DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites “the secondary function”, and there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8-14, 18 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Noske et al. (US2017/0101187).
Regarding claim 1, Noske teaches a backsplash wireless power system, comprising: a base (22) configured to mount to a backsplash adjacent to and above a countertop (“Configured to mount” is considered functional language. The base in Noske is capable of being mounted to a backsplash and countertop); and a wireless power transmitter (12) supported by the base and configured to generate a wireless power signal to power a wirelessly powered appliance (18) positioned proximate thereto.
Regarding claim 2, Noske teaches a movable platform (generally 24, Fig. 1) movably coupled to the base, wherein the wireless power transmitter is disposed on the movable platform.
Regarding claim 3, Noske teaches the movable platform is at least partially pivotably movable relative to the base.
Regarding claim 4, Noske teaches the movable platform is movable between a storage position and a use position.
Regarding claim 5, Noske teaches when in the use position the wireless power transmitter is upwardly-facing to oppose a downwardly-facing wireless power receiver of the wirelessly powered appliance (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, Noske teaches when in the storage position at least a portion of the movable platform nests within the base.
Regarding claim 9, Noske teaches an automated retraction/extension mechanism coupling the movable platform to the base and configured to move the movable platform between the storage and use positions (it is well known in the art that these style tray tables can automatically deploy with springs or by weights when the holding lever is toggled).
Regarding claim 10, Noske teaches when in the use position, the movable platform is supported by the countertop (the countertop is included in the functional language of claim 1, and the platform is capable of resting on a countertop).
Regarding claim 11, Noske teaches a releasable latching mechanism (see Fig. 8) configured to releasably secure the movable platform in the storage position.
Regarding claim 12, Noske teaches a power cord (46) configured to supply power to the wireless power transmitter from a wall-mounted electrical outlet.
Regarding claim 13, Noske teaches a mounting bracket (generally 48) configured to mount the base to the backsplash (note that the backsplash is contained within functional language in claim 1, and the bracket is capable of mounting to a backsplash).
Regarding claim 14, Noske teaches a secondary function configured for use when the wireless power transmitter is not active (the assembly is a tray when the power is not active).
Regarding claim 18, Noske teaches at least one plug (46) configured to plug into a wall-mounted electrical outlet on the backsplash (note that the backsplash is contained within functional language in claim 1), wherein the backsplash wireless power system is at least partially supported by the wall-mounted electrical outlet (Noske teaches the plug is routed into the seat base).
Regarding claim 20, Noske teaches the wireless power transmitter is configured to supply power to a wirelessly powered appliance including an electric motor and/or a heating element and lacking a power storage element sufficient to otherwise power the wirelessly powered appliance (Noske is capable of performing this function).
Regarding claim 21, Noske teaches the wireless power transmitter is further configured to inductively heat a utensil placed in proximity to the wireless power transmitter (the power transmitter is capable of performing this function).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noske.
Regarding claims 6-7, Noske teaches the backsplash wireless power system of claim 4, but fails to explicitly teach when in the use position the wireless power transmitter is downwardly-facing to oppose an upwardly- facing wireless power receiver of the wirelessly powered appliance, and when in the use position the wireless power transmitter is side-facing to oppose a side-facing wireless power receiver of the wirelessly powered appliance.
Since applicant has not disclosed that having the wireless power transmitter downwardly-facing or side-facing solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose above the fact that the transmitter delivers power to a receiver and it appears that the power system of Noske would perform equally well with the transmitter orientation as claimed by applicant, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify the power system of Noske by utilizing the transmitter orientation as claimed for the purpose of delivering power to a receiver.
Claims 15, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noske in view of McGinnis et al. (US7364443).
Regarding claims 15 and 17, Noske teaches the backsplash wireless power system of claim 1, but fails to teach the secondary function comprises an on/off light, a motion activated light, a timed light, a light sensor-activated light, a smart assistant, a video system, a display, a touchscreen display, a clock, a timer, a wired charging port, or an audio system, further comprising one or more power outlets disposed on the base and configured to supply power to a wired electronic device,
In an analogous art, McGinnis teaches a deployable kitchen charger. McGinnis teaches a wired charging port (14), and one or more power outlets (14) on its base (the power outlet is also considered a wired charging port due to its ability to provided charge through wires).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the power system of Noske and change it so that the secondary function comprises an on/off light, a motion activated light, a timed light, a light sensor-activated light, a smart assistant, a video system, a display, a touchscreen display, a clock, a timer, a wired charging port, or an audio system, further comprising one or more power outlets disposed on the base and configured to supply power to a wired electronic device,
Regarding claim 19, Noske teaches the backsplash wireless system of claim 1, but fails to teach one or more fasteners securing the backsplash wireless power system to the wall-mounted electrical outlet.
McGinnis further teaches one or more holes (12) for fasteners to secure the charger base (13) to an outlet mounting plate (11) and further to a kitchen structure.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the power system of Noske and change it so that it has one or more fasteners securing the backsplash wireless power system to the wall-mounted electrical outlet as taught by McGinnis to provide secure fastening of the power system to a power source.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noske in view of Nam et al. (US10424940).
Regarding claim 16, Noske teaches the backsplash wireless power system of claim 1, but fails to teach a user interface and a controller configured to operate the user interface and the wireless power transmitter, wherein the controller is further configured to control a functional operation of the wirelessly powered appliance using the interface.
In an analogous art, Nam teaches a wireless power transmitter. Nam teaches a user interface (110) for controlling operation of the power transmitter.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the power system of Noske and add a user interface and a controller configured to operate the user interface and the wireless power transmitter, wherein the controller is further configured to control a functional operation of the wirelessly powered appliance using the interface as taught by Nam to control the power transmitter.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US references 10554033, 8618695, 6489745 teach wireless power transmitters.
/CAMERON A CORDAY/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/COURTNEY D HEINLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745