DETAILED ACTION
Claims StatusClaims 1-19 filed 12/18/2025 have not been amended.
Claim 20 is a newly added claim.Claims 1-20 are pending and have been rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/18/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s representative asserts that Kwon fails to disclose “[a] portable electronic device comprising: …a processor configure to: …execute, according to a command for requesting password verification received from the host device through the communication interference, password authentication using input passport data stored in the received command and the one or more passwords stored in the second memory”. However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees as Kwon et al. (U.S. Publication 2022/0166769) in paragraphs 0049, shows the UE can perform a user authentication operation (e.g., an operation of identifying whether a user is qualified to use the UE) via the data communication with the authentication server. Paragraph 0083, shows user information (e.g., password or biometric information) is received. Paragraph 0085, shows the user identity verification of the user is verified with the with a verification server. Paragraph 0101, shows data communication for user authentication can be stored in the memory. Applicant’s representative asserts that Kwon is silent to a processor configure to: execute, according to a command for requesting biometric authentication received from the host device through the communication interface, biometric authentication using the biological information stored in the first memory”. However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees as Fukuda (U.S. Publication 2017/0374066) in paragraph 0010, shows the biometric authentication means is configured to, upon receiving biometric information and identification information of an application from an external processing apparatus, execute biometric authentication by using the received biometric information and biometric information of a registrant registered in the database (server). Paragraph 0030, shows the biometric information used for biometric authentication is a fingerprint, the biometric information acquiring unit 24 is configured by a fingerprint sensor that reads the user's fingerprint. Paragraph 0034, shows the storage unit has a database that stores, for each registrant, wherein the storage unit is a rewritable nonvolatile memory. Paragraph 0056, shows IC card processing apparatus acquires biometric information of the user, who is a person to be authenticated, via the biometric information acquiring unit. Applicant’s representative asserts that Kwon teaches away from the use of IC cards, nothing that “[t]he disclosure relates to verifying the identity of a user using a portable electronic device, instead of using a plastic ID card.” However, the Examiner used the prior art of Fukuda (U.S. Publication 2017/0374066) to disclose the feature of IC card.
As it is Applicant's right to claim as broadly as possible their invention, it is also the Examiner's right to interpret the claim language as broadly as possible. It is the Examiner's position that the detailed functionality that allows for Applicant's invention to overcome the prior art used in the rejection, fails to differentiate in detail how these features are unique. It is clear that Applicant must be able to submit claim language to distinguish over the prior arts used in the above rejection sections that discloses distinctive features of Applicant's claimed invention. It is suggested that Applicant compare the original specification and claim language with the cited prior art used in the rejection section above or the remark section below to draw an amended claim set to further the prosecution.
Failure for Applicant to narrow the definition/scope of the claims and supply arguments commensurate in scope with the claims implies the Applicant's intent to broaden claimed invention.
Based on the rationale explained above, the Examiner disagrees with the prior arts being silent to the claimed embodiment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9-12 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. (U.S. Publication 2022/0166769), hereinafter ‘Kwon’ in view of Fukuda (U.S. Publication 2017/0374066), hereinafter ‘Fukuda’
As to claim 1, Kwon discloses a portable electronic device comprising: a biometric sensor configured to acquire biological information of a person (Kwon, see [0093], portable electronic device includes biometric sensor that receives biometric information of a user); a communication interface configured to communicate with a host device (Kwon, see fig. 1, communication module to communicate); a first memory configured to store biological information of a registrant (Kwon, see [0023], memory can store various data wherein that various data includes input data or output data, wherein the memory includes volatile memory and non-volatile memory. See [0056], authentication module stores instructions in the memory. See [0068], authentication module performs verification (primary authentication) on the received biometric information); a second memory configured to store one or more passwords (Kwon, see [0023], memory can store various data wherein that various data includes input data or output data, wherein the memory includes volatile memory and non-volatile memory. See [0056], authentication module stores instructions in the memory. See [0068], authentication module performs verification (primary authentication) on the received user information. See [0083], authentication module can receive user information (e.g., password or biometric information)) and execute, according to a command for requesting password verification received from the host device through the communication interface, password authentication using input password data stored in the received command and the one or more passwords stored in the second memory (Kwon, see [0083], user information (e.g., password or biometric information) is received. See [0085], user identity verification of the user is verified with the with a verification server. See [0101], data communication for user authentication can be stored in the memory), wherein the processor is further configured to set a verification state of the password stored in the second memory to a verified state if the biometric authentication or the password authentication is successful (Kwon, see [0063], user authentication is successful, the authentication server can perform an identity verification operation between the UE and the verification server. See [0064], the memory of the verification server can store instructions that enable the processor to perform an operation of verifying the identity of a user by performing data communication). Kwon is silent to a processor configured to: execute, according to a command for requesting biometric authentication received from the host device through the communication interface, biometric authentication using the biological information acquired by the biometric sensor and the biological information stored in the first memory, and However, Fukuda discloses a processor configured to: execute, according to a command for requesting biometric authentication received from the host device through the communication interface (Fukuda, see [0010], the biometric authentication means is configured to, upon receiving biometric information and identification information of an application from an external processing apparatus, execute biometric authentication by using the received biometric information and biometric information of a registrant registered in the database (server)), biometric authentication using the biological information acquired by the biometric sensor and the biological information stored in the first memory (Fukuda, see [0030], the biometric information used for biometric authentication is a fingerprint, the biometric information acquiring unit 24 is configured by a fingerprint sensor that reads the user's fingerprint. See [0034], the storage unit has a database that stores, for each registrant, wherein the storage unit is a rewritable nonvolatile memory. See [0056], IC card processing apparatus acquires biometric information of the user, who is a person to be authenticated, via the biometric information acquiring unit)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kwon in view of Fukuda in order to further modify the method of a mobile identification service which is capable of verifying the identity of a user from the teachings of Kwon with the method of IC card processing system from the teachings of Fukuda.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would allow to biometric authentication for registrant (Fukuda – Abstract).
As to claim 2, Kwon in view of Fukuda discloses everything disclosed in claim 1. Fukuda further discloses wherein the processor is configured to, if the biometric authentication is successful, set verification states of all the passwords stored in the second memory to verified states (Fukuda, see [0045], each holder (registrant) who possesses an issued IC card, at least one piece of biometric authentication information and a password that is associated with identification information of each application. See [0048], the processor of the server has the function of executing biometric authentication processing, wherein If biometric authentication processing is successful, the processor of the server can specify the password corresponding to the identification information that has been received together with the biometric information with respect to which the biometric authentication processing was successful from the database, and transmit the specified password to the IC card processing apparatus).
As to claim 3, Kwon in view of Fukuda discloses everything disclosed in claim 1. Fukuda further discloses wherein the processor is configured to, if the biometric authentication is successful, set a verification state for a password associated with the biological information stored in the first memory and used for the biometric authentication among the passwords stored in the second memory to a verified state (Fukuda, see [0045] & fig. 5, each holder (registrant) who possesses an issued IC card, at least one piece of biometric authentication information and a password that is associated with identification information of each application. See [0048], the processor of the server has the function of executing biometric authentication processing, wherein If biometric authentication processing is successful, the processor of the server can specify the password corresponding to the identification information that has been received together with the biometric information with respect to which the biometric authentication processing was successful from the database, and transmit the specified password to the IC card processing apparatus).
As to claim 4, Kwon in view of Fukuda discloses everything disclosed in claim 1. Fukuda further discloses wherein the processor is configured to, if the biometric authentication is successful, set a verification state of a password designated by the command among the passwords stored in the second memory to a verified state (Fukuda, see [0045] & fig. 5, each holder (registrant) who possesses an issued IC card, at least one piece of biometric authentication information and a password that is associated with identification information of each application. See [0048], the processor of the server has the function of executing biometric authentication processing, wherein if biometric authentication processing is successful, the processor of the server can specify the password corresponding to the identification information that has been received together with the biometric information with respect to which the biometric authentication processing was successful from the database, and transmit the specified password to the IC card processing apparatus. See [0064], the password is received in response to the biometric authentication request, the processor of the IC card processing apparatus transmits the password that has been acquired from the server as a result of biometric authentication and a command to perform the application, to the IC card).
As to claim 5, Kwon in view of Fukuda discloses everything disclosed in claim 1. Fukuda further discloses wherein the first memory is configured to store biological information associated with the passwords stored in the second memory (Fukuda, see [0046-0047], the biometric authentication information stored in the database can be any piece of information with which biometric authentication processing for specifying a user can be performed, wherein the database stores, for the user A, the password A that is associated with the identification information A of the application A, the password B that is associated with the identification information B of the application B, and the password C that is associated with the identification information C of the application C), and the processor is configured to execute biometric verification using biological information corresponding to a password designated by the command among the biological information stored in the first memory (Fukuda, see [0048], the processor of the server has the function of executing biometric authentication processing, wherein if biometric authentication processing is successful, the processor of the server can specify the password corresponding to the identification information that has been received together with the biometric information with respect to which the biometric authentication processing was successful from the database, and transmit the specified password to the IC card processing apparatus. See [0064], the password is received in response to the biometric authentication request, the processor of the IC card processing apparatus transmits the password that has been acquired from the server as a result of biometric authentication and a command to perform the application, to the IC card).
As to claim 9, Kwon in view of Fukuda discloses everything disclosed in claim 1. Fukuda further discloses wherein the processor is configured to execute biometric authentication if a verification command for requesting biometric authentication is received from the host device through the communication interface (Fukuda, see [0010], a server has a communication interface. See [0045], each holder (registrant) who possesses an issued IC card, at least one piece of biometric authentication information and a password that is associated with identification information of each application. See [0048], the processor of the server has the function of executing biometric authentication processing, wherein If biometric authentication processing is successful, the processor of the server can specify the password corresponding to the identification information that has been received together with the biometric information with respect to which the biometric authentication processing was successful from the database, and transmit the specified password to the IC card processing apparatus).
As to claim 10, Kwon in view of Fukuda discloses everything disclosed in claim 1. Fukuda further discloses wherein the processor is configured to execute biometric authentication if a specific command is received from the host device through the communication interface (Fukuda, see [0010], The biometric authentication means is configured to, upon receiving biometric information and identification information of an application from an external processing apparatus, execute biometric authentication by using the received biometric information and biometric information of a registrant registered in the database (server)).
As to claim 11, Kwon in view of Fukuda discloses everything disclosed in claim 10. Fukuda further discloses wherein the specific command is a command that is first received after an initial response is output through the communication interface (Fukuda, see [0052], when communication with the IC card is started, the processor of the IC card processing apparatus transmits an application selection request to the IC card, as a command to select an application corresponding to the instructed processing).
As to claim 12, Kwon in view of Fukuda discloses everything disclosed in claim 10. Fukuda further discloses wherein the specific command is an application select command (Fukuda, see [0052], the processor of the IC card processing apparatus transmits an application selection command to select the application A to the IC card).
As to claim 13, Kwon in view of Fukuda discloses everything disclosed in claim 10. Fukuda further discloses wherein the processor is configured to execute self-diagnosis of the biometric sensor after outputting an initial response through the communication interface, and execute biometric authentication if a self-diagnosis result of the biometric sensor is normal (Fukuda, see [0048], If biometric authentication processing is successful, the processor of the server can specify the password corresponding to the identification information that has been received together with the biometric information with respect to which the biometric authentication processing was successful from the database, and transmit the specified password to the IC card processing apparatus).
As to claim 14, Kwon in view of Fukuda discloses everything disclosed in claim 10. Fukuda further discloses wherein the processor is configured not to execute a process requested by the specific command unless the biometric authentication executed if the specific command is received is successful (Fukuda, see [0060], the biometric authentication request received from the IC card processing apparatus 2 contains information that specifies the holder (user), the biometric information of the holder of the IC card is specified from the database based on that information, wherein the server compares the biometric information received from the IC card processing apparatus with the biometric information specified from the database and calculates the degree of similarity. The processor of the server can judge that the person in the received facial image is not a registrant (authentication is unsuccessful)).
As to claim 17, Kwon in view of Fukuda discloses everything disclosed in claim 1. Fukuda further discloses wherein the biometric sensor is a fingerprint sensor configured to acquire fingerprint information (Fukuda, see [0030], the biometric information used for biometric authentication is a fingerprint, the biometric information acquiring unit is configured by a fingerprint sensor that reads the user's fingerprint).
As to claim 18, Kwon discloses an IC card comprising: a biometric sensor configured to acquire biological information of a person (Kwon, see [0093], portable electronic device includes biometric sensor that receives biometric information of a user); a module including a communication interface configured to communicate with a host device (Kwon, see fig. 1, communication module to communicate), a second memory configured to store a password (Kwon, see [0023], memory can store various data wherein that various data includes input data or output data, wherein the memory includes volatile memory and non-volatile memory. See [0056], authentication module stores instructions in the memory. See [0068], authentication module performs verification (primary authentication) on the received user information. See [0083], authentication module can receive user information (e.g., password or biometric information)), and set a verification state of the password stored in the second memory to a verified state if the biometric authentication is successful (Kwon, see [0063], user authentication is successful, the authentication server can perform an identity verification operation between the UE and the verification server. See [0064], the memory of the verification server can store instructions that enable the processor to perform an operation of verifying the identity of a user by performing data communication); and a main body that holds a state in which the biometric sensor and the module are connected to each other (Kwon, see fig. 2, user equipment (UE) 210). Kwon is silent to a first memory configured to store biological information of a registrant, and a processor configured to execute, according to a command for requesting biometric authentication received from the host device through the communication interface, biometric authentication using the biological information acquired by the biometric sensor and the biological information stored in the first memory However, Fukuda discloses a first memory configured to store biological information of a registrant (Fukuda, see [0034], the storage unit has a database that stores, for each registrant, wherein the storage unit is a rewritable nonvolatile memory), and a processor configured to execute, according to a command for requesting biometric authentication received from the host device through the communication interface (Fukuda, see [0010], The biometric authentication means is configured to, upon receiving biometric information and identification information of an application from an external processing apparatus, execute biometric authentication by using the received biometric information and biometric information of a registrant registered in the database (server)), biometric authentication using the biological information acquired by the biometric sensor and the biological information stored in the first memory (Fukuda, see [0030], the biometric information used for biometric authentication is a fingerprint, the biometric information acquiring unit 24 is configured by a fingerprint sensor that reads the user's fingerprint. See [0034], the storage unit has a database that stores, for each registrant, wherein the storage unit is a rewritable nonvolatile memory. See [0056], IC card processing apparatus acquires biometric information of the user, who is a person to be authenticated, via the biometric information acquiring unit) Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kwon in view of Fukuda in order to further modify the method of a mobile identification service which is capable of verifying the identity of a user from the teachings of Kwon with the method of IC card processing system from the teachings of Fukuda.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would allow to biometric authentication for registrant (Fukuda – Abstract).
As to claim 19, Kwon in view of Fukuda discloses everything disclosed in claim 1. Fukuda further discloses wherein the portable electronic device is an IC card (Fukuda, see [0013], the IC card 1 is a portable electronic device).
As to claim 20, Kwon discloses a portable electronic device comprising: a biometric sensor configured to acquire biological information of a person (Kwon, see [0093], portable electronic device includes biometric sensor that receives biometric information of a user); a communication interface configured to communicate with a host device (Kwon, see fig. 1, communication module to communicate); a first memory configured to store biological information of a registrant (Kwon, see [0023], memory can store various data wherein that various data includes input data or output data, wherein the memory includes volatile memory and non-volatile memory. See [0056], authentication module stores instructions in the memory. See [0068], authentication module performs verification (primary authentication) on the received biometric information); a second memory configured to store at least one password and a verification state of the password (Kwon, see [0023], memory can store various data wherein that various data includes input data or output data, wherein the memory includes volatile memory and non-volatile memory. See [0056], authentication module stores instructions in the memory. See [0068], authentication module performs verification (primary authentication) on the received user information. See [0083], authentication module can receive user information (e.g., password or biometric information)); and a processor configured to (Kwon, see [0052] and fig. 2, processor): execute, according the received command requesting password verification, password authentication using the input password data stored in the received command and the password stored in the second memory (Kwon, see [0083], user information (e.g., password or biometric information) is received. See [0085], user identity verification of the user is verified with the with a verification server. See [0101], data communication for user authentication can be stored in the memory); and set the verification state of the password stored in the second memory to a verified state if the biometric authentication or the password authentication is successful (Kwon, see [0063], user authentication is successful, the authentication server can perform an identity verification operation between the UE and the verification server. See [0064], the memory of the verification server can store instructions that enable the processor to perform an operation of verifying the identity of a user by performing data communication). receive a command requesting password verification from the host device through the communication interface, the command requesting password verification including input password data stored therein (Kwon, see [0083], user information (e.g., password or biometric information) is received. See [0085], user identity verification of the user is verified with the with a verification server. See [0101], data communication for user authentication can be stored in the memory); Kwon is silent to receive a command requesting biometric authentication from the host device through the communication interface; execute, according to the received command requesting biometric authentication, biometric authentication using the biological information acquired by the biometric sensor and the biological information stored in the first memory, and However, Fukuda discloses receive a command requesting biometric authentication from the host device through the communication interface (Fukuda, see [0010], the biometric authentication means is configured to, upon receiving biometric information and identification information of an application from an external processing apparatus, execute biometric authentication by using the received biometric information and biometric information of a registrant registered in the database (server)); execute, according to the received command requesting biometric authentication, biometric authentication using the biological information acquired by the biometric sensor and the biological information stored in the first memory (Fukuda, see [0030], the biometric information used for biometric authentication is a fingerprint, the biometric information acquiring unit 24 is configured by a fingerprint sensor that reads the user's fingerprint. See [0034], the storage unit has a database that stores, for each registrant, wherein the storage unit is a rewritable nonvolatile memory. See [0056], IC card processing apparatus acquires biometric information of the user, who is a person to be authenticated, via the biometric information acquiring unit), and Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kwon in view of Fukuda in order to further modify the method of a mobile identification service which is capable of verifying the identity of a user from the teachings of Kwon with the method of IC card processing system from the teachings of Fukuda.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would allow to biometric authentication for registrant (Fukuda – Abstract).
Claims 6-8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuda (U.S. Publication 2017/0374066), hereinafter ‘Fukuda’ in view of Drake, II et al. (U.S. Publication 2018/0295128), hereinafter ‘Drake, II’.
As to claim 6, Kwon in view of Fukuda discloses everything disclosed in claim 5, but is silent to wherein the processor is configured to manage the number of retries for the password stored in the second memory and the number of retries for the biological information stored in the first memory and corresponding to the password stored in the second memory as a common number of retries. However, Drake, II discloses wherein the processor is configured to manage the number of retries for the password stored in the second memory and the number of retries for the biological information stored in the first memory and corresponding to the password stored in the second memory as a common number of retries (Drake, II, see [0024], a memory for storing a workflow to authenticate a user to access an application. See [0042] & fig. 2, authentication tool contains user provided input using user device, wherein the authentication tool has the number of retries for pin ID and fingerprint ID.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kwon in view of Fukuda and Drake, II in order to further modify the method of a mobile identification service which is capable of verifying the identity of a user from the teachings of Kwon with the method of IC card processing system from the teachings of Fukuda and the method for authentication workflow management from the teachings of Drake, II.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would allow to authenticate a user to access an application using different types of authentications (Drake, II – Abstract).
As to claim 7, Kwon in view of Fukuda discloses everything disclosed in claim 5, but is silent to wherein the processor is configured to separately manage the number of retries for the password stored in the second memory and the number of retries for the biological information stored in the first memory and corresponding to the password stored in the second memory. However, Drake, II discloses wherein the processor is configured to separately manage the number of retries for the password stored in the second memory and the number of retries for the biological information stored in the first memory and corresponding to the password stored in the second memory (Drake, II, see [0042] & fig. 2, authentication tool contains user provided input using user device, wherein the authentication tool has the number of retries individually for pin ID, fingerprint ID, and voice ID).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kwon in view of Fukuda and Drake, II in order to further modify the method of a mobile identification service which is capable of verifying the identity of a user from the teachings of Kwon with the method of IC card processing system from the teachings of Fukuda and the method for authentication workflow management from the teachings of Drake, II.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would allow to authenticate a user to access an application using different types of authentications (Drake, II – Abstract).
As to claim 8, Kwon in view of Fukuda and Drake, II discloses everything disclosed in claim 7. Drake, II further discloses wherein the processor is configured to, if one of the number of retries for the biological information stored in the first memory and the number of retries corresponding to the password stored in the second memory exceeds an upper limit number of retries, lock both the biometric authentication using the biological information and verification of the password (Drake, II, see [0034], authentication tool determines whether the aggregate score exceeds a predetermined threshold. If the aggregate score does exceed a predetermined threshold, authentication tool can deny user access to application.).
As to claim 15, Kwon in view of Fukuda discloses everything disclosed in claim 10, but is silent to wherein the processor is configured to, if the biometric authentication executed if the specific command is received is not successful, re-acquire biological information by the biometric sensor, and execute again biometric authentication using the biological information re-acquired by the biometric sensor and the biological information stored in the first memory. However, Drake, II discloses wherein the processor is configured to, if the biometric authentication executed if the specific command is received is not successful, re-acquire biological information by the biometric sensor, and execute again biometric authentication using the biological information re-acquired by the biometric sensor and the biological information stored in the first memory (Drake, II, see [0034], authentication tool can request a password and allow access upon receiving the password. A user can fail a first control frame (e.g., user fails voice recognition control frame) and authentication tool can request input for a second control frame before determining whether to allow or deny user access to application, wherein the authentication tool can dynamically determine which control frame to request input from user as user traverses authentication workflow). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kwon in view of Fukuda and Drake, II in order to further modify the method of a mobile identification service which is capable of verifying the identity of a user from the teachings of Kwon with the method of IC card processing system from the teachings of Fukuda and the method for authentication workflow management from the teachings of Drake, II.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would allow to authenticate a user to access an application using different types of authentications (Drake, II – Abstract).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuda (U.S. Publication 2017/0374066), hereinafter ‘Fukuda’ in view of Ueki et al. (U.S. Publication 2010/0008545), hereinafter ‘Ueki’.
As to claim 16, Kwon in view of Fukuda discloses everything disclosed in claim 1 but is silent to further comprising an LED whose lighting state is controlled, wherein the processor is configured to control a display state of the LED according to a result of the biometric authentication. However, Ueki discloses further comprising an LED whose lighting state is controlled, wherein the processor is configured to control a display state of the LED according to a result of the biometric authentication (Ueki, see [0068], The biometric authentication device thus notifies a user of the result of biometric authentication. See [0157], the biometric authentication device can include the display/detection LED, wherein the display/detection LED 150 includes a white light source for display use and an infrared light source for detection use).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kwon in view of Fukuda and Ueki in order to further modify the method of a mobile identification service which is capable of verifying the identity of a user from the teachings of Kwon with the method of IC card processing system from the teachings of Fukuda and the method for biometric authentication device which utilizes features of biometric information to identify individuals based on a blood vessel pattern from the teachings of Ueki.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would allow to output guiding light when the biometric authentication device picks up a pattern (Ueki – Abstract).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TANIA M PENA-SANTANA/Examiner, Art Unit 2443
/CHRISTOPHER B ROBINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2443