DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4 recites, “wherein both ends of at least one of the plurality of guide blocks in the third direction have different widths, and wherein the third direction is perpendicular to both the first direction and the second direction”. Here, the first recitation of “the third direction” should be amended to read “a third direction”, as supported by the instant specification [0067], in order to increase clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites, “wherein the battery module includes a plurality of end plates” (emphasis added). Here, it is unclear whether “a plurality of end plates” is meant to include the “one or more end plates” recited in amended Claim 1, or whether this limitation is meant to introduce new, distinct end plates. For instance, in the case where two end plates are mapped to “one or more end plates” in Clam 1, it is unclear whether these two end plates would also read on “a plurality of end plates”, or whether Claim 8 would require additional end plates. As such, Claim 8 and dependent Claims 9-13 are rejected as being indefinite. For the sake of compact prosecution, it will be interpreted that Claim 8 includes in the end plates previously recited in Claim 1, as supported by the instant specification [0055-0059] (see also instant Figs. 4-5).
Claim 9 recites, “wherein the plurality of sub-modules and the one or more end plates are alternately disposed in the first direction”. Similarly, Claims 10, 12 and 13 recite the phrase “the one or more end plates”. Since Claim 8 has been amended to recite “a plurality of end plates”, it is unclear whether Claims 9, 10, 12 and 13 are intended to refer to one of the “plurality of end plates” of Claim 8, or whether these claims are intended to refer back to the “one or more end plates of Claim 1”. As such, Claims 9, 10, 12 and 13 and dependent Claim 11 is rejected as being indefinite. Since it is interpreted that Claim 8 includes the “one or more end plates” of Claim 1 (see rejection of Claim 8, above), for the sake of compact prosecution it will be interpreted that Claims 9, 10, 12 and 13 refer to any one or more of the “plurality of end plates” of Claim 8.
Claim 16 recites “wherein the battery module includes a plurality of end plates” (emphasis added). As discussed in detail with regards to Claim 8, this limitation is unclear since Claim 14 has been amended to recite that the battery module includes “one or more end plates”. The intended meaning of Claim 16 is further complicated by the indication that the plurality of end plates have “an insertion groove into which the one or more guide blocks are inserted”. The Examiner notes that the instant specification indicates an insertion groove is provided for each respective guide block [0071-0072]. Therefore, it is unclear whether Applicant is intending to recite one end plate and one respective insertion groove, or whether Applicant is intending to recite multiple end plates and multiple respective insertion grooves. As such, Claim 16 is rejected as being indefinite. For the sake of compact prosecution, it will be interpreted that the “plurality of end plates” include the end plates recited in Claim 14, and that each end plate has a respective insertion groove, as supported by the instant specification [0055-0059, 0071-0072].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) / 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yoon et al. (WO-2022015030-A1; see also English equivalent US-20220416358-A1 for citations).
Regarding Claim 1, Yoon discloses a battery pack [0042-0043], comprising:
a pack housing (200, Fig. 4) having an internal space; and
a battery module (corresponds to the combination of battery modules 100, Fig. 4) including a plurality of battery cells [0014] and accommodated in the internal space,
wherein the battery module includes one or more end plates (end plate 50, Fig. 5; [0034]),
wherein the pack housing includes a support frame (fluid passage bracket 300, Figs. 7-9) opposing at least one side of the battery module (bottom side; see Figs. 5, 7) and having a venting passage (P, Figs. 5-6, 9) formed therein [0045].
Yoon discloses that the support frame (fluid passage bracket 300) and the battery module (100) are separated by a venting hole stud (400, Fig. 5). The space which is occupied by the venting hole stud is broadly and reasonably interpreted, in light of the instant specification [instant specification: 0092, 0094, 0104], as reading on a “spacing”. Therefore, it is interpreted that the support frame is spaced apart from the one or more end plates (i.e. via the space occupied by the vent hole stud) so as to define a spacing with the one or more end plates (see annotation of Yoon Fig. 5, below). Such an interpretation of the spacing is reasonable, since the instant specification indicates that the spacing is at least partially filled by the guide block [instant specification: 0092, 0094].
Annotation of Yoon Fig. 5.
The instant specification indicates that the shape of the guide block is not limited [instant specification: 0096-0097]. Therefore, a “guide block” is broadly and reasonably interpreted as a structure which is capable of being “inserted into the battery module”. Accordingly, Yoon discloses that the support frame includes:
a plurality of guide blocks (venting hole studs 400, Fig. 7) inserted into the battery module (see Fig. 5; [0048]); and
an opening (bracket hole 300a).
Yoon discloses that each venting hole stud corresponds to a respective bracket hole [0048]. Therefore, an opening (i.e. bracket hole 300a) between two guide blocks (i.e. venting hole studs 400) corresponds to the claimed “opening”. As such, Yoon discloses that the opening is disposed between the plurality of guide blocks (see annotation of Yoon Fig. 7, below). Yoon also discloses that the opening communicates with the venting passage [0046]. Since Yoon does not teach that a gas-tight seal is formed between the support structure surrounding the opening and the venting holes studs, it is understood that the opening also communicates with the spacing (i.e. slight gaps between the structures allow for the opening to communicate with the spacing).
Annotation of Yoon Fig. 7.
“Face” is broadly and reasonably interpreted as a surface/structure which is oriented towards another surface/structure, as supported by the Merriam-Webster Dictionary. Accordingly, Yoon further discloses that the opening is formed on a surface of the support frame (i.e. the top surface of the support frame) that faces the end plate (i.e. the top surface of the support frame is oriented towards the end plate; see Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 2, Yoon discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Yoon discloses that a portion of the plurality of battery cells are stacked in a first direction (Y-direction, Fig. 7; [0038]), and wherein the plurality of guide blocks are spaced apart from each other in the first direction (see annotation of Yoon Fig. 7, above).
Regarding Claim 3, Yoon discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Yoon discloses that at least one of the guide blocks protrudes from the support frame in a second direction (Z-direction, Fig. 7) toward the battery module, and wherein the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction.
Regarding Claim 4, Yoon discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Yoon discloses that both ends of at least one of the plurality of guide blocks in the third direction (X-direction, Fig. 6) have different widths, and wherein the third direction is perpendicular to both the first direction and the second direction (see annotation of Yoon Fig. 6, below).
Annotation of Yoon Fig. 6.
Regarding Claim 5, Yoon discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Yoon discloses that the venting passage (P, Fig. 9) extends in the first direction (Y-direction) from an internal portion of the support frame (see Fig. 9; [0045-0046]).
Regarding Claim 6, Yoon discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. “Groove” is defined by the Merriam-Webster Dictionary as “a long narrow channel or depression”. Yoon discloses that the guide blocks are inserted into a respective receiving hole formed in the battery module as a narrow channel (see annotation of Yoon Fig. 5, below). Accordingly, Yoon discloses that the battery module (i.e. the combination of battery modules 100) includes a plurality of insertion grooves (see annotation of Yoon Fig. 5, below) into which the plurality of guide blocks are inserted [0047-0049].
Annotation of Yoon Fig. 5.
Regarding Claim 7, Yoon discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Yoon further discloses that the battery module includes a venting hole (module hole 40a, Fig. 1). The venting hole (module hole 40a) is interpreted as being located at a position corresponding to the claimed “opening” (i.e. bracket hole 300a). Since the insertion grooves are interpreted as being located at positions corresponding to the guide blocks (see annotation of Yoon Fig. 7, below), the venting hole is “disposed between the plurality of insertion grooves and opposing the opening”.
Annotation of Yoon Fig. 7.
Regarding Claim 14, Yoon discloses a battery pack [0042-0043], comprising:
a battery module (corresponds to the combination of battery modules 100) including a plurality of sub-modules (modules 100) disposed side by side in a first direction (Y-direction, Fig. 7); and
a pack housing (200, Fig. 4) having an internal space in which the battery module is accommodated (see Fig. 4),
wherein the battery module includes one or more end plates (end plate 50, Fig. 5; [0034]),
wherein the pack housing includes a support frame (fluid passage bracket 300, Figs. 7-9) opposing at least one side of the battery module (bottom side; see Figs. 5, 7) and having a venting passage (P, Figs. 5-6, 9) formed therein [0045].
Yoon discloses that the support frame (fluid passage bracket 300) and the battery module (100) are separated by a venting hole stud (400, Fig. 5). The space which is occupied by the venting hole stud is broadly and reasonably interpreted, in light of the instant specification [instant specification: 0092, 0094, 0104], as reading on a “spacing”. Therefore, it is interpreted that the support frame is spaced apart from the one or more end plates (i.e. via the space occupied by the vent hole stud) so as to define a spacing with the one or more end plates (see annotation of Yoon Fig. 5, below). Such an interpretation of the spacing is reasonable, since the instant specification indicates that the spacing is at least partially filled by the guide block [instant specification: 0092, 0094].
Annotation of Yoon Fig. 5.
Yoon further discloses that the support frame includes:
a plurality of openings (bracket holes 300a) spaced apart from each other in the first direction (see annotation of Yoon Fig. 7, below) and communicating with the venting passage [0046] and the spacing (i.e. slight gaps between the support frame and the battery module allow for the opening to communicate with the spacing).
The instant specification indicates that the shape of the guide block is not limited [instant specification: 0096-0097]. Therefore, a “guide block” is broadly and reasonably interpreted as a structure which is capable of being “inserted into the battery module”. Yoon discloses that each venting hole stud (400; reads on guide block) corresponds to a respective bracket hole (300a) [0048]. Therefore, a guide block (i.e. venting hole stud 400) between two openings (i.e. bracket holes 300a) corresponds to the claimed “guide block”. As such, Yoon discloses one or more guide blocks disposed between the plurality of openings and inserted into the battery module (see Fig. 5; [0048]).
Annotation of Yoon Fig. 7.
“Faces” is broadly and reasonably interpreted as a surface/structure which is oriented towards another surface/structure, as supported by the Merriam-Webster Dictionary. Accordingly, Yoon further discloses that the plurality of openings are formed on a surface of the support frame (i.e. the top surface of the support frame) that faces the end plate (i.e. the top surface of the support frame is oriented towards the end plate; see Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 15, Yoon discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Yoon further discloses that the one or more guide blocks and the plurality of openings are alternately disposed in the first direction (Y-direction, see annotation of Yoon Fig. 7, above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-8 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo et al. (US-20180358593-A1) in view of Chen et al. (CN-106025129-A; see also English translation provided 10/27/2025 for citations).
Regarding Claim 1, Seo discloses a battery pack (combination of cell module assembly 100 and pack structure 120, Fig. 2; [0003, 0032]) comprising:
a pack housing (pack structure 120 including pack tray 121; [0018, 0032, 0039]) having an internal space; and
a battery module (cell module assembly 100, Fig. 2) including a plurality of battery cells [0033] and accommodated in the internal space (see Fig. 2; [0032-0033]).
Although Seo does not directly disclose that the battery module includes “one or more end plates”, Seo strongly suggests that end plates are provided at opposite ends of each of the cell modules in the Figures (see Figs. 3-4; MPEP 2125, I), thereby rendering obvious that the battery module includes one or more end plates.
Annotation of Seo Fig. 3.
Assuming, arguendo, that Seo does not disclose with sufficient specificity that the cell modules include end plates, such a configuration would have been obvious in view of the teachings of Chen. Chen teaches that the battery module is provided with a protruded portion (reads on end plate) at each end of the battery module (see Chen Fig. 1) [0042-0048, 0071-0074]. Advantageously, the end plates help to position the battery module on the battery box (reads on support frame) [0046-0048].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided end plates at either end of each cell module of Seo with a reasonable expectation that such a configuration would result in a successful battery pack.
Seo discloses that the pack housing includes a support frame (pack tray 121, Fig. 2) opposing at least one side of the battery module (bottom side; see Fig. 1) and having a venting passage (passage 115, Fig. 2) formed therein [0015, 0018, 0034, 0040-0041].
Seo discloses that a heat sink (110, Fig. 2) is placed between the battery module (cell module assembly 100) and the support frame (pack tray 121) [0038-0039]. The heat sink is interpreted, in light of the instant specification [instant specification: 0092, 0094, 0104], as creating a “spacing” between the support frame (pack tray 121) and the one or more end plates. Therefore, it is interpreted that the support frame is spaced apart from the one or more end plates (i.e. via the space created and partially occupied by the heat sink 110) so as to define a spacing with the one or more end plates (see annotation of Seo Fig. 2, below). Such an interpretation of the spacing is reasonable, since the instant specification indicates that the spacing is at least partially filled by a structure (i.e. the guide block; see instant specification: [0092, 0094]).
Annotation of Seo Fig. 2.
Seo discloses that that the battery module is positioned on the pack tray such that a first venting hole of a battery module (first venting hole 101, Fig. 4) corresponds to a venting hole within the pack tray (second venting hole 122, Fig. 4; see also Fig. 2) [0034, 0036], thereby establishing the necessity of accurately positioning the battery module (cell module assembly 100) on the support frame (pack tray 121). Although not explicitly addressed in the specification of the prior art, Seo discloses that the ends of each battery module are connected via fastening members and fastening holes to the pack tray (see annotation of Seo Figs. 4-5, below; MPEP 2125, I). Modified Seo does not disclose that the support frame (i.e. pack tray) includes a plurality of guide blocks.
Annotation of Seo Fig. 4 (left) and Fig. 5 (right).
Chen teaches that generally the connection between a battery module and a battery box is achieved through nuts and bolts, which causes slow assembly speed, thereby affecting production efficiency [0004-0005]. Furthermore, the matching structure of nuts and bolts can loosen when then battery module is placed in an electronic device, thereby reducing safety [0005]. Advantageously, Chen teaches that such issues can be overcome by providing buckles fixed to the battery box which can be inserted into corresponding buckle holes of the battery module [0011, 0026, 0030, 0040, 0045, 0048]. The number of buckles is four, and the buckle holes are located at the four corners of the battery module (see Fig. 1; [0026]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have substituted the fastening member and fastening holes disclosed by Seo for buckles and buckles holes as taught by Chen with a reasonable expectation that such a configuration would successfully mount the battery module to the support frame (MPEP 2143, I, B).
The instant specification indicates that the shape of the guide block is not limited [instant specification: 0096-0097]. Therefore, a “guide block” is broadly and reasonably interpreted as a structure which is capable of being “inserted into the battery module”. Accordingly, the buckles of modified Seo (see annotation of Chen Fig. 1, below) read on the recited limitation of “a plurality of guide blocks” inserted into the battery module (i.e. inserted into the correspond buckle mounting hole of the battery module; [Chen: 0048]).
Annotation of Chen Fig. 1.
Seo discloses that the support frame includes an opening (second venting hole 122, Fig. 4; [0034]) disposed between the plurality of guide blocks (i.e. the opening is disposed directly between two adjacent guide blocks). The opening communicates with the venting passage and the spacing (see Fig. 2; [0034, 0038-0039]).
“Faces” is broadly and reasonably interpreted as a surface/structure which is oriented towards another surface/structure, as supported by the Merriam-Webster Dictionary. Accordingly, modified Seo further discloses that the opening is formed on a surface of the support frame (i.e. the top surface of the support frame) that faces the one or more end plates (i.e. the top surface of the support frame is oriented towards the end plates; see Seo Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Seo renders obvious all of the limitations as set forth above, including that the battery module includes a plurality of buckles holes corresponding to the guide blocks (see rejection of Claim 1, above). “Groove” is defined by the Merriam-Webster Dictionary as “a long narrow channel or depression”. The buckles holes are depicted as narrow channels (see Chen Fig. 2), and therefore the buckle holes read on “a plurality of insertion grooves”. A respective guide block is inserted into a respective insertion groove [Chen: 0026, 0030, 0043].
Regarding Claim 7, modified Seo renders obvious all of the limitations as set forth above. Seo further discloses that the battery module includes a venting hole (first venting hole 101, Fig. 4) which is located at a position corresponding to the opening (i.e. second venting hole 122) [0034]. Since the insertion grooves are located at positions corresponding to the guide blocks (see annotation of Seo Fig. 4, below), the venting hole and insertion grooves can be selected such that the venting hole is “disposed between the plurality of insertion grooves and opposing the opening”.
Annotation of Seo Fig. 4.
Regarding Claim 8, modified Seo renders obvious all of the limitations as set forth above, including that the battery module includes end plates at either end of each cell module (see rejection of Claim 1, above), thereby rendering obvious that the battery module includes “a plurality of end plates opposing the plurality of battery cells” (see 112(b) rejection and interpretation, above).
Although Seo does not specifically teach that that the insertion grooves are provided in the end plates, Seo strongly suggests such a configuration (see annotation of Seo Figs. 3-4, below), thereby rendering obvious providing the insertion grooves in the end plates (MPEP 2125, I).
Annotation of Seo Fig. 3 (left) and Fig. 4 (right).
Assuming, arguendo, that Seo does not disclose with sufficient specificity that the insertion groove is disposed on the end plates, such a configuration would have been obvious in view of the teachings of Chen. Chen teaches that the battery module is provided with a protruded portion (reads on end plate) at each end of the battery module (see Chen Fig. 1), and that the buckles engage with buckle holes provided in protruded portions (see Figs. 2-3), thereby facilitating positioning of the battery module [0040, 0043, 0045-0048].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided the end plates such that they comprise the insertion grooves which correspond to the guide blocks with a reasonable expectation that such a configuration would result in a successful battery pack.
Seo discloses that the cell modules are placed adjacent to one another (see annotation of Seo Fig. 2, below). Accordingly, any two or more insertion grooves can be selected which satisfy the limitation “each of the plurality of insertion grooves is disposed on at least one end of a respective end plate of the plurality of end plates”.
Annotation of Seo Fig. 2.
Regarding Claim 14, Seo discloses a battery pack (combination of cell module assembly 100 and pack structure 120, Fig. 2; [0003, 0032]) comprising:
a battery module (cell module assembly 100, Fig. 2) including a plurality of sub-modules (cell modules 100a-110c) disposed side by side in a first direction (width direction; see Fig. 2), and
a pack housing (pack structure 120 including pack tray 121; [0018, 0032, 0039]) having an internal space in which the battery module is accommodated (see Fig. 2) [0032-0033].
Although Seo does not directly disclose that the battery module includes “one or more end plates”, Seo strongly suggests that end plates are provided at opposite ends of each of the cell modules in the Figures (see Figs. 3-4; MPEP 2125, I), thereby rendering obvious that the battery module includes one or more end plates.
Annotation of Seo Fig. 3.
Assuming, arguendo, that Seo does not disclose with sufficient specificity that the cell modules include end plates, such a configuration would have been obvious in view of the teachings of Chen. Chen teaches that the battery module is provided with a protruded portion (reads on end plate) at each end of the battery module (see Chen Fig. 1) [0042-0048, 0071-0074]. Advantageously, the end plates help to position the battery module on the battery box (reads on support frame) [0046-0048].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided end plates at either end of each cell module of Seo with a reasonable expectation that such a configuration would result in a successful battery pack.
Seo discloses that the pack housing includes a support frame (pack tray 121, Fig. 2) opposing at least one side of the battery module (bottom side; see Fig. 1) and having a venting passage (passage 115, Fig. 2) formed therein [0015, 0018, 0034, 0040-0041].
Seo discloses that a heat sink (110, Fig. 2) is placed between the battery module (cell module assembly 100) and the support frame (pack tray 121) [0038-0039]. The heat sink is interpreted, in light of the instant specification [instant specification: 0092, 0094, 0104], as creating a “spacing” between the support frame (pack tray 121) and the one or more end plates. Therefore, it is interpreted that the support frame is spaced apart from the one or more end plates (i.e. via the space created and partially occupied by the heat sink 110) so as to define a spacing with the one or more end plates (see annotation of Seo Fig. 2, below). Such an interpretation of the spacing is reasonable, since the instant specification indicates that the spacing is at least partially filled by a structure (i.e. the guide block; see instant specification: [0092, 0094]).
Annotation of Seo Fig. 2.
Seo discloses a plurality of openings (corresponds to each second venting hole 122) spaced apart from each other in the first direction (see annotation of Seo Fig. 2, below) and communicating with the venting passage and the spacing (see Fig. 2; [0034, 0036, 0038-0039]).
Annotation of Seo Fig. 2.
Seo discloses that that the battery module is positioned on the pack tray such that a first venting hole of a sub-module (first venting hole 101, Fig. 4) corresponds to a venting hole within the pack tray (second venting hole 122, Fig. 4; see also Fig. 2) [0034, 0036], thereby establishing the necessity of accurately positioning the battery module (cell module assembly 100) on the support frame (pack tray 121). Although not explicitly addressed in the specification of the prior art, Seo discloses that the ends of each battery module are connected via fastening members and fastening holes to the pack tray (see annotation of Seo Figs. 4-5, below; MPEP 2125, I). Modified Seo does not disclose that the support frame (i.e. pack tray) includes a guide block.
Annotation of Seo Fig. 4 (left) and Fig. 5 (right).
Chen teaches that generally the connection between a battery module and a battery box is achieved through nuts and bolts, which causes slow assembly speed, thereby affecting production efficiency [0004-0005]. Furthermore, the matching structure of nuts and bolts can loosen when then battery module is placed in an electronic device, thereby reducing safety [0005]. Advantageously, Chen teaches that such issues can be overcome by providing buckles fixed to the battery box which can be inserted into corresponding buckle holes of the battery module [0011, 0026, 0030, 0040, 0045, 0048]. The number of buckles is four, and the buckle holes are located at the four corners of the battery module (see Fig. 1; [0026]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have substituted the fastening member and fastening holes disclosed by Seo for buckles and buckles holes as taught by Chen with a reasonable expectation that such a configuration would successfully mount the battery module to the support frame (MPEP 2143, I, B).
The instant specification indicates that the shape of the guide block is not limited [instant specification: 0096-0097]. Therefore, a “guide block” is broadly and reasonably interpreted as a structure which is capable of being “inserted into the battery module”. Accordingly, the any of the buckles of modified Seo (see annotation of Chen Fig. 1, below) read on the recited limitation of “one or more guide blocks” inserted into the battery module (i.e. inserted into the correspond buckle mounting hole of the battery module; [Chen: 0048]).
Annotation of Chen Fig. 1.
The guide block can be selected such that it is “disposed between the plurality of openings”, as depicted in the annotation of Seo Fig. 2, below.
Annotation of Seo Fig. 2.
“Faces” is broadly and reasonably interpreted as a surface/structure which is oriented towards another surface/structure, as supported by the Merriam-Webster Dictionary. Accordingly, modified Seo further discloses that the opening is formed on a surface of the support frame (i.e. the top surface of the support frame) that faces the one or more end plates (i.e. the top surface of the support frame is oriented towards the end plates; see Seo Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 15, modified Seo renders obvious all of the limitations as set forth, above, including that the one or more guide blocks (i.e. the guide block) and the plurality of openings are alternately disposed in the first direction (see annotation of Seo Fig. 2, above).
Regarding Claim 16, modified Seo renders obvious all of the limitations as set forth, above, including that each sub-module (i.e. cell modules 100a-100c) includes end plates. Therefore, modified Seo is understood to disclose “wherein the battery module includes a plurality of end plates” (see 112(b) rejection and interpretation, above). “Oppose” is broadly and reasonably interpreted, in light of the Merriam-Webster Dictionary, as a structure which is opposite another structure. Therefore, the plurality of end plates oppose (i.e. are opposite to) at least one of the plurality of sub-modules in the first direction (see annotation of Seo Fig. 2, below).
Annotation of Seo Fig. 2.
Modified Seo discloses that the battery module includes a buckle hole corresponding to the guide block (see rejection of Claim 14, above). “Groove” is defined by the Merriam-Webster Dictionary as “a long narrow channel or depression”. The buckle hole is depicted as a narrow channel (see Chen Fig. 2), and therefore the buckle hole reads on “an insertion groove”. A respective guide block is inserted into a respective insertion groove [Chen: 0026, 0030, 0043].
Although modified Seo does not specifically teach that that insertion grooves are provided in the end plates, Seo strongly suggests such a configuration (see annotation of Seo Figs. 3-4, below), thereby rendering obvious providing the insertion grooves in the end plates (MPEP 2125, I).
Annotation of Seo Fig. 3 (left) and Fig. 4 (right).
Assuming, arguendo, that Seo does not disclose with sufficient specificity that the insertion groove is disposed on a respective end plate, such a configuration would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of the teachings of Chen. Chen teaches that the battery module is provided with a protruded portion (reads on end plate) at each end of the battery module (see Chen Fig. 1), and that the buckles engage with buckle holes provided in protruded portions (see Figs. 2-3), thereby facilitating positioning of the battery module [0040, 0043, 0045-0048].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided the end plates such that they each comprise respective insertion grooves which correspond to respective guide blocks with a reasonable expectation that such a configuration would result in a successful battery pack. Therefore, modified Seo is interpreted as disclosing “a plurality of end plates… and having an insertion groove into which the one or more guide blocks are inserted” (see 112(b) rejection and interpretation, above).
Claim(s) 2-5, 9, and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo et al. (US-20180358593-A1) in view of Chen et al. (CN-106025129-A; see also English translation provided 10/27/2025 for citations) as applied to Claims 1 and 8, above, and in further view of Kai et al. (US-20080050645-A1).
Regarding Claim 2, modified Seo renders obvious all of the limitations as set forth above. Although Seo discloses that each cell module includes a plurality of battery cells arranged in a predetermined interval as a stacked structure [0033], Seo does not disclose which direction the cells are stacked.
Kai teaches a battery module (9, Fig. 2) including a plurality of battery cells (cell pack 19, Fig. 3) [0004, 0028, 0039, 0042]. The battery cells are stacked in the longitudinal direction, the width direction, and the height direction (see Figs. 3-4 and 7-8) [0044-0046, 0050]. Advantageously, Kai teaches that such a configuration improves productivity [0045, 0050].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have stacked the plurality of battery cells of modified Seo as taught by Kai with a reasonable expectation that such a configuration would result in a successful battery module with improved productivity. Modified Seo therefore renders obvious that “at least a portion of the plurality of battery cells are stacked in a first direction (corresponds to width direction), and wherein the plurality of guide blocks are spaced apart from each other in the first direction” (see annotation of Seo Fig. 3, below).
Annotation of Seo Fig. 3.
Regarding Claim 3, modified Seo renders obvious all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Seo further renders obvious that the guide blocks protrude from the support frame in a second direction (vertical direction; see Chen Fig. 1) toward the battery module, and wherein the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction.
Regarding Claim 4, modified Seo renders obvious all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Seo further renders obvious that both ends of at least one of the plurality of guide blocks in the third direction have different widths (see annotation of Chen Fig. 1, below), and wherein the third direction is perpendicular to both the first direction and the second direction.
Annotation of Chen Fig. 1.
Assuming, arguendo, that modified Seo does not disclose with sufficient specificity that the guide block has different widths in the third direction, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have formed the base of the guide block to be wider in the third direction with a reasonable expectation that such a configuration would result in a successful guide block capable of fixing the position of the battery module while providing sufficient space to attach the guide block to the support frame as desired by modified Seo [Chen: 0056, 0061].
Regarding Claim 5, modified Seo renders obvious all of the limitations as set forth above. Seo discloses that the venting passage (passage 115, Fig. 5) is formed by a gap between the first plate (121a, Fig. 5) and the second plate (121b, Fig. 5) [0039-0041]. Therefore, the venting passage is understood to extend in all directions, including the first direction, from an internal portion of the support frame.
Regarding Claim 9, modified Seo renders obvious all of the limitations as set forth above, including that the battery module (i.e. the combination of cell modules) include a plurality of sub-modules (i.e. cell modules; see rejection of Claim 1, above), and that each sub-module (i.e. cell module) includes end plates (see rejection of Claim 8, above).
Although Seo discloses that each sub-module includes a plurality of battery cells arranged in a predetermined interval as a stacked structure [0033], modified Seo does not teach which direction the cells are stacked.
Kai teaches a battery module (9, Fig. 2) including a plurality of battery cells (cell pack 19, Fig. 3) [0004, 0028, 0039, 0042]. The battery cells are stacked in the longitudinal direction, the width direction, and the height direction (see Figs. 3-4 and 7-8) [0044-0046, 0050]. Advantageously, Kai teaches that such a configuration improves productivity [0045, 0050].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have stacked the plurality of battery cells of modified Seo as taught by Kai with a reasonable expectation that such a configuration would result in a successful battery module with improved productivity. Modified Seo therefore renders obvious:
a plurality of sub-modules (cell modules 100a-100c) in which the plurality of battery cells are stacked in a first direction (corresponds to width direction).
Since the broadest reasonable interpretation of Claim 9 is that only one end plate is required (see 112(b) rejection and interpretation, above), any combination of sub-modules and end plates can be selected such that “the plurality of sub-modules and the one or more end plates are alternately disposed in the first direction” (see annotation of Seo Fig. 2, below).
Annotation of Seo Fig. 2.
Regarding Claim 12, modified Seo renders obvious all of the limitations as set forth above. Although modified Seo does not explicitly teach a fastening member fastening the one or more end plates to the pack housing, Chen teaches that positioning pins can be used in addition to the buckles (guide blocks). Advantageously, the use of positioning pins aids in positioning the battery, facilitates cooperation between the buckle and the buckle mounting hole, and limits horizontal movement of the battery module, thereby ensuring a strong connection between the structures [0029, 0046, 0073]. The positioning pin (2, Fig. 1) extends from the battery box and is inserted into a positioning pin hole (72, Fig. 3) in the end plate of the battery module (see Fig. 2) [0073].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have included the positioning pins in the battery pack of modified Seo with a reasonable expectation that the addition of positioning pins would result in a successful battery module wherein each sub-module is successfully and securely connected to the support frame. A positioning pin reads on the recited limitation of a fastening member. The fastening member fastens the end plate to the pack housing (i.e. to the support frame of the pack housing).
Regarding Claim 13, modified Seo renders obvious all of the limitations as set forth above. The fastening member is fastened to the pack housing by penetrating the end plate in a direction perpendicular to the first direction (i.e. vertical direction; see annotation of Chen Fig. 2, below).
Annotation of Chen Fig. 2.
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo et al. (US-20180358593-A1) in view of Chen et al. (CN-106025129-A; see also English translation provided 10/27/2025 for citations) and in view of Kai et al. (US-20080050645-A1) as applied to Claim 9, above, and in view of Sheldon et al. (WO-2009121613-A1).
Regarding Claims 10-11, modified Seo renders obvious all of the limitations as set forth in Claim 9, above. Seo discloses that the battery module (cell module assembly) is designed such that when an event due to overcharging or the like occurs in any one sub-module (cell module), vented gases and flame is prevented from damaging or causing an additional event in the adjacent sub-modules [0009, 0042-0043]. Modified Seo does not teach a heat insulating member disposed between the one or more end plates and the plurality of sub-modules.
Sheldon teaches a battery module comprising a plurality of battery cells (Abstract). Sheldon teaches that a mica insulating sheet can be included in the battery module (Pg. 8, lines 25-29). Advantageously, the insulation sheet can reduce the likelihood of short circuits and help to contain the impact of module failure (Pg. 5, lines 4-16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have included mica insulating sheets including mica as taught by Sheldon in the battery sub-modules of modified Seo with a reasonable expectation that such a configuration would result in a successful battery module capable of reducing preventing short circuits and reducing the impact of module failure. The combination of mica insulating sheets in each sub-module is understood to read on the claimed “heat insulating member” as required by Claim 10 and to further read on a heat insulating sheet including “mica” as required by Claim 11. Since Sheldon teaches that the mica insulating sheet is formed to surround the battery cells (see Sheldon: Fig. 8; Pg. 8, lines 25-29), the combination of mica insulating sheets are understood to be disposed “between the one or more end plates and the plurality of sub-modules”.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. As an initial matter, the Examiner noes that Applicant has stated that in the Interview conducted 01/13/2026, the Examiner agreed the present claims would overcome the cited references (Remarks, Pg. 8). The Examiner respectfully disagrees with this interpretation of the interview. The Examiner notes that the claims presented herein are different from the claims presented for consideration in the interview, and the Examiner notes that the interview summary concluded that the proposed claims would overcome the previous rejections of record, but that further search and consideration would be necessary to determine if the claims overcome the prior art of record (see Interview Summary and Office Action Appendix mailed 01/16/2026). As laid out above in the rejections of record, the art of record is still considered relevant to the amended claims.
Applicant has argued that the location of the opening of Yoon is within the module housing, which differs from the instant application, and that Yoon does not allow gas or foreign substances to be introduced into the opening from outside the module housing (Remarks, Pg. 12).
In response, the Examiner notes that Yoon teaches an opening within the support frame (bracket hole 300a), which reads on the claimed “opening” (see rejection of Claim 1 over Yoon, above). The claims do not require for gas or foreign substances to be introduced into the opening from outside the module housing, and therefore this argument does not appear commensurate with the scope of the claims.
Applicant has argued that the flow bracket of Yoon is substantially in contact with the module housing, because the structure interposed between the flow bracket and the module housing is the venting-hole stud, and therefore there is no spacing between the flow bracket and the housing (Remarks, Pg. 13). Applicant has argued that in the present invention the support frame is spaced apart from the battery module and therefore, unlike Yoon, the present invention provides a spacing (P) formed between the support frame (720) and the end plate (300) (Remarks, Pg. 13).
The Examiner has carefully considered this argument, but respectively does not find it persuasive. The spacing (P, Fig. 6) of the instant application is at least partially filled by the guide block (instant application: 721, Fig. 6; [0092, 0094]). Yoon teaches a separation between the support frame and the end plate which is filled by a venting hole stud (reads on guide block; see rejection of Claim 1 over Yoon, above). Therefore, the prior art discloses a structure which is substantially similar to the structure of the instant application, and therefore is understood to disclose the claimed “spacing”.
Applicant has further argued that Seo fails to disclose the claimed spacing between the support frame and the one or more end plates (Remarks, Pg. 15).
In response, the Examiner notes that the heat sink (110, Fig. 2) of Seo necessarily creates a spacing between the pack tray (121, Fig. 2) and an end plate (see rejection of Claim 1 over Seo, above). As noted in regards to the rejection of Claim 1 over Yoon (see above), the instant specification appears to allow for the “spacing” to be at least partially filled by another structure (e.g. the guide block; instant specification: [0092, 0094]).
Other References Considered
The following prior art, although not relied upon in the rejections of record, is considered relevant to the claims:
Chung et al. (US-20250329844-A1) is considered an intervening reference. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216. Chung discloses a battery pack (Fig. 3) including a plurality of end plates (wall 200, Fig. 8), wherein the end plates include an insertion groove (insertion portion 201, Fig. 8) and the battery frame has a corresponding guide block (guide pin 25, Fig. 8) [0075, 0078-0079, 0084-0085].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.C.N./Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751 5/12/2026