DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 12/17/2025. These drawings are acceptable.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 & 5-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 18/161077. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the both recite similar features such as a fixing member comprising an engagement part, an attachment part, a connection part and a load receiving part.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okamuro (US patent application publication 2005/0150194) in view of Prevot et al. (US patent 5,842,424) (hereinafter Prevot) and Adams et al. (US patent 9,163,842) (hereinafter Adams).
Regarding claim 1, Okamuro discloses a fixing member that fixes a lower surface of an apparatus having a caster to an upper surface of a base, the fixing member comprising: an engagement part (23) that is inserted through a through hole (22) provided in the lower surface of the apparatus, extends along an upper side of the lower surface of the apparatus, and is engaged with the lower surface of the apparatus; an attachment part (27) that extends along an upper side of the upper surface of the base so as to face the engagement part and is attached to the upper surface of the base; a connection part (24) that connects the engagement part and the attachment part by passing through the through hole; and a load receiving part (15) that is provided on a side opposite to the engagement part relative to the connection part and receives a load by making contact with a lower side of the lower surface of the apparatus.
Okamuro does not disclose a fixing member wherein the load receiving part and the connection part are made of a common plate member; wherein the load receiving part is a curved surface formed from the plate member; and the load receiving part is formed by hemming-bending the plate member.
Prevot teaches a fixing member (20) wherein the load receiving part (24) and the connection part (20b) are made of a common plate member (Fig. 6); and the load receiving part is a curved surface formed from the plate member (Fig. 6). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing to replace the load receiving part of Okamuro with the load receiving part of Prevot, because this arrangement would have replaced one known part with another known part yielding a predictable result.
Adams teaches a fixing member wherein a load receiving part is formed by hemming-bending a plate member (at 50, see Fig. 6). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing to modify Okamuro, as previously modified, wherein the load receiving part is formed by hemming-bending the plate member in view of Adams teaching, because this arrangement would have replaced one known configuration with another known configuration yielding a predictable result.
Claim(s) 5-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okamuro in view of Tsukada et al. (US patent 11,999,527) (hereinafter Tsukada).
Regarding claim 5, Okamuro discloses a fixing member that fixes a lower surface of an apparatus having a caster to an upper surface of a base, the fixing member comprising: an engagement part (23) that is inserted through a through hole (22) provided in the lower surface of the apparatus, extends along an upper side of the lower surface of the apparatus, and is engaged with the lower surface of the apparatus; an attachment part (27) that extends along an upper side of the upper surface of the base so as to face the engagement part and is attached to the upper surface of the base; a connection part (24) that connects the engagement part and the attachment part by passing through the through hole; and a load receiving part (15) that is provided on a side opposite to the engagement part relative to the connection part and receives a load by making contact with a lower side of the lower surface of the apparatus.
Okamuro does not disclose wherein the connection part has a bent part, a lower part that extends obliquely from the bent part, and an upper part that extends obliquely from the bent part.
Tsukada teaches a connection part (50) with a bent part (521), a lower part (52) that extends obliquely from the bent part, and an upper part (53) that extends obliquely from the bent part (Fig. 3). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing to modify Okamuro wherein the connection part has a bent part, a lower part that extends obliquely from the bent part, and an upper part that extends obliquely from the bent part in view of Tsukada’s teaching, because this arrangement would have replaced one known part with another known part yielding a predictable result.
Regarding claim 6, Okamuro, as modified, teaches a fixing member herein the bent part is bent in a direction away from the engagement part (Tsukada: Figs. 3 & 4).
Regarding claim 7, Okamuro, as modified, teaches a fixing member wherein the bent part is provided closer to the attachment part than to the engagement part (Tsukada: Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 8, Okamuro, as modified, teaches a fixing member wherein an upper end of the upper part connects to the engagement part and a lower end of the lower part connects to the attachment part (Tsukada: Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 9, Okamuro, as modified, teaches a fixing member wherein the upper end and the lower end are positioned on a same side relative to the connection part in a direction perpendicular to a load receiving direction and perpendicular to a boundary line between the upper part and the lower part (Tsukada: Figs. 3 & 4).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 12/17/2025, with respect to the drawings have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of drawings has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 12/17/2025 with respect to the double patenting rejection have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Both the instant claims and the co-pending claims still recite similar features such as a fixing member comprising an engagement part, an attachment part, a connection part and a load receiving part, thus the double patenting rejection remains.
Applicant's arguments filed 12/17/2025 with respect to new claim 1
Applicant’s arguments with respect to new claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 12/17/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-4 because Prevot does not teach hemming-bending because Prevot does not teach tab 24 to be folded by 180 degrees have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Okamuro, Prevot and Adams.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 12/17/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 5 in view of Fork have been fully considered and are persuasive because Fork does not teach a bent part, a lower part and an upper part that both extend obliquely from the bent part. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Okamuro and Tsukada.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL J ROHRHOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637