DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, and 16, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Ocola (U.S. Publication 2012/0218857).
Regarding claim 1, Ocola teaches a flow channel structure (figure 1) comprising: a first flow channel (item 12); and a second flow channel that joins the first flow channel (item 18), wherein an end of the second flow channel close to the first flow channel has a first region having a depth shallower than a depth of the first flow channel (item 18 has a shallow depth compared to item 12) wherein a direction of the first flow channel is bent with respect to a direction to direction of the second flow channel (item 11 has a portion that bends upward towards item 18, see annotated figure 1 below), and wherein the direction of the first flow channel intersects a plane defined by a depth direction of the first region and the direction of the second flow channel (a plane can be extending from item 20 to item 12 that intersects the direction of flow from item 11 to item 18).
Regarding claim 2, Ocola teaches wherein the first flow channel and the second flow channel are cavities formed inside the flow channel structure (figure 4 shows the well configuration in which the channels are cavities in the housing of the micromixer).
Regarding claim 5, Ocola teaches further comprising a third flow channel connected in series to an immediately upstream of a joining point of the first flow channel to the second flow channel (item 14 is connected upstream of the joining point of item 12 and item 18).
Regarding claim 6, Ocola teaches wherein the third flow channel is a cavity formed inside the flow structure (figure 4 shows the housing in which all the channels are considered cavities formed in the housing).
Regarding claim 16, Ocola teaches a method for agitating a fluid using a flow channel structure (paragraph 34 microfluidic device is considered reading on a flow channel structure and paragraph 34 teaches agitating fluid), the flow channel structure (figure 3A) including a first flow channel (item 52 which is taught as a deep segment in paragraph 46) and a second flow channel that joins the first flow channel (item 50), in which an end of the second flow channel close to the first flow channel has a first region having a depth shallower than a depth of the first flow channel (paragraph 46 teaches item 50 is shallow while item 52 is deep), wherein a direction of the first flow channel is bent with respect to a direction to direction of the second flow channel (item 11 has a portion that bends upward towards item 18, see annotated figure 1 below), and wherein the direction of the first flow channel intersects a plane defined by a depth direction of the first region and the direction of the second flow channel (a plane can be extending from item 20 to item 12 that intersects the direction of flow from item 11 to item 18) the method comprising; flowing a first fluid from the second flow channel to the first flow channel (paragraph 46 teaches a fluid flowing from item 50 to item 52).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4, 7, 8, 17, and 18, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ocola (U.S. Publication 2012/0218857).
Regarding claim 3, Ocola teaches item 18 has a shallow depth compared to item 12. Regarding claim 3, Ocola is silent to the first region specifically having a depth of less than ½ of the depth of the first flow channel. Regarding claim 3, absent any unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reduce the depth by the specific amount upstream in order to obtain the desired degree of agitation since it is well settled that it is an obvious matter of design choice to change the general shape or size of a known element in the absence of a disclosed non-obvious advantage associated with the change. Gardner vs. TEC Systems Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 1349-50 (Fed. Cir. 1984); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 555 (CCPA 1975); In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 672 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 4, Ocola teaches multiple inlets feeding at 90 degrees from the first inlet (items 14 and 16). Regarding claim 4, Ocola is silent to the second flow channel feeding at 90 degrees. Regarding claim 4, absent any unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of the shape of the mixer in order to obtain the desired degree of agitation since it is well settled that it is an obvious matter of design choice to change the general shape or size of a known element in the absence of a disclosed non-obvious advantage associated with the change. Gardner vs. TEC Systems Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 1349-50 (Fed. Cir. 1984); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 555 (CCPA 1975); In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 672 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 7, Ocola teaches wherein the third flow channel and the first flow channel form an integrated linear flow channel (items 11 and 14 form a linear flow channel in item 30). Regarding claim 7, Ocola is silent to the second flow channel flowing at a right angle. Regarding claim 7, absent any unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of the shape of the mixer in order to obtain the desired degree of agitation since it is well settled that it is an obvious matter of design choice to change the general shape or size of a known element in the absence of a disclosed non-obvious advantage associated with the change. Gardner vs. TEC Systems Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 1349-50 (Fed. Cir. 1984); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 555 (CCPA 1975); In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 672 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 8, Ocola teaches an angle formed between the second flow channel and a third flow channel is a right angle (items 14 and 18 are perpendicular to each other). Regarding claim 8, Ocola is silent to the symmetrical configuration. Regarding claim 8, absent any unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of the shape of the mixer in order to obtain the desired degree of agitation since it is well settled that it is an obvious matter of design choice to change the general shape or size of a known element in the absence of a disclosed non-obvious advantage associated with the change. Gardner vs. TEC Systems Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 1349-50 (Fed. Cir. 1984); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 555 (CCPA 1975); In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 672 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 17, Ocola teaches item 50 has a shallow depth compared to item 52 (see paragraph 46). Regarding claim 17, Ocola is silent to the first region specifically having a depth of less than ½ of the depth of the first flow channel. Regarding claim 17, absent any unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reduce the depth by the specific amount upstream in order to obtain the desired fluid velocities since it is well settled that it is an obvious matter of design choice to change the general shape or size of a known element in the absence of a disclosed non-obvious advantage associated with the change. Gardner vs. TEC Systems Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 1349-50 (Fed. Cir. 1984); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 555 (CCPA 1975); In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 672 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 18, Ocola teaches an embodiment wherein the third flow channel and the first flow channel are connected in series (figure 1 items 11 and 14 form a linear flow channel in item 30) and feeding material from multiple channels to a downstream region of the mixer (figure 1 items 11 and 14 feed to the micromixer downstream). Regarding claim 18, Ocola is silent to the shape of the third flow channel upstream of the joining point of the two channels. Regarding claim 18, absent any unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of the shape of the mixer in order to obtain the desired degree of agitation since it is well settled that it is an obvious matter of design choice to change the general shape or size of a known element in the absence of a disclosed
Response to Arguments
The remarks regarding the objections of claims 14, 15, 21, and 22 have been considered and are persuasive in light of the amendment to the claims. Therefore, the objections of claims 14, 15, 21, and 22 are withdrawn.
The remarks regarding the 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) rejection of claims 1 and 16 have been considered and are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the Ocola (U.S. Publication 2012/0218857) does not teach the amended claim language wherein a direction of the first flow channel is bent with respect to a direction to direction of the second flow channel, and wherein the direction of the first flow channel intersects a plane defined by a depth direction of the first region and the direction of the second flow channel as claimed in independent claims 1 and 16. However, Ocola teaches a direction of the flow channel is bent with respect to a direction of the second flow channel (see provided annotated figure 1) and wherein the direction of the first flow channel intersects a plane defined by a depth direction of the first region and the direction of the second flow channel (a plane can extend from items 20 to 12 that intersects the flow direction through item 11 and item 18). Therefore, amended claims 1 and 16 are still rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1).
The remarks regarding the remaining rejected claims are based off the rejection of claims 1 and 16 and are rejected accordingly.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, and 25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims for the reasons stated in the Non-Final Rejection mailed 11/20/2025.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANSHU BHATIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774