DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment and arguments filed 12/16/2025 have overcome the previously applied 35 USC 101 and 35 USC 112 rejections of the claims.
Applicant's arguments filed 12/16/2025 with respect to the 35 USC 102 rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on p. 8 under the Remarks that Soederstroem is silent regarding “the set of criteria corresponding to the desired neuronal response comprising identifying one or more target neurons(s) for activation or conduction block”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Soederstroem discloses defining a target volume of activation “T” (see par. [0021]), which corresponds to Applicant’s claimed “one or more target neurons”. Soederstroem then discloses determining a correspondence of an actual volume of activation (VOA) to T, which is labeled a receiver operating characteristic (ROC), see par. [0033]. Lastly, Soederstroem discloses selecting a point on ROC curve that corresponds to the best match of the VOA to target T, which then sets the stimulation parameters to those associated with that point on the ROC curve (par. [0036]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Soederstroem (PGPUB 2013/0104066).
Regarding Claim 20, Soederstroem discloses inputting a set of criteria corresponding to a target (T) volume of activation (VOA) of neural tissue (which encompasses one or more target neurons) into a model, such as a Jaccard index (par. [0023], eq. 1); and generate one or more stimulation criteria based on the output of the model ( a point on the receiver operating characteristic, ROC, such as the knee point, can be selected and stimulation parameters corresponding to that point can be selected, see par. [0036]). Soederstroem discloses programming an IPG with the stimulation values and delivering the stimulation (par. [0049]).
In regards to Claim 19, Soederstroem discloses setting pulse amplitudes, pulse widths, etc. (par. [0039]).
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by McIntyre et al. (U.S. Patent 8,538,543).
Regarding Claims 17-20, McIntyre discloses inputting a set of criteria corresponding to a desired volume of tissue activation (VTA) of neural tissue into a model and outputting stimulation criteria such as electrode size, spacing, implantation depth, stimulation parameters, etc. required to achieve the input set of criteria (Abstract; col. 12, lines 8-40). McIntyre discloses programming an implantable pulse generator to apply the stimulation parameters (col. 5, lines 50-65).
In regard to Claim 15, McIntyre discloses optimizing the output with optimization algorithms such as search algorithms (col. 12, lines 40-48).
Regarding Claim 16, McIntyre discloses selecting the stimulation criteria that provide the maximum therapeutic benefit (matches the desired VTA); and/or minimizes side effects (col. 11, lines 8-45).
Claims 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Moffitt et al. (U.S. Patent 9,586,053).
Regarding Claims 14 and 20, Moffitt discloses inputting a set of criteria (desired stimulation sites) into a model and outputting one or more stimulation parameters sets to achieve the input criteria, wherein the output is optimized with algorithms such as a gradient descent algorithm (col. 5, lines 15-29). Moffitt discloses communicating the settings to an implantable pulse generator to provide stimulation (Claim 1).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALLEN PORTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796