DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/08/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every features of the invention specified in the claims. The limitation " a controller configured to cause the linear positioning stage to move the capsule dock to a first position underneath a grinder of the coffee brewer before and during a grinding operation and to move the capsule dock to a second position underneath a water dispenser of the coffee brewer before and during a water-dispensing operation" in claim 1, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1: “a)” and “b)” should be removed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Eugstar (US 5615601).
Regarding claim 1, Eugstar discloses
A dock system (filter carrier 4, fig.4, arm 7, fig.4) configured to hold and translate a capsule (filter 10, fig.1) containing coffee grounds during a brewing process [Col.3, lines 11-12 cited: “…the ground coffee falls directly into a filter 10 placed in the filter carrier 4…”], comprising:
a capsule dock (filter carrier 4, fig.4) configured to receive and hold the capsule (filter 10, fig.1);
a linear positioning stage1 (linear position is a position between grinding position A and brewing position B, fig.1) configured to translate the capsule dock (filter carrier 4);
a mount (arm 7, fig.4) configured for mounting the linear positioning stage (grinding position A) inside a housing of a coffee brewer (coffee automat 1, fig.1); and
a controller (control device, fig.5) configured to cause the linear positioning stage (linear position) to move the capsule dock (filter carrier 4) to a first position (grinding position A, fig.1) underneath a grinder (coffee grinder 2, fig.1) of the coffee brewer (coffee automat 1) before and during a grinding operation [Col.3, lines 10-12 cited: “…During the grinding process the ground coffee falls directly into a filter 10 placed in the filter carrier 4…”] and to move the capsule dock (filter carrier 4) to a second position (brewing position B, fig.1) underneath a water dispenser (hot water outlet nipple 5, fig.1) of the coffee brewer (coffee automat 1) before and during a water-dispensing operation [Col.3, lines 13-15 cited: “…the filter carrier 4 is shown in full lines in the brewing position B underneath the brewing water outlet 5 of a conventional hot water generator…”].
Regarding claim 2, Eugstar discloses
a connecting member (stationarily held pin 8, spring 9, fig.4) connecting the capsule dock (filter carrier 4, fig.4) and the linear positioning stage (linear position).
Regarding claim 16, Eugstar discloses
the capsule dock (filter carrier 4, fig.4) comprises a holder with an opening for receiving the capsule [filter carrier 4 has an opening to insert the filter 10, fig.1].
Regarding claim 17, Eugstar discloses
the opening (opening of filter carrier 4, fig.1) is circular and is smaller than at least a portion of a cross section of the capsule (filter 10, fig.1) [bottom opening of filter carrier 4, is smaller than top portion for filter 10, fig.1].
Regarding claim 18, Eugstar discloses
the controller (control device, fig.5) is configured to move the capsule dock (filter carrier 4, fig.4) from the first position (grinding position A, fig.1) to the second position upon (brewing position B, fig.1) a determination that the grinding operation is complete.
Regarding claim 19, Eugstar discloses
determination that the grinding operation is complete is based on time [user can manually operate to perform this function].
Regarding claim 20, Eugstar discloses
the determination that the grinding operation is complete is based on a weight on the capsule dock (filter carrier 4, fig.4) [user can manually operate to perform this function].
Claims 3-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eugstar (US 5615601) in view of Dayton (US 20210386245 A1).
Eugstar discloses substantially all the features as set forth above, such as the capsule, the capsule dock, and the controller but does not disclose an integrated force sensor.
Regarding claim 3, Dayton discloses
a coffee brewing system (dispenser 38, fig.5), comprising: a capsule dock (frame of dispenser 38, fig.5) comprises an integrated force sensor (vessel sensor 76, fig.5) [Par.0069 cited: “…vessel sensor 76 can be a capacitive sensor, weight sensor, or other suitable sensor to detect the presence of a ceramic, metal or paper coffee mug …”].
Regarding claim 4, Dayton discloses
the integrated force sensor (vessel sensor 76, fig.5) is configured to measure a weight of the capsule [Par.0069 cited: “…vessel sensor 76 can be a capacitive sensor, weight sensor, or other suitable sensor to detect the presence of a ceramic, metal or paper coffee mug …”].
Regarding claim 5, Dayton discloses
the integrated force sensor (vessel sensor 76, fig.5) is configured to measure the weight of the capsule in real time during at least one of the grinding operation or the water-dispensing operation [Par.0069 cited: “…vessel sensor 76 can be a capacitive sensor, weight sensor, or other suitable sensor to detect the presence of a ceramic, metal or paper coffee mug …”].
Regarding claim 6, Dayton discloses
the weight of the capsule is used by the controller of the coffee brewer to control at least one of the grinding operation or the water-dispensing operation [Par.0069 cited: “…vessel sensor 76 can be a capacitive sensor, weight sensor, or other suitable sensor to detect the presence of a ceramic, metal or paper coffee mug …”].
Regarding claim 7, Dayton discloses
the integrated force sensor (vessel sensor 76, fig.5) is configured to detect force applied on a front end of the capsule dock [Par.0069 cited: “…vessel sensor 76 can be a capacitive sensor, weight sensor, or other suitable sensor to detect the presence of a ceramic, metal or paper coffee mug …”].
Regarding claim 8, Dayton discloses
the controller is configured to initiate a brewing process based on the force applied on the front end of the capsule dock [Par.0069 cited: “…vessel sensor 76 can be a capacitive sensor, weight sensor, or other suitable sensor to detect the presence of a ceramic, metal or paper coffee mug …”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify a capsule dock of Eugstar, by comprising an integrated force sensor, as taught by Dayton, in order to measure a weight of the capsule, to measure the weight of the capsule in real time during at least one of the grinding operation or the water-dispensing operation, and to detect force applied on a front end of the capsule dock.
Regarding claim 9, Eugstar discloses substantially all the features as set forth above, such as the capsule dock but does not disclose an integrated force sensor.
Dayton discloses a coffee brewing system (dispenser 38, fig.5), comprising: a capsule dock (frame of dispenser 38, fig.5) comprises an integrated force sensor (vessel sensor 76, fig.5) [Par.0069 cited: “…vessel sensor 76 can be a capacitive sensor, weight sensor, or other suitable sensor to detect the presence of a ceramic, metal or paper coffee mug …”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify a capsule dock of Eugstar, by comprising an integrated force sensor, as taught by Dayton, in order to detect a location of the capsule dock on the linear positioning stage.
Claims 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eugstar (US 5615601) in view of Burrows (US 20150327719 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Eugstar discloses substantially all the features as set forth above, such as the linear positioning stage but does not disclose the linear positioning stage includes a stepper motor.
Burrows discloses a capsule dock (brewer head 16, fig.2) comprises a step motor (motor 52, fig.5).
Regarding claim 11, Burrows discloses
the stepper motor (brewer head 16, fig.2) is configured to provide haptic feedback when a force is applied on a font end of the capsule dock (brewer head 16, fig.2).
Regarding claim 12, Burrows discloses
the stepper motor (brewer head 16, fig.2) is configured to shake the capsule dock (brewer head 16, fig.2), thereby agitating the coffee grounds in the capsule during the water-dispensing operation [Par.0097 cited: “…motor 52 and/or other means within beverage brewer 10, may spin, rotate, nutate, vibrate, oscillate…”].
Regarding claim 13, Burrows discloses
the stepper motor (brewer head 16, fig.2) is configured to shake the capsule dock (brewer head 16, fig.2) at a preset vibration frequency during the water-dispensing operation [Par.0097 cited: “…motor 52 and/or other means within beverage brewer 10, may spin, rotate, nutate, vibrate, oscillate…”].
Regarding claim 14, Burrows discloses
the stepper motor (brewer head 16, fig.2) is configured to shake the capsule dock (brewer head 16, fig.2) for a preset amount of time during the water-dispensing operation [Par.0097 cited: “…motor 52 and/or other means within beverage brewer 10, may spin, rotate, nutate, vibrate, oscillate…”].
Regarding claim 15, Burrows discloses
the stepper motor (brewer head 16, fig.2) is configured to shake the capsule dock (brewer head 16, fig.2) at a preset time during and after a pour of water during the water-dispensing operation [Par.0097 cited: “…motor 52 and/or other means within beverage brewer 10, may spin, rotate, nutate, vibrate, oscillate…”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify a capsule dock of Eugstar, by comprising a step motor, as taught by Burrows, in order to provide haptic feedback when a force is applied on a font end of the capsule dock; and to shake the capsule dock.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18182565. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed subject matter of the present applicant and that of copending Application No. 18182565 are substantially the same and the claimed subject matter of the present application would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art based on the claimed subject matter of copending Application No. 18182565.
Present application 18182594
Copending Application No. 18182565
1. A dock system configured to hold and translate a capsule containing coffee grounds during a brewing process, comprising: a capsule dock configured to receive and hold the capsule; a linear positioning stage configured to translate the capsule dock; a mount configured for mounting the linear positioning stage inside a housing of a coffee brewer; and a controller configured to cause the linear positioning stage (a) to move the capsule dock to a first position underneath a grinder of the coffee brewer before and during a grinding operation and (b) to move the capsule dock to a second position underneath a water dispenser of the coffee brewer before and during a water-dispensing operation.
2. The dock system of claim 1, further comprising: a connecting member connecting the capsule dock and the linear positioning stage.
3. The dock system of claim 1, wherein the capsule dock comprises an integrated force sensor.
4. The dock system of claim 3, wherein the integrated force sensor is configured to measure a weight of the capsule.
5. The dock system of claim 4, wherein the integrated force sensor is configured to measure the weight of the capsule in real time during at least one of the grinding operation or the water-dispensing operation.
6. The dock system of claim 5, wherein the weight of the capsule is used by the controller of the coffee brewer to control at least one of the grinding operation or the water-dispensing operation.
7. The dock system of claim 3, wherein the integrated force sensor is configured to detect force applied on a front end of the capsule dock.
8. The dock system of claim 7, wherein the controller is configured to initiate a brewing process based on the force applied on the front end of the capsule dock.
9. The dock system of claim 1, wherein the linear positioning stage includes an integrated position sensor configured to detect a location of the capsule dock on the linear positioning stage.
10. The dock system of claim 1, wherein the linear positioning stage includes a stepper motor.
11. The dock system of claim 10, wherein the stepper motor is configured to provide haptic feedback when a force is applied on a font end of the capsule dock.
12. The dock system of claim 10, wherein the stepper motor is configured to shake the capsule dock, thereby agitating the coffee grounds in the capsule during the water-dispensing operation.
13. The dock system of claim 12, wherein the stepper motor is configured to shake the capsule dock at a preset vibration frequency during the water-dispensing operation.
14. The dock system of claim 12, wherein the stepper motor is configured to shake the capsule dock for a preset amount of time during the water-dispensing operation.
15. The dock system of claim 12, wherein the stepper motor is configured to shake the capsule dock at a preset time during and after a pour of water during the water-dispensing operation.
16. The dock system of claim 1, wherein the capsule dock comprises a holder with an opening for receiving the capsule.
17. The dock system of claim 16, wherein the opening is circular and is smaller than at least a portion of a cross section of the capsule.
18. The dock system of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to move the capsule dock from the first position to the second position upon a determination that the grinding operation is complete.
19. The dock system of claim 18, wherein the determination that the grinding operation is complete is based on time.
20. The dock system of claim 18, wherein the determination that the grinding operation is complete is based on a weight on the capsule dock.
1. A coffee brewing system, comprising: a grinder configured for grinding whole coffee beans into coffee grounds with adjustable coarseness, wherein the grinder is configured to receive the whole coffee beans through a first opening above the grinder and dispense the coffee grounds through a second opening below the grinder; a brewer configured to dispense water for brewing coffee through a third opening below the brewer, wherein the brewer is positioned laterally relative to the grinder; a capsule dock configured to (a) hold a capsule containing a coffee filter and (b) translate the capsule from a first position under the second opening of the grinder to a second position under the third opening below the brewer; and a controller configured to control the grinder, brewer, and capsule dock.
2. The coffee brewing system of claim 1, wherein the capsule dock comprises a haptic sensor, and the controller is configured to initiate a brewing process when the haptic sensor of the capsule dock senses a touch event.
3. The coffee brewing system of claim 1, further comprises an electronic reader configured to read an identification tag on the capsule, wherein the controller is further configured to adjust one or more settings of at least one of the grinder or the brewer based on information associated with the identification tag.
4. The coffee brewing system of claim 3, wherein at least one of the one or more settings adjusts a coarseness of coffee ground by the grinder.
5. The coffee brewing system of claim 3, wherein at least one of the one or more settings adjusts a temperature, a volume, or a pouring pattern of water dispensed by the brewer.
6. The coffee brewing system of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to cause the capsule dock to translate from the first position to the second position based on an indication of a completion of a grinding operation.
7. The coffee brewing system of claim 6, wherein the indication of the completion of the grinding operation is based on a weight measured by a weight sensor of the capsule dock.
8. The coffee brewing system of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to cause the brewer to start a brewing process based on an indication that the capsule dock is at the second position under the brewer.
9. The coffee brewing system of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to receive instructions from a user interface configured to allow a user to specify a grind size, a water temperature, a water volume, or a coffee-to-water ratio.
10. The coffee brewing system of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to receive instructions from a user interface configured to present one or more brewing recipes for user selection, wherein each brewing recipe specifies a predetermining brewing configuration for the coffee brewing system.
11. The coffee brewing system of claim 10, wherein the user interface is presented by an application on a user device separate from the coffee brewing system.
12. The coffee brewing system of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to receive instructions from a user interface configured to allow a user to specify brewing details associated with a plurality of pours to be used during a brewing process.
13. The coffee brewing system of claim 12, wherein the brewing details associated with each of the plurality of pours comprise a water temperature, a water volume, or a pouring pattern.
14. The coffee brewing system of claim 1, wherein the grinder comprises: a burr assembly comprising an inner burr and an outer burr, wherein the inner burr is connected to a main shaft and rotates along an axis of the main shaft, and the outer burr is positioned and encased around the inner burr; and a motor configured to control a separation between the inner burr and the outer burr.
15. The coffee brewing system of claim 14, wherein the separation between the inner burr and the outer burr affects a coarseness of the coffee ground.
16. The coffee brewing system of claim 15, wherein the controller is configured to cause the inner burr to move upward to decrease the separation between the inner burr and the outer burr to decrease the coarseness of the coffee ground.
17. The coffee brewing system of claim 1, wherein the capsule dock comprises: a capsule holder configured to receive a capsule; a linear positioning stage configured to horizontally translate the capsule holder; and a connecting member connecting the capsule holder and the linear positioning stage.
18. The coffee brewing system of claim 1, wherein the capsule dock is configured to shake during a brewing process.
19. The coffee brewing system of claim 1, wherein the capsule dock comprises an integrated position sensor that is configured to detect whether the capsule is in a correct position for receiving the coffee grounds from the grinder or receiving water from the brewer.
20. The coffee brewing system of claim 1, wherein the brewer comprises electrodes configured to generate an electrical field for bending water dispensed by the brewer.
Conclusion
/PHUONG T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761
01/13/2026
1 Since the claim does not specific define where “a linear positioning stage” is, such that “a linear positioning stage” can be interpreted as the position between “griding position” and “brewing position”