Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 08/14/2025 consists of changes to the claims and remarks related to the previous rejections. The above have been entered and considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the second circuit board (claim 18) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 9, 10, 13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al, (USPN 10732200; “Wang”).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses in figures 5-7, a sensor cluster module comprising: a circuit board frame (121) defining a hollow interior (in the area of P) and having a plurality of external faces (not labeled): a and a single, unitary rigid-flex printed circuit board assembly (123, see col. 6, ll. 16-32) including multiple rigid elements (gyroscope and accelerometer) joined by flexible circuitry, the PCBA wrapped at least partially around the external faces of the circuit board frame (121), and adhesively bonded (welded, see col. 7 ll. 21-35) to the frame (121), wherein electronic components (122 in fig. 7) of the PCBA are mounted on an inner-facing side of the PCBA (see fig. 7) such that, after the PCBA (123) is wrapped around the circuit board frame (121), the electronic components (122) are positioned within the hollow interior (near P) of the circuit board frame (121).
Regarding claim 2, Wang discloses in figures 5-7, the sensor cluster module (121) is an inertial measurement module (see col. 6, ll. 16-20).
Regarding claim 3, Wang discloses in figures 5-7, the PCBA is a unitary rigid-flex printed circuit board assembly (see col 6; ll. 20-32).
Regarding claim 4, Wang discloses in figures 5-7, the PCBA includes a plurality of rigid elements, each rigid element comprising an electronic component (gyroscope; see col. 6, ll. 16-20).
Regarding claim 5, Wang discloses in figure 1, the electronic component (122) includes one or more of: a Y-axis component, an X-axis component, a Z-axis component and an application specific integrated circuit (see ABSTRACT and also col. 8; ll. 456-57).
Regarding claim 9, Wang discloses in figure 7 the circuit board frame includes integral guide elements (groove as discloses in col. 7; ll. 20-35) for wrapping the PCBA (123) to the frame (121).
Regarding claim 10, Wang discloses in figure 7 the PCBA is adhesively bonded (welded; see col. 6; ll. 16-20) to the circuit board frame.
Regarding claim 13, Wang discloses in figure 7 the frame is in the shape of a cube.
Regarding claim 17, Wang discloses in figure 7 the hollow interior is sized to receive the electronic components mounted on the inner-facing side of the PCBA.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8, 11, 12, 14-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang.
Regarding claim 6, Wang is silent to the PCBA comprises a flexible tail having a connector.
However, the Examiner hereby takes official notice that this is a well-known configuration and is further evidenced by Applicant’s current remarks in the reply to drawing objections.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to manufacture Wang’s device having a flexible tail with an electrical connector to more easily electrical connect the overall device.
Regarding claim 7, Wang shows in at least fig. 7, one or more of the electronic components (122) are located mounted on an inside surface inner-facing side of the circuit board (123) such that, after the PCBA is wrapped around the frame (122) the one or more electronic components (122) are located within the hollow interior of the frame (121).
Regarding claim 8, Wang shows in at least fig. 7, an outer- facing side of the PCBA is substantially free of electronic components after the PCBA (123) is wrapped around the frame (121; see also, col. 7; ll. 20-35).
Regarding claim 11, Wang is silent to the PCBA is adhesively bonded using an ultraviolet (UV) cure epoxy adhesive.
However, the Examiner hereby takes official notice that this is a well-known alternative to Wang’s welding technique.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to manufacture Wang’s PCBA by using UV cure epoxy adhesive to more easily electrical connect the overall device.
Regarding claims 15 and 16, Wang discloses in the paragraph spanning col. 6 that the circuit board frame (121) is made of metal material or non-metal material with a certain gravity and rigidity, but is silent to it being made of cast aluminum or injection molded plastic.
However, the examiner hereby takes official notice that these are well-known frame materials to have sufficient rigidity to allow for the carrying of a PCB.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to construct Wang’s frame of either cast aluminum or injection molded plastic to ensure solid supporting with easier and faster manufacturing, thereby lowering the overall cost of the device while improving performance.
Regarding claim 18, Wang discloses in figures 5-10 a method for manufacturing an inertial measurement unit (IMU), the method comprising: mounting electronic components (122) on an inner-facing side of a rigid-flex printed circuit board (123) assembly (PCBA), wherein the electronic components (122) comprise three dimensional sensors (col. 3; ll. 15-18); forming a circuit board frame (121) to define a hollow interior and to include guide elements (groove); wrapping and mounting the PCBA around external faces (not labeled) of the circuit board frame (121) such that the electronic components (122) are positioned within the hollow interior of the frame; adhesively bonding (welding) the PCBA to the frame; encapsulating the frame (121) in a package (16).
Wang is silent to routing the PCBA from a circuit board panel.
However, the examiner hereby takes official notice that this is a well-known and understood way to create PCBAs, further evidenced by Applicant’s own admission of prior art in fig. 1.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to construct Wang’s PCBA by routing from a circuit board panel to allow for better precision and customization for the overall device.
Wang is also silent to mounting the package to a second circuit board.
However, this is inferred from Wang’s disclosure since this device is to be connected to a control computer which is not shown in the figures. One skilled in the art clearly understands Wang’s device will need to be connected to a second circuit board to allow for proper usage.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to mount Wang’s device onto a second circuit board
Regarding claim 19, Wang is silent to providing a flexible connector for connection to a zero-insertion force (ZIF) socket.
However, the examiner takes official notice that this is a conventional component well known in the art, and is further evidenced by Applicant’s current remarks.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to construct Wang’s device with a flexible connector to a ZIF socket to allow for better, faster and more reliable way to connect the PCB to power.
Regarding claims 12, 14 and 20, Wang discloses in col. 8, ll. 57-59 that the frame can be in many different shapes but does not explicitly state a shape of either a pyramid or octagonal in shape.
However, the Examiner hereby takes official notice that this is a well-known alternative to Wang’s cube shape.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to manufacture Wang’s frame in a shape of pyramid or octagonal to fit more different physical spaces, making this a more robust and usable device.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER J MACCHIAROLO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855