DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/00408805 (Hu et al.) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2013/0205866 (Brockhaus).
With regards to claim 1, Hu et al. discloses a MEMS accelerometer self-test system comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1-7D, a testing apparatus for a sensor 12 (e.g. accelerometer sensor; paragraph [0020]) comprising a control device 14,40 (e.g. ASIC having a self-test circuit; paragraphs [0020],[0023],[0038][0039]) configured to supply test signals F1,F2 (e.g. test signals; paragraph [0023]) to the sensor and to subsequently read the sensor to ascertain a sensor value (e.g. paragraph [0023]; Figures 2,5); the control device 14,40 is configured to supply the test signal to the sensor multiple times in succession, each for a predetermined first time period (e.g. paragraphs [0023],[0024]); the sensor is subsequently read during a predetermined second time period (e.g. paragraphs [0023],[0024]); the control device 14,40 is further designed to vary the first predetermined time period for supplying the test signal to the sensor and to ascertain a corresponding sensor value for at least two different first time periods in each case (e.g. Figures 3A-3B,6A-7D); the control device 14,40 is configured to determine a state value of the sensor using the ascertained sensor values for at least two different first time periods (e.g. error operation signal Err; paragraphs [0024],[0026] to [0033]). (See, paragraphs [0020] to [0045]).
The only difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is the control device is configured to repeat supplying the test signal and reading until a stationary sensor value is produced such that the stationary sensor value is used to determine the state value of the sensor.
Brockhaus discloses a testing of a measurement device arrangement comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1-8, a testing apparatus 1 (e.g. measuring device arrangement; paragraph [0032]) for a sensor 2 (e.g. measuring device; paragraph [0032]) comprising a control device 4,6 (e.g. control element along with test apparatus; paragraph [0032]) configured to supply a test signal to the sensor and to subsequently read the sensor to ascertain a sensor value wherein the control device is configured to determine a state value of the sensor such that the control device is configured to repeat supplying the test signal and reading until a stationary sensor value (e.g. a constant definable value; paragraph [0050]) is produced such that the stationary sensor value is used to determine the state value of the sensor (e.g. evaluates what amount signal must be compensated until the measurement signal or the constant definable value is established as the pick-off signal where the testing is ended and the result is communicated and the progression is repeated in order to optionally generate another test signal; paragraphs [0048], [0049],[0050],[0014]; Figure 8). (See, paragraphs [0031] to [0050]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have readily recognize the advantages and desirability of employing the control device is configured to repeat supplying the test signal and reading until a stationary sensor value is produced such that the stationary sensor value is used to determine the state value of the sensor as suggested by Brockhaus to the system of Hu et al. to have the ability to provide a monitoring device arrangement system which enables inline testing without interrupting the measurement or the transfer of the measured values. (See, paragraphs [0009],[0050] of Brockhaus).
With regards to claim 2, Hu et al. furthers disclose the control device 14,40 is configured to provide a predetermined electric voltage at the sensor to excite the sensor (e.g. paragraphs [0023]-[0025]).
With regards to claim 4, Hu et al. further discloses the control device 14,40 is configured to adjust an operating parameter using the ascertained sensor values for at least two different first time periods (e.g. airbag deployment, seat belt tensioning; paragraph [0003]).
With regards to claim 5, Hu et al. further discloses the control device 14,40 includes an application-specific integrated circuit (e.g. ASIC; paragraph [0020])
With regards to claim 6, the claim is directed to a sensor system 10 (e.g. accelerometer sensing system, paragraph [0035]) and is commensurate in scope with the above apparatus claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons as set forth above. Further, the sensor 12 configured to provide an output signal which corresponds to a physical parameter (e.g. acceleration; paragraph [0020]).
With regards to claim 7, Hu et al. further discloses the sensor 12 includes a micro-electromechanical system (e.g. paragraph [0020]).
With regards to claim 8, Hu et al. further discloses the sensor 12 includes an acceleration sensor (e.g. accelerometer, paragraph [0020]).
With regards to claim 10, the claim is directed to a method claim and is commensurate in scope with the above apparatus claim 1 and is rejected for the same reason as set forth above.
Claims 3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/00408805 (Hu et al.) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2013/0205866 (Brockhaus), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application 2014/0260515 (Hazel et al.)
With regards to claim 3, Hu et al. does not disclose the control device is configured to ascertain a damping property of the sensor using the ascertained sensor values for at least two different first time periods.
Hazel et al. discloses a system for detecting capped MEMS device comprising, as
illustrated in Figures 1-5, a testing apparatus for a sensor 100,501 (e.g. accelerometer; paragraph [0030]; Figures 1,4) comprising a control device 505 (e.g. Figure 4) configured to supply test signals (e.g. test signal; paragraph [0035],[0036]) to the sensor at a time period and to subsequently read the sensor to ascertain a sensor value at a time period (e.g. step 602 in Figure 5; paragraph [0039]); the control device 505 is configured to determine a state value of the sensor using the ascertained sensor values (e.g. error signal Err; paragraphs [0037],[0039]); the control device is configured to ascertain a damping property of the sensor using the ascertained sensor values for at the time period (e.g. paragraphs [0031] to [0034]). (See, paragraphs [0030] to [0045]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have readily recognize the advantages and desirability of employing the control device is configured to ascertain a damping property of the sensor using the ascertained sensor values for at the time period as suggested by Hazel et al. to the system of Hu et al., as modified by Brockhaus, to have the ability to provide a Q-factor parameter value which is a measure of its resonance characteristics which describes how damped an oscillator is. (See, paragraphs [0031],[0033] of Hazel et al.)
With regards to claim 9, Hazel et al. further discloses the sensor 100 includes a cavity filled with a medium (e.g. fluid, gas; paragraphs [0007],[0033]) such that the testing apparatus is configured to detect a leak in the cavity filled with the medium (e.g. leak; paragraph [0033]).
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-10 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection and/or because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HELEN C KWOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855