DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgement is made to Applicant’s claim to priority to Provisional Application No. 63/319068 filed March 11, 2022.
Status of Claims
This present office action is responsive to the Application filed on March 13, 2023. As directed, claims 1-20 are presently pending in this application.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
¶0049 recites, “placing leg L2 in another position (Fig. 6B)” which Examiner suggest amending to indicate --arm-- instead of “leg” as shown in Fig. 6B.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites, “an at least one” in ln 2 which Examiner suggest amending to read --at least one--
Claims 2-11 are objected by virtue of dependency to claim 1
Claim 9 recites, “said pushing mechanisms having a corresponding on position to push one or more corresponding padded element” in ln 5-7 which Examiner suggest amending to read --said first, second, third, and fourth pushing mechanisms having a corresponding on position to push a corresponding padded element-- for consistency and as described in ¶0052
Claim 11 recites, “an at least one horn” in ln 2 which Examiner suggest amending to read --at least one horn--
Claim 12 recites, “providing a device” in ln 3 which Examiner suggest amending to read --providing the device-- as the physical medicine drop device is introduced in ln 1.
Claim 12 recites, “an at least one” in ln 4 which Examiner suggest amending to read --at least one--
Claim 13-20 are objected by virtue of dependency to claim 12
Claim 14 recites, “in a treatment area” in ln 4-5 which Examiner suggest amending to read --in the treatment area--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-11, 13-15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 10 and 13, claims recite, “said first and said second pushing mechanisms are configured to deliver a more than once per second actuation” which renders claim indefinite. It is unclear what is being delivered by said pushing mechanisms such as rate of actuation, multiple actuations per a second actuation, repeated cycling by repeating the procedure of Fig 8, or simply being triggered twice per second. Further, the “actuation” is described as initiating the “pushing mechanism” (see ¶0016 - “may cause actuation of the intended pushing mechanisms upon the pressing/actuation of a main actuator). Thus, the limitation “actuation” is unclear as the pushing mechanisms are initiated by the first or the second “actuator” of claim 1.
Examiner suggest amending the claim further defining a rate of actuation in terms of speed as described in ¶0021 without new matters.
For the examination purposes, Examiner interprets the claims as to --said first and said second pushing mechanisms are configured to deliver a lifting force-- as described in ¶0016-0021.
Claims 11 and 14-15 and 20 are rejected by virtue of dependency to claims 10 and 13 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 10, 12-14, 16-17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Freelend et al. (US 20220265499 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Freelend et al. discloses, a physical medicine drop device (¶0002, “a bedding foundation having multiple lift actuators to impart a massage effect or lumbar support to a mattress”; the embodiment of Fig 10) comprising:
a housing (a frame of a bedding foundation 10d of Fig 10) having an at least one surface atop said housing along a top plane of said housing (see annotation below, Fig 10);
a first pushing mechanism housed within said housing beneath said at least one surface, said first pushing mechanism is connected to a first padded element (see annotation below, Fig 10);
said first padded element has a first padded surface (198, Fig 10; ¶0072, “Such a cushion pad 224 may be used in any of the embodiments shown or described herein”), said first padded surface aligns substantially with said top plane of said housing (the top surface of the upper platform and the frame of the bedding are substantially aligned as shown in Fig 10);
a first actuator (a user interface allows to control each of the lifting mechanism as shown in Fig 11; ¶0045, 0074, implies that the lifting actuators are controlled remotely or via a wired connection) capable of causing said first pushing mechanism to push said first padded element above said at least one surface (¶0007-0011, implies that the each of the lift plates are lifted in the vertical direction by the lift actuator above the surface of the bed frame as shown in Fig 12);
a second pushing mechanism housed within said housing beneath said at least one surface, said second pushing mechanism is connected to a second padded element (see annotation below, Fig 10);
said second padded element has a second padded surface (198, Fig 10; ¶0072, “Such a cushion pad 224 may be used in any of the embodiments shown or described herein”), said second padded surface aligns substantially with said top plane of said housing and is located a distance from said first padded element, said at least one surface therebetween said first and said second padded elements (the top surface of the upper platform and the frame of the bedding are substantially aligned as shown in Fig 10); and
a second actuator (a user interface allows to control each of the lifting mechanism as shown in Fig 11; ¶0045, 0074, implies that the lifting actuators are controlled remotely or via a wired connection) capable of causing said second pushing mechanism to push said second padded element above said at least one surface (¶0007-0011, implies that the each of the lift plates are lifted in the vertical direction by the lift actuator above the surface of the bed frame as shown in Fig 12).
Regarding claim 5, Freelend et al. discloses, the physical medicine drop device of claim 1 as discussed above.
Freelend et al. further discloses, wherein said first actuator is a first remote activated actuator in wireless communication with said first pushing mechanism and said second actuator is a second remote activated actuator in wireless communication with said second pushing mechanism (a user interface of android/IOS application allows to control each of the lifting mechanism as shown in Fig 11; ¶0045, 0074, implies that the each of lifting actuators are controlled remotely or via a wired connection).
Regarding claim 10, Freelend et al. discloses, the physical medicine drop device of claim 1 as discussed above.
Freelend et al. further discloses, said first and said second pushing mechanisms are configured to deliver a lifting force ((¶0007-0011; Fig 12).
Regarding claim 12, Freelend et al. discloses, A method of performing a physical medicine drop device upon a patient (¶0002, “a bedding foundation having multiple lift actuators to impart a massage effect or lumbar support to a mattress”; ¶0010, “a method of providing a massaging feeling”; the embodiment of Fig 10) comprising:
providing a device comprising: a housing (a frame of a bedding foundation 10d of Fig 10) having an at least one surface atop said housing along a top plane of said housing (see annotation below, Fig 10);
a first pushing mechanism housed within said housing beneath said at least one surface, said first pushing mechanism is connected to a first padded element (see annotation below, Fig 10);
said first padded element has a first padded surface (198, Fig 10; ¶0072, “Such a cushion pad 224 may be used in any of the embodiments shown or described herein”), said first padded surface aligns substantially with said top plane of said housing (the top surface of the upper platform and the frame of the bedding are substantially aligned as shown in Fig 10);
a first actuator (a user interface allows to control each of the lifting mechanism as shown in Fig 11; ¶0045, 0074, implies that the lifting actuators are controlled remotely or via a wired connection) capable of causing said first pushing mechanism to push said first padded element above said at least one surface (¶0007-0011, implies that the each of the lift plates are lifted in the vertical direction by the lift actuator above the surface of the bed frame as shown in Fig 12);
a second pushing mechanism housed within said housing beneath said at least one surface, said second pushing mechanism is connected to a second padded element (see annotation below, Fig 10);
said second padded element has a second padded surface (198, Fig 10; ¶0072, “Such a cushion pad 224 may be used in any of the embodiments shown or described herein”), said second padded surface aligns substantially with said top plane of said housing and is located a distance from said first padded element, said at least one surface therebetween said first and said second padded elements (the top surface of the upper platform and the frame of the bedding are substantially aligned as shown in Fig 10); and
a second actuator (a user interface allows to control each of the lifting mechanism as shown in Fig 11; ¶0045, 0074, implies that the lifting actuators are controlled remotely or via a wired connection) capable of causing said second pushing mechanism to push said second padded element above said at least one surface (¶0007-0011, implies that the each of the lift plates are lifted in the vertical direction by the lift actuator above the surface of the bed frame as shown in Fig 12).
placing said device between the patient and a patient surface (Examiner notes that the device is placed between the patient and the patient surface which can be surface of the floor as shown in Fig 10 in BRI); and
actuating at least one of said first pushing mechanism and said second pushing mechanism via at least one of said first actuator and said second actuator to cause at least one of said first padded element and said second padded element to push upward upon the patient in a treatment area (¶0007-0011, implies that the each of the lift plates are lifted in the vertical direction by the lift actuator above the surface of the bed frame as shown in Fig 12; ¶0010; claim 15, “a massaging feeling to a mattress from a bedding foundation”; Examiner note that the treatment area can be any area and thus, it can be area which the lift actuator is lifted for massaging effect).
Regarding claim 13, Freelend et al. discloses, the method of claim 12 as discussed above.
Freelend et al. further discloses, said first and said second pushing mechanisms are configured to deliver a lifting force ((¶0007-0011; Fig 12).
Regarding claim 14, Freelend et al. discloses, the method of claim 13 as discussed above.
Freelend et al. further discloses, a step of successively actuating at least one of said first pushing mechanism and said second pushing mechanism via at least one of said first actuator and said second actuator to cause at least one of said first padded element and said second padded element to push upward upon the patient in the treatment area (¶0007-0011, implies that the each of the lift plates are lifted in the vertical direction by the lift actuator above the surface of the bed frame as shown in Fig 12; ¶0010; claim 15, “a massaging feeling to a mattress from a bedding foundation”; Examiner note that the treatment area can be any area and thus, it can be area which the lift actuator is lifted for massaging effect).
Regarding claim 16, Freelend et al. discloses, the method of claim 12 as discussed above.
Freelend et al. further discloses, wherein said first actuator is a first remote activated actuator in wireless communication with said first pushing mechanism and said second actuator is a second remote activated actuator in wireless communication with said second pushing mechanism (a user interface of android/IOS application allows to control each of the lifting mechanism as shown in Fig 11; ¶0045, 0074, implies that the each of lifting actuators are controlled remotely or via a wired connection).
Regarding claim 17, Freelend et al. discloses, the method of claim 16 as discussed above.
Freelend et al. further discloses a step of actuating at least one of said first pushing mechanism and said second pushing mechanism via at least one of said first remote activated actuator and said second remote activated actuator (a user interface of android/IOS application allows to control each of the lifting mechanism as shown in Fig 11; Examiner note that the application is housed within the mobile device such as android device or iOS based devices; ¶0045, 0074, implies that the each of lifting actuators are controlled remotely or via a wired connection).
Regarding claim 18, Freelend et al. discloses, the method of claim 12 as discussed above.
Freelend et al. further discloses, a third pushing mechanism housed within said housing beneath said at least one surface, said third pushing mechanism is connected to a third padded element (see annotation below, Fig 10); said third padded element has a third padded surface (198, Fig 10; ¶0072, “Such a cushion pad 224 may be used in any of the embodiments shown or described herein”), said third padded surface aligns substantially with said top plane of said housing (the top surface of the upper platform and the frame of the bedding are substantially aligned as shown in Fig 10);
a third actuator (a user interface allows to control each of the lifting mechanism as shown in Fig 11; ¶0045, 0074, implies that the lifting actuators are controlled remotely or via a wired connection) capable of causing said third pushing mechanism to push said third padded element above said at least one surface (¶0007-0011, implies that the each of the lift plates are lifted in the vertical direction by the lift actuator above the surface of the bed frame as shown in Fig 12);
a fourth pushing mechanism housed within said housing beneath said at least one surface, said fourth pushing mechanism is connected to a fourth padded element (see annotation below, Fig 10); said fourth padded element has a fourth padded surface (198, Fig 10; ¶0072, “Such a cushion pad 224 may be used in any of the embodiments shown or described herein”), said fourth padded surface aligns substantially with said top plane of said housing (the top surface of the upper platform and the frame of the bedding are substantially aligned as shown in Fig 10) and is located a distance from said first, second, and third padded elements, said at least one surface there among said first, second, third, and fourth second padded elements (see annotation below, Fig 10); and
a fourth actuator (a user interface allows to control each of the lifting mechanism as shown in Fig 11; ¶0045, 0074, implies that the lifting actuators are controlled remotely or via a wired connection) capable of causing said fourth pushing mechanism to push said fourth padded element above said at least one surface (¶0007-0011, implies that the each of the lift plates are lifted in the vertical direction by the lift actuator above the surface of the bed frame as shown in Fig 12).
Regarding claim 19, Freelend et al. discloses, the method of claim 18 as discussed above.
Freelend et al. further discloses, the step of actuating at least one of said first pushing mechanism, said second pushing mechanism, said third pushing mechanism, and said fourth pushing mechanism via at least one of said first actuator, said second actuator, said third actuator, and said fourth actuator to cause at least one of said first padded element, said second padded element, said third padded element, and said fourth padded element to push upward upon the patient (¶0045, 0074, implies that the each of lifting actuators are controlled remotely or via a wired connection; Fig 11 indicates that the lifting actuators can be set with chosen parameters to control each actuators; ¶0010; claim 15, “a massaging feeling to a mattress from a bedding foundation”; Examiner note that the treatment area can be any area and thus, it can be area which the lift actuator is lifted for massaging effect).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freelend et al. (US 20220265499 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, in evidence by Linak, “Linak Baselift” (https://www.linak.com/products/linear-actuators/baselift/, 06/26/2020. Accessed from “waybackmachine”).
Regarding claim 2, Freelend et al. discloses, the physical medicine drop device of claim 1 as discussed above.
While Freelend et al. discloses that the lift actuator is a Linak product item number BASE1000A0F100100, Linak (“Linak Baselift”) discloses the lift actuator having a motor which requires a power to operate and a control box providing the power and controls (PG 22, 25, 27-28, 44-47) as shown in the manual section and the data sheet section.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would expect to include a power supply capable of proving power to said first and second pushing mechanism as evidenced by Linak (“Linak Baselift”) in order to provide power to operate the lifting actuators as intended.
Regarding claim 3, Freelend et al. as evidenced by Linak discloses, the physical medicine drop device of claim 2 as discussed above.
While Freelend et al. discloses that the lift actuator is a Linak product item number BASE1000A0F100100, Linak (“Linak Baselift”) discloses wherein the power supply is a power adaptor (PG 6, “CBD6S”; PG 20, “switch off the power supply and pull out the mains plug”; PG 39-40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would expect to include a power adaptor as evidenced by Linak (“Linak Baselift”) in order to provide power to operate the lifting actuators as intended.
Claims 4, and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freelend et al. (US 20220265499 A1) as evidenced by Linak, “Linak Baselift” (https://www.linak.com/products/linear-actuators/baselift/, 06/26/2020. Accessed from “waybackmachine”) as applied to claim 2 above, and further evidenced by Linak, “BA001” (https://www.linak.com/products/accessories/ba001/#productdatasheet, 06/18/2021. Access from “waybackmachine”).
Regarding claim 4, Freelend et al. as evidenced by Linak discloses, the physical medicine drop device of claim 2 as discussed above.
While Freelend et al. discloses that the lift actuator is a Linak product item number BASE1000A0F100100, Linak (“Linak Baselift”) discloses the accessories BA001 can be used with the linear actuator (PG 15). Further, Linak (“BA001”) discloses that BA001 is a high-performance battery solution for electrical actuator system and can be recharged (PG 1-2)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would expect to include a rechargeable battery adaptor as evidenced by Linak (“BA001”) in order to provide power to operate the lifting actuators as intended.
Regarding claim 6, Freelend et al. as evidenced by Linak discloses, the physical medicine drop device of claim 4 as discussed above.
Freelend et al. further discloses, a third pushing mechanism housed within said housing beneath said at least one surface, said third pushing mechanism is connected to a third padded element (see annotation below, Fig 10); said third padded element has a third padded surface (198, Fig 10; ¶0072, “Such a cushion pad 224 may be used in any of the embodiments shown or described herein”), said third padded surface aligns substantially with said top plane of said housing (the top surface of the upper platform and the frame of the bedding are substantially aligned as shown in Fig 10);
a third actuator (a user interface allows to control each of the lifting mechanism as shown in Fig 11; ¶0045, 0074, implies that the lifting actuators are controlled remotely or via a wired connection) capable of causing said third pushing mechanism to push said third padded element above said at least one surface (¶0007-0011, implies that the each of the lift plates are lifted in the vertical direction by the lift actuator above the surface of the bed frame as shown in Fig 12);
a fourth pushing mechanism housed within said housing beneath said at least one surface, said fourth pushing mechanism is connected to a fourth padded element (see annotation below, Fig 10); said fourth padded element has a fourth padded surface (198, Fig 10; ¶0072, “Such a cushion pad 224 may be used in any of the embodiments shown or described herein”), said fourth padded surface aligns substantially with said top plane of said housing (the top surface of the upper platform and the frame of the bedding are substantially aligned as shown in Fig 10) and is located a distance from said first, second, and third padded elements, said at least one surface there among said first, second, third, and fourth second padded elements (see annotation below, Fig 10); and
a fourth actuator (a user interface allows to control each of the lifting mechanism as shown in Fig 11; ¶0045, 0074, implies that the lifting actuators are controlled remotely or via a wired connection) capable of causing said fourth pushing mechanism to push said fourth padded element above said at least one surface (¶0007-0011, implies that the each of the lift plates are lifted in the vertical direction by the lift actuator above the surface of the bed frame as shown in Fig 12).
Regarding claim 7, Freelend et al. discloses, the physical medicine drop device of claim 6 as discussed above.
Freelend et al. discloses, wherein said first actuator is a first remote activated actuator in wireless communication with said first pushing mechanism, said second actuator is a second remote activated actuator in wireless communication with said second pushing mechanism, said third actuator is a third remote activated actuator in wireless communication with said third pushing mechanism, and said fourth actuator is a fourth remote activated actuator in wireless communication with said fourth pushing mechanism (a user interface of android/IOS application allows to control each of the lifting mechanism as shown in Fig 11; ¶0045, 0074, implies that the each of lifting actuators are controlled remotely or via a wired connection).
Regarding claim 8, Freelend et al. discloses, the physical medicine drop device of claim 7 as discussed above.
Freelend et al. discloses, wherein said first, second, third, and fourth remote activated actuators are housed on a remote activation device (a user interface of android/IOS application allows to control each of the lifting mechanism as shown in Fig 11; Examiner note that the application is housed within the mobile device such as android device or iOS based devices; ¶0045, 0074, implies that the each of lifting actuators are controlled remotely or via a wired connection).
Regarding claim 9, Freelend et al. discloses, the physical medicine drop device of claim 7 as discussed above.
Freelend et al. discloses, wherein the first, second, third, and fourth remote activated actuators are a plurality of switches (the user interface of controlling the lift actuators as shown in Fig 11) of said remote actuation device, each of said plurality of switches having an on position and an off position (commands of Fig 11), said remote actuation device has an activation button (capable of transmitting to said physical medicine drop device according to said on position and said off position of said plurality of switches, causing said first, second, third, and fourth pushing mechanisms having a corresponding on position to push a corresponding padded element (Examiner interprets a corresponding on position can be any position other than substantially aligned with the top surface; ¶0045, 0074, implies that the each of lifting actuators are controlled remotely or via a wired connection; Fig 11 indicates that the lifting actuators can be set with chosen parameters to control each actuators).
Claims 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freelend et al. (US 20220265499 A1) as applied to claims 13-14 above, and further in view of Racine (US 20120209157 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Freelend et al. discloses, the method of claim 14 as discussed above.
Freelend et al. is silent on a step of applying a pressure upon said treatment area opposite said device.
However, Racine which is analogous art for a massage padded table/bed (¶0004-0025) with a different height of each roller (Fig 1), teaches a method for performing manual massage onto the treatment area while elevated (abstract; ¶0001-0025, implies that the patient can receive therapy such as massaging while lying onto the table at different height settings) while providing improved comfort of the attending practitioner (¶0064).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Freelend et al. to include a step of applying a pressure upon said treatment area opposite said device as taught by Racine in order to improve the use and the comfort that can be personalized for the patient/client in the massages and other treatments (¶0001-0025, ¶0064).
Regarding claim 20, Freelend et al. discloses, the method of claim 13 as discussed above.
Freelend et al. is silent on a step of applying a downward pressure opposite said treatment area of said patient.
However, Racine which is analogous art for a massage padded table/bed (¶0004-0025) with a different height of each roller (Fig 1), teaches a method for performing manual massage onto the treatment area while elevated (abstract; ¶0001-0025, implies that the patient can receive therapy such as massaging while lying onto the table at different height settings) while providing improved comfort of the attending practitioner (¶0064).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Freelend et al. to include a step of applying a downward pressure opposite said treatment area of said patient as taught by Racine in order to improve the use and the comfort that can be personalized for the patient/client in the massages and other treatments (¶0001-0025, ¶0064).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 11, the closest identified prior art documents of record are Freelend et al. (US 20220265499 A1), and Lee et al (US 20220409465 A1).
Freelend et al. discloses the main components of the housing, the pushing mechanism with the padded element, and the actuator as discussed in the rejection above.
Lee et al. discloses, the pushing mechanism (100, Fig 2) comprises a motor (65, Fig 2) with a coupling (60, Fig 2), a lead screw (55, Fig 2), and an elongated rod (35, Fig 2) with a cap (70, Fig 2) and a spring surrounding the bolt (a retraction spring 75 surrounding the shaft 85 and locking slots 85), but the prior art does not teach or suggest the arrangement of the pushing mechanism comprising a lateral die spring surrounding the bolt, an insert to receive and secure said bolt, at least two bearings, and a washer, and a lifter pin.
No other prior art has been that teaches or suggest all the claimed features such that wherein said first and said second pushing mechanisms comprise a motor, at least one horn, a tension block housing a bolt, a lateral die spring surrounding the bolt, an insert to receive and secure said bolt, at least two bearings, and a washer, and a lifter pin in operable combination.
Conclusion
/J.J./Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/JOSEPH D. BOECKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785