DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/08/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1: “a)” and “b)” should be removed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 8, 17-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Eugstar (US 5615601).
Regarding claim 1, Eugstar discloses
A coffee brewing system (coffee automat 1, fig.1), comprising:
a grinder (coffee grinder 2, fig.1) configured for grinding whole coffee beans into coffee grounds with adjustable coarseness [this function can be performed by user], wherein the grinder (coffee grinder 2) is configured to receive the whole coffee beans through a first opening (inlet of coffee grinder 2) above the grinder (coffee grinder 2) and dispense the coffee grounds through a second opening (outlet of coffee grinder 2) below the grinder (coffee grinder 2);
a brewer (hot water outlet nipple 5, fig.1) configured to dispense water for brewing coffee through a third opening (outlet of hot water outlet nipple 5) below the brewer (hot water outlet nipple 5), wherein the brewer (hot water outlet nipple 5) is positioned laterally relative to the grinder (coffee grinder 2);
a capsule dock (arm 7, fig.4) configured to (a) hold a capsule (carrier filter 4, figs.1, 4) containing a coffee filter (filter 10, fig.1) and (b) translate the capsule (carrier filter 4) from a first position (position A, fig.1) under the second opening (outlet of coffee grinder 2) of the grinder (coffee grinder 2) to a second position (position B, fig.1) under the third opening (outlet of hot water outlet nipple 5) below the brewer (hot water outlet nipple 5); and
a controller (control device, fig.5) configured to control the grinder (coffee grinder 2), brewer (hot water outlet nipple 5, fig.1), and capsule dock (arm 7).
Regarding claim 6, Eugstar discloses
the controller (control device, fig.5) is configured to cause the capsule dock (arm 7, fig.4) to translate from the first position (position A, fig.1) to the second position (position B, fig.1) based on an indication of a completion of a grinding operation.
Regarding claim 8, Eugstar discloses
the controller (control device, fig.5) is configured to cause the brewer (hot water outlet nipple 5, fig.1) to start a brewing process based on an indication that the capsule dock (arm 7, fig.4) is at the second position under the brewer (hot water outlet nipple 5).
Regarding claim 17, Eugstar discloses
the capsule dock (arm 7, fig.4) comprises: a capsule holder (end portion of arm 7, fig.4) configured to receive a capsule (carrier filter 4, figs.1, 4); a linear positioning stage (holding magnet 14, fig.4) configured to horizontally translate the capsule holder (end portion of arm 7); and a connecting member (stationary held pin 8, spring 9, fig.4) connecting the capsule holder (end portion of arm 7) and the linear positioning stage (holding magnet 14).
Regarding claim 18, Eugstar discloses
the capsule dock (arm 7, fig.4) is configured to shake during a brewing process [arm 7, fig.4, is more or less at least shake during brewing operation].
Regarding claim 20, Eugstar discloses
the brewer (hot water outlet nipple 5, fig.1) comprises electrodes (hot water outlet nipple 5, fig.1, is inherently has a heater) configured to generate an electrical field for bending water dispensed by the brewer (hot water outlet nipple 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5, 7, 9-13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eugstar (US 5615601) in view of Dayton (US 20210386245 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Eugstar discloses substantially all the features as set forth above, such as the capsule dock and the controller, but does not disclose a haptic sensor.
Dayton discloses a coffee brewing system (dispenser 38, fig.5), comprising: a capsule dock (frame of dispenser 38, fig.5) comprises a haptic dock (vessel sensor 76, fig.5) [Par.0069 cited: “…vessel sensor 76 can be a capacitive sensor, weight sensor, or other suitable sensor to detect the presence of a ceramic, metal or paper coffee mug …”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify a capsule dock of Eugstar, by comprising a haptic sensor, as taught by Dayton, in order to sense a touch event.
Regarding claim 3, Eugstar discloses substantially all the features as set forth above such as the capsule and the controller, but does not disclose an electronic reader.
Dayton discloses a coffee brewing system (dispenser 38, fig.5), comprising: an electronic reader (code reader 70, fig.5) is configured to read an identification tag (a barcode, QR code, RFID tag, Par.0070) on the capsule (vessel 77, fig.5) [Par.0070 cited: “…a label bearing a computer-readable code such as a barcode, QR code, RFID tag, etc. can be printed onto a label to be applied onto, printed directly onto, or otherwise applied to a drinking vessel 77…”].
Regarding claim 4, Dayton discloses
at least one of the one or more settings adjusts a coarseness of coffee ground by the grinder (grinder 28, fig.4) [Par.0041 cited: “…distance separating burrs of the grinder 28 can optionally be adjustable to provide the ground coffee with a suitable fineness…”].
Regarding claim 5, Dayton discloses
at least one of the one or more settings adjusts a temperature, a volume, or a pouring pattern of water dispensed by the brewer [Par.0041 cited: “…computer-readable code can encode the desired coffee composition and size (e.g., small, medium, large) of coffee beverage to be brewed …”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify a coffee brewing system of Eugstar, by comprising an electronic reader is configured to read an identification tag on the capsule, as taught by Dayton, in order to configured to read an identification tag on the capsule, wherein the controller is further configured to adjust one or more settings of at least one of the grinder or the brewer based on information associated with the identification tag.
Regarding claim 7, Eugstar discloses substantially all the features as set forth above, such as the capsule dock and the controller, but does not disclose a weight sensor.
Dayton discloses a coffee brewing system (dispenser 38, fig.5), comprising: a capsule dock (frame of dispenser 38, fig.5) comprises a weight sensor (vessel sensor 76, fig.5) [Par.0069 cited: “…vessel sensor 76 can be a capacitive sensor, weight sensor, or other suitable sensor to detect the presence of a ceramic, metal or paper coffee mug …”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify a capsule dock of Eugstar, by comprising a weight sensor, as taught by Dayton, in order to provide an indication of the completion of the grinding operation is based on a weight measured by a weight sensor of the capsule dock.
Regarding claim 9, Eugstar discloses substantially all the features as set forth above, such as the controller, but does not disclose the controller is configured to receive instructions from a user interface.
Dayton discloses a coffee brewing system (dispenser 38, fig.5), comprising: a controller (control system 26, fg.1) is configured to receive instructions from a user interface (screen of cellular communication device 14, fig.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to replace a controller of Eugstar, by using a controller is configured to receive instructions from a user interface, as taught by Dayton, in order to allow a user to specify a grind size, a water temperature, a water volume, or a coffee-to-water ratio.
Regarding claim 10, Eugstar discloses substantially all the features as set forth above, such as the controller, but does not disclose the controller is configured to receive instructions from a user interface.
Dayton discloses a coffee brewing system (dispenser 38, fig.5), comprising: a controller (control system 26, fg.1) is configured to receive instructions from a user interface (screen of cellular communication device 14, fig.1).
Regarding claim 11, Dayton discloses
the user interface (screen of cellular communication device 14, fig.1) is presented by an application (app of cellular communication device 14) on a user device (cellular communication device 14, fig.1) separate from the coffee brewing system (dispenser 38, fig.5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to replace a controller of Eugstar, by using a controller is configured to receive instructions from a user interface, as taught by Dayton, in order to present one or more brewing recipes for user selection, wherein each brewing recipe specifies a predetermining brewing configuration for the coffee brewing system.
Regarding claim 12, Eugstar discloses substantially all the features as set forth above, such as the controller, but does not disclose the controller is configured to receive instructions from a user interface.
Dayton discloses a coffee brewing system (dispenser 38, fig.5), comprising: a controller (control system 26, fg.1) is configured to receive instructions from a user interface (screen of cellular communication device 14, fig.1).
Regarding claim 13, Dayton discloses
the brewing details associated with each of the plurality of pours comprise a water temperature, a water volume, or a pouring pattern [Par.0043 cited: “…water used to moisten the coffee grounds discharged by the grinder 28 can be room temperature, or at a temperature lower than a temperature of hot water used for the coffee brewing process…”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to replace a controller of Eugstar, by using a controller is configured to receive instructions from a user interface, as taught by Dayton, in order to allow a user to specify brewing details associated with a plurality of pours to be used during a brewing process.
Regarding claim 19, Eugstar discloses substantially all the features as set forth above, such as the capsule dock and the controller, but does not disclose an integrated position sensor.
Dayton discloses a coffee brewing system (dispenser 38, fig.5), comprising: a capsule dock (frame of dispenser 38, fig.5) comprises an integrated position sensor (vessel sensor 76, fig.5) [Par.0069 cited: “…vessel sensor 76 can be a capacitive sensor, weight sensor, or other suitable sensor to detect the presence of a ceramic, metal or paper coffee mug …”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify a capsule dock of Eugstar, by comprising an integrated position sensor, as taught by Dayton, in order to detect whether the capsule is in a correct position for receiving the coffee grounds from the grinder or receiving water from the brewer.
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eugstar (US 5615601) in view of Anson (US 20070187534 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Eugstar discloses substantially all the features as set forth above, such as the grinder, but does not disclose the grinder comprises: a burr assembly comprising an inner burr and an outer burr, wherein the inner burr is connected to a main shaft and rotates along an axis of the main shaft, and the outer burr is positioned and encased around the inner burr; and a motor
Anson discloses a grinder (griding, fig.1) comprises: a burr assembly (first burr 38, auger 70, fig.4) comprising an inner burr (auger 70, fig.4) and an outer burr (first burr 38, fig.4), wherein the inner burr (auger 70) is connected to a main shaft (shaft 48, fig.4) and rotates along an axis of the main shaft (shaft 48), and the outer burr (first burr 38) is positioned and encased around the inner burr (auger 70); and a motor (grinder drive motor 44, fig.2).
Regarding claim 15, Anson discloses
the separation between the inner burr (auger 70, fig.4) and the outer burr (first burr 38, fig.4) affects a coarseness of the coffee ground.
Regarding claim 16, Anson discloses
the controller (control switch 28, fig.1) is configured to cause the inner burr (auger 70, fig.4) to move the separation between the inner burr (auger 70) and the outer burr (first burr 38, fig.4) to decrease the coarseness of the coffee ground.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the grinder of Eugstar , by comprising a burr assembly comprising an inner burr and an outer burr, wherein the inner burr is connected to a main shaft and rotates along an axis of the main shaft, and the outer burr is positioned and encased around the inner burr; and a motor, as taught by Anson, in order to control a separation between the inner burr and the outer burr such that the controller is configured to cause the inner burr to move upward to decrease the separation between the inner burr and the outer burr to decrease the coarseness of the coffee ground.
Conclusion
/PHUONG T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761
11/07/2025