Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-4 and 6-10 in the reply filed on 10/14/25 is acknowledged.
Claims 5, 11-25 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Please note: Applicant elected claims 1-17 without traverse, and within claims 1-17 elected species (i) and listed them as claims 1-4, 6-10, 18-20 and 22-25. This is an error since claims 18-20 and 22-25 are withdrawn claims. Therefore, only the species (i) of the elected claims (1-17) will be considered (i.e. claims 1-4 and 6-10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites “a machine, the machine configured to move the came of the tool…”. What are the mets and bounds for the term machine in this context?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Szewczyk (USP 4,408,507).
Regarding claim 1, Szewczyk discloses a cutting system comprising: a tool comprising a cam (ratchet 96) connected with a cutting insert (70); and a stationary fixture (130) spaced apart from the tool, the stationary fixture comprising a moveable indexing pin (lever 114) moveable relative to the stationary fixture (figures 1 and 5); wherein the cam (96) of the tool is configured to be moved into contact with the moveable indexing pin (114 via paws 98) of the stationary fixture, and the moveable indexing pin of the stationary fixture is configured to cause the cam to rotate thereby indexing the cutting insert (figures 1-5 and col. 3, line 47 through col. 5, line 11).
Regarding claim 4, Szewczyk discloses a plunger (98), the plunger (98) movable relative to the cam and configured to prevent the cam from rotating after the insert is indexed (figure 5 and col 4, lines 35-36).
Regarding claim 6, Szewczyk discloses wherein the stationary fixture comprises a biasing member (122) biasing the moveable indexing pin (114) relative to the stationary fixture (figure 5).
Regarding claim 8, as best understood, Szewczyk discloses a machine, the machine configured to move the cam of the tool into contact with the moveable indexing pin of the stationary fixture, the moveable indexing pin of the stationary fixture configured to index the cutting insert as the machine moves the tool relative to the stationary fixture (figures 1-5 and col. 3, line 47 through col. 5, line 11).
. Regarding claim 9, Szewczyk discloses wherein the tool comprises a tool holder comprising a pocket, the cutting insert (70) disposed within and against the pocket with an interference fit preventing the cutting insert from rotating relative to the pocket, the
pocket configured to be relatively moved away from the cutting insert allowing the cutting insert to rotate (please note: Szewczyk discloses insert backup plate 110 is “The backup plate 110 is generally "C" shaped and is arranged radially adjacent the cutting tool 70 in the end of the tool bar 32 to minimize extraneous movement of the cutting tool 70 with respect to the tool bar 32”, thus reads on the interference fit limitation broadly.
Regarding claim 10, Szewczyk discloses wherein the tool comprises a biasing member (pre-loaded nut 92) biasing the cutting insert towards the pocket.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3 and 7 re rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Szewczyk (USP 4,408,507).
Regarding claim 2, Szewczyk discloses wherein the cam comprises spaced-apart slots (S: see figure below) disposed around an outer surface of the cam (96), each of the spaced-apart slots extending along a respective longitudinal axis which is disposed at a parallel angle relative to an axis (0) around which the cam is configured to rotate (please note, figure 5/figure below is a sectional view looking down)
[AltContent: textbox (O)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (S)][AltContent: arrow]
Szewczyk discloses the slot being parallel to axis O. However, regarding claims 2 and 3, Examiner takes Official Notice that it is old and well known in the machine to select a variety designs for cams depending on the space availability and movement desired. Furthermore, although, Szewczyk discloses wherein the moveable indexing pin (114) of the stationary fixture is configured to move side to side, similarly it can be made to move vertically instead depending on the desired movement, space etc.
Conclusion
/SARA ADDISU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722 11/29/25