DETAILED ACTION
Claims 8-13, 15-20, 22 and 51-57 are currently pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/17/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues on pages 14 and 15 of the response in essence that: Therefore, Chen fails to disclose "the association relationship includes a position association relationship" and "the position association relationship is used to characterize a relationship between position parameters of the first model information and the first device information" in claim 10 and "establishing the relative position relationship between the medical imaging device and the imaging object by matching a preset datum point or a preset datum line to the imaging object, wherein the preset datum line is a datum line aligned with a head vertex of the imaging object on a treatment bed" in claim 54.
Chen discloses that the isocenter of the medical device is used as a reference position (paragraph 154). When the table is at the target table position, the ROI of the subject may be located at or in the vicinity of an isocenter of the second device, i.e., the ROI of the subject may be within an imaging area or treatment area of the second device (paragraph 180).
The Applicant argues on pages 15 and 16 of the response in essence that: According to paragraphs [0216] and [0219] of Chen, the second target area of Chen can be identified as a region within the positioning image. However, paragraph [0200] of Chen clarifies that the center 1033 and angle described therein are strictly limited to the second target area within the positioning image (a 2D projection) rather than to a virtual region within the model image. In other words, the center and angle of second target area of Chen cannot be construed as the center point position or model angle corresponding to the internal human body image in the virtual human body model of the present application.
Chen discloses that the virtual ROI refers to a portion of the model image including a representation of a specific portion corresponding to the ROI of the subject. The processing device 120B may determine the second target area based on the virtual area and the positioning image (paragraph 181).
Applicant’s remaining arguments with respect to claims 8-13, 15-20, 22 and 51-57 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-10, 12, 14-16, 18-20, 22, 51, 52, 54, 56 and 57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. US Publication 2020/0218922 and Schweizer et al. US Publication 2021/0038181 (hereafter “Schweizer”).
Referring to claim 8, Chen discloses a method for imaging and positioning of a medical imaging device, comprising:
obtaining a virtual human body model corresponding to an imaging object (paragraph 205, In 1210, the processing device 120B (e.g., the acquisition module 421) may obtain a model image corresponding to the subject) and first position information corresponding to a user operation instruction (paragraph 214, In 1230, the processing device 120B (e.g., the acquisition module 421) may obtain a positioning image of the subject);
determining, based on the first position information, an internal human body image corresponding to the first position information in the virtual human body model, and displaying the internal human body image (paragraph 225, As another example, an addition operation for causing the target area to be displayed to the user may be added after the operation 1240);
determining whether the internal human body image corresponding to the first position information corresponds to a target photography position (paragraph 190, The processing device 120B may directly determine the first target area relating to the subject the same as or similar to the determination of the second target area, e.g., based on the positioning image and/or the model image); and
in response to determining that the internal human body image corresponding to the first position information corresponds to the target photography position, determining, based on the first position information, a target imaging position corresponding to the medical imaging device (paragraph 190, The target table position may be determined based on the second target area);
in response to determining that the internal human body image corresponding to the first position information does not correspond to the target photography position, proceeding to obtain second position information different from the first position information and determining the target imaging position corresponding to the medical imaging device based on an internal human body image corresponding to the second position information (paragraph 190, In some embodiments, an addition operation may be added for causing the table to move to a target table position. The target table position may be determined based on the second target area).
While Chen discloses obtaining first position information corresponding to a user instruction, Chen does not disclose expressly wherein the first position information is determined based on a user's interaction with the virtual human body model, the user's interaction with the virtual human body model comprises manipulating a graphical marker displayed on the virtual human body model via selecting, moving, zooming in, zooming out, rotating, or translating based on the user operation instruction, and the virtual human body model includes an internal human body model.
Schweizer discloses obtaining a virtual human body model corresponding to an imaging object and first position information corresponding to a user operation instruction, wherein the first position information is determined based on a user's interaction with the virtual human body model, the user's interaction with the virtual human body model comprises manipulating a graphical marker displayed on the virtual human body model via selecting, moving, zooming in, zooming out, rotating, or translating based on the user operation instruction, and the virtual human body model includes an internal human body model (paragraph 38, In act 26, a target intersection volume and/or a target field of view or a target recording volume is/are received by manipulation of the virtual display element (e.g., from a user input of an operator at the touch monitor). As shown in FIG. 4, the user/operator may displace the virtual display element 8; as an alternative, the user/operator may also change a position or orientation of the virtual display element 8 or manipulate the virtual display element 8 in some other way).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to allow a user to move or reshape a virtual object to indicate the desired image area. The motivation for doing so would have been to make positioning faster, more intuitive, and less dependent on operator experience. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Schweizer with Chen to obtain the invention as specified in claim 8.
Referring to claim 9, Chen discloses wherein the first position information includes first model information corresponding to the virtual human body model or first device information corresponding to the medical imaging device, wherein there is an association relationship between the first model information and the first device information (paragraph 213, the processing device 120B may determine the virtual area based on a first relation between the virtual ROI and the protocol and a second relation between the virtual ROI and an automated positioning model).
Referring to claim 10, Chen discloses wherein the association relationship includes a position association relationship, and the method further includes:
converting a relative position relationship between the medical imaging device and the imaging object into a position association relationship of the medical imaging device and the virtual human body model;
wherein the position association relationship is used to characterize a relationship between position parameters of the first model information and the first device information (paragraph 154, the processing device 120A may determine an isocenter position (i.e., a position of the isocenter of the medical device) in the target image as the reference position, the processing device 120A may determine the reference distance based on the reference position and the focus position).
Referring to claim 12, Chen discloses wherein the obtaining the first position information corresponding to the user operation instruction includes:
when the first position information is the first model information, displaying the virtual human body model on an interactive interface, and displaying the first model information corresponding to the user operation instruction on the virtual human body model (paragraph 113, the user may move an identifier in a target image including a subject situated on a table through the terminal device(s) 140 on the basis of which the processing device 120 may determine a target table position of the table).
Referring to claim 13, Schweizer discloses wherein the first model information includes the graphical marker and the graphical marker performs at least one operation of selecting, moving, zooming in, and zooming out based on the user operation instruction (paragraph 38, In act 26, a target intersection volume and/or a target field of view or a target recording volume is/are received by manipulation of the virtual display element (e.g., from a user input of an operator at the touch monitor). As shown in FIG. 4, the user/operator may displace the virtual display element 8; as an alternative, the user/operator may also change a position or orientation of the virtual display element 8 or manipulate the virtual display element 8 in some other way).
Referring to claim 15, Chen discloses wherein before proceeding to obtain second position information different from the first position information, the method further includes:
when the first position information is the first model information, determining a first imaging position corresponding to the medical imaging device based on the first model information and the association relationship, and controlling the medical imaging device to move to the first imaging position (paragraph 180, The processing device 120B may identify the ROI of the subject in the positioning image. The processing device 120B may cause the table to move to a target table position).
Referring to claim 16, Chen discloses wherein the determining, based on the first position information, a target imaging position corresponding to the medical imaging device includes:
when the first position information is the first model information, determining a target imaging position corresponding to the medical imaging device based on the first model information and the association relationship, and controlling the medical imaging device to move to the target imaging position (paragraph 180, The processing device 120B may identify the ROI of the subject in the positioning image. The processing device 120B may cause the table to move to a target table position).
Referring to claim 18, Chen discloses wherein the determining, based on the first position information, an internal human body image corresponding to the first position information in the virtual human body model includes:
determining, when the first position information is the first device information, the first model information corresponding to the virtual human body model based on the first device information and the association relationship, and determining the internal human body image based on the first model information (paragraph 205, In 1210, the processing device 120B (e.g., the acquisition module 421) may obtain a model image corresponding to the subject. As used herein, the model image corresponding to the subject may refer to an image including a plurality of virtual ROIs corresponding to a plurality of ROIs of the subject).
Referring to claim 19, Chen discloses wherein the determining, based on the first position information, a target imaging position corresponding to the medical imaging device includes:
when the first position information is the first device information, taking an imaging position in the first device information as the target imaging position corresponding to the medical imaging device (paragraph 190, The processing device 120B may directly determine the first target area relating to the subject the same as or similar to the determination of the second target area, e.g., based on the positioning image and/or the model image).
Referring to claim 20, Chen discloses wherein the internal human body model includes at least one of a blood vessel model, an organ model, a skeletal model, and a muscle model (paragraph 99, a representation of an organ or tissue (e.g., the heart, the liver, a lung, etc., of a patient) in an image may be referred to as the organ or tissue for brevity) and the obtaining a virtual human body model corresponding to an imaging object includes:
according to obtained height data corresponding to the imaging object, selecting the virtual human body model corresponding to the height data;
wherein the virtual human body model includes a human body shape model (paragraph 206, the standard female model may be adjusted based on information of the height, the weight, the body shape, a lesion of interest (e.g., to be imaged and/or treated), an age, a medical history, or the like, or any combination thereof, of the subject).
Referring to claim 22, Chen discloses wherein the medical imaging device includes a digital X-ray photography device, a C-shaped arm X-ray device, a mammography machine, a computed tomography radiography device, a magnetic resonance device, a positron emission tomography (PET) device, a positron emission tomography and a computed tomography (PET-CT) device, a positron emission tomography and a magnetic resonance (PET-MR) device, or a radiotherapy imaging device (paragraph 101, The single modality system may include, for example, may include, for example, an ultrasound imaging system, an X-ray imaging system, a computed tomography (CT) system, a magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) system, an ultrasonography system, a positron emission tomography (PET) system, an optical coherence tomography (OCT) imaging system, an ultrasound (US) imaging system, an intravascular ultrasound (IVUS) imaging system, a near-infrared spectroscopy (NIRS) imaging system, or the like, or any combination thereof. The multi-modality system may include, for example, an X-ray imaging-magnetic resonance imaging (X-ray-MRI) system, a positron emission tomography-X-ray imaging (PET-X-ray) system, a single photon emission computed tomography-magnetic resonance imaging (SPECT-MRI) system, a positron emission tomography-computed tomography (PET-CT) system, a C-arm system, a positron emission tomography-magnetic resonance imaging (PET-MR) system, a digital subtraction angiography-magnetic resonance imaging (DSA-MRI) system, etc).
Referring to claim 51, Chen discloses wherein the first model information includes a model position parameter or a model horizon-of-view parameter corresponding to the virtual human body model (paragraph 206, the standard female model may be adjusted based on information of the height, the weight, the body shape, a lesion of interest (e.g., to be imaged and/or treated), an age, a medical history, or the like), and the first device information includes a device position parameter or a device horizon-of-view parameter corresponding to the medical imaging device (paragraph 202, As shown in 1101, for each table position (e.g., each of table Nos. 1-6), a first target area corresponding to an FOV of the MR device may be set in concert with a second target area corresponding to an FOV of the PET device).
Referring to claim 52, Chen discloses wherein the model position parameter includes a center point position or a model angle corresponding to the internal human body image (paragraph 200, A second target area 1030 may include a center 1033 (i.e., a dot as shown in FIG. 10C) and an angle of the second target area 1030 may be 0), the device position parameter includes a center position of a radiation source or an angle of an axis between the radiation source and a detector with respect to a treatment bed (paragraph 260, the reference table position corresponding to the model image may refer to a table position when the head of the virtual subject is located at or in the vicinity of an isocenter of the medical system).
Referring to claim 54, Chen discloses wherein the converting a relative position relationship between the medical imaging device and the imaging object into a position association relationship of the medical imaging device and the virtual human body model includes:
establishing the relative position relationship between the medical imaging device and the imaging object by matching a preset datum point or a preset datum line to the imaging object, wherein the preset datum line is a datum line aligned with a head vertex of the imaging object on a treatment bed (paragraph 199, A corresponding first target area 1022 may be determined by adjusting the angle of the corresponding initial target area from 0 to +15° (i.e., rotating the corresponding initial target area 15° clockwise around the center 1023), adjusting the center of the corresponding initial target area from the center 1023 to a center 1024 (i.e., a point as shown in FIG. 10B) and increasing the corresponding initial target area such that the whole brain is within the first target area 1022).
Referring to claim 56, Chen discloses wherein the first position information includes the first model information corresponding to the virtual human body model and the method includes:
displaying the virtual human body model on an interactive interface; and
displaying the first model information on the displayed virtual human body model (paragraph 240, n 2020, the processing device 120C (e.g., the virtual area determination module 432) may determine, in the model image, a virtual positioning area and a virtual clinical area according to a user instruction relating to a virtual ROI in the model image).
Referring to claim 57, Chen discloses wherein the first position information includes the first device information corresponding to the medical imaging device (paragraph 180, The processing device 120B may identify the ROI of the subject in the positioning image. The processing device 120B may cause the table to move to a target table position).
Claims 11, 17 and 53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. US Publication 2020/0218922 and Schweizer et al. US Publication 2021/0038181 as applied to claims 10, 17 and 52 above, and further in view of Boda et al. US Publication 2013/0156152 (hereafter “Boda”).
Referring to claim 11, Chen discloses wherein the association relationship includes a position association relationship, but does not disclose expressly wherein the association relationship further includes a horizon-of-field association relationship.
Boda discloses wherein the association relationship further includes a horizon-of-field association relationship, and the method further includes:
obtaining a horizon-of-view association relationship between the first model information and the first device information;
wherein the horizon-of-view association relationship is used to characterize a relationship between horizon-of-view parameters of the first model information and the first device information (paragraph 31, The iso-center point is calculated using the patient table axes parameters including current longitudinal (H) and lift (V) position of the patient table and the table tilt angle and gantry axes parameters, including gantry tilt angle, pivot and C-arc position of the gantry).
At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use a horizon-of-field association relationship. The motivation for doing so would have been to accurately track the distance between a patient and an imager in order to reduce errors and increase efficiency. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Boda with Chen to obtain the invention as specified in claim 11.
Referring to claim 17, Chen discloses wherein after controlling the medical imaging device to move to the target imaging position controlling an imaging component in the medical imaging device to perform an imaging (paragraph 190, In some embodiments, an addition operation may be added for causing the table to move to a target table position. The target table position may be determined based on the second target area), but does not disclose expressly wherein the association relationship further includes a horizon-of-field association relationship.
Boda discloses wherein after controlling the medical imaging device to move to the target imaging position, the method further includes:
controlling an imaging component in the medical imaging device to perform an imaging operation based on a horizon-of-field parameter (paragraph 31, The iso-center point is calculated using the patient table axes parameters including current longitudinal (H) and lift (V) position of the patient table and the table tilt angle and gantry axes parameters, including gantry tilt angle, pivot and C-arc position of the gantry);
wherein the horizon-of-field parameter includes at least one of a source image distance, a source object distance, and a magnification (paragraph 37, At step 520, while moving the area of interest from the initial area of interest to the new area of interest, the system calculates the iso-center point dynamically. The iso-center point is calculated as a function of relative distance between the areas of interest and as a function of parameters indicating relative motion of permissible axes).
At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use a horizon-of-field association relationship. The motivation for doing so would have been to accurately track the distance between a patient and an imager in order to reduce errors and increase efficiency. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Boda with Chen to obtain the invention as specified in claim 11.
Referring to claim 53, Chen discloses wherein the model horizon-of-view parameter includes an image dimension corresponding to the internal human body image (paragraph 199, A corresponding first target area 1022 may be determined by adjusting the angle of the corresponding initial target area from 0 to +15° (i.e., rotating the corresponding initial target area 15° clockwise around the center 1023), adjusting the center of the corresponding initial target area from the center 1023 to a center 1024 (i.e., a point as shown in FIG. 10B) and increasing the corresponding initial target area such that the whole brain is within the first target area 1022), but does not disclose expressly wherein the device horizon-of-view parameter includes at least one of a magnification, a source image distance, and a source object distance.
Boda discloses wherein the device horizon-of-view parameter includes at least one of a magnification, a source image distance, and a source object distance (paragraph 37, At step 520, while moving the area of interest from the initial area of interest to the new area of interest, the system calculates the iso-center point dynamically. The iso-center point is calculated as a function of relative distance between the areas of interest and as a function of parameters indicating relative motion of permissible axes).
At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use a device horizon-of-field association relationship. The motivation for doing so would have been to accurately track the distance between a patient and an imager in order to reduce errors and increase efficiency. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Boda with Chen to obtain the invention as specified in claim 53.
Claim 55 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. US Publication 2020/0218922, Schweizer et al. US Publication 2021/0038181 and Boda et al. US Publication 2013/0156152 as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of well known prior art.
Referring to claim 55, Boda discloses wherein the obtaining a horizon-of-view association relationship between the first model information and the first device information includes:
a mapping to describe the horizon-of-view association relationship between the first model information and the first device information (paragraph 31, The iso-center point is calculated using the patient table axes parameters including current longitudinal (H) and lift (V) position of the patient table and the table tilt angle and gantry axes parameters, including gantry tilt angle, pivot and C-arc position of the gantry).
While Boda discloses a mapping to describe the horizon-of-view association relationship, Chen and Boda do not disclose expressly pre-establishing a mapping.
Official Notice is taken that it is well known and obvious in the art to pre-establishing a mapping list (See MPEP 2144.03). The motivation for doing so would have been to simplify the calculation required for determining the horizon-of-view association relationship by storing measurements for known device configurations. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine well known prior art with Chen and Boda to obtain the invention as specified in claim 55.
Conclusion
/PETER K HUNTSINGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682