Priority
Claim 17 and dependents therein are supported by provisional 62/480059, and awarded an effective filing date of 03/31/2017.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement(s) have been reviewed by the examiner and are found to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98, and MPEP § 609.
Drawings
The drawing(s) have been reviewed by the examiner and are found to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.81 to 1.85.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “decoupling structure” in claims 35 - 37.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17 – 28 and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Eves (WO 2016149769).
17. Eves discloses a seal-forming structure (3100) for a patient interface (see [0223]), the seal-forming structure constructed and arranged to form a seal with a region of the patient's face surrounding an entrance to the patient's airways (see [0223]), the seal-forming structure constructed and arranged to maintain a therapeutic pressure of at least 6 cmH20 above ambient air pressure inside the seal-forming structure throughout the patient's respiratory cycle in use (see [0225], [0077]), the seal-forming structure being constructed from a soft, flexible, resilient material ([0229]), the seal-forming structure comprising an exterior surface and an interior surface opposite the exterior surface (see attachment 1 below, “Ext.” and “Int.”, respectively), the exterior surface including a patient-contacting region configured to engage and seal against the patient's facial skin (3105, see [0234]), wherein a posterior opening is formed in the seal-forming structure at the patient-contacting region such that during use a flow of air at said therapeutic pressure is directed through the posterior opening and into the patient's nares (see attachment 1, “Pos.”; see [0220]), wherein the seal-forming structure includes a support structure (3110) joined to an edge of the posterior opening (see attachment 1, “Edge”, where the edge defines the posterior opening as illustrated in Fig. 31c or Fig. 6, for example) and to the interior surface of the seal-forming structure such that an interior surface of the support structure and the interior surface of the seal-forming structure form a continuous loop (see attachment 1, interior surface of the support structure or “Int. Su.” at 3110 and the interior surface of the seal or “Int.” form a continuous loop; see also Fig. 31g), wherein the seal-forming structure is configured to leave the patient's mouth uncovered (see [0278], [0300 – 0301], see nasal mask embodiments in Figs. 31 - 33) and wherein a superior portion (see attachment 2 of Fig. 31c, demarking the superior and inferior portions of the nasal mask as considered by the examiner) of the seal-forming structure is structured to engage the patient's nose inferior to the patient's nasal bone (the superior portion “Sup.” as indicated below engages the patient’s nose at the alar via the support structure 3110, see [0245]; the alar is inferior to the patient’s nasal bone).
Attachment 1:
Attachment 2:
18. Eves discloses the seal-forming structure of claim 17, wherein an anterior opening is formed opposite the posterior opening on a non-patient contacting region of the exterior surface (see attachment 1 above, “Ant”, as well as Fig. 31g, 3190).
19. Eves discloses the seal-forming structure of claim 17, wherein the support structure has a length in an undeformed state that is greater than a linear distance from a first location where the support structure is joined to the edge of the posterior opening to a second location where the support structure is joined to the interior surface of the seal-forming structure (support structure forms a curved loop that would travel a greater distance than a straight line from point “edge” to “Int”, as illustrated in attachment 1 above).
20. Eves discloses the seal-forming structure of claim 19, wherein, in the undeformed state, the support structure is curved between the first location and the second location (see curving in attachment 1).
21. Eves discloses the seal-forming structure of claim 19, wherein the support structure has an increased thickness adjacent the first location and/or the second location (see increased thickness where the support structure meets the second location, as illustrated by the flared out section in Figs. 7, 8a and 32D).
22. Eves discloses the seal-forming structure of claim 17, wherein the support structure is configured to be positioned adjacent to or in contact with the patient's columella during use (examiner considers the support structure adjacent to the patient’s columella since it contacts the adjacent alar).
23. Eves discloses the seal-forming structure of claim 17, wherein the support structure has a different thickness than the patient-contacting region (see Fig. 32c).
24. Eves discloses the seal-forming structure of claim 17, wherein the support structure is thicker than the patient-contacting region (the support structure is preferably made 0.5 mm thick, see [0242], which is thicker than the patient contact region where made thin to 0.3 mm, see general teaching in [0267 - 0269]).
25. Eves discloses the seal-forming structure of claim 17, wherein the support structure does not extend completely across the posterior opening (see Fig. 31c).
26. Eves discloses the seal-forming structure of claim 17, wherein the seal-forming structure at least partly forms a gas chamber, and wherein in an undeformed state the support structure extends into the gas chamber (see gas chamber formed by Fig. 32c and support extending into it)).
27. Eves discloses the seal-forming structure of claim 17, wherein the support structure has a variable thickness in a longitudinal direction (see for example Fig. 32d, in which the support structure is thin at portion “edge”, then flares up in thickness where it contacts the interior surface).
28. Eves discloses the seal-forming structure of claim 17, wherein, in an undeformed state, a portion of the support structure is curved away from the patient's nose (support structure curves away from the patient’s nose via it’s underside).
33. Eves discloses the seal-forming structure of claim 17, wherein the superior portion of the seal-forming structure is structured to engage the patient's nose inferior to the patient's pronasale (examiner considers the seal-forming structure to be fully capable of engaging the patient’s nose inferior to the patient’s pronasale, since the alar is located below the pronasale, especially in the case of an upturned nose; see evidencing reference provided from “Atlas of Lip and Nose Plastic and Cosmetic Surgery”, pp. 17 – 18 .)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 29-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eves in view of Von Moger (US 20150151071).
29. Eves discloses the seal-forming structure of claim 17, but does not explicitly disclose wherein an inferior portion of the seal-forming structure is structured to engage the patient's lip superior such that the seal-forming structure does not extend beyond the lip superior to the patient's upper vermilion. Von Moger discloses a nasal mask wherein an inferior portion of the seal-forming structure is structured to engage the patient's lip superior such that the seal-forming structure does not extend beyond the lip superior to the patient's upper vermilion (see Fig. 3 – 33, [0304]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the nasal seal of Eves according to the top lip placement of Von Moger to ensure adequate sealing of the nasal mask without interfering with the mouth.
30. The modified Eves discloses the seal-forming structure of claim 29, but does not disclose further comprising an undercushion that supports the patient-contacting region, as modified. However, Von Moger additionally discloses an undercushion that supports the patient-contacting region, see [0308], Fig. 3 – 22, 3- 23. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the seal of Eves according to the undercushion of Von Moger for the benefit of enhancing seal along the top lip region while retaining comfort in the nose ridge region and sides of the nose, see [0308].
31. The modified Eves discloses the seal-forming structure of claim 30, wherein the inferior portion of the seal-forming structure includes the undercushion and the superior portion of the seal-forming structure does not include the undercushion (see Von Moger, [0308], Figs. 3-22 – 3-23).
32. The modified Eves discloses the seal-forming structure of claim 31, wherein the undercushion is structured to only support the patient-contacting region against the patient's lip superior (see Von Moger, [0308], Figs. 3-22 – 3-23).
Claim(s) 34-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eves in view of Veliss (US 20100018534)
34. Eves discloses a patient interface comprising: a plenum chamber pressurisable to the therapeutic pressure (3200; see 0220 – 0222]), said plenum chamber including a plenum chamber inlet port sized and structured to receive the flow of air at the therapeutic pressure for breathing by a patient (3600), the seal-forming structure of claim 17 (see claim 17 above); and a vent system comprising a plurality of holes configured to allow a continuous flow of gases exhaled by the patient from an interior of the plenum chamber to ambient, said vent system being sized and shaped to maintain the therapeutic pressure in the plenum chamber in use (3400, see [0220]).
However, with respect to the nasal mask, Eves does not explicitly disclose a positioning and stabilising structure to provide a force to hold the seal-forming structure in a therapeutically effective position on the patient's head, the positioning and stabilising structure comprising a tie, the tie being constructed and arranged so that at least a portion overlies a region of the patient's head superior to an otobasion superior of the patient's head in use. Veliss discloses a nasal mask, see [0119], including a positioning and stabilising structure (see Fig. 6-4, 42 and 60) to provide a force to hold the seal-forming structure in a therapeutically effective position on the patient's head, the positioning and stabilising structure comprising a tie, the tie being constructed and arranged so that at least a portion overlies a region of the patient's head superior to an otobasion superior of the patient's head in use (see Fig. 6-4, tie 60 is over the ear). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the seal forming structure of Eves according to the positioning and stabilizing structure of Veliss for the benefit of sleek, elegant, comfortable design.
35. The modified Eves discloses the patient interface of claim 34, wherein the plenum chamber comprises a first plenum chamber inlet port and a second plenum chamber inlet port (see Veliss, Fig. 2-1, ports 25), wherein the positioning and stabilising structure comprises a pair of conduits, each of the conduits configured to be positioned on a corresponding lateral side of the patient's head in use (see conduits 42, Fig. 1 – 15), each of the conduits being fluidly connected to a corresponding one of the first plenum chamber inlet port and the second plenum chamber inlet port (via 42.2, see Fig. 2-2), and wherein a decoupling structure is fluidly connected to each of the conduits (70, see Fig. 1 – 7), the decoupling structure being configured to be connected to an air circuit to receive the flow of air at the therapeutic pressure (T1).
36. The modified Eves discloses the patient interface of claim 35, wherein the tie is connected to each of the conduits (see Veliss, Fig. 1 – 6).
Claim(s) 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eves in view of Veliss in view of Von Moger (US 20150151071).
37. The modified Eves discloses the patient interface of claim 35, wherein the vent system comprises a first vent hole formed in the plenum chamber (see Eves, 3400, as well as Veliss, [0402]), but does not disclose a second vent hole formed in the decoupling structure. Von Moger discloses a vent hole 3400 formed in decoupling structure 120, [0358]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the decoupling structure of Eves in view of Veliss with the decoupling vent of Von Moger for the benefit of ensuring washout for exhaled gases throughout the patient interface.
Double Patenting
Claims 17 – 33 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11628266 (hereinafter ‘266) in view of Eves (WO 2016149769).
USPN ‘266 discloses a seal-forming structure for a patient interface, the seal-forming structure constructed and arranged to form a seal with a region of the patient's face surrounding an entrance to the patient's airways, the seal-forming structure constructed and arranged to maintain a therapeutic pressure of at least 6 cmH20 above ambient air pressure inside the seal-forming structure throughout the patient's respiratory cycle in use (see claim 1, c. 43: 60 – 66), the seal forming structure comprising an exterior surface and an interior surface opposite the exterior surface (see claim 1, c. 44: 3 – 4 and 10 – 11, wherein the patient contact surface must be exterior in order to contact the patient), wherein a posterior opening is formed in the seal-forming structure at the patient-contacting region such that during use a flow of air at said therapeutic pressure is directed through the posterior opening and into the patient's nares (c. 44: 5 – 8), wherein the seal-forming structure is configured to leave the patient's mouth uncovered (c. 44: 17 – 18), and wherein a superior portion of the seal-forming structure is structured to engage the patient's nose inferior to the patient's nasal bone (c. 44: 19 – 21).
While ‘266 discloses a support structure extending from a first location on the patient-contacting surface to a second location on the interior surface of the seal forming structure, the support structure and the interior surface forming a continuous loop (c. 44: 9 – 13), ‘266 does not explicitly disclose the support structure joined to an edge of the posterior opening and to the interior surface of the seal-forming structure such that an interior surface of the support structure and the interior surface of the seal-forming structure form a continuous loop, the seal-forming structure being constructed from a soft, flexible, resilient material. Nonetheless, Eves discloses the support structure joined to an edge of the posterior opening and to the interior surface of the seal-forming structure such that an interior surface of the support structure and the interior surface of the seal-forming structure form a continuous loop (see attachment 1 in claim 17 above, “Int.” and “Int. Su.” forming the continuous loop), the seal-forming structure being constructed from a soft, flexible, resilient material ([0229]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the loop of ‘266 according to the construction/material of Eves for the benefit of preventing blowout, see [0238].
Dependent claims 18 – 33 are rejected over claims 2 – 18 as found in ‘ 266.
Claims 17 – 34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 18 of U.S. Patent No. US 11413417 (hereinafter ‘417) in view of Eves (WO 2016149769).
USPN ‘417 discloses a seal-forming structure for a patient interface, the seal-forming structure constructed and arranged to form a seal with a region of the patient's face surrounding an entrance to the patient's airways, the seal-forming structure constructed and arranged to maintain a therapeutic pressure of at least 6 cmH20 above ambient air pressure inside the seal-forming structure throughout the patient's respiratory cycle in use (see claim 1, c. 44: 45 – 55), the seal forming structure comprising an exterior surface and an interior surface opposite the exterior surface (see claim 1, c. 45: 6-8 and 13-14, wherein the patient contact surface must be exterior in order to contact the patient), wherein a posterior opening is formed in the seal-forming structure at the patient-contacting region such that during use a flow of air at said therapeutic pressure is directed through the posterior opening and into the patient's nares (c. 45: 7-10), wherein the seal-forming structure is configured to leave the patient's mouth uncovered (c. 45: 4 - 5), and wherein a superior portion of the seal-forming structure is structured to engage the patient's nose inferior to the patient's nasal bone (c. 45: 17 – 19).
While ‘417 discloses a support structure extending from a first location on the patient-contacting surface to a second location on the interior surface of the seal forming structure, the support structure and the interior surface forming a continuous loop (c. 45: 12-16), ‘417 does not explicitly disclose the support structure joined to an edge of the posterior opening and to the interior surface of the seal-forming structure such that an interior surface of the support structure and the interior surface of the seal-forming structure form a continuous loop, the seal-forming structure being constructed from a soft, flexible, resilient material. Nonetheless, Eves discloses the support structure joined to an edge of the posterior opening and to the interior surface of the seal-forming structure such that an interior surface of the support structure and the interior surface of the seal-forming structure form a continuous loop (see attachment 1 in claim 17 above, “Int.” and “Int. Su.” forming the continuous loop), the seal-forming structure being constructed from a soft, flexible, resilient material ([0229]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the loop of ‘266 according to the construction/material of Eves for the benefit of preventing blowout, see [0238].
Dependent claims 18 – 34 are rejected over claims 1 – 18 as found in ‘417.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 22 would be allowable if amended to delete the “adjacent to” clause, and rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, along with overcoming the double patenting rejection, e.g. filing of terminal disclaimer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Stephenson (US 20150328421) discloses a continuous loop in Fig. 18, providing compression against the nasal bone, see [0083]. Examiner notes it would not have been obvious to modify the mask according to a nasal mask that compresses the nose inferior to the nasal bone, as such modification could at least partially occlude the patient’s airway. See for example, Von Moger, [0308].
Galgali (WO 2017042717) discloses a tethered nasal mask, see 46c, but the tether does not form a continuous loop.
Chodkowski (US 20140366886) discloses a nasal mask contacting the patient’s columella, see Fig. 8, but does not disclose the support structure forming the continuous loop as claimed.
/BRADLEY H PHILIPS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799