DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the request for continued examination filed 12/30/2025 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection. See rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8-19 and 23-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al (US 2024/0237135 A1) in view of Chan et al (US 2023/0065594 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wu teaches an apparatus for wireless communication by a user-equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories comprising instructions; and one or more processors, individually or collectively, configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to:
determine that a cell discontinuous communication cycle does not align with a transmission configuration for a transmission to or from a network entity (Wu: [0249], [0259], determining alignment of cell DRX and UE transmission).
Wu does not explicitly disclose process the transmission, based on at least one rule that adjusts the cell discontinuous communication cycle based on at least a delay status report of the UE to align with the transmission configuration, in response to the determination.
Chan discloses process the transmission, based on at least one rule that adjusts the cell discontinuous communication cycle based on at least a delay status report of the UE to align with the transmission configuration, in response to the determination (Chan: Fig. 8; [0009], [0013], [0069]-[0070] wireless device adjusts the length of the DRX cycle to align with transmission with the server according to the latency budget of the traffic/delay status report).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention tom modify the system of Wu to process the transmission, based on at least one rule that adjusts the cell discontinuous communication cycle based on at least a delay status report of the UE to align with the transmission configuration, in response to the determination as disclosed by Chan to provide a system for network traffic shaping (Chan: Abstract).
Regarding claim 16, Wu teaches an apparatus for wireless communication by a network entity, comprising one or more memories comprising instructions; and one or more processors, individually or collectively, configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to:
determine that a cell discontinuous communication cycle does not align with a transmission configuration for a transmission to or from a user equipment (UE) (Wu: [0249], [0259], determining alignment of cell DRX and UE transmission).
Wu does not explicitly disclose process the transmission, based on at least one rule that adjusts the cell discontinuous communication cycle based on at least a delay status report of the UE to align with the transmission configuration, in response to the determination.
Chan discloses process the transmission, based on at least one rule that adjusts the cell discontinuous communication cycle based on at least a delay status report of the UE to align with the transmission configuration, in response to the determination (Chan: Fig. 8; [0009], [0013], [0069]-[0070] wireless device adjusts the length of the DRX cycle to align with transmission with the server according to the latency budget of the traffic/delay status report).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention tom modify the system of Wu to process the transmission, based on at least one rule that adjusts the cell discontinuous communication cycle based on at least a delay status report of the UE to align with the transmission configuration, in response to the determination as disclosed by Chan to provide a system for network traffic shaping (Chan: Abstract).
Regarding claim 29, Wu teaches a method for wireless communication by a user-equipment (UE), comprising: determining that a cell discontinuous communication cycle does not align with a transmission configuration for a transmission to or from a network entity (Wu: [0249], [0259], determining alignment of cell DRX and UE transmission).
Wu does not explicitly disclose process the transmission, based on at least one rule that adjusts the cell discontinuous communication cycle based on at least a delay status report of the UE to align with the transmission configuration, in response to the determination.
Chan discloses process the transmission, based on at least one rule that adjusts the cell discontinuous communication cycle based on at least a delay status report of the UE to align with the transmission configuration, in response to the determination (Chan: Fig. 8; [0009], [0013], [0069]-[0070] wireless device adjusts the length of the DRX cycle to align with transmission with the server according to the latency budget of the traffic/delay status report).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention tom modify the system of Wu to process the transmission, based on at least one rule that adjusts the cell discontinuous communication cycle based on at least a delay status report of the UE to align with the transmission configuration, in response to the determination as disclosed by Chan to provide a system for network traffic shaping (Chan: Abstract).
Regarding claim 30, Wu teaches a method for wireless communication by a network entity, comprising: determining that a cell discontinuous communication cycle does not align with a transmission configuration for a transmission to or from a user equipment (UE) (Wu: [0249], [0259], determining alignment of cell DRX and UE transmission).
Wu does not explicitly disclose process the transmission, based on at least one rule that adjusts the cell discontinuous communication cycle based on at least a delay status report of the UE to align with the transmission configuration, in response to the determination.
Chan discloses process the transmission, based on at least one rule that adjusts the cell discontinuous communication cycle based on at least a delay status report of the UE to align with the transmission configuration, in response to the determination (Chan: Fig. 8; [0009], [0013], [0069]-[0070] wireless device adjusts the length of the DRX cycle to align with transmission with the server according to the latency budget of the traffic/delay status report).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention tom modify the system of Wu to process the transmission, based on at least one rule that adjusts the cell discontinuous communication cycle based on at least a delay status report of the UE to align with the transmission configuration, in response to the determination as disclosed by Chan to provide a system for network traffic shaping (Chan: Abstract).
Regarding claims 2 and 17, Wu in view of Wu004 teaches wherein the at least one rule dictates that the cell discontinuous communication cycle be extended to allow for processing the transmission (Wu: [0024]-[0028]).
Regarding claims 3 and 18, Wu in view of Wu004 teaches wherein: the cell discontinuous communication cycle comprises a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle; the transmission comprises a retransmission of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) from the UE; and the at least one rule dictates that the DRX cycle be extended to allow for the retransmission of the PUSCH (Wu: Fig. 11; [0209], [0360], [0449]).
Regarding claims 4 and 19, Wu in view of Wu004 teaches wherein: the cell discontinuous communication cycle comprises a discontinuous transmission (DTX) cycle; the transmission comprises a retransmission of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) from the network entity; and the at least one rule dictates that the DTX cycle be extended to allow for the retransmission of the PDSCH (Wu: Fig. 11; [0209], [0360], [0449]).
Regarding claims 8 and 23, Wu in view of Wu004 teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to receive an indication of how long to extend the cell discontinuous communication cycle (Wu: [0024], [0271]).
Regarding claims 9 and 24, Wu in view of Wu004 teaches wherein the indication is received, via physical layer signaling, medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) signaling, or radio resource control (RRC) signaling, as at least one of a configured round-trip time (RTT) timer value, a configured retransmission timer value, or one or more offset values (Wu: [0024], [0271], [0279]).
Regarding claims 10 and 25, Wu in view of Wu004 teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to: transmit a status report to the network entity; and determine how long to extend the cell discontinuous communication cycle based, at least in part, on the status report (Wu: [0287]-[0288], [0271], [0279]).
Regarding claims 11 and 26, Wu in view of Wu004 teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to receive an indication of how to dynamically update a round-trip time (RTT) timer value or a retransmission timer value (Wu: [0360]).
Regarding claims 12 and 27, Wu in view of Wu004 teaches wherein the at least one rule dictates that at least one of a round trip time (RTT) timer value or retransmission timer value be dynamically updated to allow for processing the transmission, wherein the indication is received via physical layer signaling, medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) signaling, or radio resource control (RRC) signaling (Wu: [0024], [0271], [0279]).
Regarding claims 13 and 28, Wu in view of Wu004 teaches wherein: the cell discontinuous communication cycle comprises a discontinuous transmission (DTX) cycle; the transmission comprises a retransmission of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) from the network entity; and the at least one rule dictates how to monitor for the retransmission of the PDSCH when a retransmission timer starts within an active DTX time (Wu: Fig. 11; [0209], [0298], [0449]).
Regarding claim 14, Wu in view of Wu004 wherein the one or more processors are further configured execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to determine at least one of: the at least one rule to apply; or how to apply the at least one rule Wu: Fig. 11; [0024], [0271], [0279]).
.
Regarding claim 15, Wu in view of Wu004 wherein the determination is based on at least one of: signaling from the network entity; or a function of data involved in the transmission Wu: Fig. 11, [0024], [0271], [0279]).
Claims 5, 6, 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al (US 2024/0237135 A1) in view of Chan et al (US 2023/0065594 A1) in further view of Kim et al (US 2022/0312317 A1).
Regarding claims 5 and 20, Wu in view of Chan does not explicitly disclose wherein receiving an indication of whether or not the cell discontinuous communication cycle is extendable.
Kim teaches wherein receiving an indication of whether or not the cell discontinuous communication cycle is extendable (Kim: Abstract, claim 1, determining whether extended DRZ is allowed).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention tom modify the system of Wu in view of Chan wherein receiving an indication of whether or not the cell discontinuous communication cycle is extendable as disclosed by Kim to provide a system for applying extended DRX (Kim: Abstract).
Regarding claims 6 and 21, Wu in view of Chan and Kim teaches wherein the indication is received via downlink control information (DCI) scheduling an uplink transmission, a DCI scheduling a downlink transmission, a non-scheduling DCI, physical layer signaling, medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) signaling, or radio resource control (RRC) signaling (Kim: Abstract; claim 1, system information/RRC).
Claims 7 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al (US 2024/0237135 A1) in view of Chan et al (US 2023/0065594 A1) in further view of Kim et al (US 2022/0312317 A1) in further view of Karampatsis et al (US 2024/0147574 A1).
Regarding claims 7 and 22, Wu in view of Chan and Kim does not teach wherein the indication also indicates that the cell discontinuous communication cycle is extendable for processing certain logical channel groups (LCGs), logical channel prioritizations (LCPs), or quality of services (QoSs).
Karampatsis teaches wherein the indication also indicates that the cell discontinuous communication cycle is extendable for processing certain quality of services (QoSs) (Karampatsis: [0067]).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention tom modify the system of Wu in view of Chan and Kim wherein the indication also indicates that the cell discontinuous communication cycle is extendable for processing certain quality of services (QoSs) as disclosed by Karampatsis to provide a system for power saving for V2X communications (Karampatsis: Abstract).
Conclusion
/KODZOVI ACOLATSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478