Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this
application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action
has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on
12/26/2025 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s representative filed arguments on 12/26/2025 with respect to independent claim 1 has been considered and are not persuasive. Specifically, applicant presented arguments on Pages 8-10 that the combination of Lou and CIOCHINA does not specifically teach “wherein the first data frame further comprises second indication information, and the second indication information is used for indicating a feedback manner of the first data frame, wherein the feedback manner is an explicit acknowledgment (ACK) feedback manner or an implicit ACK feedback manner;”
wherein the determining, by terminal device, whether to retransmit the first data frame according to the feedback of the target network device and/or the feedback of the coordinated network device, comprises: in response to that the terminal device receives an ACK feedback by the target network device within a first duration”
Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s arguments.
The amended claim language describes that retransmission of the first data frame is determined based on a feedback manner indicated in the frame and on whether feedback, such as an ACK, is received within a defined duration.
The claim reflects a HARQ retransmission decision that depends on both the indicated feedback mechanism and the timing of the received feedback.
The combination of Lou and CIOCHINA, specifically Lou teaches the feature “wherein the first data frame further comprises second indication information, and the second indication information is used for indicating a feedback manner of the first data frame (see [0179] discloses that the transmitted packet may include multi-AP HARQ information and an ACK policy, [0182] discloses that the ACK policy may indicate an immediate acknowledgement, [0184] discloses that the ACK policy may indicate that no acknowledgement is provided between transmissions),
wherein the feedback manner is an explicit acknowledgment (ACK) feedback manner or an implicit ACK feedback manner (see [0182] discloses immediate ACK/NAK feedback, [0184] discloses operation without intermediate ACK feedback, thereby evidencing alternative explicit and implicit feedback behaviors);
wherein the determining, by terminal device, whether to retransmit the first data frame according to the feedback of the target network device and/or the feedback of the coordinated network device (see [0125] discloses that upon receiving feedback such as ACK or NAK the transmitting STA determines whether to continue or retransmit the frame, [0126] discloses restarting the HARQ process based on received feedback), comprises:
in response to that the terminal device receives an ACK feedback by the target network device within a first duration” (see [0119] discloses a HARQ response time defining the feedback interval, [0125] discloses that upon receiving an ACK the transmitting STA deletes buffered copies and proceeds without retransmission)
[Therefore, retransmission decisions depend on both the indicated feedback mechanism of the transmitted frame and the feedback received within the defined response interval. This sequence supports the described flow and content of the messages].
Regarding claim 19, applicant presented arguments that the combination of Lou and CIOCHINA does not specifically teach “wherein: in response to that the network device does not meet the transmission requirement parameter of the terminal device, not reply a probe response message.” Applicant’s Response filed 12/26/2025, Pages 10-11.
However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s arguments.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Lou and CIOCHINA, specifically Lou teaches wherein: in response to that the network device does not meet the transmission requirement parameter of the terminal device, not reply a probe response message (wherein only APs selected to support the STA provide response information to the STA. See [0146], [0156], [0119]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,3-8,10,12-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lou et al. (US 2021/0399838 A1; hereinafter "Lou"), in view of CIOCHINA et al. (US 2023/0009996 A1; hereinafter “CIOCHINA”).
Regarding claim 1, Lou teaches a joint transmission method (FIG. 10), comprising: sending, by a terminal device (FIG. 10 STA 1003), a first data frame (FIG. 10 a packet 1012) to a target network device (FIG. 10 AP 1001) and at least one coordinated network device (FIG. 10 AP 1002) ([0178] A STA associates with more than one AP, [0179] the APs may exchange packets for multi-AP transmission, [0204] STA1002 transmits a packet to the AP), wherein the coordinated network device is used for joint transmission of the first data frame ([0178] the APs negotiate to carry out multi-AP HARQ transmission, [0179] the transmitted packet may include multi-AP HARQ information, [0275] FIG. 28A is a diagram illustrating an example of a joint transmission to a single STA from multiple APs); and
determining, by the terminal device, whether to retransmit the first data frame according to a feedback from the target network device and/or a feedback from the coordinated network device ([0125] When receiving a NAK, the transmitting STA decides to transmit either another copy of the same frame, or an RV for the same HARQ process ID, to continue the HARQ operation for the HARQ process ID, [0126] When receiving a response of Request to Restart the HARQ process, the transmitting STA restarts the current HARQ process, as if the previous transmissions for the current HARQ process ID has never taken place),
wherein the first data frame ([0204] packet) comprises first indication information ([0279] An indication in the preamble), and the first indication information is used for indicating that the first data frame is transmitted in a joint transmission manner ([0204] STA transmits a packet to the APs, [0279] the packet may be transmitted in a joint transmission PPDU that includes an indication in the preamble, [0280] if a STA receives a PPDU with the joint transmission indication, [0288] the STA performs reception processing based on the joint transmission), and wherein the first data frame ([0204] packet) further comprises second indication information ([0179] ACK policy) ([0179] the transmitted packet may include multi-P HARQ information and ACK policy), and the second indication information is used for indicating a feedback manner of the first data frame ([0182] where the ACK policy may indicate immediate acknowledgement, [0184] where the ACK policy may indicate no acknowledgement between transmissions),
wherein the feedback manner is an explicit acknowledgment (ACK) feedback manner or an implicit ACK feedback manner ([0181] the STA transmits a multi-AP ACK back to the APs, [0182] the ACK policy may indicate immediate acknowledgement with ACK/NAK, [0184] the ACK policy may indicate no acknowledgement between transmissions);
wherein the determining, by terminal device, whether to retransmit the first data frame according to the feedback of the target network device and/or the feedback of the coordinated network device ([0125]-[0126]), comprises:
in response to that the terminal device receives an ACK feedback by the target network device within a first duration ([0125] upon receiving an ACK the transmitting STA continues and deletes buffered copies, [0181] STA transmits/receives multi-AP ACK).
However, Lou does not teach wherein the terminal device is a station (STA), the target network device is an access point (AP), the coordinated network device is an AP, and the STA is in an overlapping basic service set (OBSS).
In an analogous art, CIOCHINA teaches wherein the terminal device is a station (STA) (FIG. 2 overlapping STA1 (oSTA1)), the target network device is an access point (AP) (FIG. 2 AP1), the coordinated network device is an AP (FIG. 2 overlapping AP1 (oAP1)), and the STA is in an overlapping basic service set (OBSS) ([0048] The communication system includes a first access point AP1, to which a number of first stations STA1 to STA_N are associated, and two second access points oAP1 and oAP2, each with an associated second station oSTA1 and oSTA2, respectively, from an overlapped BSS (oBSS)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an overlapped BSS as taught by CIOCHINA within the parameter of Lou. One would have been motivated to so in order to provide an access point and a station that enable enhanced uplink spatial reuse with low latency (CIOCHINA [0005]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Lou and CIOCHINA, specifically Lou teaches wherein the first indication information (FIG. 17 BA type 1712) is comprised in a relay field in a frame control field (FIG. 17 BA Control 1705) of the first data frame (FIG. 17) ([0206] One field may be a BA Type field 1212 where a BA type may be used to indicate multi-AP HARQ acknowledgment, [0244] A value in a BA Type field 1712 may indicate a basic CW/CWG based acknowledgment. By detecting this field, the receiver may expect the BA Info field 1706 to contain fields such as a Packet ID field 1721 and a CW/CWG bitmap field 1722, [0245] A Packet ID field 1721 may be a HARQ transmission ID).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Lou and CIOCHINA, specifically Lou teaches wherein the determining, by terminal device, whether to retransmit the first data frame according to the feedback of the target network device and/or the feedback of the coordinated network device ([0125] When receiving a NAK, the transmitting STA decides to transmit either another copy of the same frame, or an RV for the same HARQ process ID, to continue the HARQ operation for the HARQ process ID, [0126] When receiving a response of Request to Restart the HARQ process, the transmitting STA restarts the current HARQ process, as if the previous transmissions for the current HARQ process ID has never taken place), comprises:
in response to that the terminal device does not receive the ACK feedback by the target network device within the first duration ([0119] HARQ response time), retransmitting the first data frame ([0120] In FIG.2 step 204 and 205, the HARQ process continues as necessary depending on whether the STAs 212 receive the prior HARQ transmission (e.g., at 201). Therefore, in some cases, a second transmission (Tx 2) is needed , [0121] when the transmitting AP 211 acquires the channel and any HARQ response time has expired (e.g., see 206)).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Lou and CIOCHINA, specifically Lou teaches wherein the determining, by terminal device, whether to retransmit the first data frame ([0125] the same frame) according to the feedback of the target network device and/or the feedback of the coordinated network device ([0125] When receiving a NAK, the transmitting STA decides to transmit either another copy of the same frame, or an RV for the same HARQ process ID, to continue the HARQ operation for the HARQ process ID, [0126] When receiving a response of Request to Restart the HARQ process, the transmitting STA restarts the current HARQ process, as if the previous transmissions for the current HARQ process ID has never taken place), comprises:
in response to that the terminal device does not receive a downlink data frame sent by the target network device and comprising indication information indicating that the first data frame is successfully received within the first duration ([0119] the STA and AP indicate a HARQ response time, [0121] retransmission may occur when the HARQ response time has expired), retransmitting the first data frame ([0120] In FIG.2 step 204 and 205, the HARQ process continues as necessary depending on whether the STAs 212 receive the prior HARQ transmission (e.g., at 201). Therefore, in some cases, a second transmission (Tx 2) is needed).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Lou and CIOCHINA, specifically Lou teaches wherein the determining, by the terminal device, whether to retransmit the first data frame according to the feedback of the target network device and/or the feedback of the coordinated network device ([0125] When receiving a NAK, the transmitting STA decides to transmit either another copy of the same frame, or an RV for the same HARQ process ID, to continue the HARQ operation for the HARQ process ID, [0126] When receiving a response of Request to Restart the HARQ process, the transmitting STA restarts the current HARQ process, as if the previous transmissions for the current HARQ process ID has never taken place), comprises:
in response to that the terminal device receives an ACK feedback by the coordinated network device within a first duration ([0131] HARQ response time), not retransmitting the data frame ([0125] When receiving an ACK, the transmitting STA may delete buffered copies for the HARQ process ID and continue with the next HARQ process ID, [0131] In FIG. 3, when the transmitting AP 311 acquires the channel and any HARQ response time has expired (e.g., see 306)).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Lou and CIOCHINA, specifically Lou teaches wherein the method further comprises: sending, by the terminal device, a notification message ([0121] Multi-HARQ ID BAR) to the target network device ([0121] the transmitting AP 211 sends a Multi-HARQ ID Block Acknowledgement Request (BAR) to the receiving STA(s) 212 to solicit responses), wherein the notification message is used for notifying the target network device of information of the coordinated network device used for joint transmission ([0121] The transmitting AP 211 sends a Multi-HARQ ID Block Acknowledgement Request (BAR) to the receiving STA(s) 212 to solicit responses, [0275] In FIG. 28A, a servant trigger is sent from anchor AP 2802 to a servant AP 2803 before the joint transmission to STA 2801, [0285] FIG. 28C, the servant AP 2803 indicates to the anchor AP 2802 that it may use the above indication to perform frequency synchronization on the access link).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Lou and CIOCHINA, specifically Lou teaches wherein the notification message ([0121] a Multi-HARQ ID BAR) is an announcement frame ([0145] An AP includes a Multi-AP capability field/subfield or Multi-AP HARQ capability field/subfield in a Beacon, Probe Response frame, (re)Association response frame, and/or other control/management frame, [0183] The STA 703 transmits a control/management frame to AP701 and/or AP702. In the control/management frame, the STA703 indicates the preferred or suggested HARQ retransmission parameters).
Regarding claim 10, Lou teaches a terminal device (FIG. 10 STA 1003), comprising: a processor and a memory ([0289] processor and memory), wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program ([0061] store data in, any type of suitable memory), which when executed by the processor ([0289] execution by a processor), causes the processor to:
send a first data frame to a target network device (FIG. 10 AP 1001) and at least one coordinated network device (FIG. 10 AP 1002) ([0178] A STA associates with more than one AP, [0179] the APs may exchange packets for multi-AP transmission, [0204] STA1002 transmits a packet to the AP), wherein the coordinated network device is used for joint transmission of the first data frame ([0178] the APs negotiate to carry out multi-AP HARQ transmission, [0179] the transmitted packet may include multi-AP HARQ information, [0275] FIG. 28A is a diagram illustrating an example of a joint transmission to a single STA from multiple APs);
determine whether to retransmit the first data frame according to a feedback from the target network device and/or a feedback from the coordinated network device ([0125] When receiving a NAK, the transmitting STA decides to transmit either another copy of the same frame, or an RV for the same HARQ process ID, to continue the HARQ operation for the HARQ process ID, [0126] When receiving a response of Request to Restart the HARQ process, the transmitting STA restarts the current HARQ process, as if the previous transmissions for the current HARQ process ID has never taken place); in response to that the terminal device receives an acknowledgment (ACK) feedback by the target network device within a first duration ([0125] upon receiving an ACK the transmitting STA continues and deletes buffered copies, [0181] STA transmits/receives multi-AP ACK),
wherein the first data frame ([0204] packet) comprises first indication information ([0279] An indication in the preamble), and the first indication information is used for indicating that the first data frame is transmitted in a joint transmission manner ([0204] STA transmits a packet to the APs, [0279] the packet may be transmitted in a joint transmission PPDU that includes an indication in the preamble, [0280] if a STA receives a PPDU with the joint transmission indication, [0288] the STA performs reception processing based on the joint transmission), and wherein the first data frame ([0204] packet) further comprises second indication information ([0179] ACK policy) ([0179] the transmitted packet may include multi-P HARQ information and ACK policy), and the second indication information is used for indicating a feedback manner of the first data frame ([0182] where the ACK policy may indicate immediate acknowledgement, [0184] where the ACK policy may indicate no acknowledgement between transmissions),
wherein the feedback manner is an explicit ACK feedback manner or an implicit ACK feedback manner ([0181] the STA transmits a multi-AP ACK back to the APs, [0182] the ACK policy may indicate immediate acknowledgement with ACK/NAK, [0184] the ACK policy may indicate no acknowledgement between transmissions).
However, Lou does not teach wherein the terminal device is a station (STA), the target network device is an access point (AP), the coordinated network device is an AP, and the STA is in an overlapping basic service set (OBSS).
In an analogous art, CIOCHINA teaches wherein the terminal device is a station (STA) (FIG. 2 overlapping STA1 (oSTA1)), the target network device is an access point (AP) (FIG. 2 AP1), the coordinated network device is an AP (FIG. 2 overlapping AP1 (oAP1)), and the STA is in an overlapping basic service set (OBSS) ([0048] The communication system includes a first access point AP1, to which a number of first stations STA1 to STA_N are associated, and two second access points oAP1 and oAP2, each with an associated second station oSTA1 and oSTA2, respectively, from an overlapped BSS (oBSS)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an overlapped BSS as taught by CIOCHINA within the parameter of Lou. One would have been motivated to so in order to provide an access point and a station that enable enhanced uplink spatial reuse with low latency (CIOCHINA [0005]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Lou and CIOCHINA, specifically Lou teaches wherein the first indication information (FIG. 17 BA type 1712) is comprised in a relay field in a frame control field (FIG. 17 BA Control 1705) of the first data frame (FIG. 17) ([0206] One field may be a BA Type field 1212 where a BA type may be used to indicate multi-AP HARQ acknowledgment, [0244] A value in a BA Type field 1712 may indicate a basic CW/CWG based acknowledgment. By detecting this field, the receiver may expect the BA Info field 1706 to contain fields such as a Packet ID field 1721 and a CW/CWG bitmap field 1722, [0245] A Packet ID field 1721 may be a HARQ transmission ID).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Lou and CIOCHINA, specifically Lou teaches wherein the processor ([0289] processor) is further configured to:
in response to that the terminal device does not receive the ACK feedback by the target network device within the first duration ([0119] HARQ response time), retransmit the first data frame ([0120] In FIG.2 step 204 and 205, the HARQ process continues as necessary depending on whether the STAs 212 receive the prior HARQ transmission (e.g., at 201). Therefore, in some cases, a second transmission (Tx 2) is needed , [0121] when the transmitting AP 211 acquires the channel and any HARQ response time has expired (e.g., see 206)).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Lou and CIOCHINA, specifically Lou teaches wherein the processor ([0289] processor) is further caused to:
in response to that the terminal device does not receive a downlink data frame sent by the target network device and comprising indication information indicating that the first data frame is successfully received within a first duration ([0119] the STA and AP indicate a HARQ response time, [0121] retransmission may occur when the HARQ response time has expired), retransmit the first data frame ([0120] In FIG.2 step 204 and 205, the HARQ process continues as necessary depending on whether the STAs 212 receive the prior HARQ transmission (e.g., at 201). Therefore, in some cases, a second transmission (Tx 2) is needed).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Lou and CIOCHINA, specifically Lou teaches wherein the processor ([0289] processor) is further configured to:
in response to that the terminal device receives an ACK feedback by the coordinated network device within a first duration ([0119] HARQ response time), not retransmit the data frame ([0125] When receiving an ACK, the transmitting STA may delete buffered copies for the HARQ process ID and continue with the next HARQ process ID, [0131] In FIG. 3, when the transmitting AP 311 acquires the channel and any HARQ response time has expired (e.g., see 306)).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Lou and CIOCHINA, specifically Lou teaches wherein the processor ([0289] processor) is further caused to:
send a notification message ([0121] Multi-HARQ ID BAR) to the target network device ([0121] the transmitting AP 211 sends a Multi-HARQ ID Block Acknowledgement Request (BAR) to the receiving STA(s) 212 to solicit responses), wherein the notification message is used for notifying the target network device of information of the coordinated network device used for joint transmission ([0121] The transmitting AP 211 sends a Multi-HARQ ID Block Acknowledgement Request (BAR) to the receiving STA(s) 212 to solicit responses, [0275] In FIG. 28A, a servant trigger is sent from anchor AP 2802 to a servant AP 2803 before the joint transmission to STA 2801, [0285] FIG. 28C, the servant AP 2803 indicates to the anchor AP 2802 that it may use the above indication to perform frequency synchronization on the access link).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Lou and CIOCHINA, specifically Lou teaches wherein the notification message ([0121] Multi-HARQ ID BAR) is an announcement frame ([0145] An AP includes a multi-AP capability field/subfield or multi-AP HARQ capability field/subfield in a Beacon, Probe Response frame, (re)Association response frame, and/or other control/management frame, [0183] The STA 703 transmits a control/management frame to AP701 and/or AP702. In the control/management frame, the STA703 indicates the preferred or suggested HARQ retransmission parameters).
Regarding claim 19, Lou teaches a network device (FIG. 1A 114a), comprising: a processor and a memory ([0289] a processor for use in a base station and ROM/RAM), wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program ([0061] store data in, any type of suitable memory), which when executed by the processor ([0289] execution by a processor), causes the processor to:
receive a probe request message ([0146] Probe Request frame) sent by a terminal device, wherein the probe request message is used for detecting a network device around the terminal device that is capable of performing joint transmission ([0146] a STA includes a Multi-AP capability field in a Probe Request frame transmitted to an AP, [0147] the STA provides AP-related capability and channel information to the AP, [0148] the Master AP receives information from the STA and may provide a list of APs that participate in multi-AP transmissions), wherein the probe request message comprises a transmission requirement parameter of the terminal device ([0146] The STA selects one or more values from the list of buffer lifetimes and the value indices may be included and transmitted to the AP. The valid buffer lifetimes may depend on the number of APs used to asynchronously transmit to the STA); and
in response to that the network device meets the transmission requirement parameter of the terminal device, send a probe response message to the terminal device ([0146] a STA includes capability information in a Probe Request frame transmitted to an AP, [0156] the Master AP selects APs supporting the STA based on the information received from the STA and informs the STA of configuration information, [0119] such information exchange may be conveyed in Probe Request/Response frames, thereby supporting a Probe Response message sent to the STA in response to the STA-provided information);
wherein: in response to that the network device does not meet the transmission requirement parameter of the terminal device, not reply a probe response message ([0146] the STA includes capability information in a Probe Request frame transmitted to an AP, [0156] the Master AP selects APs supporting the STA based on the information received from the STA and informs the STA of configuration information, [0119] such information exchange may be conveyed in Probe Request/Response frames, thereby evidencing that only APs selected to support the STA provide response information to the STA).
However, Lou does not teach wherein the terminal device is a station (STA), the target network device is an access point (AP), the coordinated network device is an AP, and the STA is in an overlapping basic service set (OBSS).
In an analogous art, CIOCHINA teaches wherein the terminal device is a station (STA) (FIG. 2 overlapping STA1 (oSTA1)), the target network device is an access point (AP) (FIG. 2 AP1), the coordinated network device is an AP (FIG. 2 overlapping AP1 (oAP1)), and the STA is in an overlapping basic service set (OBSS) ([0048] The communication system includes a first access point AP1, to which a number of first stations STA1 to STA_N are associated, and two second access points oAP1 and oAP2, each with an associated second station oSTA1 and oSTA2, respectively, from an overlapped BSS (oBSS)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an overlapped BSS as taught by CIOCHINA within the parameter of Lou. One would have been motivated to so in order to provide an access point and a station that enable enhanced uplink spatial reuse with low latency (CIOCHINA [0005]).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Lou and CIOCHINA, specifically Lou teaches wherein the transmission requirement parameter of the terminal device comprises at least one of a delay requirement, channel utilization information and a minimum transmission rate ([0146] The valid buffer lifetimes depend on the number of APs used to asynchronously transmit to the STA, and the maximum number of transmissions expected. The valid maximum buffer sizes depend on the type of HARQ retransmissions, [0147] A STA includes Channel Load, channel information, Directional Channel Quality).
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2022/0255680 A1 (MOON et al.) discloses a method for reporting sidelink HARQ response information, performed by a terminal.
US 2022/0376844 A1 (Muruganathan et al.) discloses HARQ codebook generation in a cellular communications system.
US 2022/0394702 A1 (LEE et al.) discloses a method for performing sidelink communication is provided.
/T.I./ Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413