2. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2006/0285569), herein after referred to as Zhao, in view of Okandan et al. (US Patent 9,222,810), herein after referred to as Okandan.
Regarding independent claim 1, Zhao discloses an optical system (Figure 10D and paragraph [0046] utilized for atomic filter unit 32 in figure 3 and paragraph [0052].) comprising:
a first laser source (70) configured to generate a first input laser beam having a first laser wavelength within an operating wavelength range of the optical system (Paragraph [0046] describes laser 80 to emit collimated light to beam splitter 72. The laser is inherent to comprise a wavelength which is depicted to operate in the optical system of figure 10D.);
an etalon vapor cell (EVC) (Figure 10D: 76A+76B+74; and/or Figure 3: 70+52A+52B+40A+40B) comprising:
a first reflective surface,
a second reflective surface (Figure 10D depicts two etalon assemblies 76A and 76B. Paragraph [0041] describes the etalon to be composed of two highly reflective parallel surfaces with the medium therebetween to be air or solid.),
a first etalon (76A) formed by the first reflective surface and the second reflective surface (paragraph [0041]), the first etalon having a first length (λ) (Paragraph [0041] describes to determine the transmitted wavelength λ via the described equation.) and a first plurality of transmission peaks (Figure 10A) (Figure 10A and paragraphs [0039]-[0041] describes an example of a pair of transmission peaks and the manner in which they may be adjusted via changing the etalons spacing and/or angular position.) and respective peak wavelengths (The current application’s originally filed specification paragraph [0045] describes the transmission peak to comprise a portion of the optical spectrum to be centered around a peak wavelength. Prior art Zhao describes in paragraphs [0039] and [0041] describes the transmission peaks to be equally spaced in frequency with frequency spacing, so called free spectra range FSR (centered about the respective peak wavelengths).), wherein a first transmission peak of the plurality transmission peaks comprises a spectral region centered at a first peak wavelength (FSR as described in paragraph [0041]), the first transmission peak having a first cavity linewidth (The current application’s originally filed specification paragraph [0045] describes full-width-half-maximum FWHM may also be referred to as cavity linewidth. Prior art Zhao discloses in paragraph [0041] describes the transmission band to comprise an FWHM.);
a chamber between the first and the second reflective surfaces (Paragraph [0041] describes the etalon to be composed of two highly reflective parallel surfaces with the medium/chamber therebetween to be air or solid.), a separate chamber containing atoms (Paragraph [0002] describes atomic line filters are a class of optical filters wherein light entering the atomic vapor that only absorbs the signal light within the atom’s 0.001 nanometer acceptance bandwidth thereby exciting those absorbing atoms to an intermediate energy level. Figure 10D and paragraph [0046] describes the atomic vapor cell 74/70 to be separate from the etalon 76A/B comprising the chamber and reflective surfaces. The tunable laser of figure 10D is utilized for the atomic filter 32, figure 3, as described in paragraph [0046].), said atoms having a first atomic line, said first atomic line having a first atomic linewidth (The current application’s originally filed specification paragraph [0033] describes bandwidth to also be referred to as linewidth. Prior art Zhao paragraph [0002] describes atomic line filters to have acceptance bandwidths/linewidths.) and a first peak atomic wavelength (Figure 5 and paragraph [0037] describes the vapor cell (rubidium cell 70 of figure 3) with absorption/atomic wavelength peak exampled at 1.39. Paragraph [0046] describes this absorption beak can be tuned. Together the bandwidth/linewidth and wavelength describing the atomic line.);
wherein the first input laser beam is incident on the first reflective surface (Figure 10D reference laser 70 split by beam splitter BS2 to enter etalons E1 and E2, the input regarding the first reflective surface.);
wherein the first atomic line at least partially overlaps with the first transmission peak (Paragraph [0039] describes the transmission peaks of the etalons differ by FWHM of the transmission band of the atomic line filter (describing overlap).); and
wherein the first laser wavelength is within the first transmission peak and the first atomic line (Figure 3 and paragraphs [0053]-[0056] describes the lasers (such as 36) specifically sent to a particular wavelength to excite the vapor in cell 70 and be adjusted to maintain the output of the laser to precisely within the transmission band of the atomic filter 32 (depicted in figure 3E).).
Zhao discloses the etalon chamber between the first and second reflective surfaces is different from the vapor cell chamber containing atoms. Therefore, Zhao does not specifically disclose the etalon chamber between the first and the second reflective surfaces contains atoms.
Okandan discloses the etalon (Figures 2-3 filter 218 described in column 6 lines 9-14 specifically that “the filter 218 may be or include an optical filter such as a Fabry-Perot etalon”) vapor cell comprising a chamber between the first and the second reflective surfaces and the chamber contains atoms (Figure 3 filter 218 described in column 7 lines 66 to column 8 line 22 to be a vapor cell surrounded by mirrors 302+304.).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Zhao’s etalon and vapor cell with the known technique of being combined to an etalon vapor cell such that the vapor cell is surrounded by reflective surfaces yielding the predictable results of reducing the size/length of the vapor cell allowing for further miniaturization as disclosed by Okandan (column 8 lines 13-15).
Regarding claim 2, Zhao discloses the optical system of claim 1, wherein a difference between the first laser wavelength and the first peak atomic wavelength is larger than the first atomic linewidth (Figure 5 depicts the accepted atomic linewidth including C and L bands (1520-1620, a bandwidth of 100) with the absorption peak at 1400 and laser exampled at 780. 1400-780>100.).
Regarding claim 3, Zhao discloses the optical system of claim 1, further comprising a first photodetector configured to receive a transmitted laser beam exiting the EVC via the second reflective surface (Figure 3 reference RB cell 70 (considered EVC via combination with Okandan) outputting (from second reflective surface) to detector 80 as described in paragraph [0055].).
Regarding claim 5, Zhao discloses the optical system of claim 1, further comprising a second laser source configured to generate a second input laser beam having a second laser wavelength different from the first laser wavelength (Figure 3 reference first and second lasers pump laser unit and beacon laser unit (each described to correspond to figure 10D). Figure 3C and paragraph [0054] describes pump laser to be 780.027nm and figure 3A and paragraph [0056] describes the beacon laser to be 1529.3 nm), wherein the second input laser beam enters the chamber via a surface of the EVC (Figure 3 reference both lasers entering right/entrance of EVC 70 (by combination with Okandan).).
Regarding claim 6, Zhao discloses the optical system of claim 5, wherein the second input laser beam is incident on the first reflective surface (Figure 3 reference both lasers entering right/entrance of EVC 70 (by combination with Okandan).).
Regarding claim 7, Zhao discloses the optical system of claim 5, wherein the second laser wavelength is within the first atomic line (Figure 4 depicts the atomic line filter at 1529.3 (via first and second lasers) and figure 5 depicts the available nano-band to include C and L bands after the absorption band.).
Regarding claim 8, Zhao discloses the optical system of claim 5, wherein the second laser wavelength is within the first transmission peak of the first plurality of transmission peaks (780.027 and 1529.3 are both within the transmission peaks are both within the FSR as exampled in paragraphs [0041] and [0045]).
Regarding claim 9, Zhao discloses the optical system of claim 5, wherein: the atoms further have a second atomic line, a second atomic linewidth, and a second peak atomic wavelength, and wherein the second laser wavelength is within the second atomic line (Figure 5 reference first and second absorption peaks 1.24 and 1.39.).
Regarding claim 10, Zhao discloses the optical system of claim 9, wherein the second atomic line at least partially overlaps with a second transmission peak of the plurality of transmission peak (Paragraph [0056] describes the narrow bandwidth of the beacon laser to be specifically be within the transmission band of the atomic filter).
Regarding claim 11, Zhao discloses the optical system of claim 10, wherein the second laser wavelength is within the second transmission peaks (Paragraph [0056] describes the narrow bandwidth of the beacon laser to be specifically be within the transmission band of the atomic filter).
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claims 4 and 12-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the art of record does not specifically disclose
Regarding claim 4, an optical reflector configured to reflect a transmitted laser beam exiting the EVC via the second reflective surface back to the second reflective surface.
Regarding claim 12, Okandan does not disclose details of the mirrors 302+304 including: wherein at least one of the first and the second reflective surfaces has a spectral reflectivity comprising at least two spectral regions having different reflectivities within the operating wavelength range of the optical system, wherein a reflectivity of the first spectral region does not exceed 50% of a reflectivity of the second spectral region for wavelengths within the operating wavelength range of the optical system.
Regarding claim 13, Okandan does not disclose details of the mirrors 302+304 including: wherein the first and the second reflective surfaces have a spectral reflectivity comprising a first spectral region and a second spectral region, and wherein: the reflectivity of the first and the second reflective surfaces for light having a wavelength within the first spectral region is lower than their reflectivity for light having a wavelength within the second spectral region by at least 20%; and the first laser wavelength is within the second spectral region and the second laser wavelength is within the first spectral region.
Regarding claim 14, While Zhao discloses multiple etalons they are separate from the vapor cell. Further, Okandan discloses the use of a single etalon vapor cell and does not specifically disclose wherein: The etalon vapor cell (EVC) further comprises: a third reflective surface, a fourth reflective surface, a second etalon formed between the third reflective surface and the fourth reflective surface, the second etalon having a second length and a second plurality of transmission peaks and respective peak wavelengths, wherein a second transmission peak of the plurality transmission peaks comprises a spectral region centered at a second peak wavelength, the second transmission peak having a second cavity linewidth; wherein the chamber further comprises the third and fourth reflective surfaces; wherein the second input laser beam is incident on the third reflective surface; and wherein the second input laser wavelength is within the second transmission peak.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER E LEIBY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621