DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s Amendment filed on 10/22/2025 regarding claims 1-12 is fully considered. Of the above claims, claims 1-2, 4-5, 8-9 and 11 have been amended, and claim 12 has been newly added.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 12 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, the recitation of “the irradiation portion” in line 5 lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 12, the recitation of “the guide” in line 2 lacks antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-8 and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugahara (US 2010/0156985 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sugahara teaches a printing apparatus (printer 1; FIGs 1-4) comprising:
a printing head configured to eject photocurable ink onto a medium (inkjet head 3; Figs 1-4; the inkjet head 3 is provided on the lower surface of the carriage 2, and ejects UV-curable ink which is photo-curable liquid from nozzles 15 formed on the lower surface to a record sheet P which is an ejection target; [0031]);
a first irradiation portion configured to perform light irradiation of the medium (right one of two ultraviolet light applying apparatuses 4; Figs 1-3; the two ultraviolet light applying apparatuses 4 sandwich the carriage 2 in the scanning direction, and apply ultraviolet light onto the record sheet P or the platen 5; [0031]);
a mounting portion mounted with the first irradiation portion and the printing head in order from the irradiation portion to the printing head along a first direction (carriage 2 is mounted with the two ultraviolet light applying apparatuses 4 and the inkjet head 3 in the direction from right to left; Figs 1-3); and
a driving portion configured to move the mounting portion between a standby position where the printing head stands by and a stop position in the first direction with respect to the standby position (the carriage 2 reciprocates along a guide shaft 12 extending in a scanning direction which is a crosswise direction; Figs 1-3; [0031], [0041], [0045]; the control device 20 moves the carriage 2; [0055]; FIG. 4; during reciprocation, when scanning from right to left, the initial position of the carriage 2 is the standby position, and the end position is the stop position);
a support portion that supports the medium (the platen 5 supports the record sheet P; [0032]; Figs 1-3); and
a guide shaft along the first direction that guides the mounting portion from the standby position to the stop position (guide shaft 12; Figs 1-3), wherein
a length of the portion of the guide shaft extending beyond the support portion in the first direction is shorter than a length of the mounting portion in the first direction, and longer than a length of the printing head in the first direction (a length from the left end of platen 5 to the printer 1 wall is shorter than a length of the full width from the left end of the left ultraviolet light applying apparatus 4 to the right end of the right ultraviolet light applying apparatus 4 and longer than a length of the width of the inkjet head 3; FIG. 2).
Further regarding claim 1, Sugahara does not teach wherein the stop position is a position where the first irradiation portion faces the medium and the printing head does not face the medium.
Further regarding claim 1, one of ordinary skill in the art would have known that the position of the record sheet P in relation to the platen 5 is adjustable in the width direction and that the platen 5 is capable of supporting the record sheet having a maximum width equaling that of the platen 5 for the purpose of printing on a sheet having a maximum width supported by the platen. In a case in which the left edge of the record sheet P coincides with the left edge of the platen 5, the stop position in which the inkjet head 3 is directly over a suction cap 10 is a position where the right ultraviolet light applying apparatus 4 faces the left edge of the record sheet P and the inkjet head 3 does not face the record sheet P.
Regarding claim 2, Sugahara teaches a control portion configured to control the driving portion and the first irradiation portion (control device 20; FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 4, Sugahara teaches the ultraviolet light applying apparatus 4 applies ultraviolet light to immediately cure the ink deposited onto the record sheet P ([0042]) but does not teach wherein the control portion causes the first irradiation portion to stop the light irradiation, before the mounting portion stops at the stop position.
Further regarding claim 4, one of ordinary skill in the art would have known that the ultraviolet light applying apparatus 4 does not apply ultraviolet light to an area of the record sheet P without ink deposited for the purpose of conserving use of the ultraviolet light on a blank area of the record sheet. In a case in which there is a blank area on the record sheet P before the stop position, the control device 20 causes the ultraviolet light applying apparatus 4 to stop the ultraviolet light irradiation, before the carriage 2 stops at the stop position.
Regarding claim 5, Sugahara teaches the ultraviolet light applying apparatus 4 applies ultraviolet light to immediately cure the ink deposited onto the record sheet P ([0042]) but does not teach wherein the control portion causes the first irradiation portion to reduce a light amount of the light irradiation before the mounting portion stops at the stop position.
Further regarding claim 5, one of ordinary skill in the art would have known that the ultraviolet light applying apparatus 4 does not apply ultraviolet light to an area of the record sheet P without ink deposited for the purpose of conserving use of the ultraviolet light on a blank area of the record sheet. In a case in which there is a blank area on the record sheet P before the stop position, the control device 20 causes the ultraviolet light applying apparatus 4 to reduce a light amount to stop the ultraviolet light irradiation before the carriage 2 stops at the stop position.
Regarding claim 6, Sugahara teaches a second irradiation portion mounted to the mounting portion and configured to perform the light irradiation (left one of two ultraviolet light applying apparatuses 4; Figs 1-3), wherein
the second irradiation portion is mounted at a position in the first direction of the printing head (two ultraviolet light applying apparatuses 4 mounted to the left and right side of inkjet head 3 in the right-to-left direction; FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Sugahara teaches wherein the control portion:
controls the driving portion to move the mounting portion stopped at the stop position in a second direction being a reverse direction of the first direction (the carriage 2 reciprocates along a guide shaft 12 extending in a scanning direction which is a crosswise direction; Figs 1-3; [0031], [0041], [0045]) and
after moving the mounting portion to a second stop position where the second irradiation portion faces the medium and the printing head does not face the medium, moves the mounting portion from the second stop position in the first direction (when the right edge of the record sheet P is at the position as depicted in FIG. 6B, the left ultraviolet light applying apparatus 4 faces the record sheet P and the inkjet head 3 does not face the record sheet P).
Regarding claim 8, Sugahara teaches a method of controlling printing apparatus (controlling of the printer 1; FIGs 1-4), the printing apparatus including:
a support portion that supports a medium (the platen 5 supports the record sheet P; [0032]; Figs 1-3);
a mounting portion mounted with an irradiation portion and a printing head in order from the irradiation portion to the printing head along a first direction (carriage 2 is mounted with the two ultraviolet light applying apparatuses 4 and the inkjet head 3 in the direction from right to left; Figs 1-3);
a guide shaft along the first direction that guide the mounting portion from a standby position to a stop position (guide shaft 12; Figs 1-3; during reciprocation, when scanning from right to left, the initial position of the carriage 2 is the standby position, and the end position is the stop position),
wherein the printing apparatus being configured to eject photocurable ink onto the medium (inkjet head 3; Figs 1-4; the inkjet head 3 is provided on the lower surface of the carriage 2, and ejects UV-curable ink which is photo-curable liquid from nozzles 15 formed on the lower surface to a record sheet P which is an ejection target; [0031]),
a length of the guide shaft beyond the support portion in the first direction is shorter than a length of the mounting portion in the first direction, and longer than a length of the printing head in the first direction (a length from the left end of platen 5 to the printer 1 wall is shorter than a length of the full width from the left end of the left ultraviolet light applying apparatus 4 to the right end of the right ultraviolet light applying apparatus 4 and longer than a length of the width of the inkjet head 3; FIG. 2),
the method comprising:
moving the mounting portion from the standby position in the first direction (the carriage 2 reciprocates along a guide shaft 12 extending in a scanning direction which is a crosswise direction; Figs 1-3; [0031], [0041], [0045]; the control device 20 moves the carriage 2; [0055]; FIG. 4; during reciprocation, when scanning from right to left, the initial position of the carriage 2 is the standby position, and the end position is the stop position); and
passing the mounting portion above the medium and stopping the mounting portion at the stop position (the carriage 2 reciprocates along a guide shaft 12 extending in a scanning direction which is a crosswise direction; Figs 1-3; [0031], [0041], [0045]; the control device 20 moves the carriage 2; [0055]; FIG. 4; during reciprocation, when scanning from right to left, the initial position of the carriage 2 is the standby position, and the end position is the stop position).
Further regarding claim 8, Sugahara does not teach the stop position is where the irradiation portion mounted to the mounting portion faces the medium.
Further regarding claim 8, one of ordinary skill in the art would have known that the position of the record sheet P in relation to the platen 5 is adjustable in the width direction and that the platen 5 is capable of supporting the record sheet having a maximum width equaling that of the platen 5 for the purpose of printing on a sheet having a maximum width supported by the platen. In a case in which the left edge of the record sheet P coincides with the left edge of the platen 5, the stop position in which the inkjet head 3 is directly over a suction cap 10 is a position where the right ultraviolet light applying apparatus 4 faces the left edge of the record sheet P and the inkjet head 3 does not face the record sheet P.
Regarding claim 10, Sugahara teaches wherein an edge of the second irradiation portion on a print head side and an edge of the medium are placed in same position in the first direction when the mounting portion is in the second stop position (an edge of left ultraviolet light applying apparatus 4 on the inkjet head 3 side and the right edge of the record sheet P coincide when the carriage 2 is at the end of the guide shaft 12; FIG. 6B).
Regarding claim 11, Sugahara teaches wherein a length of the guide shaft beyond the support portion in the second direction is shorter than a length of the mounting portion in the second direction (a length from the right end of platen 5 to the printer 1 wall is shorter than a length of the full width from the left end of the left ultraviolet light applying apparatus 4 to the right end of the right ultraviolet light applying apparatus 4; FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 12, Sugahara teaches wherein the length of the portion of the guide extending beyond the support portion in the first direction is longer than a sum of a length of the printing head and a length of the first irradiation portion in the first direction (a length from the left end of platen 5 to the printer 1 wall is longer than a sum of a length of the inkjet head 3 and a length of the right ultraviolet light applying apparatus 4; FIG. 2).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugahara (US 2010/0156985 A1) in view of Saito et al. (US 2022/0016916 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Sugahara does not teach wherein the printing head ejects a plurality of types of photocurable ink onto the medium and the plurality of types of photocurable ink include clear ink.
Further regarding claim 3, Saito et al. teach a printing head ejects a plurality of types of photocurable ink onto a medium and the plurality of types of photocurable ink include clear ink (the head unit 300 is formed of heads that respectively eject UV-curable inks for black K, cyan C, magenta M, yellow Y, transparent clear CL, white W, and a primer Pr for basecoat; [0050]) for the purpose of printing different colored images at different glossy levels.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate wherein the printing head ejects a plurality of types of photocurable ink onto the medium and the plurality of types of photocurable ink include clear ink, as taught by Saito et al., into Sugahara for the purpose of printing different colored images at different glossy levels.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The primary reason for indicating allowable subject matter of claim(s) 9 is the inclusion of “an edge of the first irradiation portion on a print head side and an edge of the medium are placed in same position in the first direction when the mounting portion is in the stop position”. These limitations, as they are claimed in the combination, have not been found, taught or suggested by the prior art of record, making claim(s) 9 allowable over the prior art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
14 January 2026
/KENDRICK X LIU/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/DOUGLAS X RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853