DETAILED ACTION
Amendment
This action is in response to the Amendment filed on 7/7/2025.
Claims 193-212 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 193-212 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection
Claim Rejections under 35 U.S.C.§103 - U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2007/0049991 to Klostermann et al. ("Klostermann") in view of U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2010/0137948 to Aghassian ("Aghassian").
Applicant traverses the rejection based on the argument that Klostermann and Aghassian, alone or in combination, fail to teach or suggest the system as claimed.
They argue that Klostermann and Aghassian, alone or in combination, fail to teach or suggest a system configured to enter a warning state in response to an implantable device not replying to a periodic signal and/or not receiving the periodic signal.
They argue that Klostermann fails to teach or suggest transmitting power from the external component to the IPG, or any responsive system warning state and Aghassian's misalignment condition is determined via a voltage comparison that occurs on the portable charger during active power transmission. Aghassian's misalignment detection is based on passive electrical characteristics of the inductive power coupling between the portable charger and IPG during active charging, not on whether the IPG replies to or receives any signal from the portable charger. They further argue Klostermann's digital wake-up procedure and Aghassian's impedance-based misalignment detection operate on entirely different principles, serve different functions, and their devices - Klostermann's external component and Aghassian's portable charger - comprise fundamentally different architectures. Klostermann's wake-up procedure and Aghassian's misalignment detection are completely unrelated protocols that use different transmissions/parameters for different purposes - Klostermann uses the wake-up signal to establish a communication link, while Aghassian uses electrical characteristics of inductive coupling to assess charging alignment. A skilled artisan would not have been motivated to modify Klostermann's wake-up procedure to incorporate Aghassian's misalignment detection at least because of the drastic differences between the principles of operation and functions of these two protocols alone. Further Klostermann's external component and Aghassian's portable charger are not comparable devices that would lead a skilled artisan to modify Klostermann with the teachings of Aghassian since Klostermann's external component is incapable of charging the IPG while Aghassian's portable charger is only capable of charging the IPG and indicating the misalignment condition. Modifying Klostermann's teachings to incorporate Aghassian's misalignment detection would necessitate a complete redesign of at least Klostermann's external component. A skilled artisan would not have been motivated to change the principle of operation of Klostermann's external component, while rendering other portions of its system obsolete, simply to incorporate unrelated teachings from another reference without impermissible hindsight construction using Applicant's claims as a guide.
Applicant’s arguments have been carefully reviewed the and rejection is now withdrawn. However, upon further search and consideration, the claims are rejected as discussed in the current office action below
Double Patenting Rejection
Since the claims are not allowable, the double patenting rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 193, 194,197,198 and 207-212 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klostermann et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number: US 2007/0049991 A1, hereinafter Klostermann”- PREVIOUSLY CITED) in view of Denker et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number: US 2007/0156204 A1, hereinafter “Denker”).
Regarding claim 193 and 194, Klostermann teaches a medical system for a patient, comprising:
an external device (i.e. external component such as a hand-held programmer HHP 202 or clinician programmer CP 204 e.g. [0028],[0030]) configured to transmit a periodic signal (e.g. [0009]: broadcast wake up procedure) to an implantable device (e.g. IPG 100, i.e. the external component sends a periodic broadcast wake- up signal as seen by the code transmitted by the external component in Fig. 6); and
an implantable device (e.g. IPG 100) configured to receive the power and the periodic signal from the external device, wherein the implantable device comprises at least one functional element configured to one or both of neuromodulate tissue of the patient (e.g. [0024],[0026]: spinal cord stimulation, etc.) and record patient information.
Klosterman teaches (e.g. Fig. 6 [0051]-[0055 Note: the claim does not provide any limitation as to what a “warning state” is.), that the IPG wakes up and checks for a valid wake up signal and if the code received by the IPG is invalid because it may be cause by noise, the IPG recognizes it as not the periodic signal sent by the external component and RF telemetry circuitry is turned off till the next window opening (about 1 second). This recognition and turning off till the next window can be broadly considered a “warning state” in the absence of any limitations regarding the claimed “warning state”. Klosterman also teaches a separate charger for charging the implantable device IPG 100 (e.g. [0028], [0032]), and also receiving information about the battery status so that the external programmer can calculate the estimated time to recharge (e.g. [0040]).
Klostermann does not specifically teach that the external component devices such as the hand-held programmer HHP 202 or clinician programmer CP 204 are configured to provide power to the implantable device. Klostermann also does not specifically teach that wherein the system is configured to enter a warning state when one or both of:
the implantable device does not reply to the periodic signal and
the implantable device does not receive the periodic signal.
In a similar field of endeavor, Denker teaches a system comprising an implantable device (e.g. 15 Fig. 3, [0023]) and an external device (e.g. 14 Fig.5, [0023]). They further teach providing power and data (i.e. first wireless signal 53 provides power and data) from the external device to the internal device (e.g. [0012], [0015], [0023],[0028]). They further teach that the system is system is configured to enter a warning state when the implantable device does not receive the signal (e.g. [0043]: if the implanted medical device 15 fails to receive the first wireless signal 53 for a predefined period of time. The control circuit 55 generates alarm data which it transmitted via the second wireless signal 68 to alert a data receiver outside the patient of a malfunction of the cardiac pacing system 10. When the extracorporeal power supply 14 receives the second wireless signal 68, the data receiver 116 extracts data which then is transferred to the control circuit 106. Upon interpreting the data as indicating an alarm condition, control circuit 106 activates an alarm, such as by producing an audio signal via a speaker 118 or activate light emitters to produce a visual indication of the alarm. An alarm indication also can be sent via the serial data interface 104 to an external device, such as personal computer 100. In other situations, a wireless communication apparatus, such as a cellular telephone, may be integrated into the extracorporeal power supply 14 to transmit an alarm signal to a central monitoring facility). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the teachings of Klostermann with the external device being capable of charging the IMD and with the system entering a warning state when the internal device does not receive a signal for a predefined time as taught by Denker in order to provide the predictable results of having a more efficient system with external devices that can be used to transmit power as well as data as and when required and providing safety and adequate warning to the user for intervention when required. (Note: the claim does not provide limitations regarding a “warning state”).
Page 2 of 64823-1328-8702Appl. No. 16/266,822 Attorney Docket No. 47476-704.302Regarding claim 197, Klostermann in view of Denker teaches the claimed invention as discussed above, and Klostermann further teaches that the implantable device is further configured to maintain a timing of neuromodulation of the tissue of the patient based on the periodic signal (e.g. [0028] Fig. 6 shows that once the periodic wake up signal from the external device is recognized, the IPG receives the control data that comprises parameters setting such as pulse width, amplitude and rate and therefore they teach that IPG is further configured to maintain a timing of neuromodulation of the tissue of the patient based on the periodic signal).
Regarding claim 198, Klostermann in view of Denker teaches the claimed invention as discussed above and since they teach that the system enters a warning state when the signal is not received within a predetermined period of time they teach that the system is configured to maintain operation of a power and data link between the external device and the implantable device within a predetermined quality range based on the periodic signal.
Amdt. dated November 8, 2021Regarding claim 207, Klostermann in view of Denker teaches the claimed invention as discussed above, and Klostermann further teaches that the system is further configured to provide treatment for a medical condition comprising one or more of: medically refractory angina, a movement disorder, pain, chronic critical limb ischemia, complex regional pain syndrome, a condition treated using deep brain stimulation (e.g. [0024]), medically refractory epilepsy, failed back surgery syndrome, fecal constipation, fecal incontinence, urinary incontinence (e.g. [0024]), a urologic disorder, a gastric disorder, GERD, chronic indigestion, gastroparesis, obesity, diabetes, medically refractory headaches, migraine treatment, neuropathy, neuropathic pain, peripheral neuropathy, pelvic floor dysfunction, Parkinson's disease, and spasticity.
Regarding claim 208, Klostermann in view of Denker teaches the claimed invention as discussed above, and Klostermann further teaches that the at least one functional element is configured to neuromodulate the tissue of the patient by delivering stimulation to the tissue of the patient, the stimulation comprising one or more of spinal cord stimulation (e.g. [0001], [0024],[0026]), vagus nerve stimulation, gastric stimulation, sacral nerve stimulation, auditory brainstem stimulation, occipital nerve stimulation, and peripheral nerve stimulation.
Regarding claim 209, Klostermann in view of Denker teaches the claimed invention as discussed above and Klostermann further teaches that the at least one functional element is configured to neuromodulate the tissue (e.g. [0004], [0024],[0026], [0033],[0034])of the patient via one or more of nerve activation, inhibition of nerve activity, and inhibition of propagation of neural signaling.
Regarding claim 210 and 211, Klostermann in view of Denker teaches the claimed invention as discussed above and Klostermann further teaches that the periodic signal comprises a control signal (e.g. [0009],[0049] Fig. 6: the external device broadcasts a wake up signal periodically) configured to control a state of the implantable device and wherein the state of the implantable device comprises an active state (i.e. power-on state) and an inactive state (i.e. powered off state).
Regarding claim 212, Klostermann in view of Denker teaches the claimed invention as discussed above, and Klostermann further teaches that the periodic signal comprises a control signal that is further configured to control a duty cycle of the implantable device (e.g. [0028] Fig. 6 shows that once the periodic wake up signal from the external device is recognized, the IPG receives the control data that comprises parameters setting such as pulse width, amplitude and rate and therefore they teach that the control signal is configured to control a duty cycle of the IPG).
Claims 195, 201 and 202 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klostermann et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number: US 2007/0049991 A1, hereinafter Klostermann” - PREVIOUSLY CITED) in view of Denker et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number: US 2007/0156204 A1, hereinafter “Denker”) and further in view of Yakolev (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number: US 2013/0215979 A1, hereinafter “Yakolev” - PREVIOUSLY CITED).
Regarding claims 195, Klostermann in view of Denker teaches the claimed invention as discussed above, and Klostermann further teaches that the device comprises an implantable antenna (e.g. 170 Fig.3). Klostermann does not specifically teach that the data is transmitted to the external antenna by varying a load coupled to the implantable antenna and wherein the medical apparatus is configured to provide asynchronous transfer of data and wherein the external device is further configured to transmit the data to the implantable device using an ASK modulated signal that comprises pulse width and that the data is encoded in the pulse width.
In a similar field of endeavor, Yakolev teaches a method and apparatus for efficient communication with implantable medical devices and also teach that it is well known to use an asynchronous modulation scheme such as amplitude shift keying (ASK) to transfer data (e.g. Abstract) to communicate with implantable medical devices and also teaches the use of a variable load connected to the at least one implantable antenna, wherein data is transmitted by varying the load (e.g. Fig. 9, [0042]). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Klostermann in view of apparatus of Denker to have a variable load and transmit by varying the load and to provide asynchronous transfer of data between the external system and the implantable medical device as taught by Yakovlev in order to provide the predictable results of having a more efficient way of communication.
Claims 203-206 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klostermann et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number: US 2007/0049991 A1, hereinafter Klostermann” - PREVIOUSLY CITED) in view of Denker et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number: US 2007/0156204 A1, hereinafter “Denker”) and Yakolev (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number: US 2013/0215979 A1, hereinafter “Yakolev” - PREVIOUSLY CITED) and further in view of Aghassian (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number: US 2010/0137948 A1, hereinafter “Aghassian” - PREVIOUSLY CITED).
Regarding claim 201 and 202, Klostermann in view of Denker and Yakolev teaches the claimed invention as discussed above, however Klostermann does not specifically teach that the transmission of the data is reconfigurable and comprises an adjustable parameter comprising one or more of data rate, pulse width, and modulation depth. Aghassian teaches calculating the depth at which an implantable medical device is implanted (e.g. Fig. 7, [0013]) and adjusting therapy based on the depth at which the device is implanted and therefore they teach that the reconfigurable transmission of the data comprises one or more of data rate, modulation depth and pulse width. Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Klostermann in view of Denker and Yakolev with determining depth of the implantable medical device and adjusting the transmission as taught by Aghassian in order to provide the predictable results of ensuring a more accurate transmission between the devices.
Claims 203, 205 and 206 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klostermann et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number: US 2007/0049991 A1, hereinafter Klostermann” - PREVIOUSLY CITED) in view of in view of Denker et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number: US 2007/0156204 A1, hereinafter “Denker”) and further in view of Hill et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number: US 2007/0213773 A1, hereinafter “Hill” - PREVIOUSLY CITED).
Regarding claims 203, 205, 206, Klostermann in view of Denker teaches the claimed invention as discussed above, and while Klostermann teaches that the apparatus is an SCS system (e.g. [0024]), they do not specifically teach that the implantable device if further configured to adjust the stimulation parameters in real-time based on closed-loop feedback wherein the stimulation parameters are patient parameters and the external device adjusts the stimulation waveform.
Hill teaches a closed loop neuromodulation system with an implantable neural stimulator and one or more sensors to provide real-time closed loop feedback control and wherein a treatment parameter is adjusted based on sensed change in patient parameter (e.g. [0031] claims 1-19). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Klostermann in view of Aghassian to a closed loop feedback to adapt the performance of the apparatus in real time as taught by Hill in order to provide the predictable results of providing a more effective stimulation therapy.
Claim 204 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klostermann et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number: US 2007/0049991 A1, hereinafter Klostermann” - PREVIOUSLY CITED) in view of in view of Denker et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number: US 2007/0156204 A1, hereinafter “Denker”) and Hill et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number: US 2007/0213773 A1, hereinafter “Hill” - PREVIOUSLY CITED) and further in view of Aghassian (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number: US 2010/0137948 A1, hereinafter “Aghassian” - PREVIOUSLY CITED).
Regarding claim 204,Resp. to Office Action of October 7, 2021 Klostermann in view of Denker and Hill teaches the claimed invention as discussed above, but does not specifically teach adjusting the stimulation based on performance of the implantable device. Aghassian further teaches that the depth at which the implantable medical device is implanted is calculated and the stimulation is adjusted based on depth of the implantable device (e.g. Fig. 7, [0013]) and therefore they teach at the treatment parameter is adjusted based on performance of the implantable device. Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Klostermman in view of Denker and Hill and adjust the stimulation based on the performance of the implanted device as taught by Aghassian in order to provide the predictable results of providing a more effective and customized therapy to the patient.
Double Patenting
Claim 193-212 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. US 11633151. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the cliams of the instant application are broader and overlaps the subject matter of US Patent Number US 11633151 since both claim are comprise an external and an implantable device configured to transmit and receive a power and a periodic signal and wherein the implantable device comprises at least one functional element configured to one or both of neuromodulate tissue of the patient and record patient information, wherein the system is configured to enter a warning state when one or both of: the implantable device does not reply to the periodic signal and the implantable device does not receive the periodic signal. Further the dependent claims of the current application recite limitations which are similar to or are broader and overlap subject matter of US Patent Number US 11633151. Following the rationale in In re Goodman, cited above, where applicant has once been granted a patent containing a claim for the specific or narrower invention, applicant may not then obtain a second patent with a claim for the generic or broader invention without first submitting an appropriate terminal disclaimer.
Conclusion
/MALLIKA D FAIRCHILD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792