DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 1, last two lines, the phrase “the second storage unit changes” is unclear and indefinite. This phrase and particularly the term “changes” is not mentioned anywhere in either the specification or the disclosure.
Regarding Claim 13, line 2, the term “changes” is also mentioned.
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, last two lines, the phrase “the second storage unit changes” is unclear and indefinite. What is meant by “unit changes”?
Regarding Claim 11, third line from the bottom, the phrase “next withdrawal operation” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakamoto et al (US 2021/0056794 A1).
Regarding Claim 11, Nakamoto discloses a coin storage apparatus, i.e,. money handling apparatus (100), as illustrated in figures 1 and 2, comprising:
a first storage unit, i.e., any of cassette (300), coin storing units (150), feeding unit (110b, 110c), as mentioned at paragraphs 22 and 43, for example, that stores a plurality of coins of a plurality of denominations;
a second storage unit, i.e., any of the other one of (110b, 150, 300) (150), that stores a plurality of coins of a plurality of denominations in a mixed manner independently of the first storage unit, i.e., any of cassettes (110b, 110c, 150 and 300) and noting that the dispensing unit (140) as illustrated in figures 2 and 4a-4c, for example, collects all of the coins dispensed and presents them in a mixed manner for presentation to a user as mentioned in paragraphs 22, 43, 51 and 52, noting also that gate (110c) and chute (130e) leads to dispensing unit (140); an outlet (140) through which a coin is withdrawn outside; a transport unit (130, 130a-130e) as mentioned at paragraphs 22, 43 and 50-53 and as illustrated in figures 4a-4c, for example, that transports the coin or the plurality of coins; a feeding unit (110b) as mentioned at paragraph 43, that feeds out the coin or the plurality of coins to the transport unit (130, 130a-130e), the coin or the plurality of coins having been discharged from the first storage unit, i.e., any of cassettes (110b, 110c, 150 and 300) and the second storage unit, i.e., any of the other one of (110b, 150, 300); and a recognition unit (120) that recognizes a denomination or denominations of the coin or the plurality of coins to be transported, as mentioned at paragraphs 22, 31 and 50, for example; and
a control unit (160) that executes a withdrawal operation in which at least one or some of a plurality of the coins discharged from the second storage unit (150) to the feeding unit (110b) is withdrawn through the outlet (140) and a replenishment operation, as mentioned at paragraphs 26, 47 and 54, for example, after each withdrawal/dispensing operation and before (a) next withdrawal/dispensing operation, in which at least one or some of the plurality of coins discharged from the first storage unit (300,150, 110b, 110c) is selectively stored in the second storage unit, i.e., any of the other one of (110b, 150, 300), as mentioned in paragraphs 51-60, noting that mixed coins are fed from either cassette (300) or feeding unit (110b) as illustrated in figures 4a-4c.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamoto et al (US 2021/0056794 A1).
Regarding Claim 15, Nakamoto does not expressly teach wherein the second storage unit comprises a bottom part and causes the coin or the plurality of coins to fall to the feeding unit by opening the bottom part when a withdrawal is performed, the bottom part being openable and closable.
Regarding Claim 15, Nakamoto teaches wherein the second storage unit, i.e., any of storage units (150 or 300), comprises a bottom part and causes the coin or the plurality of coins to fall to the feeding unit (110b), i.e., via transport unit (130b) as illustrated in figures 4b and 4c, by opening the bottom part when a withdrawal is performed, the bottom part being openable and closable, which is implied/suggested by the mention that “coins to be dispensed are fed out from each of the storing units 150 corresponding to these coins, and discharged to the dispensing unit 140” as mentioned in the last sentence of paragraph 51, for example.
Regarding cassette/storage container (300), as mentioned at paragraph 24 and as illustrated in figures 4a-4c, note also the mention of chute (130c) that “connects the cassette 300 to the transport path”, as mentioned in paragraph 43, last three sentences, noting transport unit (130a) is connected by chute (130c), and is also suggested as having a gate that is opened to enable coins to be moved from cassette (300) to transport unit (130a). Note also the mention of a gate (110c) in the prior sentences with regards to feeding unit (110b) that further adds to the implication of similar structure used with regards to storage units (150) to effectuate the dispensing of coins therefrom.
See paragraphs 24, 30, 43, 50 and 54-56 as follows.
[0024] In the depositing process, the money management apparatus 200 causes a recognition unit 220 to recognize and count money received in a depositing unit 210, and stores the money in a plurality of storing units 250 (250a, 250b, 250c . . . ) for each denomination. The number of storing units 250 is not particularly limited. In the dispensing process, money of each denomination to be dispensed is fed out from the corresponding storing unit 250, and discharged to a dispensing unit 240 or stored in a cassette (storage container) 300. Whether the money to be dispensed from the money management apparatus 200 is discharged to the dispensing unit 240 or stored in the cassette 300 can be selected when performing the dispensing process. The movement of the money inside the apparatus is performed by a transport unit 230. The money is transported along a transport path connecting each unit. The money management apparatus 200 manages the denomination of money and the quantity of money for each denomination being stored in each storing unit 250. The money management apparatus 200 also manages the denomination of money and the quantity of money for each denomination being stored in each storing unit 150 of the money handling apparatus 100.
[0030] The cassette 300 in which large quantities of money of a plurality of denominations have been stored in a mixed state is dismounted from the money management apparatus 200 and mounted to the money handling apparatus 100 (B2). When the cassette 300 is mounted to the money handling apparatus 100, the money handling apparatus 100 acquires information of the denominations of the money and the quantity of the money for each denomination being stored in the cassette 300, and manages the information.
[0043] Next, the structure and operation of a specific money handling apparatus 100 will be described using a coin handling apparatus (money handling apparatus) 100 which handles coins, as an example. FIG. 2 is a cross-sectional schematic diagram schematically showing the internal structure of the coin handling apparatus 100. The depositing unit 110 of the coin handling apparatus 100 includes an inlet 110a in which coins are put, a feeding unit 110b which receives coins put in the inlet 110a and feeds out the coins to a transport path of an upper transport unit 130a, and a gate 110c through which coins in the feeding unit 110b can be discharged to the dispensing unit 140. The transport unit 130 includes the upper transport unit 130a and a lower transport unit 130b. The upper transport unit 130a transports coins fed out from the feeding unit 110b. The lower transport unit 130b receives coins fed out from the storing unit 150 and the cassette 300, and transports the received coins to the feeding unit 110b. The transport unit 130 includes a plurality of chutes 130c to 130e connected to the transport path of the upper transport unit 130a. The chute 130c connects the cassette 300 to the transport path. The chute 130d connects the storing unit 150 to the transport path in a one-to-one relationship. FIG. 2 shows one chute 130d, but the chute 130d is disposed so as to correspond to each of the storing units 150. The chute 130e connects the dispensing unit 140 to the transport path.
[0050] FIGS. 4A to 4C are schematic diagrams for describing a depositing process, a dispensing process, and a replenishment process performed by the coin handling apparatus 100. FIG. 4A illustrates the depositing process. As shown by an arrow in FIG. 4A, in the depositing process, a coin inserted in the inlet 110a drops in the feeding unit 110b. The feeding unit 110b can store therein a large number of coins and feed out the stored coins one by one. The coins fed out from the feeding unit 110b are transported one by one along the transport path by the upper transport unit 130a. The coins transported on the transport path are recognized and counted by the recognition unit 120. The coins are then dropped through the chute 130d, and are stored in the storing units 150 for each denomination. The arrow in FIG. 4A shows an example in which coins are stored in one storing unit 150, but the destination of each coin is determined in accordance with the denomination of the coin. Coins are stored in the storing units 150 for each denomination. Although not shown in FIG. 4A, if the coin cannot be stored in the storing unit 150 since the storing unit 150 is full with other coins, the coin drops through the chute 130c and is stored in the cassette 300. The denominations of coins and the number of coins for each denomination currently stored in the cassette 300, including coins stored in such a way, are managed in the money handling apparatus 100.
[0054] Coins of a plurality of different denominations are stored in a mixed state in the cassette 300. Therefore, there is a possibility that a coin of a denomination that is not a replenishment target is fed out from the cassette 300 during the replenishment process. If the denomination of a coin recognized by the recognition unit 120 is not a replenishment target, a method for handing this coin can be changed by setting. For example, as shown by a dashed arrow in FIG. 4C, a coin that is not a replenishment target drops through the chute 130c to be returned to the cassette 300.
[0055] For another example, a coin that is not a replenishment target is stored in the storing unit 150 corresponding to the coin. Even in this case, after the number of coins currently stored in the storing unit 150 reaches the number of coins set as the change fund, the coins are returned to the cassette 300.
[0056] For example, it is assumed that, a replenishment process for replenishing a first storing unit 150 for storing money of a denomination “A” with the money is started and the quantity of money being stored in a second storing unit 150 for storing money of a denomination “B” has not reached the replenishment start quantity but has decreased from the quantity of change fund set for the second storing unit 150. In this situation, if money fed out from the cassette 300 is money of the denomination A, the control unit 160 stores this money in the first storing unit 150. On the other hand, if money fed out from the cassette 300 is money of the denomination B, the control unit 160 stores this money in the second storing unit 150. The control unit 160 stores money of the denomination B fed out from the cassette 300 in the second storing unit 150 until the quantity of money being stored in the second storing unit 150 reaches the predetermined quantity of money that is set as change fund. After the storage quantity of the second storing unit 150 reaches the predetermined quantity of the change fund, the control unit 150 returns money of the denomination B fed out from the cassette 300 to the cassette 300. The storage quantity that is a threshold used by the control unit 160 to determine whether money of the denomination B is to be stored in the second storing unit 150 or returned to the cassette 300 can be changed by setting. Accordingly, even if the denomination of money fed out from the cassette 300 during the replenishment process is a denomination that is not a replenishment target, the fed out money can be used effectively.
Emphasis provided.
Regarding Claim 15, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided wherein the second storage unit comprises a bottom part and causes the coin or the plurality of coins to fall to the feeding unit by opening the bottom part when a withdrawal is performed, the bottom part being openable and closable, as taught by Nakamoto, with respect to feeding unit (110b) and its gate (110c) which discharge coins to dispensing unit (140), noting that it would have been obvious to and well within the skill of an ordinarily skilled artisan to have provided a similar gate (110c) to any of storage units (150, 300) for the purpose of accurately controlling the dispensing of coins from either or both storage units to transport units (130a) and (130b) as illustrated in figures 4a-4c and as mentioned at paragraph 43, for example.
Claim(s) 1-10, 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamoto et al (US 2021/0056794 A1) in view of Daout et al (US 2004/0093117 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, as best understood, Nakamoto teaches
a coin storage method, as mentioned at paragraph 53 and as illustrated in figures 1 and 4a-4c, comprising: feeding out a coin from a first storage unit, i.e., any of cassette (300), coin storing units (150), feeding unit (110b, 110c), as mentioned at paragraphs 22 and 43, for example, that stores a plurality of coins of a plurality of denominations; recognizing a denomination of the coin that has been fed out, i.e., via recognition unit (120), as mentioned at paragraph 22; and executing, based on a number of coins for each denomination having been already stored in a second storage unit and the denomination of the coin recognized, a replenishment operation in which the coin is selectively stored in the second storage unit, i.e., any of the other one of (110b, 150, 300), as mentioned at paragraphs 77, 87, 88, and as mentioned at Nakamoto Claim 1, for example, wherein the second storage unit, i.e., any of the other one of (110b, 150, 300), stores a plurality of coins of a plurality of denominations to be withdrawn outside, as mentioned at paragraph 4, in a mixed manner, noting that the dispensing unit (140) as illustrated in figures 2 and 4a-4c, for example, collects all of the coins dispensed and presents them in a mixed manner for presentation to a user as mentioned in paragraphs 22, 43, 51 and 52, noting also that gate (110c) and chute (130e) leads to dispensing unit (140), wherein the executing of the replenishment operation comprises changing, depending on the denomination of the coin having been fed out from the first storage unit, i.e., any of cassette (300), coin storing units (150), feeding unit (110b, 110c), a denomination/number-of-coins combination of one or a plurality of coins to be stored in the second storage unit, i.e., any of the other one of (110b, 150, 300), in the replenishment operation, as mentioned in paragraphs 51-60, for example.
Regarding Claim 1, Nakamoto does not expressly teach storing the coin recognized in the second storage unit until a denomination/number of coins combination of the plurality of coins stored in the second storage unit matches a denomination/number of coins combination set in advance; and
depending on the denomination of the coin fed out from the first storage unit in the replenishment operation, storing the denomination/number-of-coins combination of coins in the second storage unit changes (noting that the term “changes” is not understood).
Regarding Claim 1, Nakamoto does not expressly teach, but Daout teaches storing the coin recognized in the second storage unit, i.e., any one of (D1-D4) or (22), until a denomination/number of coins combination of the plurality of coins stored in the second storage unit (D1-D4, 22) matches a denomination/number of coins combination set in advance, i.e., “p threshold values, R(1) to R(p), as mentioned at paragraphs 28, and 29 and noting paragraph 11, 3rd and 4th sentences, mentioning “[t]he respective thresholds could be fixed in advance in accordance with the expected change requirements” and “[h]owever, in the preferred embodiment, the thresholds are automatically adjusted in accordance with past requirements for change, thereby to make them more likely to be appropriate for future requirements“, and
depending on the denomination of the coin fed out from the first storage unit in the replenishment operation, storing the denomination/number-of-coins combination of coins in the second storage unit changes (noting that the term “changes” is not understood), noting paragraph 28, first sentence, mentions “controller 18 preferably has a memory storing p threshold values, R(1) to R(p), one for each denomination”,
and as mentioned in paragraphs 1, 11, 21-30, 49-54 and 70-73, for example, which state as follows.
[0001] This invention relates to currency stores, and particularly to stores from which currency items can be dispensed and which can be automatically replenished. The invention is particularly applicable to stores for coins or banknotes, used for example in vending machines, which are arranged to receive payment and give change.
[0011] The decision as to whether any particular currency item should be delivered to the store may depend upon the quantity of items of the same denomination which are currently already stored in the store. For example, the decision may be based on whether not the currently-stored quantity exceeds a predetermined threshold, this threshold preferably being capable of being different for different denominations. The respective thresholds could be fixed in advance in accordance with the expected change requirements. However, in the preferred embodiment, the thresholds are automatically adjusted in accordance with past requirements for change, thereby to make them more likely to be appropriate for future requirements. In the preferred embodiment, the threshold for each denomination is adjusted in accordance with the past requirements for change of at least that denomination, and preferably all stored denominations.
[0021] The accept path 10 leads to a gate 20. The controller 18 controls the gate 20 so that an accepted banknote is delivered either to a cashbox 22 or to the multi-denominational store 4. The arrangement may be such that only certain denominations (D1, D2, D3 and D4 ) are sent to the multi-denominational store 4, from which they can subsequently be dispensed as change, whereas other denominations are never sent to the banknote store 4, but instead are delivered to the cashbox 22.
[0022] A dispenser 24 is controlled by the controller 18, and can dispense a banknote of any one of the selected denominations D1, D2, D3 and D4 so that it is refunded to the tray 16 (or sent to an escrow (not shown) so that it can be collected with other notes to be delivered as a stack to the tray 16 ). Obviously, this operation can be repeated so that the apparatus can dispense change of any desired total amount, formed by combinations of denominations D1 to D4.
[0023] The desired total amount to be dispensed can be calculated by the vending machine in which the apparatus 2 is housed, and the signal representing this amount be sent to the controller 18, so that the controller can calculate how many banknotes of the respective denominations should be dispensed, so that the total value dispensed is equal to the desired amount. Alternatively, the vending machine itself could perform this calculation, and issue to the controller 18 instructions as to which denomination should be dispensed. In the latter case, the controller 18 is preferably capable of sending to the vending machine signals representing whether or not individual denominations are available for dispensing, and preferably how many currency items of each denomination are available.
[0024] Various techniques are known in the prior art for determining the combination of denominations to be dispensed. Preferably, the change algorithm is capable of selecting between different combinations, each of which sums to the desired total amount. One typical way of achieving this, referred to as the "least number" method, involves using as many higher-denomination currency items as possible, so that the total number of dispensed currency items is minimised. This is intended to maximise the number of currency items retained in the store so that change remains available for the maximum number of transactions. The change algorithm used in the present embodiment may use such a technique. Preferably, however, the change calculating algorithm is operable to take into account the number of currency items of respective denominations which are currently stored, so that if certain denominations are available in plentiful quantities, they are dispensed in preference to other denominations. Such an arrangement is disclosed in EP-A-0 729 624, the contents of which are incorporated herein by reference.
[0025] Although FIG. 1 suggests that banknotes of each of the denominations are kept together within the store, this is not essential, and indeed the physical positions of the different denominations may be intermingled, so long as the controller 18 is able to cause a selected denomination to be dispensed. The controller 18 keeps track of the number of banknotes of the respective denominations within the store 4, by counting the banknotes which have been delivered to the store via the gate 20 and/or by having one or more sensors for sensing the quantity of the different denominations in the store.
[0026] Preferably, the store 4 is manually replenished by a serviceman when the apparatus is serviced. A serviceman ensures that the store 4 contains sufficient banknotes to cope with the expected requirements for change for a number of transactions. The controller 18 can also display the number of notes of respective denominations required for replenishing by the serviceman. During the course of using the vending machine in which the apparatus 2 is housed, various banknotes will be dispensed from, and added to, those in the banknote store 4. At any given time, therefore, the banknote store 4 will contain banknotes inserted during a number of previous transactions. It would be desirable for the apparatus to be arranged so that the automatic replenishment of the banknote store 4 delivers to this store banknotes of the appropriate denominations, in the appropriate quantities, to match as far as possible the requirements for change, so that manual replenishment by a serviceman is not needed, or at least is not needed frequently.
[0027] In the illustrated embodiment, this is achieved by virtue of the fact that the controller 18 can, by operating the gate 20, prevent banknotes of a particular denomination from being sent to the banknote store 4, even if there is sufficient capacity in the banknote store 4 to accommodate such banknotes, and even if such banknotes are of an appropriate denomination, i.e. D1, D2, D3 or D4, for delivery to the store. The banknotes are instead sent to the cashbox 22. The consequence of this is that the multi-denominational store 4 will not be filled to capacity by banknotes of this particular denomination, so that sufficient room is left for banknotes of different ones of the denomination D1, D2, D3 and D4 to be subsequently sent to the store 4 after having been received by the validator 8. Therefore, the controller 18 can control the relative quantities of the different denominations so that a desired distribution, which is likely to be suitable for change dispensing operations, is stored.
[0028] Assuming that it is desired that the multi-denominational store 4 be arranged to store p denominations (1 to p), then the controller 18 preferably has a memory storing p threshold values, R(1) to R(p), one for each denomination. On receipt of a currency item of denomination j, then the controller 18 controls the gate 20 so as to send the currency item to the store 4 only if N (j) is less than R(j), where N(j) is the currently stored number of currency items of denomination j.
[0029] The apparatus 2 may be provided with a means allowing the setting of the values R(1) to R(p), such as a keyboard, a port or a terminal, or means permitting remote access by a central computer.
[0030] In the preferred embodiment, however, the controller 18 is capable of calculating the threshold levels and, more preferably, altering the threshold levels in accordance with expected change requirements. The system may nevertheless have means to allow an external alteration of the threshold values, for the purposes of initialisation, or subsequent manual adjustment.
[0049] At step 210, the controller determines whether the average number of received bills for denomination j-1 exceeds the average number of dispensed bills of denomination j-1 (em(i+1,j-1)>rm(i+1,j-1)). If the average number of received bills exceeds the average number of dispensed bills, this means that the apparatus is receiving more bills of denomination j-1 than required for dispensing. In this case, the program proceeds to step 212. At this step, the controller 18 modifies the value rm(i+1,j-1) representing the average number of dispensed bills of denomination j-1, by adding to it the difference between the average number of dispensed bills of denomination j and the average number of received bills of denomination j (rm(i+1,j-1)=rm(i+1,j-1)+rm(i+1,j)-em(i+- 1,j)). In other words, the controller 18 calculates a quantity representing the rate at which the quantity of bills of denomination j in the store 4 is decreasing, and then adds this quantity to the calculated average number of dispensed bills of denomination j-1, in order to indicate that the average number of dispensed bills of denomination j-1 was higher than the actual true value.
[0050] The result of this is to suggest that the requirement for bills of denomination j-1 is higher than the actual requirement was in the past. As a result, the threshold for the denomination j-1 is increased, so more bills of denomination j-1 are sent to the store 4. Accordingly, this will allow change to be dispensed using the smaller denomination, j-1, rather than the larger denomination j, of which there is insufficient supply.
[0051] It is to be noted that this modification only occurs if there is an adequate supply of bills of denomination j-1, as determined at step 210. If, at step 210, the controller 18 determines that the average number of received bills is not greater than the average number of dispensed bills of denomination j-1, the program instead proceeds straight to step 204, to increment the index j.
[0052] After the algorithm represented by FIG. 2 is performed, the controller 18 then recalculates the thresholds for all the denominations j=1 to p using the following formula: 3 R ( i + 2 , j ) = Int [ rm ( i + 1 , j ) * MC n = 1 p rm ( i + 1 , n ) ]
[0053] The thresholds R(i+2,j) are then applied during the next transaction, i+2.
[0054] The result of this procedure is that, over the course of a number of transactions, the proportions of the different denominations in the store 4 will tend to correspond to the average proportions of the denominations required for change. However, this tendency is modified (according to step 210 ) if one denomination is in short supply and the next-lower denomination is in plentiful supply, to increase the number of lower-denomination banknotes which can therefore be dispensed as change in preference to the higher denomination. This diminishes the requirement for the higher denomination banknotes.
[0070] Many modifications to the above-described techniques are possible. For example, in steps 202 and 210 the rolling averages of received banknotes are compared with rolling averages of dispensed banknotes. Instead, the controller 18 can simply determine the rate at which the number of stored banknotes of respective denominations increases or decreases; for example, the controller may calculate for each denomination the change in the stored quantities over a predetermined number of transactions.
[0071] The above techniques disregard the relative values of the denominations, but these could instead be taken into account. For example, the calculation performed at step 212 could be arranged to modify the value rm(i+1,j-1) by a factor which is proportional to (rm(i+1,j)-em(i+1,j)), the constant of proportionality being dependent upon the relative values of the denominations j,j-1.
[0072] In the present embodiment, the controller 18 determines the desired relative proportions of the different denominations in the store 4. However, this determination can instead be carried out as part of the change-calculating algorithm. Thus, the change-calculating algorithm can take into account various factors, such as the relationship between prices and the values of respective denominations, to determine which denominations are most likely to be required for change, and this information can be used in adjusting the relative proportions of the different denominations in the store 4. Indeed, the change algorithm could be used to decide which denominations should be sent to the store, and which should be sent to the cashbox.
[0073] Various other factors can also be taken into account either in setting the initial threshold levels or in adjusting those levels. Examples of various factors which may be used are given in WO-A-94/03874, the contents of which are incorporated herein by reference. One example is data indicative of the relative population levels of respective currency denominations in the area in which the apparatus is to be used.
Emphasis provided.
Regarding Claim 1, Nakamoto does not expressly teach, but Daout further teaches
Regarding Claim 1, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the invention, to have provided storing the coin recognized in the second storage unit until a denomination/number of coins combination of the plurality of coins stored in the second storage unit matches a denomination/number of coins combination set in advance; and
depending on the denomination of the coin fed out from the first storage unit in the replenishment operation, storing the denomination/number-of-coins combination of coins in the second storage unit changes (noting that the term “changes” is not understood), as taught by Daout, in Nakamoto’s coin storage apparatus for the purpose of managing the coin/currency inventory so as to better facilitate the coin storage apparatus to meet demand for particular coin denominations, thus enabling its increased operation. See also Daout paragraph 11 and Claims 1-21, for example.
Regarding Claim 2, Nakamoto teaches wherein the changed denomination/number of coins combination is indicated by at least one of the plurality of denomination/number-of-coins patterns, among a plurality of denomination/number-of-coins patterns indicating a plurality of denomination/number-of-coins combinations, as mentioned at paragraphs 30-32 and 55-60, for example, noting that a pattern can be construed as that set by the interface as illustrated in figures 9, 10a and 10b and as mentioned at paragraph 62, for example.
Regarding Claim 2, see also Daout, paragraphs 1, 11, 21-30, 49-54 and 70-73 and Claims 1-21.
Regarding Claim 3, Nakamoto teaches wherein the executing of the replenishment operation further comprises returning the coin recognized to the first storage unit, i.e., any of cassettes (110b, 110c, 150 and 300), after a number of the plurality of coins stored in the second storage unit (150) for each denomination matches the changed denomination/number-of-coins combination, as mentioned in paragraphs 51-60, for example.
Regarding Claim 4, Nakamoto teaches wherein the executing of the replenishment operation further comprises returning a coin of a specific denomination, among a plurality of the coins recognized, to the first storage unit, i.e., any of cassettes (110b, 110c, 150 and 300), when a number of coins of the specific denomination among the plurality of coins stored in the second storage unit has reached an upper limit number set in advance for each denomination, as mentioned in paragraphs 54-56 and 79, for example.
Regarding Claim 5, Nakamoto teaches wherein the upper limit number is a maximum value of a number of coins for each denomination indicated by the plurality of denomination/number-of-coins patterns, as mentioned at paragraphs 58 and 59.
Regarding Claim 6, Nakamoto teaches wherein the executing of the replenishment operation further comprises: receiving, i.e., via the screens displayed on display unit (170) as mentioned at paragraphs 71-82, selection of at least one specific denomination/number-of-coins pattern among the plurality of denomination/number-of-coins patterns, and storing the coin recognized in the second storage unit (150) until the number of the plurality of coins stored in the second storage unit (150) for each denomination matches a number-of-coins combination for the each denomination indicated by the at least one specific denomination/number-of-coins pattern selected, as mentioned at paragraphs 62 and 77, for example.
Regarding Claim 7, Nakamoto teaches wherein the executing of the replenishment operation further comprises: selecting at least one specific denomination/number-of-coins pattern among the plurality of denomination/number-of-coins patterns based on an operation mode set in advance, as mentioned at paragraphs 62 and 77, for example, and
storing the coin recognized in the second storage unit (150) until the number of the plurality of coins stored in the second storage unit (150) for each denomination matches a number-of-coins combination for the each denomination indicated by the at least one specific denomination/number-of-coins pattern having been selected, as mentioned in paragraphs 54-56 and 79, for example.
Regarding Claim 8, Nakamoto teaches, wherein the executing of the replenishment operation further comprises feeding out the one or plurality of coins from the second storage unit (150) and, transporting one or a plurality of coins that forms an amount of the withdrawal requested, among the one or plurality of coins fed out, to an outlet, when withdrawal is requested, and
wherein each of the plurality of denomination/number-of-coins patterns indicates a number-of-coins combination for each denomination, the number-of-coins combination forming a withdrawal fund to be stored in the second storage unit (150), as mentioned at paragraphs 50-52, for example.
Regarding Claim 9, Nakamoto teaches wherein the executing of the replenishment operation further comprises feeding out a coin anew from the first storage unit, i.e., any of cassettes (110b, 110c, 150 and 300), recognizing, and transporting a coin to the second storage unit (150), after transporting the plurality of coins forming the amount of the withdrawal to the outlet, i.e., dispensing unit (140), as mentioned at paragraphs 22, 43, 51-52, for example.
Regarding Claim 10, Nakamoto teaches wherein the executing of the replenishment operation further comprises at least one of a deposit and/or a withdrawal at the coin storage apparatus is stopped until the number of the plurality of coins stored in the second storage unit (150) for each denomination matches the number-of-coins combination for the each denomination indicated by, among the plurality of denomination/number-of-coins patterns set in advance, at least one of the plurality of denomination/number-of-coins patterns, after transporting the plurality of coins forming the amount of the withdrawal to the outlet (140), as mentioned at paragraphs 22, 43 and 51-52, for example, noting that while the replenishment process is being performed, no withdrawal/change or deposit process is performed.
Regarding Claim 13, see the rejection of Claims 1-10, above.
Regarding Claim 14, see the rejection of Claims 1-10, above.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamoto et al (US 2021/0056794 A1) in view of Blake et al (US 2015/0302678 A1) and further in view of Doi et al (US 2014/0060997 A1).
Regarding Claim 12, Nakamoto teaches the system as described above.
Regarding Claim 12, Nakamoto teaches wherein the feeding unit (110b) that feeds out the coin or the plurality of coins to the transport unit (130, 130a-130e) is provided on an upper side of the second storage unit (150) and close to the second storage unit (150).
Regarding Claim 12, Nakamoto does not expressly teach wherein the feeding unit that feeds out the coin or the plurality of coins to the transport unit is provided on a lower side of the second storage unit and close to the second storage unit.
Regarding Claim 12, Nakamoto does not expressly teach, but Doi teaches wherein the feeding unit, i.e., any of feeding unit (133b) or storage units (150b), as illustrated in figures 5a and 5b, that feeds out the coin or the plurality of coins to the transport unit (131b), is provided on a lower side of the second storage unit, i.e., any of feeding unit (133b) or storage units (150b), close to the second storage unit (133b, 150b) as illustrated in figures 5a and 5b, for example, noting that both feeding unit (133b) and storage units (150b) both feed and dispense coins to the transporter (133b) either directly or indirectly.
Regarding Claim 12, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the invention, to have provided wherein the feeding unit that feeds out the coin or the plurality of coins to the transport unit is provided on a lower side of the second storage unit and close to the second storage unit, as taught by Doi, in Nakamoto’s coin storage apparatus as a matter of design choice based upon the balance of coin volume/demand versus the space required to fit the components within the envelope of the coin storage apparatus. Note also that Applicant does not provide criticality for locating the feeding unit in such a location in either the specification or the disclosure.
Therefore, regarding Claim 12, it would have been obvious to have used Doi’s teaching of using any of feeding unit (133b) or storage units (150b), which are located in matrix structure and which all both accept and feed coins, such that Nakomoto’s coin storage unit includes the feeding unit that feeds out the coin or the plurality of coins to the transport unit is provided on a lower side of the second storage unit and close to the second storage unit as an alternative structure to Nakamoto’s structure since both Doi’s and Nakomoto's devices have predictable structure and function and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the efficacy and synergy of the combination based upon the references' teachings as well as common sense, logic and reason.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/17/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Rejections under 35 USC Section 112
Regarding the rejections under section 112, although the rejections from the prior action have been met by the amendments, new 112 rejections have been discussed above.
Rejections under 35 USC Section 102
Regarding the rejections of Claims 11 and 15 under section 102, Applicant asserts that “[w]hile Nakamoto uses a mixed-denomination cassette (300) for replenishment, Nakamoto fails to describe a second storage unit that stores coins in a mixed manner independently of a first storage unit for the purpose of maintaining a mixed withdrawal fund”, as mentioned at p. 9, last four lines, of Applicant’s Remarks received 4/17/26.
Applicant also asserts at p. 9, last line, to p. 10, first two lines, that “Nakamoto does not teach or suggest ‘wherein the second storage unit stores a plurality of coins of a plurality of denominations to be withdrawn outside in a mixed manner’ as recited in amended claim 11”.
However, in response, it is noted that either of storing units (150) or cassette/storage container (300) are both fed mixed denomination coins, and both of these storage units/cassettes feed the mixed denomination coins to the transport unit (130a), via chute (130c) and lower transport unit (130b), as illustrated in figures 2 and 4a-4c and as mentioned at paragraphs 24, 30, 43, 50 and 54-56.
Additionally, it is noted that figures 2 and 4a-4c illustrate that the entire system is closed loop, meaning that coins are fed to either cassette (300) and/or storage units (150), and which are then fed to either lower transport unit (130b) or upper transport unit (130a) to eventually dispense to dispensing unit (140) which is construed as resulting in coins of a plurality of denominations withdrawn to the outside of the money handling apparatus (100).
Rejections under 35 USC Section 103
Regarding Claim 15, Applicant asserts that “Nakamoto’s disclosure of coins being ‘fed out’ does not necessitate the specific structure of an openable bottom part for gravity-based falling”.
However, in response, it is noted that paragraph 26, second to the last sentence, of Nakamoto mentions that “[t]he money handling apparatus 100 can perform a replenishment process by using the money being stored in the cassette 300”, and paragraph 31, first sentence, which states “[t]he money handling apparatus 100 performs a replenishment process in which the money is fed out from the cassette 300, recognized and counted by the recognition unit 120, and stored in the corresponding storing unit 150 (C1)”. Additionally, paragraph 43 states as follows.
[0043] Next, the structure and operation of a specific money handling apparatus 100 will be described using a coin handling apparatus (money handling apparatus) 100 which handles coins, as an example. FIG. 2 is a cross-sectional schematic diagram schematically showing the internal structure of the coin handling apparatus 100. The depositing unit 110 of the coin handling apparatus 100 includes an inlet 110a in which coins are put, a feeding unit 110b which receives coins put in the inlet 110a and feeds out the coins to a transport path of an upper transport unit 130a, and a gate 110c through which coins in the feeding unit 110b can be discharged to the dispensing unit 140. The transport unit 130 includes the upper transport unit 130a and a lower transport unit 130b. The upper transport unit 130a transports coins fed out from the feeding unit 110b. The lower transport unit 130b receives coins fed out from the storing unit 150 and the cassette 300, and transports the received coins to the feeding unit 110b. The transport unit 130 includes a plurality of chutes 130c to 130e connected to the transport path of the upper transport unit 130a. The chute 130c connects the cassette 300 to the transport path. The chute 130d connects the storing unit 150 to the transport path in a one-to-one relationship. FIG. 2 shows one chute 130d, but the chute 130d is disposed so as to correspond to each of the storing units 150. The chute 130e connects the dispensing unit 140 to the transport path.
Emphasis provided.
Thus, since cassette (300) has a chute (130c) connected to upper transport unit (130a), and upper transport unit (130a) has chute (130d) connected to each storing unit (150), taken together along with the citations from paragraphs 26 and 31, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that coins are both fed to and from the upper transport unit and the cassette (300) as shown in figures 4a-4c. Further, even if there were no such express teachings, it would have been obvious to have made the chute to feed via gravity onto and from upper transport unit (130a), using a gate such as (110c) to meter the flow of coins as needed either to or from the cassette (300) to the upper transport unit (130a), as is common in the art. Further, note that any of storage units (150) can be made to store coins of mixed denominations and to feed them to lower transport unit (130b), to feeding unit (110b), and to transport unit (130a) to be sorted by recognition unit (120) and for distribution to any of storage units (150) and/or cassette (300) as needed. Similarly, it would have been obvious to have used a gate (110c), as illustrated in figures 4a-4c and as mentioned at paragraph 43, for the purpose of accurately metering coins to the lower transport unit (130b) for distribution through the rest of the system.
Regarding Claim 11, Applicant asserts that because Daout does not teach that the target denomination is changed in real time based on the specific incoming coins recognized, that Applicant’s claim limitations as mentioned in Independent Claim 1 does not read on the combination of Nakamoto and Daout.
In response, it is noted that this is an incorrect interpretation of Daout. Instead, Daout teaches expressly the real time dynamic changing of denomination thresholds of either coins or banknotes based upon past as well as current usage history data, as mentioned at paragraphs 70-73, for example, which state as follows.
[0070] Many modifications to the above-described techniques are possible. For example, in steps 202 and 210 the rolling averages of received banknotes are compared with rolling averages of dispensed banknotes. Instead, the controller 18 can simply determine the rate at which the number of stored banknotes of respective denominations increases or decreases; for example, the controller may calculate for each denomination the change in the stored quantities over a predetermined number of transactions.
[0071] The above techniques disregard the relative values of the denominations, but these could instead be taken into account. For example, the calculation performed at step 212 could be arranged to modify the value rm(i+1,j-1) by a factor which is proportional to (rm(i+1,j)-em(i+1,j)), the constant of proportionality being dependent upon the relative values of the denominations j,j-1.
[0072] In the present embodiment, the controller 18 determines the desired relative proportions of the different denominations in the store 4. However, this determination can instead be carried out as part of the change-calculating algorithm. Thus, the change-calculating algorithm can take into account various factors, such as the relationship between prices and the values of respective denominations, to determine which denominations are most likely to be required for change, and this information can be used in adjusting the relative proportions of the different denominations in the store 4. Indeed, the change algorithm could be used to decide which denominations should be sent to the store, and which should be sent to the cashbox.
[0073] Various other factors can also be taken into account either in setting the initial threshold levels or in adjusting those levels. Examples of various factors which may be used are given in WO-A-94/03874, the contents of which are incorporated herein by reference. One example is data indicative of the relative population levels of respective currency denominations in the area in which the apparatus is to be used.
Emphasis provided.
Daout’s mention in paragraph 70, second sentence, that “[f]or example, in steps 202 and 210 the rolling averages of received banknotes are compared with rolling averages of dispensed banknotes” is a direct example that real time dynamic data of denomination changes are used to adjust/alter the denomination levels in the storage devices of the currency handling system (2) as illustrated in figure 1, for example. The denomination/number of coins combination are construed to be the denomination thresholds (R(1) to (Rp) for each denomination (d1-d4), as mentioned in paragraphs 22 and 28, for example. Applicant’s thresholds are necessarily based upon past historical data, even if taking into account the current replenishment, because the current replenishment becomes a new transaction that is added to the past transaction data performed previously. Applicant’s claimed algorithm and system operates in the same way with the same structure as Daout’s algorithm and system.
Note also that Nakamoto teaches prediction of denominations of money required by money handling apparatus (100), as mentioned at paragraph 28, for example.
Therefore, the combination of Nakamoto and Daout teaches the claim limitations of Claim 1, including
storing the coin recognized in the second storage unit until a denomination/number of coins combination of the plurality of coins stored in the second storage unit matches a denomination/number of coins combination set in advance; and
depending on the denomination of the coin fed out from the first storage unit in the replenishment operation, storing the denomination/number-of-coins combination of coins in the second storage unit changes (noting that the term “changes” is not understood).
Therefore, Claims 1-15 remain rejected.
Conclusion
Applicant is encouraged to contact the Examiner should there be any questions about this rejection or in an endeavor to explore potential amendments or potential allowable subject matter.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Takeuchi ‘931 is cited as teaching a coin replenishment device (30) that is fed from belt (70) so that the replenishment device (30) can feed coins to the belt (20p) so that they are sorted and deposited in the correct storage unit (50) as illustrated in figure 11, for example.
Blake ‘640 is cited as teaching a coin storage bin (902) that stores mixed denomination coins, and that replenishes the other storage devices (900) via conveyor system (1202) that moves the deposited mixed coins to the coin processing module which discriminates and sorts them to the particular storage device (900) for each denomination, as illustrated in figures 27a-27d, for example.
Shuren ‘118 is cited as teaching a coin storage bin (1, 5) that stores mixed denomination coins, and that replenishes the other storage devices (4) via conveyor system (6) that moves the deposited mixed coins to the coin processing module (3) which discriminates and sorts them to the particular storage device (4) for each denomination, as illustrated in figures 1 and 4, for example.
Jones ‘576 is cited as teaching a coin path (38) with diverters (44, 46a,46b) that diverts the coins to the particular path and storage (52, 54, 56) as illustrated in figure 3, for example.
Cole ‘213 is cited as teaching a coin storage bin (23a) that stores mixed denomination coins (11), and that replenishes the other storage devices (21, 39) via conveyor system (24, 25) that moves the deposited mixed coins (11) to the coin processing module (26) which discriminates and sorts them to the particular storage device (39) for each denomination, as illustrated in figures 3, 4 and 6-8, for example.
Ikuta ‘711 is cited as teaching an overflow coin container box (51) with coin tubes (45) as illustrated in figure 1, which dispenses coins to belt (53) that deposits coins onto either coin receiving unit (13) or coin processing device (19) for moving coins toward belt (21) for sorting into coin box (51) or coin tubes (45).
Blake ‘678 is cited as the pg publication of Blake ‘640.
/JEFFREY A SHAPIRO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619
June 11, 2026