Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1,4-8,10,13-17 and 19-20 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,4-8,10,13-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lou et al. (US 2021/0399838 A1; hereinafter "Lou"), in view of LIM et al. (US 2018/0205584 A1; hereinafter “LIM”), and further in view of Fang et el. (US 2014/02544741 A1; hereinafter “Fang”).
Regarding claim 1, Lou teaches a joint transmission method (FIG. 10), comprising: before sending a first data frame to a target network device and at least one coordinated network device, sending, by a terminal device, a probe request message (FIG. 7 and [0146] disclose that the STA transmits a Probe Request frame to an AP prior to subsequent data communication), wherein the probe request message is used for detecting a network device around the terminal device that is capable of performing joint transmission ([0146] the Probe Request frame includes Multi-AP capability information, [0147] the STA provides AP capability and channel information, [0156] the Master AP selects APs supporting the STA for multi-AP operation), receiving, by the terminal device, a probe response message sent by the network device ([0119] information exchange may be conveyed in Probe Request/Response frames, [0156] the Master AP informs the STA of configuration information);
sending, by a terminal device (FIG. 10 STA 1003), a first data frame (FIG. 10 a packet 1012) to a target network device (FIG. 10 AP 1001) and at least one coordinated network device (FIG. 10 AP 1002) ([0178] A STA associates with more than one AP, [0179] the APs may exchange packets for multi-AP transmission, [0204] STA1002 transmits a packet to the AP), wherein the coordinated network device is used for joint transmission of the first data frame ([0178] the APs negotiate to carry out multi-AP HARQ transmission, [0179] the transmitted packet may include multi-AP HARQ information, [0275] FIG. 28A is a diagram illustrating an example of a joint transmission to a single STA from multiple APs); and
determining, by the terminal device, whether to retransmit the first data frame according to a feedback from the target network device and/or a feedback from the coordinated network device ([0125] When receiving a NAK, the transmitting STA decides to transmit either another copy of the same frame, or an RV for the same HARQ process ID, to continue the HARQ operation for the HARQ process ID, [0126] When receiving a response of Request to Restart the HARQ process, the transmitting STA restarts the current HARQ process, as if the previous transmissions for the current HARQ process ID has never taken place),
wherein the first data frame ([0204] packet) comprises first indication information ([0279] An indication in the preamble), and the first indication information is used for indicating that the first data frame is transmitted in a joint transmission manner ([0204] STA transmits a packet to the APs, [0279] the packet may be transmitted in a joint transmission PPDU that includes an indication in the preamble, [0280] if a STA receives a PPDU with the joint transmission indication, [0288] the STA performs reception processing based on the joint transmission), and wherein the first data frame ([0204] packet) further comprises second indication information ([0179] ACK policy) ([0179] the transmitted packet may include multi-P HARQ information and ACK policy), and the second indication information is used for indicating a feedback manner of the first data frame ([0182] where the ACK policy may indicate immediate acknowledgement, [0184] where the ACK policy may indicate no acknowledgement between transmissions),
wherein the feedback manner is an explicit acknowledgment (ACK) feedback manner or an implicit ACK feedback manner ([0181] the STA transmits a multi-AP ACK back to the APs, [0182] the ACK policy may indicate immediate acknowledgement with ACK/NAK, [0184] the ACK policy may indicate no acknowledgement between transmissions);
wherein the determining, by terminal device, whether to retransmit the first data frame according to the feedback of the target network device and/or the feedback of the coordinated network device ([0125]-[0126]), comprises:
in response to that the terminal device receives an ACK feedback by the target network device within a first duration ([0125] upon receiving an ACK the transmitting STA continues and deletes buffered copies, [0181] STA transmits/receives multi-AP ACK).
However, Lou does not teach wherein the probe request message comprises a transmission requirement parameter of the terminal device; the first indication information is comprised in a Relay Frame field in a Frame Control field of the first data frame and, the second indication information is comprised in a feedback policy field in the Frame Control field of the first data frame, wherein the terminal device is a station (STA), the target network device is an access point (AP), the coordinated network device is an AP, and the STA is in an overlapping basic service set (OBSS), wherein the probe response message is a probe response frame, and the transmission requirement parameter is comprised in a Relay Discovery element field of the probe request frame; and wherein the Relay Discovery element field comprises an uplink/downlink data rate (UL/DL Data Rate) field and a Relay Discovery Control field.
In an analogous art, LIM teaches the first indication information is comprised in a Relay Frame field in a Frame Control field of the first data frame ([0116] discloses that the MAC header of the frame includes at Frame Control field, [0121] discloses that the Frame Control field includes a Relayed Frame field, [0124] discloses that the Relayed Frame field is configured as a one-bit field, and FIG. 22(a)-(b) illustrates the MAC frame and the Relayed Frame field within the Frame Control field) and, the second indication information is comprised in a feedback policy field in the Frame Control field of the first data frame (FIG. 22(a) discloses a MAC frame including a Frame Control field, and FIG. 22(b) discloses that the Frame Control field includes a one-bit Ack Policy field),
wherein the terminal device is a station (STA), the target network device is an access point (AP), the coordinated network device is an AP, and the STA is in an overlapping basic service set (OBSS) ([0050] a terminal corresponds to a non-AP STA, [0051] and [0066] an AP responds to a Probe Request transmitted by the STA, [0055]-[0056] multiple infrastructure BSSs include respective APs connected through a distribution system, [0075] an overlapped BSS scan parameter is provided for operation in an overlapping-BSS environment).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an overlapped BSS as taught by LIM within the system of Lou. One would have been motivated to so in order to provide a method for efficiently transmitting or receiving resource allocation information for multi-users in a wireless system (LIM [0005]).
However, the combination of Lou and LIM does not teach wherein the probe request message comprises a transmission requirement parameter of the terminal device; wherein the probe response message is a probe response frame, and the transmission requirement parameter is comprised in a Relay Discovery element field of the probe request frame; and wherein the Relay Discovery element field comprises an uplink/downlink data rate (UL/DL Data Rate) field and a Relay Discovery Control field.
In an analogous art, Fang teaches wherein the probe request message comprises a transmission requirement parameter of the terminal device ([0076] discloses that the requesting station includes its direct-path throughput information in the Probe Request frame to enable relay nodes or APs to determine whether to respond, [0077] discloses a Relay Discovery IE includes in the Probe Request, [0078] discloses that the Relay Discovery Info field includes DL and UL Direct Path Speed fields representing the DL and UL throughputs measured by the station);
wherein the probe response message is a probe response frame, and the transmission requirement parameter is comprised in a Relay Discovery element field of the probe request frame ([0077] disclose a Relay Discovery IE included in a Probe Request, [0078] discloses that the Relay Discovery Info Field contains a DL Direct Path Speed Field and a UL Direct Path Speed Field, thereby teaching an uplink/downlink data rate field); and wherein the Relay Discovery element field comprises an uplink/downlink data rate (UL/DL Data Rate) field and a Relay Discovery Control field ([0077] discloses a Relay Discovery IE included in a Probe Request, [0078] discloses that the Relay Discovery Info Field further contains DL Filtering Threshold Fields and UL Filtering Threshold Fields used by the relay node to determine whether to respond to the Probe Request, thereby teaching a Relay Discovery control field).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Lou and LIM to include the relay discovery information element as taught by Fang. One would have been motivated to so in order to enable relay nodes or access points to determine whether to respond to a Probe Request based on information included in the Probe Request, thereby reducing unnecessary responses (Fang [0076]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Lou, LIM and Fang, specifically Lou teaches wherein the determining, by terminal device, whether to retransmit the first data frame according to the feedback of the target network device and/or the feedback of the coordinated network device ([0125] When receiving a NAK, the transmitting STA decides to transmit either another copy of the same frame, or an RV for the same HARQ process ID, to continue the HARQ operation for the HARQ process ID, [0126] When receiving a response of Request to Restart the HARQ process, the transmitting STA restarts the current HARQ process, as if the previous transmissions for the current HARQ process ID has never taken place), comprises:
in response to that the terminal device does not receive the ACK feedback by the target network device within the first duration ([0119] HARQ response time), retransmitting the first data frame ([0120] In FIG.2 step 204 and 205, the HARQ process continues as necessary depending on whether the STAs 212 receive the prior HARQ transmission (e.g., at 201). Therefore, in some cases, a second transmission (Tx 2) is needed , [0121] when the transmitting AP 211 acquires the channel and any HARQ response time has expired (e.g., see 206)).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Lou, LIM and Fang, specifically Lou teaches wherein the determining, by terminal device, whether to retransmit the first data frame ([0125] the same frame) according to the feedback of the target network device and/or the feedback of the coordinated network device ([0125] When receiving a NAK, the transmitting STA decides to transmit either another copy of the same frame, or an RV for the same HARQ process ID, to continue the HARQ operation for the HARQ process ID, [0126] When receiving a response of Request to Restart the HARQ process, the transmitting STA restarts the current HARQ process, as if the previous transmissions for the current HARQ process ID has never taken place), comprises:
in response to that the terminal device does not receive a downlink data frame sent by the target network device and comprising indication information indicating that the first data frame is successfully received within the first duration ([0119] the STA and AP indicate a HARQ response time, [0121] retransmission may occur when the HARQ response time has expired), retransmitting the first data frame ([0120] In FIG.2 step 204 and 205, the HARQ process continues as necessary depending on whether the STAs 212 receive the prior HARQ transmission (e.g., at 201). Therefore, in some cases, a second transmission (Tx 2) is needed).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Lou, LIM and Fang, specifically Lou teaches wherein the determining, by the terminal device, whether to retransmit the first data frame according to the feedback of the target network device and/or the feedback of the coordinated network device ([0125] When receiving a NAK, the transmitting STA decides to transmit either another copy of the same frame, or an RV for the same HARQ process ID, to continue the HARQ operation for the HARQ process ID, [0126] When receiving a response of Request to Restart the HARQ process, the transmitting STA restarts the current HARQ process, as if the previous transmissions for the current HARQ process ID has never taken place), comprises:
in response to that the terminal device receives an ACK feedback by the coordinated network device within a first duration ([0131] HARQ response time), not retransmitting the data frame ([0125] When receiving an ACK, the transmitting STA may delete buffered copies for the HARQ process ID and continue with the next HARQ process ID, [0131] In FIG. 3, when the transmitting AP 311 acquires the channel and any HARQ response time has expired (e.g., see 306)).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Lou, LIM and Fang, specifically Lou teaches wherein the method further comprises: sending, by the terminal device, a notification message ([0121] Multi-HARQ ID BAR) to the target network device ([0121] the transmitting AP 211 sends a Multi-HARQ ID Block Acknowledgement Request (BAR) to the receiving STA(s) 212 to solicit responses), wherein the notification message is used for notifying the target network device of information of the coordinated network device used for joint transmission ([0121] The transmitting AP 211 sends a Multi-HARQ ID Block Acknowledgement Request (BAR) to the receiving STA(s) 212 to solicit responses, [0275] In FIG. 28A, a servant trigger is sent from anchor AP 2802 to a servant AP 2803 before the joint transmission to STA 2801, [0285] FIG. 28C, the servant AP 2803 indicates to the anchor AP 2802 that it may use the above indication to perform frequency synchronization on the access link).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Lou, LIM and Fang, specifically Lou teaches wherein the notification message ([0121] a Multi-HARQ ID BAR) is an announcement frame ([0145] An AP includes a Multi-AP capability field/subfield or Multi-AP HARQ capability field/subfield in a Beacon, Probe Response frame, (re)Association response frame, and/or other control/management frame, [0183] The STA 703 transmits a control/management frame to AP701 and/or AP702. In the control/management frame, the STA703 indicates the preferred or suggested HARQ retransmission parameters).
Regarding claim 10, Lou teaches a terminal device (FIG. 10 STA 1003), comprising: a processor and a memory ([0289] processor and memory), wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program ([0061] store data in, any type of suitable memory), which when executed by the processor ([0289] execution by a processor), causes the processor to:
before sending a first data frame to a target network device and at least one coordinated network device, send a probe request message (FIG. 7 and [0146] disclose that the STA transmits a Probe Request frame to an AP prior to subsequent data communication), wherein the probe request message is used for detecting a network device around the terminal device that is capable of performing joint transmission ([0146] the Probe Request frame includes Multi-AP capability information, [0147] the STA provides AP capability and channel information, [0156] the Master AP selects APs supporting the STA for multi-AP operation),
receive a probe response message sent by the network device ([0119] information exchange may be conveyed in Probe Request/Response frames, [0156] the Master AP informs the STA of configuration information);
send a first data frame to a target network device (FIG. 10 AP 1001) and at least one coordinated network device (FIG. 10 AP 1002) ([0178] A STA associates with more than one AP, [0179] the APs may exchange packets for multi-AP transmission, [0204] STA1002 transmits a packet to the AP), wherein the coordinated network device is used for joint transmission of the first data frame ([0178] the APs negotiate to carry out multi-AP HARQ transmission, [0179] the transmitted packet may include multi-AP HARQ information, [0275] FIG. 28A is a diagram illustrating an example of a joint transmission to a single STA from multiple APs);
determine whether to retransmit the first data frame according to a feedback from the target network device and/or a feedback from the coordinated network device ([0125] When receiving a NAK, the transmitting STA decides to transmit either another copy of the same frame, or an RV for the same HARQ process ID, to continue the HARQ operation for the HARQ process ID, [0126] When receiving a response of Request to Restart the HARQ process, the transmitting STA restarts the current HARQ process, as if the previous transmissions for the current HARQ process ID has never taken place); in response to that the terminal device receives an acknowledgment (ACK) feedback by the target network device within a first duration ([0125] upon receiving an ACK the transmitting STA continues and deletes buffered copies, [0181] STA transmits/receives multi-AP ACK),
wherein the first data frame ([0204] packet) comprises first indication information ([0279] An indication in the preamble), and the first indication information is used for indicating that the first data frame is transmitted in a joint transmission manner ([0204] STA transmits a packet to the APs, [0279] the packet may be transmitted in a joint transmission PPDU that includes an indication in the preamble, [0280] if a STA receives a PPDU with the joint transmission indication, [0288] the STA performs reception processing based on the joint transmission), and wherein the first data frame ([0204] packet) further comprises second indication information ([0179] ACK policy) ([0179] the transmitted packet may include multi-P HARQ information and ACK policy), and the second indication information is used for indicating a feedback manner of the first data frame ([0182] where the ACK policy may indicate immediate acknowledgement, [0184] where the ACK policy may indicate no acknowledgement between transmissions),
wherein the feedback manner is an explicit ACK feedback manner or an implicit ACK feedback manner ([0181] the STA transmits a multi-AP ACK back to the APs, [0182] the ACK policy may indicate immediate acknowledgement with ACK/NAK, [0184] the ACK policy may indicate no acknowledgement between transmissions).
However, Lou does not teach wherein the probe request message comprises a transmission requirement parameter of the terminal device; the first indication information is comprised in a Relay Frame field in a Frame Control field of the first data frame and, the second indication information is comprised in a feedback policy field in the Frame Control field of the first data frame, wherein the terminal device is a station (STA), the target network device is an access point (AP), the coordinated network device is an AP, and the STA is in an overlapping basic service set (OBSS), wherein the probe response message is a probe response frame, and the transmission requirement parameter is comprised in a Relay Discovery element field of the probe request frame; and wherein the Relay Discovery element field comprises an uplink/downlink data rate (UL/DL Data Rate) field and a Relay Discovery Control field.
In an analogous art, LIM teaches the first indication information is comprised in a Relay Frame field in a Frame Control field of the first data frame ([0116] discloses that the MAC header of the frame includes at Frame Control field, [0121] discloses that the Frame Control field includes a Relayed Frame field, [0124] discloses that the Relayed Frame field is configured as a one-bit field, and FIG. 22(a)-(b) illustrates the MAC frame and the Relayed Frame field within the Frame Control field) and, the second indication information is comprised in a feedback policy field in the Frame Control field of the first data frame (FIG. 22(a) discloses a MAC frame including a Frame Control field, and FIG. 22(b) discloses that the Frame Control field includes a one-bit Ack Policy field),
wherein the terminal device is a station (STA), the target network device is an access point (AP), the coordinated network device is an AP, and the STA is in an overlapping basic service set (OBSS) ([0050] a terminal corresponds to a non-AP STA, [0051] and [0066] an AP responds to a Probe Request transmitted by the STA, [0055]-[0056] multiple infrastructure BSSs include respective APs connected through a distribution system, [0075] an overlapped BSS scan parameter is provided for operation in an overlapping-BSS environment).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an overlapped BSS as taught by LIM within the system of Lou. One would have been motivated to so in order to provide a method for efficiently transmitting or receiving resource allocation information for multi-users in a wireless system (LIM [0005]).
However, the combination of Lou and LIM does not teach wherein the probe request message comprises a transmission requirement parameter of the terminal device; wherein the probe response message is a probe response frame, and the transmission requirement parameter is comprised in a Relay Discovery element field of the probe request frame; and wherein the Relay Discovery element field comprises an uplink/downlink data rate (UL/DL Data Rate) field and a Relay Discovery Control field.
In an analogous art, Fang teaches wherein the probe request message comprises a transmission requirement parameter of the terminal device ([0076] discloses that the requesting station includes its direct-path throughput information in the Probe Request frame to enable relay nodes or APs to determine whether to respond, [0077] discloses a Relay Discovery IE includes in the Probe Request, [0078] discloses that the Relay Discovery Info field includes DL and UL Direct Path Speed fields representing the DL and UL throughputs measured by the station);
wherein the probe response message is a probe response frame, and the transmission requirement parameter is comprised in a Relay Discovery element field of the probe request frame ([0077] disclose a Relay Discovery IE included in a Probe Request, [0078] discloses that the Relay Discovery Info Field contains a DL Direct Path Speed Field and a UL Direct Path Speed Field, thereby teaching an uplink/downlink data rate field); and wherein the Relay Discovery element field comprises an uplink/downlink data rate (UL/DL Data Rate) field and a Relay Discovery Control field ([0077] discloses a Relay Discovery IE included in a Probe Request, [0078] discloses that the Relay Discovery Info Field further contains DL Filtering Threshold Fields and UL Filtering Threshold Fields used by the relay node to determine whether to respond to the Probe Request, thereby teaching a Relay Discovery control field).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Lou and LIM to include the relay discovery information element as taught by Fang. One would have been motivated to so in order to enable relay nodes or access points to determine whether to respond to a Probe Request based on information included in the Probe Request, thereby reducing unnecessary responses (Fang [0076]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Lou, LIM and Fang, specifically Lou teaches wherein the processor ([0289] processor) is further configured to:
in response to that the terminal device does not receive the ACK feedback by the target network device within the first duration ([0119] HARQ response time), retransmit the first data frame ([0120] In FIG.2 step 204 and 205, the HARQ process continues as necessary depending on whether the STAs 212 receive the prior HARQ transmission (e.g., at 201). Therefore, in some cases, a second transmission (Tx 2) is needed , [0121] when the transmitting AP 211 acquires the channel and any HARQ response time has expired (e.g., see 206)).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Lou, LIM and Fang, specifically Lou teaches wherein the processor ([0289] processor) is further caused to:
in response to that the terminal device does not receive a downlink data frame sent by the target network device and comprising indication information indicating that the first data frame is successfully received within a first duration ([0119] the STA and AP indicate a HARQ response time, [0121] retransmission may occur when the HARQ response time has expired), retransmit the first data frame ([0120] In FIG.2 step 204 and 205, the HARQ process continues as necessary depending on whether the STAs 212 receive the prior HARQ transmission (e.g., at 201). Therefore, in some cases, a second transmission (Tx 2) is needed).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Lou, LIM and Fang, specifically Lou teaches wherein the processor ([0289] processor) is further configured to:
in response to that the terminal device receives an ACK feedback by the coordinated network device within a first duration ([0119] HARQ response time), not retransmit the data frame ([0125] When receiving an ACK, the transmitting STA may delete buffered copies for the HARQ process ID and continue with the next HARQ process ID, [0131] In FIG. 3, when the transmitting AP 311 acquires the channel and any HARQ response time has expired (e.g., see 306)).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Lou, LIM and Fang, specifically Lou teaches wherein the processor ([0289] processor) is further caused to:
send a notification message ([0121] Multi-HARQ ID BAR) to the target network device ([0121] the transmitting AP 211 sends a Multi-HARQ ID Block Acknowledgement Request (BAR) to the receiving STA(s) 212 to solicit responses), wherein the notification message is used for notifying the target network device of information of the coordinated network device used for joint transmission ([0121] The transmitting AP 211 sends a Multi-HARQ ID Block Acknowledgement Request (BAR) to the receiving STA(s) 212 to solicit responses, [0275] In FIG. 28A, a servant trigger is sent from anchor AP 2802 to a servant AP 2803 before the joint transmission to STA 2801, [0285] FIG. 28C, the servant AP 2803 indicates to the anchor AP 2802 that it may use the above indication to perform frequency synchronization on the access link).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Lou, LIM and Fang, specifically Lou teaches wherein the notification message ([0121] Multi-HARQ ID BAR) is an announcement frame ([0145] An AP includes a multi-AP capability field/subfield or multi-AP HARQ capability field/subfield in a Beacon, Probe Response frame, (re)Association response frame, and/or other control/management frame, [0183] The STA 703 transmits a control/management frame to AP701 and/or AP702. In the control/management frame, the STA703 indicates the preferred or suggested HARQ retransmission parameters).
Regarding claim 19, Lou teaches a network device (FIG. 1A 114a), comprising: a processor and a memory ([0289] a processor for use in a base station and ROM/RAM), wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program ([0061] store data in, any type of suitable memory), which when executed by the processor ([0289] execution by a processor), causes the processor to:
receive a probe request message ([0146] Probe Request frame) sent by a terminal device, wherein the probe request message is used for detecting a network device around the terminal device that is capable of performing joint transmission ([0146] a STA includes a Multi-AP capability field in a Probe Request frame transmitted to an AP, [0147] the STA provides AP-related capability and channel information to the AP, [0148] the Master AP receives information from the STA and may provide a list of APs that participate in multi-AP transmissions),
in response to that the network device meets the transmission requirement parameter of the terminal device, send a probe response message to the terminal device ([0146] a STA includes capability information in a Probe Request frame transmitted to an AP, [0156] the Master AP selects APs supporting the STA based on the information received from the STA and informs the STA of configuration information, [0119] such information exchange may be conveyed in Probe Request/Response frames, thereby supporting a Probe Response message sent to the STA in response to the STA-provided information);
wherein: in response to that the network device does not meet the transmission requirement parameter of the terminal device, not reply a probe response message ([0146] the STA includes capability information in a Probe Request frame transmitted to an AP, [0156] the Master AP selects APs supporting the STA based on the information received from the STA and informs the STA of configuration information, [0119] such information exchange may be conveyed in Probe Request/Response frames, thereby evidencing that only APs selected to support the STA provide response information to the STA).
However, Lou does not teach wherein the probe request message comprises a transmission requirement parameter of the terminal device; wherein the terminal device is a station (STA), the target network device is an access point (AP), the coordinated network device is an AP, and the STA is in an overlapping basic service set (OBSS), wherein the probe response message is a probe response frame, and the transmission requirement parameter is comprised in a Relay Discovery element field of the probe request frame; and wherein the Relay Discovery element field comprises an uplink/downlink data rate (UL/DL Data Rate) field and a Relay Discovery Control field.
In an analogous art, LIM teaches wherein the terminal device is a station (STA), the target network device is an access point (AP), the coordinated network device is an AP, and the STA is in an overlapping basic service set (OBSS) ([0050] a terminal corresponds to a non-AP STA, [0051] and [0066] an AP responds to a Probe Request transmitted by the STA, [0055]-[0056] multiple infrastructure BSSs include respective APs connected through a distribution system, [0075] an overlapped BSS scan parameter is provided for operation in an overlapping-BSS environment).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an overlapped BSS as taught by LIM within the system of Lou. One would have been motivated to so in order to provide a method for efficiently transmitting or receiving resource allocation information for multi-users in a wireless system (LIM [0005]).
However, the combination of Lou and LIM does not teach wherein the probe request message comprises a transmission requirement parameter of the terminal device; wherein the probe response message is a probe response frame, and the transmission requirement parameter is comprised in a Relay Discovery element field of the probe request frame; and wherein the Relay Discovery element field comprises an uplink/downlink data rate (UL/DL Data Rate) field and a Relay Discovery Control field.
In an analogous art, Fang teaches wherein the probe request message comprises a transmission requirement parameter of the terminal device ([0076] discloses that the requesting station includes its direct-path throughput information in the Probe Request frame to enable relay nodes or APs to determine whether to respond, [0077] discloses a Relay Discovery IE includes in the Probe Request, [0078] discloses that the Relay Discovery Info field includes DL and UL Direct Path Speed fields representing the DL and UL throughputs measured by the station);
wherein the probe response message is a probe response frame, and the transmission requirement parameter is comprised in a Relay Discovery element field of the probe request frame ([0077] disclose a Relay Discovery IE included in a Probe Request, [0078] discloses that the Relay Discovery Info Field contains a DL Direct Path Speed Field and a UL Direct Path Speed Field, thereby teaching an uplink/downlink data rate field); and wherein the Relay Discovery element field comprises an uplink/downlink data rate (UL/DL Data Rate) field and a Relay Discovery Control field ([0077] discloses a Relay Discovery IE included in a Probe Request, [0078] discloses that the Relay Discovery Info Field further contains DL Filtering Threshold Fields and UL Filtering Threshold Fields used by the relay node to determine whether to respond to the Probe Request, thereby teaching a Relay Discovery control field).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Lou and LIM to include the relay discovery information element as taught by Fang. One would have been motivated to so in order to enable relay nodes or access points to determine whether to respond to a Probe Request based on information included in the Probe Request, thereby reducing unnecessary responses (Fang [0076]).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Lou, LIM and Fang, specifically Lou teaches wherein the transmission requirement parameter of the terminal device comprises at least one of a delay requirement, channel utilization information and a minimum transmission rate ([0146] The valid buffer lifetimes depend on the number of APs used to asynchronously transmit to the STA, and the maximum number of transmissions expected. The valid maximum buffer sizes depend on the type of HARQ retransmissions, [0147] A STA includes Channel Load, channel information, Directional Channel Quality).
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2015/0098459 A1 (Lee et al.) discloses A scanning method performed by a station (STA) in a wireless LAN system.
US 2018/0206139 A1 (Wang et al.) discloses methods are disclosed herein to enhance the use of directional-band relay in wireless communications.
US 2023/0345349 A1 (KIM et al.) discloses a multi-link device (MLD) operating in multiple links including a first link.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.I./ Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413