Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claim in the reply filed on 03/05/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 36, 37, 40 , and 41 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected medical product, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/30/2025.
Claims 1-11, 17-23, 26-29 and 31 are pending examination in this response.
Claim status
Claims 1-11, 17-23, 26-29, and 31 are pending.
Claims 12-16, 24-25, 30, and 32-25, and 37-41 have been canceled.
Claim 36 has been withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Analysis unit in claim 1, et seq. The specification indicates that the analysis unit (300) is a computer, programmed to analyze first data and second data that correspond to an optical signal obtained from the specimen. The programming provides a first analysis operation on the first data including an artificial intelligence algorithm and a second analysis operation which uses the second data to determine a feature of the analyte from a representative value.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11, 17-23, 26-29 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, lines 8-9 are not clear. The claim first recites that the first data and the second data correspond to the optical signal, then states that the first data and second data are derived from the measurement sample. Deriving implies that some operation has already been performed on the data. On lines 14-16, the claim recites “a representative value of the second data”. This is not clear.
Also in claim 1, it is not clear what the results of subjecting the first data to the AI algorithm. The claims never specify a result, nor what the AI algorithm is processing. Dependent claims specify how the data is processed in the computer, and determining when to process, but the results of the processing, or any comparison to the second data processing are not recited.
Claim 4 refers to “each of analytes” in the specimen. Claim 1 only recites a signal analyte being measured. There is no antecedent basis for “each of analytes.” Claim 6 has this same clarity problem.
In claim 8, “the second analysis operation” has no antecedent basis.
In claim 10, line 4, “the specimen “ should be –the measurement sample--.
Claim 22 is not clear. The rule should be specified.
Claim 31 is not clear. Claim 1 indicates that the first data and the second data correspond to the optical signal. Claim 31 indicates that the data are composed of lots of data points. Further clarification is needed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention.
Claims 1-11, 17-23, 26-29, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Kimura et. al. (US 20220003745 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kimura teaches “A specimen analyzer configured to analyze an analyte in a specimen, the specimen analyzer comprising:” (Abstract and Para [0002], cell analysis method for analyzing cells contained in a biological sample, a cell analyzer); “a measurement unit including : a sample preparation part” (Para [0108], With reference back to FIG. 6, the measurement part 400 may include the sample preparation part 440 which prepares a measurement sample). The recitation “configured to prepare a measurement sample by mixing the specimen and a reagent to stain the analyte in the specimen,” is capability of the sample preparation part however taught within (Para [0108], in the sample preparation part 440 provided in the measurement part 400, a blood sample, a staining reagent, and a hemolytic reagent are mixed to prepare a measurement sample, and the obtained measurement sample is measured by the nucleated cell detector.); “and an optical detection part including” (Para [0093], an optical detector); “a light source” (Para [0105], the light source 4111); “a flow cell and” (Para [0104], flow cell 4113); “a detector” (Para [0093], [0098], nucleated cell detector 411. optical detector ); “and configured to obtain an optical signal corresponding to the stained analyte;” is capability of the detector however taught within (Paras [0014], [0093] and [0098], light signal. A measurement sample containing cells to flow in a cell detection flow path, applies light to each cell flowing in the cell detection flow path, and measures scattered light and fluorescence generated from the cell. nucleated cell detector 411 is implemented as an optical detector, and more specifically, includes a component for performing detection by flow cytometry.); “and an analysis unit” (Paras [0027] and [0114], measurement unit 500 with the processing unit 300 which performs analysis of measurement data obtained in the measurement unit 500. A certain embodiment of the present embodiment relates to a computer-readable storage medium having stored therein a computer program for analyzing cells contained in a biological sample, by using a deep learning algorithm (60) having a neural network structure. The computer program is configured to cause a processing part (20) to execute a process including). The recitation “configured to analyze first data and second data that correspond to the optical signal, the first data and the second data being derived from the measurement sample prepared from the specimen,” (Paras [0015], and [0087], In the cell analysis method, the numerical data corresponding to the signal strength inputted to the deep learning algorithm (60) includes information obtained by combining signal strengths of the side scattered light signal, the forward scattered light signal, and the fluorescence signal that have been obtained for each cell at the same time point. Analysis data 85 is generated from waveform data 80a of forward scattered light, waveform data 80b of side scattered light, and waveform data 80c of side fluorescence which have been obtained from an analysis target cell.); “wherein the analysis unit is configured to execute, on the first data, a first analysis operation according to an artificial intelligence algorithm, AI algorithm and” (Abstract and para [0010], obtaining a signal strength of a signal regarding each of the individual cells passing through the flow path, and inputting, into the deep learning algorithm, numerical data corresponding to the obtained signal strength regarding each of the individual cells. Numerical data corresponding to the obtained signal strength regarding each of the individual cells; and on the basis of a result outputted from the deep learning algorithm (60)); “execute a second analysis operation of processing a representative value of the second data, wherein the representative value corresponds to a feature of the analyte, and wherein the second analysis operation does not use the AI algorithm.” (Para [0218] and [0204], According to the analyzer 100B of the third embodiment, the user can use a discriminator without obtaining the training data database 104 and the algorithm database 105 from the deep learning apparatus 100A. Accordingly, a service of identifying the kinds of cells can be provided as a cloud service. In the case of the analyzer 200B, the user can confirm the identification accuracy by the trained deep learning algorithm 60. Should the determination result by the deep learning algorithm 60 be different from the determination result according to the observation of the waveform data by the user, if the analysis waveform data 80a, 80b, 80c is used as the training data 70a, 70b, 70c, and the determination result according to the observation of the waveform data by the user is used as the label value 77, it is possible to train the deep learning algorithm again. Accordingly, the training efficiency of the deep learning algorithm 50 can be improved.).
Regarding claim 2, Kimura teaches all of claim 1 as above in addition to, “wherein in the second analysis operation, the analysis unit is configured to specify the representative value based on the second data and process the specified representative value” (Para [0218] According to the analyzer 100B of the third embodiment, the user can use a discriminator without obtaining the training data database 104 and the algorithm database 105 from the deep learning apparatus 100A.).
Regarding claim 3, Kimura teaches all of claim 2 as above in addition to, “wherein in the second analysis operation, the analysis unit is configured to specify the representative value based on a magnitude of the second data.” (Para [0218] According to the analyzer 100B of the third embodiment, the user can use a discriminator without obtaining the training data database 104 and the algorithm database 105 from the deep learning apparatus 100A.).
Regarding claim 4, Kimura teaches all of claim 2 as above in addition to, “wherein the optical signal has a region that corresponds to each of analytes in the specimen,” (Abstract and Para [0003], The problem is solved by a cell analysis method for analyzing cells contained in a biological sample. Signal strengths of scattered light and fluorescence obtained from the cell to which light has been applied are obtained. Peak values of the signal strengths obtained from a plurality of cells are each extracted and plotted on a scattergram.); “and in the second analysis operation, the analysis unit is configured to specify the representative value based on the second data that corresponds to each of the regions of the optical signal.” (Para [0003], and signal strengths of scattered light and fluorescence obtained from the cell to which light has been applied are obtained. Peak values of the signal strengths obtained from a plurality of cells are each extracted and plotted on a scattergram.).
Regarding claim 5, Kimura teaches all of claim 4 as above in addition to, “wherein the analysis unit is configured to specify, as the representative value, a peak value in the region of the second data.” (Para [0003], and signal strengths of scattered light and fluorescence obtained from the cell to which light has been applied are obtained. Peak values of the signal strengths obtained from a plurality of cells are each extracted and plotted on a scattergram.)
Regarding claim 6, Kimura teaches all of claim 4 as above in addition to, “wherein the optical signal has a region that corresponds to each of analytes in the specimen,” (Abstract and Para [0003], The problem is solved by a cell analysis method for analyzing cells contained in a biological sample. Signal strengths of scattered light and fluorescence obtained from the cell to which light has been applied are obtained. Peak values of the signal strengths obtained from a plurality of cells are each extracted and plotted on a scattergram.). The recitation “and in the first analysis operation, the analysis unit is configured to input, to the AI algorithm, the first data that corresponds to each of the regions of the optical signal.” is capability of the first analysis operation, which is a capability of the first analysis operation. Kimura discloses the positively claimed structural elements of the analysis unit as claimed, such analysis unit is said to be fully capable of the recited adaption in as much as recited and required herein.
Regarding claim 7, Kimura teaches all of claim 4 as above. The recitation “wherein the measurement unit is configured to obtain the first data and the second data based on a signal that is greater than a predetermined threshold that corresponds to intensity of the optical signal.” is capability of the measurement unit. Kimura discloses the positively claimed structural elements of the measurement unit as claimed, such measurement unit is said to be fully capable of the recited adaption in as much as recited and required herein.
Regarding claim 8, Kimura teaches all of claim 1 as above. The recitation “wherein the measurement unit is configured to obtain the representative value based on the optical signal, and in the second analysis operation, the analysis unit is configured to process the representative value obtained by the measurement unit.” is capability of the measurement unit. Kimura discloses the positively claimed structural elements of the measurement unit as claimed, such measurement unit is said to be fully capable of the recited adaption in as much as recited and required herein.
Regarding claim 9, Kimura teaches all of claim 1 as above. The recitation “wherein
the optical signal is a signal that reflects presence of an analyte in the specimen.” (Para [0015}, includes information obtained by combining signal strengths of the side scattered light signal, the forward scattered light signal, and the fluorescence signal that have been obtained for each cell at the same time point.)
Regarding claim 10, Kimura teaches all of claim 1 as above. The recitation “wherein the optical detection part is configured to: apply light to the flow cell; and detect light generated from an analyte in the specimen flowing in the flow cell.” is capability of the optical detection part. However taught within, (Paras [0014], [0093] and [0098], light signal. A measurement sample containing cells to flow in a cell detection flow path, applies light to each cell flowing in the cell detection flow path, and measures scattered light and fluorescence generated from the cell. nucleated cell detector 411 is implemented as an optical detector, and more specifically, includes a component for performing detection by flow cytometry.).
Regarding claim 11, Kimura teaches all of claim 10 as above. The recitation “wherein the first data and the second data correspond to the optical signal obtained while the analyte passes through an application position of the light.” is capability of the optical signal which is a capability of the detector. However taught within, (Para [0015}, includes information obtained by combining signal strengths of the side scattered light signal, the forward scattered light signal, and the fluorescence signal that have been obtained for each cell at the same time point.)
Regarding claim 17, Kimura teaches all of claim 1 as above. The recitation “wherein the analysis unit is configured to analyze the first data through a convolution operation according to the AI algorithm.” is capability of the analysis unit. However, taught within (Para [0153], a convolution neural network is used,).
Regarding claim 18, Kimura teaches all of claim 1 as above. The recitation “wherein the analysis unit is configured to analyze the first data through a matrix operation according to the AI algorithm.” is capability of the analysis unit. However taught within, (Paras [0059], [0069], shows a mix martix of a determination result by a reference method and a determination result obtained by using the deep learning algorithm. The data group means sequence data or matrix data. )
Regarding claim 19, Kimura teaches all of claim 18 as above. The recitation “wherein the analysis unit is configured to execute the matrix operation according to the AI algorithm, through parallel processing performed by a parallel-processing processor.” is capability of the analysis unit. However taught within, (Paras [0139] and [0143], The GPU 19 functions as an accelerator that assists arithmetic processing (e.g., parallel arithmetic processing) performed by the CPU 11.)
Regarding claim 20, Kimura teaches all of claim 19 as above. The recitation “wherein the analysis unit is configured to execute the first analysis operation by the parallel-processing processor and execute the second analysis operation by a host processor of the parallel-processing processor.” is capability of the analysis unit. However, taught within (Para [0143]) is the structural elements needed to perform the capability such as the CPU (host processor) and the GPU the parallel- processing processor. (Para [0143], is a CPU (Central Processing Unit), (Graphics Processing Unit), and a The GPU 29 functions as an accelerator that assists arithmetic processing(e.g., parallel arithmetic processing) performed by the CPU 21.)Therefore the analysis unit is said to be fully capable of the recited adaption in as much as recited and required herein.
Regarding claim 21, Kimura teaches all of claim 1 as above. The recitation “wherein the AI algorithm is a deep learning algorithm.” is capability of the analysis unit. However taught within the (Title, Cell analysis program, and training program for deep learning algorithm).
Regarding claim 22, Kimura teaches all of claim 1 as above. The recitation “wherein the analysis unit is configured to specify the first data and the second data based on a rule for specifying data to serve as a target of each of the first analysis operation and the second analysis operation.” is capability of the analysis unit. However Kimura teaches a target cell within (Para [0070], target cells) and discloses the positively claimed structural elements of the analysis unit as claimed, such analysis unit is said to be fully capable of the recited adaption in as much as recited and required herein.
Regarding claim 23, Kimura teaches all of claim 1 as above. The recitation “wherein the analysis unit is configured to specify the first data and the second data in accordance with a measurement item included in a measurement order for the specimen.” is capability of the analysis unit. Kimura discloses the positively claimed structural elements of the analysis unit as claimed, such analysis unit part is said to be fully capable of the recited adaption in as much as recited and required herein.
Regarding claim 26, Kimura teaches all of claim 1 as above. The recitation “wherein the analysis unit is configured to determine whether or not execution of the first analysis operation is necessary, in accordance with an analysis result of the second analysis operation.” is capability of the analysis unit. However taught within, (Para [0204] In the case of the analyzer 200B, the user can confirm the identification accuracy by the trained deep learning algorithm 60. Should the determination result by the deep learning algorithm 60 be different from the determination result according to the observation of the waveform data by the user.).
Regarding claim 27, Kimura teaches all of claim 1 as above. The recitation “wherein the analysis unit is configured to determine whether or not execution of the first analysis operation is necessary, in accordance with whether or not a predetermined analyte has been detected in the specimen through the second analysis operation.” is capability of the analysis unit. However it would be obvious for the analysis unit to determine whether or not the predetermined analyte has been detected because it is capable of comparing the data and missing data (analyte not detected) would be a difference which is taught within (Para [0204] In the case of the analyzer 200B, the user can confirm the identification accuracy by the trained deep learning algorithm 60. Should the determination result by the deep learning algorithm 60 be different from the determination result according to the observation of the waveform data by the user.).
Regarding claim 28, Kimura teaches all of claim 1 as above. The recitation “wherein the analysis unit is configured to analyze, through the first analysis operation, the first data that corresponds to an analyte classified as a predetermined type through the second analysis operation.” is capability of the analysis unit. However taught within (Para [0083], [0083] In the example shown in FIG. 2, training waveform data 70a, 70b, 70c obtained through flow cytometry by using Sysmex XN-1000 is used. The training waveform data 70a, 70b, 70c is an example in which, for example, during a time period from the start, upon forward scattered light reaching a predetermined threshold, of obtainment of the signal strength of forward scattered light, the signal strength of side scattered light, and the signal strength of side fluorescence.)
Regarding claim 29, Kimura teaches all of claim 1 as above. The recitation “wherein the representative value that is processed in the second analysis operation has a data amount smaller than that of the first data that is inputted to the AI algorithm in the first analysis operation.” is capability of the representative value. Kimura discloses the positively claimed structural elements of the representative value as claimed, such representative value is said to be fully capable of the recited adaption in as much as recited and required herein. However, (Paras [0218] and [0204], as cited above) teach labeled value and a difference in data so it is further capable of having either data sets smaller than the other. This would be dependent on the specimens during analysis.
Regarding claim 31, Kimura teaches all of claim 1 as above. The recitation “wherein the first data and the second data are each composed of a plurality of pieces of data, and at least a part thereof is same data between the first data and the second data.” is capability of the first and second data. Kimura discloses the positively claimed structural elements of the first and second data as claimed, such first and second data are said to be fully capable of the recited adaption in as much as recited and required herein. However taught within (Claim 10 and Para [0203], wherein the numerical data corresponding to the strength of signal inputted to the deep learning algorithm includes information obtained by combining strengths of signals of the side scattered light signal, the forward scattered light signal, and the fluorescence signal that have been obtained for each cell. The procedure of the deep learning process and the procedure of the waveform data analysis process that are performed by the analyzer 200B are similar to the procedures respectively performed by the deep learning apparatus 100A and the analyzer 200A. However, the analyzer 200B obtains the training waveform data 70a, 70b, 70c from the measurement unit 400b, 500b.). Therefore, the data from the deep learning process and the user both use the information from the measurement unit which is different scattered light and fluorescence signal.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11, 22-23, 26-29, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huff et. al. (WO 2018067878 A1) in view of Ugawa et. al. (WO 2018203568 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Huff teaches “A specimen analyzer configured to analyze an analyte in a specimen, the specimen analyzer comprising:” (Title, Deices and methods for sample analysis); “a measurement unit including” (Para [00425], In certain embodiments, optical signals may be detected using a spectrophotometer. For example, an optical signal may be detected as described in Anal Bioanal Chem (2015) 407:7467–7475, which is herein incorporated by reference in its entirety. In this technique, a custom manifold aligns optical fibres with a digital microfluidic chip, allowing optical measurements to be made in the plane of the device.) “a sample preparation part” (Para [00419], The kit further can include containers for holding or storing a sample (e.g., a container or cartridge for a urine, saliva, plasma, cerebrospinal fluid, or serum sample, or appropriate container for storing, transporting or processing tissue so as to create a tissue aspirate). Where appropriate, the kit optionally also can contain reaction vessels, mixing vessels, and other components that facilitate the preparation of reagents or the test sample..); “configured to prepare a measurement sample by mixing the specimen and a reagent to stain the analyte in the specimen,” is capability of the sample preparation part however taught within (Para [00465, For example, the first chamber may include reagents for staining of cells present in a blood sample to facilitate cell detection/counting, complete blood count and/or other hematology measurements, e.g., staining , counting, and/or morphological analysis of bacteria, RBCs, WBCs, and/or platelets, etc. As disclosed herein, the DMF electrodes may be operated to move the sample droplet to a region in the first chamber having a reagent (e.g., a staining reagent, such as, a dye that binds to nucleic acid, e.g., acridine orange, ethidium bromide, TOTO, TO-PRO, or SYTOX) disposed in a dry form or in form of a droplet.). Therefore the first chamber could also be the sample preparation unit in that it is capable of mixing the specimen and the reagent to stain the specimen. “and an optical detection part including” (Para [00426], Optical detection ); “a light source” (Para [00427] and [00458, Optical signal may be a light signal, such as a colorimetric, turbidometric, or fluorescent signal. Laser was used to excite the fluorescein and its emission was measured using the optical fiber.); “a flow cell and” (Para [00464], The DMF portion of the chip is useful to actively control fluid flow, mix fluids, move or separate particles to different active reagent areas on the chip or other actions that are useful for analytical operations (dilutions, etc.) whereas the capillary flow region is a channel that creates the particle monolayer by the flow gap transition from a droplet present on the DMF portion of the chip to the narrow capillary gap due to capillary forces. ); “a detector” (Para [00426], fluorescent detection ); “and configured to obtain an optical signal corresponding to the stained analyte;” (Para [00464], first chamber for staining and the second chamber may be transparent at least in an imaging region 1004 to facilitate optical analysis of a sample transposed into the second chamber from the first chamber.) “and an analysis unit” (Para [00169], A computer program based on CUSUM (Cumulative Sums Algorithm) is employed to process acquired data and detect events based on threshold input from the user. V);“configured to analyze first data and second data that correspond to the optical signal, the first data and the second data being derived from the measurement sample prepared from the specimen,” (Paras [00463], [00499] and [00612], The image sensor located above the DMF chip is used to collect optical data for analysis. Out of plane from the DMF chip is an imaging detector that is used to collect optical data for analysis. Data from the run was used to generate three different types of dose-response curves– number of events over a fixed amount of time (5 minutes) (Fig.31); time required for fixed number of events (200 events) (Fig.32); and events per unit time (Fig.33). The system may additionally include algorithm for analyzing collected data prior to providing assay results.).
Huff does not explicitly teach “wherein the analysis unit is configured to execute, on the first data, a first analysis operation according to an artificial intelligence algorithm, AI algorithm and” but does teach necessary components needed when a device uses artificial intelligence within (Para [00352] The steps of a method or algorithm described in connection with the embodiments disclosed herein may be embodied directly in hardware, in a software module executed by a processor, or in a combination of the two. A software module may reside in Random Access Memory (RAM), flash memory, Read Only Memory (ROM), Electrically Programmable ROM (EPROM), Electrically Erasable Programmable ROM (EEPROM), registers, hard disk, a removable disk, a CD-ROM, a cloud, or any other form of storage medium known in the art.).
Ugawa teaches physically measure one or more cells from a cell group and perform automatic evaluation thereof. In addition to, “wherein the analysis unit is configured to execute, on the first data, a first analysis operation according to an artificial intelligence algorithm, AI algorithm and” (Page 10 and 12, Further, the system side or the user side may be updated artificially or automatically based on the contents of research data, papers, conference presentations, newspaper articles, books, etc. by experts. Artificial intelligence may be used in these update processes. when it is determined whether the newly acquired time-series waveform is similar to the time-series waveform U of the learned model stored in the database 7, for example, artificial intelligence such as deep learning or machine learning is used. Each method may be used.). Therefore, the algorithm is part of the process and updated by the artificial intelligence.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Huff to incorporate the teachings of Ugawa wherein the analysis unit is configured to execute, on the first data, a first analysis operation according to an artificial intelligence algorithm, AI algorithm. Huff teaches a large memory and storage which is needed for AI. In addition, having a system which uses an artificial intelligence algorithm allows the system to analyze the data based on all known and most updated information which allows for a more complete and updated analysis on the data set.
Huff further teaches “execute a second analysis operation of processing a representative value of the second data wherein the representative value corresponds to a feature of the analyte” (Para [00478], The analyte detection device may also include algorithm(s) to calculate a concentration of the analyte based on the detected electrical or light signal.).
Furthermore the recitation “wherein the second analysis operation does not use the AI algorithm.” is capability of the analysis unit. However, Ugawa teaches within (Pages 10 and 12, Artificial intelligence may be used in these update processes. when it is determined whether the newly acquired time-series waveform is similar to the time-series waveform U of the learned model stored in the database 7, for example, artificial intelligence such as deep learning or machine learning is used. Each method may be used.). Therefore the artificial intelligence does not have to be used which teaches to “does not use the AI algorithm”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Huff to incorporate the teachings of Ugawa wherein the second analysis operation does not use the AI algorithm. Having a device which does not rely on AI algorithm allows for predictability in the operation. Furthermore, having a device which has data operations that both use and do not use an AI algorithm provides a device that is predicable in addition to using the most updated information and being able to compare the results. This two way analysis operation provides predicable and updated information about the specimen which is idea for the user.
Regarding claim 2, modified Huff teaches all of claim 1 as above. The recitation “wherein in the second analysis operation, the analysis unit is configured to specify the representative value based on the second data and process the specified representative value.” is capability of the analysis unit. However taught within (Para [0051], A processor may also be implemented as a combination of computing devices, e.g., a combination of a DSP and a microprocessor, a plurality of microprocessors, one or more microprocessors in conjunction with a DSP core, or any other such configuration. These devices may also be used to select values for devices as described herein.).
Regarding claim 3, modified Huff teaches all of claim 2 as above. The recitation “wherein in the second analysis operation, the analysis unit is configured to specify the representative value based on a magnitude of the second data.” is capability of the analysis unit. However further taught within, (Paras [00463], [00499] and [00612], The image sensor located above the DMF chip is used to collect optical data for analysis. Out of plane from the DMF chip is an imaging detector that is used to collect optical data for analysis. Data from the run was used to generate three different types of dose-response curves– number of events over a fixed amount of time (5 minutes) (Fig.31); time required for fixed number of events (200 events) (Fig.32); and events per unit time (Fig.33). The system may additionally include algorithm for analyzing collected data prior to providing assay results.).
Regarding claim 4, modified Huff teaches all of claim 2 as above. The recitation “wherein the optical signal has a region that corresponds to each of analytes in the specimen, and in the second analysis operation, the analysis unit is configured to specify the representative value based on the second data that corresponds to each of the regions of the optical signal.” is capability of the optical signal, which is a capability of the detector, and also the analysis unit. However taught within (Paras [00463], [00499] and [00612], [0452], The image sensor located above the DMF chip is used to collect optical data for analysis. Out of plane from the DMF chip is an imaging detector that is used to collect optical data for analysis. Data from the run was used to generate three different types of dose-response curves– number of events over a fixed amount of time (5 minutes) (Fig.31); time required for fixed number of events (200 events) (Fig.32); and events per unit time (Fig.33). The system may additionally include algorithm for analyzing collected data prior to providing assay results. The magnitude of the optical signal may be proportional to the amount of analyte and may be used to determine the presence or concentration of the analyte in the sample.).
Regarding claim 5, modified Huff teaches all of claim 4 as above. The recitation “wherein the analysis unit is configured to specify, as the representative value, a peak value in the region of the second data.” is capability of the analysis unit. Kimura discloses the positively claimed structural elements of the analysis unit as claimed, such analysis unit is said to be fully capable of the recited adaption in as much as recited and required herein. (Para [00135], [00473] and [0379], Where high sensitivity photon sensing is required (listed from highest to lowest. Figs.56 and 57 illustrate alternate embodiments of DMF chip with multiple detection regions).
Regarding claim 6, modified Huff teaches all of claim 4 as above in addition to, “wherein the optical signal has a region that corresponds to each of analytes in the specimen, (Fig. 56 and Para [00427] and [00452], Image analysis may include a detection of an optical signal from the analyte detection cartridge. Optical signal may be a light signal, such as a colorimetric, turbidometric, or fluorescent signal. Electrochemical detection may involve amperometry, coulometry, potentiometry, voltametery, impedance, or a combination thereof. the analyte detection chips may be used to generate an optical signal indicating presence of an analyte in a sample being assayed by the chips.). The recitation “and in the first analysis operation, the analysis unit is configured to input, to the AI algorithm, the first data that corresponds to each of the regions of the optical signal.” is capability of the analysis unit. Modified Huff discloses the positively claimed structural elements of the analysis unit as claimed, such analysis unit are said to be fully capable of the recited adaption in as much as recited and required herein. However, Huff teaches the algorithm used with the data within (Para [00478], The analyte detection device may also include algorithm(s) to calculate a concentration of the analyte based on the detected electrical or light signal.) and Ugawa teaches the AI part as stated above.
Regarding claim 7, modified Huff teaches all of claim 4 as above. The recitation “wherein the measurement unit is configured to obtain the first data and the second data based on a signal that is greater than a predetermined threshold that corresponds to intensity of the optical signal.” is capability of the measurement unit. modified Huff discloses the positively claimed structural elements of the measurement unit as claimed, such measurement unit is said to be fully capable of the recited adaption in as much as recited and required herein.
Regarding claim 8, modified Huff teaches all of claim 1 as above. The recitation “wherein the measurement unit is configured to obtain the representative value based on the optical signal, and in the second analysis operation, the analysis unit is configured to process the representative value obtained by the measurement unit.” is capability of the measurement unit. modified Huff discloses the positively claimed structural elements of the measurement unit as claimed, such measurement unit is said to be fully capable of the recited adaption in as much as recited and required herein.
Regarding claim 9, modified Huff teaches all of claim 1 as above. The recitation “wherein the optical signal is a signal that reflects presence of an analyte in the specimen.” is capability of the optical signal which is a capability of the detector. However taught within (Fig. 56 and Para [00427] and [00452], Image analysis may include a detection of an optical signal from the analyte detection cartridge. Optical signal may be a light signal, such as a colorimetric, turbidometric, or fluorescent signal. Electrochemical detection may involve amperometry, coulometry, potentiometry, voltametery, impedance, or a combination thereof. the analyte detection chips may be used to generate an optical signal indicating presence of an analyte in a sample being assayed by the chips.).
Regarding claim 10, modified Huff teaches all of claim 1 as above. The recitation “wherein the optical detection part is configured to: apply light to the flow cell; and detect light generated from an analyte in the specimen flowing in the flow cell.” is capability of the optical detection part. However taught within (Para [00464], first chamber for staining and the second chamber may be transparent at least in an imaging region 1004 to facilitate optical analysis of a sample transposed into the second chamber from the first chamber.).
Regarding claim 11, modified Huff teaches all of claim 10 as above. The recitation “wherein the first data and the second data correspond to the optical signal obtained while the analyte passes through an application position of the light.” is capability of the optical signal which is a capability of the detector. Kimura discloses the positively claimed structural elements of the detector as claimed, such detector is said to be fully capable of the recited adaption in as much as recited and required herein.
Regarding claim 22, modified Huff teaches all of claim 1 as above. The recitation “wherein the analysis unit is configured to specify the first data and the second data based on a rule for specifying data to serve as a target of each of the first analysis operation and the second analysis operation.” is capability of the analysis unit. modified Huff discloses the positively claimed structural elements of the analysis unit as claimed, such analysis unit part is said to be fully capable of the recited adaption in as much as recited and required herein.
Regarding claim 23 modified Huff teaches all of claim 1 as above. The recitation “wherein the analysis unit is configured to specify the first data and the second data in accordance with a measurement item included in a measurement order for the specimen.” is capability of the analysis unit. Modified Huff teaches discloses the positively claimed structural elements of the analysis unit as claimed, such analysis unit is said to be fully capable of the recited adaption in as much as recited and required herein.
Regarding claim 26, modified Huff teaches all of claim 1 as above. The recitation “wherein the analysis unit is configured to determine whether or not execution of the first analysis operation is necessary, in accordance with an analysis result of the second analysis operation.” is capability of the analysis unit. However Ugawa teaches measurement information is updated as needed within (Page 8, In the present invention, the association degree described above may be updated. That is, measurement information as shown in FIG. 4 and reference measurement information are updated as needed. This update may reflect information provided via a public communication network such as the Internet. Further, the system side or the user side may be updated artificially or automatically based on the contents of research data, papers, conference presentations, newspaper articles, books, etc. by experts. Artificial intelligence may be used in these update processes.). Therefore, if the measurement information using AI which is part of the first analysis operation is not needed to be updated then the first analysis operation is not necessary and can be determined whether or not to execute the first analysis operation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Huff to incorporate the teachings of Ugawa wherein the analysis unit is configured to determine whether or not execution of the first analysis operation is necessary, in accordance with an analysis result of the second analysis operation. Doing so allows the system to run faster by eliminating an analysis step when the analysis step would not yield better results.
Regarding claim 27, modified Huff teaches all of claim 1 as above. The recitation “wherein the analysis unit is configured to determine whether or not execution of the first analysis operation is necessary, in accordance with whether or not a predetermined analyte has been detected in the specimen through the second analysis operation.” is capability of the analysis unit. However, it would have been clearly within the ordinary skills of an artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the invention of Huff by determine whether or not execution of the first analysis operation is necessary, in accordance with whether or not a predetermined analyte has been detected in the specimen through the second analysis operation since [00478], The analyte detection device may also include algorithm(s) to calculate a concentration of the analyte based on the detected electrical or light signal.). If the concentration is zero (no analyte present) it would be a matter of an obvious engineering choice, to better adjust the apparatus and save time to not perform the first analysis operation.
Regarding claim 28, modified Huff teaches all of claim 1 as above. The recitation “wherein the analysis unit is configured to analyze, through the first analysis operation, the first data that corresponds to an analyte classified as a predetermined type through the second analysis operation.” is capability of the analysis unit. Modified Huff discloses the positively claimed structural elements of the analysis unit as claimed, such analysis unit is said to be fully capable of the recited adaption in as much as recited and required herein.
Regarding claim 29, modified Huff teaches all of claim 1 as above. The recitation “wherein the representative value that is processed in the second analysis operation has a data amount smaller than that of the first data that is inputted to the AI algorithm in the first analysis operation.” is capability of the analysis unit. Modified Huff discloses the positively claimed structural elements of the analysis unit as claimed, such analysis unit is said to be fully capable of the recited adaption in as much as recited and required herein.
Regarding claim 31, modified Huff teaches all of claim 1 as above. The recitation “wherein the first data and the second data are each composed of a plurality of pieces of data, and at least a part thereof is same data between the first data and the second data.” is capability of the analysis unit. Modified Huff discloses the positively claimed structural elements of the analysis unit as claimed, such analysis unit part is said to be fully capable of the recited adaption in as much as recited and required herein.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huff et. al. (WO 2018067878 A1) in view of Ugawa et. al. (WO 2018203568 A1) an further view of Chou et. al. (US 20200256856 A1).
Regarding claim 17, modified Huff teaches all of claim 1 as above but does not teach “wherein the analysis unit is configured to analyze the first data through a convolution operation according to the AI algorithm.”.
Chou teaches devices/apparatus and methods of performing cellular, biological, and chemical assays and procedures in addition to “wherein the analysis unit is configured to analyze the first data through a convolution operation according to the AI algorithm.”. (Para, 0037] In the training stage, training data with annotation is fed into a convolutional neural network.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Huff to incorporate the teachings of Chou wherein the analysis unit is configured to analyze the first data through a convolution operation according to the AI algorithm. Doing so creates a analyzer which is best suited for data with images because it can learn from data which includes different shapes.
Claims 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huff et. al. (WO 2018067878 A1) in view of Ugawa et. al. (WO 2018203568 A1) an further view of Lo et. al. (US 20210047679 A1).
Regarding claim 18, modified Huff teaches all of claim 1 as above but does not teach “wherein the analysis unit is configured to analyze the first data through a matrix operation according to the AI algorithm.”.
Lo teaches Systems and methods for using determination of base modification in analyzing nucleic acid molecules and acquiring data for analysis of nucleic acid molecules are described herein. In addition to machine learning models can be trained to detect the base modifications using these features. Further taught “wherein the analysis unit is configured to analyze the first data through a matrix operation according to the AI algorithm.”. (Para, [0244], convolutional layer can use one or more different filters, with each filter using a kernel that operates on matrix values local (e.g., in neighboring or surrounding) to a particular matrix element, thereby providing a new value to the particular matrix element.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Huff to incorporate the teachings of Lo wherein the analysis unit is configured to analyze the first data through a matrix operation according to the AI algorithm. Doing so allows the analyzer to handle large amount of data which is needed for a AI algorithm.
Regarding claim 19, modified Huff teaches all of claim 18 as above. Huff does not teach “wherein the analysis unit is configured to execute the matrix operation according to the AI algorithm, through parallel processing performed by a parallel-processing processor.” which is capability of the analysis unit.”.
However, Lo teaches “wherein the analysis unit is configured to execute the matrix operation according to the AI algorithm, through parallel processing performed by a parallel-processing processor.” (Paras [0385], and [00672], In one embodiment, we could quantify the bias using linear or LOESS (locally weighted smoothing) regression. As an example, if we considered massively parallel bisulfite sequencing (Illumina) to be a reference, the results determined by single molecule, real-time sequencing according to the disclosure could be transformed using the regression coefficients. The interconnection via system bus 75 allows the central processor 73 to communicate with each subsystem and to control the execution of a plurality of instructions from system memory 72 or the storage device(s) 79 (e.g., a fixed disk, such as a hard drive, or optical disk), as well as the exchange of information between subsystems. The system memory 72 and/or the storage device(s) 79 may embody a computer readable medium. Another subsystem is a data collection device 85, such as a camera, microphone, accelerometer, and the like. Any of the data mentioned herein can be output from one component to another component and can be output to the user.) Therefore, the type of parallel analysis requires a large storage location for the data in addition to having a system bus which connects the central processor to other subsystems teaches to the parallel processor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Huff to incorporate the teachings of Lo wherein the analysis unit is configured to execute the matrix operation according to the AI algorithm, through parallel processing performed by a parallel-processing processor. Doing so allows the analyzer the ability to handle a large data set which is required for matrix AI algorithms.
Regarding claim 20, modified Huff teaches all of claim 19 as above. The recitation “wherein the analysis unit is configured to execute the first analysis operation by the parallel-processing processor and execute the second analysis operation by a host processor of the parallel-processing processor.” is capability of the analysis unit. Modified Huff discloses the positively claimed structural elements of the analysis unit including a subsystem with different components used as a processor as taught within claim 19, such analysis unit is said to be fully capable of the recited adaption in as much as recited and required herein.
Regarding claim 21, modified Huff teaches all of claim 1 as above. Huff does not teach “wherein the AI algorithm is a deep learning algorithm.”.
Lo teaches “wherein the AI algorithm is a deep learning algorithm.” (Para [0181], use of a deep learning method).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Huff to incorporate the teachings of Lo wherein the AI algorithm is a deep learning algorithm. Doing so allows the analyzer the ability to learn complex patterns which is essential in this type of analyzer.
Conclusion
/V.E.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1798
/JILL A WARDEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1798