023-¶0024 in response to a determination that it is an addressee of PPDU 226, the 60 GHz-capable receiving device may use DL MU-MIMO control information 230 to identify one or more spatial streams via which it is to receive data from 60 GHz-capable device 102. FIG. 3 illustrates an example of an information element (IE) 300 such as may be representative of DL MU-MIMO group management information & ¶0028 FIG. 4 illustrates an example of a header structure 400 such as may be representative of a header structure that may be used in some embodiments to implement techniques for group-based spatial stream assignment signaling in 60 GHz wireless networks. More particularly, header structure 400 may be representative of a structure of PHY header 228 of FIG. 2 in various embodiments. In some embodiments, after determining its DL MU-MIMO group ID based on a DL MU-MIMO group management IE such as IE 300 of FIG. 3, a 60 GHz-capable STA may use information in header structure 400 to determine whether it is an addressee of a PPDU comprising header structure 400 and, if so, to identify one or more spatial streams via which it is to receive data comprised in the PPDU. & ¶0031 FIG. 5 illustrates an example of a header structure 500 such as may be representative of a header structure that may be used in various embodiments to implement techniques for group-based spatial stream assignment signaling in 60 GHz wireless networks. As shown in FIG. 5, header structure 500 comprises many of the subfields discussed above in reference to header structure 400 of FIG. 4. In some embodiments, each Spatial Stream Bitmap subfield 528-j may comprise a bitmap specifying the particular respective spatial stream(s) assigned to a respective STA among those in the DL MU-MIMO group. In various embodiments, the order in which the various Spatial Stream Bitmap subfields 528-j appear in header structure 500 may correspond to the order in which the AIDs of their associated STAs appear in a MIMO group information subset 308-i for the DL MU-MIMO group within IE 300 of FIG. 3. [i.e. Figures 3-5 are correlated, wherein the spatial stream configurations (SC fields) corresponding to each of the one or more groups using the MIMO group information subset 308-i and MU-MIMO Group ID, figures shown above])
wherein the one or more SC fields of the PPDU comprise a first SC field and a second SC field, (¶0031 As shown in FIG. 5, header structure 500 comprises many of the subfields discussed above in reference to header structure 400 of FIG. 4. However, instead of NSS subfields 418-j, header structure 500 comprises Spatial Stream Bitmap subfields 528-j. In some embodiments, each Spatial Stream Bitmap subfield 528-j [i.e. multiple SC fields] may comprise a bitmap)
wherein the first SC field corresponds to a first MU-MIMO group and the second SC field corresponds to a second MU-MIMO group. (¶0030 As reflected in FIG. 4, in various embodiments, header structure 400 may comprise one or more other subfields in addition to DL MU-MIMO Group ID subfield [i.e. MU-MIMO group pointer] 416 & ¶0031 FIG. 5 illustrates an example of a header structure 500 such as may be representative of a header structure that may be used in various embodiments to implement techniques for group-based spatial stream assignment signaling … As shown in FIG. 5, header structure 500 comprises many of the subfields discussed above in reference to header structure 400 of FIG. 4. However, instead of NSS subfields 418-j, header structure 500 comprises Spatial Stream Bitmap subfields 528-j. In some embodiments, each Spatial Stream Bitmap subfield 528-j may comprise a bitmap specifying the particular respective spatial stream(s) assigned to a respective STA among those in the DL MU-MIMO group [i.e. each SC field corresponds to a particular MU-MIMO group defined by the group ID subfield]. In various embodiments, the order in which the various Spatial Stream Bitmap subfields 528-j appear in header structure 500 may correspond to the order in which the AIDs of their associated STAs appear in a MIMO group information subset 308-i for the DL MU-MIMO group within IE 300 of FIG. 3.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Chen’s invention of a physical layer preamble and signaling for wireless communication to include Ghosh’s teaching of each SC fields corresponding to a MU-MIMO group, because it would allow the device to assign spatial stream configuration to respective user devices in each MU-MIMO group. (see Ghosh ¶0031)
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: wherein a second information element of the user specific field of the PPDU comprises a user position indication for the associated user device, and a user group indication for the associated user device, wherein the user position indication is indicative of an index of an entry within the SC field that the associated user device corresponds to, and the user group indication is indicative of the MU-MIMO group that the associated user device belongs to.
However, in the analogous art, Lim teaches such limitations:
wherein a second information element of the user specific field of the PPDU comprises a user position indication for the associated user device, (¶0187 the transmitting STA may transmit user specific HE-SIG-B, which includes information on the receiving STA, [i.e. information element of a user specific field of receiving STA (associated user device)] by masking the user specific HE-SIG-B with PAID/AID. In this case, only the receiving STA to which the corresponding PAID/AID is assigned may perform decoding of the user specific HE-SIG-B. Therefore, the transmitting STA may include the number of streams for the corresponding receiving STA and indication for LTF starting in the user specific HE-SIG-B. As a result, the receiving STA may identify the number of streams assigned thereto and a position where its stream starts among a plurality of streams transmitted within 20 MHz. [i.e. information element of a user specific field contains a receiving STA (user device) position indication for respective STAs (associated user device)])
and a user group indication for the associated user device, (¶0183 The transmitting STA may mask CRC of user specific HE-SIG-B transmitted per 20 MHz with GID (Group ID) and transmit the masked CRC during MU-MIMO operation after indicating a format in HE-SIG-A as above.)
and the user group indication is indicative of the MU-MIMO group that the associated user device belongs to. (¶0017 According to one embodiment of the present invention, user information specific to STA is detected based on group ID in MU-MIMO based transmission of a wireless LAN system & ¶0183 The transmitting STA may mask CRC of user specific HE-SIG-B transmitted per 20 MHz with GID (Group ID) and transmit the masked CRC during MU-MIMO operation after indicating a format in HE-SIG-A as above. [i.e. Group ID is for MU-MIMO operations for indicating groups of receiving STA (associated user devices)])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Chen and Ghosh’s invention of a physical layer preamble and signaling for wireless communication to include Lim’s teaching of an information element of a user specific field comprising a user position indication for an associated user device, because it would reduce complexity of blind-decoding in MU-MIMO based transmission and efficiently indicate streams and PPDU field information assigned to user devices. (see Lim ¶0178)
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: wherein the user position indication is indicative of an index of an entry within the SC field that the associated user device corresponds to,
However, in the analogous art, Huang teaches:
wherein the user position indication is indicative of an index of an entry within the SC field that the associated user device corresponds to, (Pg. 12 Ln. 20-29 “If, on the other hand, the User field is associated with a MU-MIMO allocation then the method progresses to determine a User field position in the User Specific field [i.e. user specific field contains user position for MU-MIMO devices] at step 522. An MCS index and spatial configuration information, such as an NSTS and SSI, according to the value of the Spatial Configuration/MCS subfield is then derived, as well as the number of the users and the User field position in the User Specific field, at step 524. For example, for a given number of users (/V.sub.user) in the MU-MIMO allocation, the STA may utilize a spatial configuration/MCS look-up table to obtain the MCS index and NSTS allocated to it by using the row corresponding to the value of the Spatial Configuration/MCS subfield and the column corresponding to the User field position in the User Specific field [i.e. user position field corresponds to a look-up table of Spatial Configuration (index of an entry within the SC subfield associated to user devices)]”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Chen, Ghosh, and Lim’s invention of a physical layer preamble and signaling for wireless communication to include Huang’s teaching of a user group indication for the associated device, because it enables the use of a user position to indicate per user allocation and spatial configuration information in a MU-MIMO PPDU. (see Huang Pg. 12 Ln. 20-29)
Re. Claim 20, Chen teaches:
A method for a user device of a multi-user multi-input multi-output (MU-MIMO) group, (Fig. 17 explains steps of how a PPDU transmitted from an AP is received and interpreted)
the method comprising: receiving a compressed-mode physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU), from a wireless transmitting device, (Fig. 17 explains process of receiving PPDU & ¶0219 This disclosure includes a design option for the compressed EHT-SIG that may follow a U-SIG For example, the compressed EHT-SIG may be used [i.e. used when transmitting PPDU] when the EHT-SIG follows a U-SIG formatted for a unified SU/MU PPDU frame format)
which comprises one or more spatial configuration (SC) fields, (¶0191 Further by observing the order of user fields in the EHT-SIG, the device can determine how many SS is allocated for it (from NSTS[1] for the first listed device, NSTS[2] for the second listed device, and so on). & ¶0192 To signal a value for the spatial stream configuration, 6 bits would be used in the spatial stream configuration subfield in the user field of the EHT-SIG [i.e. a spatial configuration field included in the PPDU].)
and decoding the PPDU to obtain a SC field corresponding to the MU- MIMO group that the user device belongs to. (Fig. 18 shows a decoding module 1804 & ¶0171 In some implementations, the wireless communication device 1800 can be a device for use in a STA, such as one of the STAs 104 and 904 described above with reference to FIGS. 1 and 9B, respectively. & ¶0174 The decoding module 1804 is configured to decode the bits in the demodulated symbols and to interpret bits in the decoded bits based on a WLAN communication protocol. [i.e. the decoding module used for decoding the bits of the PPDU; which in Fig. 28 and Fig. 31 shows RU allocation which includes the SC field] & ¶0196 The RU allocation 2822 describes the RU sizes within that 80 MHz bandwidth portion as well as the number of users in each RU [i.e. a spatial configuration])
and wherein the one or more SC fields are replicated over each segment of the predetermined bandwidth. (¶0104 the information in RL-SIG 1014, the U-SIG 1016 and EHT-SIG 1018 may be duplicated and transmitted in each of the component 20 MHz subchannels (which may include content channels) & ¶0149 FIG. 13 shows a conceptual diagram of an EHT-SIG 1300 in a content channel of a first example content channel structure according to some implementations. For example, when the content channel structure uses a [1,2,1,2] structure that spans the entire 320 MHz bandwidth wireless channel, the common field (shown as common-1A and common-1B) may use multiple coding blocks for the common field in each content channel. The EHT-SIG 1300 shown in FIG. 13 is an example of the EHT-SIG that may be included on a first content channel. & ¶0150 FIG. 14 shows a conceptual diagram of EHT-SIGs [i.e. SC fields contained in EHT-SIG, as explained below in ¶0192 citation] in different content channels of a second example content channel structure according to some implementations. For example, FIG. 14 may be used to describe an example in which a 320 MHz bandwidth wireless channel is divided into an upper 160 MHz bandwidth portion and a lower 160 MHz bandwidth portion [i.e. EHT-SIGs with SC fields are replicated across each of the segments/portions of the predetermined bandwidth]. & ¶0192 The spatial configuration subfield may use a non-increasing order of NSTS for MU-MIMO users (for example, NSTS[i+1]<=NSTS[i], where i is the MU-MIMO user index). The highest quantity of spatial stream configurations may be 54 in a lookup table that supports up to 4 spatial streams per user and up to 8 users. To signal a value for the spatial stream configuration, 6 bits would be used in the spatial stream configuration subfield in the user field of the EHT-SIG. In yet another option, 6 bits would be used in the spatial configuration subfield in the user field of the EHT-SIG.)
wherein the PPDU comprises one or more common fields and a user-specific field, (Fig. 10 & Fig. 13 & ¶0117 Note that some of these aforementioned indicators may carry over into part of the EHT-SIG 1018 or may be signaled in the EHT-SIG 1018 (rather than the U-SIG 1016). For example, a common field 1082 may include the overflow bits from the additional signaling fields 1062. Furthermore, the common field 1082 may include resource allocation information (such as RU allocations for one or more STAs). A user specific field 1084 may include one or more user block fields. For example, there may be a different user block field for each resource allocation indicated in the common field 1082.)
wherein the one or more common fields comprise one or more first information elements, (¶0117 Note that some of these aforementioned indicators may carry over into part of the EHT-SIG 1018 or may be signaled in the EHT-SIG 1018 (rather than the U-SIG 1016). For example, a common field 1082 may include the overflow bits from the additional signaling fields 1062. Furthermore, the common field 1082 may include resource allocation information (such as RU allocations for one or more STAs). [i.e. common field contains one or more first information elements])
wherein each first information element is to be used by all user devices of one associated MU-MIMO group, (¶0060 The preamble design options in this disclosure may support flexible RU allocations for OFDMA communication during the data portion of the PPDU. Alternatively, or additionally, the preamble design options may enable MU MIMO based on new RU allocation tables & ¶0117 For an MU PPDU, the common field 1082 may include resource allocation information (such as RU allocations for one or more STAs). [i.e. common field is used by multiple STAs (a group) for MU PPDU (a MU-MIMO group)])
and wherein the user-specific field comprises one or more second information elements, (¶0201 The user specific field 3150 of the EHT-SIG 3110 may include user fields that include the RU assignments for each user… Some potential new subfields that may be included in each user field may include the RU assignment, and MU-MIMO indicator (to indicate whether the RU assignment is for MU-MIMO or non-MU-MIMO), the NSTS of this user, and the starting stream index (when using MU-MIMO), among other examples [i.e. one or more second information elements].)
wherein each second information element is to be used by one associated user device. (¶0118 Note that some of these aforementioned indicators may carry over into part of the EHT-SIG 1018 or may be signaled in the EHT-SIG 1018 (rather than the U-SIG 1016). For example, a common field 1082 may include the overflow bits from the additional signaling fields 1062. If the unified SU/MU PPDU is directed to multiple users, the common field 1082 may include resource allocation information (such as RU allocations for one or more STAs). A user specific field 1084 may include one or more user block fields. For example, if the unified SU/MU PPDU is directed to multiple users, there may be a different user block field for each resource allocation indicated in the common field 1082. & ¶0201 The user specific field 3150 of the EHT-SIG 3110 may include user fields that include the RU assignments for each user. Some potential new subfields that may be included in each user field may include the RU assignment, and MU-MIMO indicator (to indicate whether the RU assignment is for MU-MIMO or non-MU-MIMO), the NSTS of this user, and the starting stream index (when using MU-MIMO), among other examples [i.e. one or more second information elements of user specific field 3150 for each user, therefore each second information element is used by one associated device].)
Yet, Chen fails to teach: wherein each SC field corresponds to one MU-MIMO group and is indicative of a spatial stream configuration for user devices of that MU- MIMO group; wherein the one or more SC fields of the PPDU comprise a first SC field and a second SC field, wherein the first SC field corresponds to a first MU-MIMO group and the second SC field corresponds to a second MU-MIMO group.
However, in the analogous art, Ghosh teaches such a limitation:
wherein each SC field corresponds to one MU-MIMO group and is indicative of a spatial stream configuration for user devices of that MU- MIMO group; (¶0023-¶0024 in response to a determination that it is an addressee of PPDU 226, the 60 GHz-capable receiving device may use DL MU-MIMO control information 230 to identify one or more spatial streams via which it is to receive data from 60 GHz-capable device 102. FIG. 3 illustrates an example of an information element (IE) 300 such as may be representative of DL MU-MIMO group management information & ¶0028 FIG. 4 illustrates an example of a header structure 400 such as may be representative of a header structure that may be used in some embodiments to implement techniques for group-based spatial stream assignment signaling in 60 GHz wireless networks. More particularly, header structure 400 may be representative of a structure of PHY header 228 of FIG. 2 in various embodiments. In some embodiments, after determining its DL MU-MIMO group ID based on a DL MU-MIMO group management IE such as IE 300 of FIG. 3, a 60 GHz-capable STA may use information in header structure 400 to determine whether it is an addressee of a PPDU comprising header structure 400 and, if so, to identify one or more spatial streams via which it is to receive data comprised in the PPDU. & ¶0031 FIG. 5 illustrates an example of a header structure 500 such as may be representative of a header structure that may be used in various embodiments to implement techniques for group-based spatial stream assignment signaling in 60 GHz wireless networks. As shown in FIG. 5, header structure 500 comprises many of the subfields discussed above in reference to header structure 400 of FIG. 4. In some embodiments, each Spatial Stream Bitmap subfield 528-j may comprise a bitmap specifying the particular respective spatial stream(s) assigned to a respective STA among those in the DL MU-MIMO group. In various embodiments, the order in which the various Spatial Stream Bitmap subfields 528-j appear in header structure 500 may correspond to the order in which the AIDs of their associated STAs appear in a MIMO group information subset 308-i for the DL MU-MIMO group within IE 300 of FIG. 3. [i.e. Figures 3-5 are correlated, wherein the spatial stream configurations (SC fields) corresponding to each of the one or more groups using the MIMO group information subset 308-i and MU-MIMO Group ID, figures shown above])
wherein the one or more SC fields of the PPDU comprise a first SC field and a second SC field, (¶0031 As shown in FIG. 5, header structure 500 comprises many of the subfields discussed above in reference to header structure 400 of FIG. 4. However, instead of NSS subfields 418-j, header structure 500 comprises Spatial Stream Bitmap subfields 528-j. In some embodiments, each Spatial Stream Bitmap subfield 528-j [i.e. multiple SC fields] may comprise a bitmap)
wherein the first SC field corresponds to a first MU-MIMO group and the second SC field corresponds to a second MU-MIMO group. (¶0030 As reflected in FIG. 4, in various embodiments, header structure 400 may comprise one or more other subfields in addition to DL MU-MIMO Group ID subfield [i.e. MU-MIMO group pointer] 416 & ¶0031 FIG. 5 illustrates an example of a header structure 500 such as may be representative of a header structure that may be used in various embodiments to implement techniques for group-based spatial stream assignment signaling … As shown in FIG. 5, header structure 500 comprises many of the subfields discussed above in reference to header structure 400 of FIG. 4. However, instead of NSS subfields 418-j, header structure 500 comprises Spatial Stream Bitmap subfields 528-j. In some embodiments, each Spatial Stream Bitmap subfield 528-j may comprise a bitmap specifying the particular respective spatial stream(s) assigned to a respective STA among those in the DL MU-MIMO group [i.e. each SC field corresponds to a particular MU-MIMO group defined by the group ID subfield]. In various embodiments, the order in which the various Spatial Stream Bitmap subfields 528-j appear in header structure 500 may correspond to the order in which the AIDs of their associated STAs appear in a MIMO group information subset 308-i for the DL MU-MIMO group within IE 300 of FIG. 3.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Chen’s invention of a physical layer preamble and signaling for wireless communication to include Ghosh’s teaching of each SC fields corresponding to a MU-MIMO group, because it would allow the device to assign spatial stream configuration to respective user devices in each MU-MIMO group. (see Ghosh ¶0031)
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: wherein a second information element of the user specific field of the PPDU comprises a user position indication for the associated user device, and a user group indication for the associated user device, wherein the user position indication is indicative of an index of an entry within the SC field that the associated user device corresponds to, and the user group indication is indicative of the MU-MIMO group that the associated user device belongs to.
However, in the analogous art, Lim teaches such limitations:
wherein a second information element of the user specific field of the PPDU comprises a user position indication for the associated user device, (¶0187 the transmitting STA may transmit user specific HE-SIG-B, which includes information on the receiving STA, [i.e. information element of a user specific field of receiving STA (associated user device)] by masking the user specific HE-SIG-B with PAID/AID. In this case, only the receiving STA to which the corresponding PAID/AID is assigned may perform decoding of the user specific HE-SIG-B. Therefore, the transmitting STA may include the number of streams for the corresponding receiving STA and indication for LTF starting in the user specific HE-SIG-B. As a result, the receiving STA may identify the number of streams assigned thereto and a position where its stream starts among a plurality of streams transmitted within 20 MHz. [i.e. information element of a user specific field contains a receiving STA (user device) position indication for respective STAs (associated user device)])
and a user group indication for the associated user device, (¶0183 The transmitting STA may mask CRC of user specific HE-SIG-B transmitted per 20 MHz with GID (Group ID) and transmit the masked CRC during MU-MIMO operation after indicating a format in HE-SIG-A as above.)
and the user group indication is indicative of the MU-MIMO group that the associated user device belongs to. (¶0017 According to one embodiment of the present invention, user information specific to STA is detected based on group ID in MU-MIMO based transmission of a wireless LAN system & ¶0183 The transmitting STA may mask CRC of user specific HE-SIG-B transmitted per 20 MHz with GID (Group ID) and transmit the masked CRC during MU-MIMO operation after indicating a format in HE-SIG-A as above. [i.e. Group ID is for MU-MIMO operations for indicating groups of receiving STA (associated user devices)])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Chen and Ghosh’s invention of a physical layer preamble and signaling for wireless communication to include Lim’s teaching of an information element of a user specific field comprising a user position indication for an associated user device, because it would reduce complexity of blind-decoding in MU-MIMO based transmission and efficiently indicate streams and PPDU field information assigned to user devices. (see Lim ¶0178)
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: wherein the user position indication is indicative of an index of an entry within the SC field that the associated user device corresponds to,
However, in the analogous art, Huang teaches:
wherein the user position indication is indicative of an index of an entry within the SC field that the associated user device corresponds to, (Pg. 12 Ln. 20-29 “If, on the other hand, the User field is associated with a MU-MIMO allocation then the method progresses to determine a User field position in the User Specific field [i.e. user specific field contains user position for MU-MIMO devices] at step 522. An MCS index and spatial configuration information, such as an NSTS and SSI, according to the value of the Spatial Configuration/MCS subfield is then derived, as well as the number of the users and the User field position in the User Specific field, at step 524. For example, for a given number of users (/V.sub.user) in the MU-MIMO allocation, the STA may utilize a spatial configuration/MCS look-up table to obtain the MCS index and NSTS allocated to it by using the row corresponding to the value of the Spatial Configuration/MCS subfield and the column corresponding to the User field position in the User Specific field [i.e. user position field corresponds to a look-up table of Spatial Configuration (index of an entry within the SC subfield associated to user devices)]”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Chen, Ghosh, and Lim’s invention of a physical layer preamble and signaling for wireless communication to include Huang’s teaching of a user group indication for the associated device, because it enables the use of a user position to indicate per user allocation and spatial configuration information in a MU-MIMO PPDU. (see Huang Pg. 12 Ln. 20-29)
Re. Claim 21, Chen combined with Ghosh, Lim, and Huang teaches claim 1.
Ghosh further teaches:
wherein the one or more MU-MIMO groups is a plurality of MU-MIMO groups. (¶0022 60 GHz-capable device 102 defines one or more DL MU-MIMO groups and then includes DL MU-MIMO group management information 224 in a management frame 222 in order to notify the 60 GHz-capable receiving devices in the DL MU-MIMO groups of the particular DL MU-MIMO groups to which they belong.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Chen, Lim, and Huang’s invention of a physical layer preamble and signaling for wireless communication to include Ghosh’s teaching of a plurality of MU-MIMO groups, because it would enable the use of group based spatial stream assignment signaling. (see Ghosh ¶0022).
Claims 7-9, 11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen combined with Ghosh, Lim, Huang, and further in view of Bharadwaj et al. (US 2017/0064718 A1), hereinafter referred to as Bharadwaj.
Re. Claim 7, Chen combined with Ghosh, Lim, and Huang teaches claim 1.
Chen further teaches:
wherein the type of compression mode is indicative of how the predetermined bandwidth is allocated to the one or more MU-MIMO groups. (Fig. 32A – Fig. 32D shows different compression modes and how they relate to the how the predetermined bandwidth is allocated)
Yet the combined references fail to teach: wherein a first information element of the one or more common signal fields of the PPDU comprises a compression mode field indicative of a type of compression mode that is applied by the wireless transmitting device,
However, in the analogous art, Bharadwaj teaches such a limitation:
wherein at least one of the first information elements of the one or more common signal fields of the PPDU comprises a compression mode field indicative of a type of compression mode that is applied by the wireless transmitting device (¶0062 In some examples a number of bits, in addition to the common block bits used to identify how a data field is partitioned amongst devices (e.g. partitioning of the data field into RUs), in the common block field [i.e. common signal field], an additional N bits may be provided in the common block field. These N bits may be common to all users in the PPDU, or common to all users in a 20 MHz channel. These bits may not be a part of a resource allocation field of the common block field, but may be used to convey other types of information, for example bits indicating padding or packet extension, legacy training field (LTF), compression indication [i.e. compression mode field], number of LTFs in the PPDU, etc.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Chen, Ghosh, Lim, and Huang’s invention of a physical layer preamble and signaling for wireless communication to include Bharadwaj’s teaching of the common field of the PPDU comprising a compression mode field, because it would enable the device to signal a mode of compression in a way that conveys the information to all user devices, so that it can be interpreted the same by all device. (see Bharadwaj ¶0060 & ¶0062)
Re. Claim 8, Chen combined with Ghosh, Lim, Huang, and Bharadwaj teaches claim 7.
Chen further teaches:
further configured to: transmit the PPDU to the user devices of the one or more MU-MIMO groups according to the type of compression mode. (¶0083 If the PPDU Format Field Indicates that the PDU 400 is a multi-user (MU) PPDU, there may be other format information fields, such as EHT-SIG MCS, EHT-DCM, EHT-SIG compression, number of EHT-SIG symbols or number of non-OFDMA users, among other examples, to interpret the EHT-SIG structure and content ¶0219 This disclosure includes a design option for the compressed EHT-SIG that may follow a U-SIG. For example, the compressed EHT-SIG may be used [i.e. compressed mode used for transmitting PPDU] when the EHT-SIG follows a U-SIG formatted for a unified SU/MU PPDU frame format. Other uses of the compresses EHT-SIG may be relevant for MU PPDUs. & ¶0220 FIG. 32A shows a first example table 3200 with different options for compression modes that may be used in the EHT-SIG including a no compression mode. The use of different compression modes may depend on the type of communication (such as SU, non-OFDMA MU-MIMO, or OFDMA) in the PPDU as well as the puncturing of subchannels within the PPDU BW.)
Re. Claim 9, Chen combined with Ghosh, Lim, Huang, and Bharadwaj teaches claim 7.
Chen further teaches:
wherein the type of compression mode comprises one of: full bandwidth mode, (Figs. 32A-D shows different compression modes for full bandwidth)
and one of multiple enhanced compression modes, wherein each enhanced compression mode represents a resource allocation for the one or more MU-MIMO groups. (¶0203-¶0204 in PPDUs that do not include partial-bandwidth MU-MIMO or that use full bandwidth MU-MIMO, the simplification rules may not be needed… A PPDU that has a PPDU BW less than the minimum bandwidth may not support partial-bandwidth MU-MIMO. Instead, it may use an EHT-SIG compression mode that is for full bandwidth MU-MIMO & ¶0226 FIG. 32B shows a second example table 3210 with different options for compression modes that may be used in the EHT-SIG including a compression mode for a PPDU that includes partial bandwidth MU-MIMO. The use of different compression modes may depend on the type of communication (such as SU, non-OFDMA MU-MIMO, or OFDMA) in the PPDU, the puncturing of subchannels within the PPDU BW, as well as whether the PPDU includes a partial bandwidth MU-MIMO portion [i.e. resource allocations for MU-MIMO].)
Re. Claim 11, Chen combined with Ghosh, Lim, Huang, and Bharadwaj teaches claim 9.
Chen further teaches:
wherein the resource allocation indicates which segment of the predetermined bandwidth is allocated to which MU-MIMO group of the one or more MU-MIMO groups. (¶0203-¶0204 in PPDUs that do not include partial-bandwidth MU-MIMO or that use full bandwidth MU-MIMO, the simplification rules may not be needed… A PPDU that has a PPDU BW less than the minimum bandwidth may not support partial-bandwidth MU-MIMO. Instead, it may use an EHT-SIG compression mode that is for full bandwidth MU-MIMO & ¶0226 FIG. 32B shows a second example table 3210 with different options for compression modes that may be used in the EHT-SIG including a compression mode for a PPDU that includes partial bandwidth MU-MIMO. The use of different compression modes may depend on the type of communication (such as SU, non-OFDMA MU-MIMO, or OFDMA) in the PPDU, the puncturing of subchannels within the PPDU BW, as well as whether the PPDU includes a partial bandwidth MU-MIMO portion [i.e. resource allocations for MU-MIMO where puncturing of subchannels for STAs of a MU-MIMO (a group) and whether the PPDU includes a partial bandwidth of the MU-MIMO portion are indicating which segment of the bandwidth is allocated to the group of STAs].)
Re. Claim 14, Chen combined with Ghosh, Lim, Huang, and Bharadwaj teaches claim 7.
Chen further teaches:
wherein the compression mode field is replicated over each segment of the predetermined bandwidth. (Table 1 shows EHT-SIG compression fields: 1-2 bits within the U-SIG & ¶0155 FIG. 16 shows an example frame structure in which different types of signal fields follow the RL-SIG on different subchannels according to some implementations. [i.e. Fig. 16 shows U-SIGs replicated across each of the (secondary) segments/portions of the predetermined bandwidth].)
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen combined with Ghosh, Lim, Huang, and further in view of Josiam et al. (US 2016/0330300 A1), hereinafter referred to as Josiam.
Re. Claim 12, Chen combined with Ghosh, Lim, and Huang teaches claim 1.
Yet, the combined references do not explicitly teach: wherein, if the resource allocation indicates that a first subchannel is allocated to the first MU- MIMO group and that a second subchannel is allocated to the second MU-MIMO group, the first subchannel comprising at least the primary segment, wherein information provided to user devices of the first MU-MIMO group is allocated in the first subchannel; and information provided to user devices of the second MU-MIMO group is allocated in a second subchannel, wherein the second subchannel comprises segments of the predetermined bandwidth other than the segments comprised by the first subchannel.
However, in the analogous art, Josiam teaches such limitations:
wherein, if the resource allocation indicates that a first subchannel is allocated to the first MU- MIMO group and that a second subchannel is allocated to the second MU-MIMO group, (¶0123 the allocation information for multi-user information includes two parts. The common information portion 1010 includes N_rua bit RU arrangement index indicating the RU arrangement in the frequency domain, and a list of N bits STA-ID (for SU allocation) or group ID (for MU-MIMO allocation))
the first subchannel comprising at least the primary segment, wherein information provided to user devices of the first MU-MIMO group is allocated in the first subchannel; (¶0112 FIG. 11 [shown below] illustrates an example of the HE-SIG-B signaling 1100 and relation to the user data according to one or more embodiments of the present disclosure. [i.e. Fig. 11 shows multiple MU-MIMO groups in different subchannels])
and information provided to user devices of the second MU-MIMO group is allocated in a second subchannel, (¶0112 FIG. 11 [shown below] illustrates an example of the HE-SIG-B signaling 1100 and relation to the user data according to one or more embodiments of the present disclosure [i.e. Fig. 11 shows multiple MU-MIMO groups in different subchannels])
wherein the second subchannel comprises segments of the predetermined bandwidth other than the segments comprised by the first subchannel. (Fig. 11 [i.e. below; shows DataUser12 in a segment of bandwidth overlapping with another segment])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Chen, Ghosh, Lim, and Huang’s invention of a physical layer preamble and signaling for wireless communication to include Josiam’s teaching of the resource allocation indicating a subchannel allocated to each MU-MIMO group, because it would allow the device to determine resource allocations for MU-MIMO groups through the use of a group ID. (see Josiam ¶0123)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/G.A.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417