DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 4-6 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on December 12, 2025.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: "a compression unit that compresses" at line 4 of claim 1.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. With reference to para [0019] of the specification as originally filed (and Figs. 1-2), the structure described in the specification is a roll pressing machine that includes a pair of pressing rollers, or equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, at line 6, the phrase "with buffer members interposed" renders the claim unclear and thus indefinite. The term "interposed" requires the insertion or placement of the buffer members between one thing and another. The phrase "with buffer members interposed" amounts to a dangling modifier rendering unclear to what two things the buffer members are "interposed." If Applicant intended to recite that the buffer members are interposed between the compression unit and the material being worked upon, e.g., the laminate, the claim should clearly recite such positioning. However, if Applicant intended to recite buffer members interposed between features of the pressing apparatus, e.g., rollers, the claim should clearly recite such positioning.
Regarding claim 2, at line 2, the recitation of "a laminate" renders antecedent basis unclear in view of the recitation of "a laminate" at line 1 of claim 1 and recitation of "the laminate" at lines 4, 5 and 7 of claim 1.
Claim 3 is rejected in view of its dependency from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nec Energy Devices, LTD., WO 2019/142669 (hereafter Nec), discussed with reference to the attached machine translation of the description.
Regarding claim 1, Nec discloses a pressing apparatus (Fig. 4; paras [0046]-[0057]). The recitation in claim 1 of "for pressing a laminate including electrodes and solid electrolyte layers" is a statement of purpose or intended use. As this statement recites no limiting structure of the apparatus, it not considered a limitation of claim 1. MPEP 2111.02 (I. and II.). In order to advance prosecution on the merits, it is noted that Nec is directed to a lithium ion battery electrode (Abstract) and Fig. 4 illustrates a roll pressing device wherein an electrode 1 is fed between two pressing rolls 10 (para [0046]). The electrode 1 includes a current collector 2 and an active material layer 3 (para [0046]), i.e., a laminated structure. The material being worked upon by the pressing apparatus of Nec may be a negative electrode for a lithium ion battery, also understood to be a laminate structure (paras [0059]-[0064]).
Regarding the recitation of "a compression unit that compresses the laminate," please see the discussion in the Claim Interpretation section above. Pursuant to Section 112(f), this limitation is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that performs the claimed function, and equivalents thereof which in this instance is a roll pressing machine that includes a pair of pressing rollers, or equivalents thereof. Nec discloses a roll pressing machine at Fig. 4 that includes a pair of rollers 10 (para [0046]).
Nec further discloses its compression unit may include a first buffer film 5 interposed between the upper roller 10 and the illustrated electrode 1 and a second buffer film 5 interposed between the lower roller 10 and the electrode 1 (Fig. 4 and paras [0046]-[0048]). Thus Nec discloses "buffers" interposed between the compression unit and the material being worked upon, i.e., the laminate, as well as "buffers" disposed between the two rollers of the roll pressing machine.
Regarding the recitation that the buffer members have "recesses or projections on surfaces adjacent to the laminate," Nec discloses that its buffer film has an arithmetic mean roughness that comes into contact with the electrode 1 of, for example, 0.1 to 2.0 µm (para [0055]). Thus, Nec discloses the film has finely spaced micro-irregularities that may be described as peaks and valleys on the surface, also understood as recesses and projections. The examiner notes that the recited "laminate" is the material being worked upon and not considered a limitation of the claim.
Regarding claim 2, the recitation of "wherein the compression unit compresses a laminate having a negative electrode containing lithium," is directed entirely to the material being worked upon and thus does not further limit claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, please see the rejection of claim 1 above discussing the roll pressing machine of Nec illustrated in Fig. 4 and described at paras [0046]-[0047]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Toyota Ind Corp, JP2013105585 (see Figs. 2(a) and (b) teaching a pressing apparatus including press rolls 21 and 22 having a surface roughness, i.e., a surface member with recesses or projections, the roughness being transferred to a negative electrode active material layer 13a during pressing (paras [0026]-[0028])).
/CYNTHIA L SCHALLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746