DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 14-19, and 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heinz 20130116627 in view of Cupicha 20160243309.
Regarding Claim 1, Heinz teaches an administration device (syringe of Figs 4-5; [0039]) configured to transition between a static state (left side of Figs 4 and 5) and an advancing state (right side of Figs 4-5), comprising:
a hollow body (incl.10) including a sidewall (10) extending along a longitudinal length of the hollow body (just as Applicant considered the cylindrical sidewall 704 defining the hollow body 702 to satisfy this claim limitation, the cylindrical wall 10 defining the hollow body of the syringe in Figs 4-5 satisfies this claim limitation);
a post (11) configured to move axially within the hollow body (Figs 4-5); and
a stopper (17) comprising a primary wall (at and between 24, 25) and an interior cavity (shaded regions in Figs 4-5 above),
the interior cavity distally terminating in a distal wall (26) and the primary wall surrounding the interior cavity (Fig 5),
the primary wall configured to seal against the sidewall when the post is in a first position (Figs 4-5) and to apply a first radial pressure against the sidewall when the post is in the first position (Fig 5 (a); degree of deformation of 24 and 25 from compression against sidewall indicates a level of force/pressure),
wherein the post is configured to move axially into the interior cavity (compare Fig 5 (a) to (b)) and bear centrally against the distal wall when the post is in a second position (Fig 5(b)), and
the primary wall is configured to radially contract into the interior cavity in response to the axial stretching of the distal wall caused by an axial force applied to the distal wall by the post (compare Fig 5 (a) to (b)),
so as to apply a second radial pressure less than the first radial pressure against the sidewall when the post is in the second position (as indicated by the less deformed state of 24 and 25 in (b) as compared to (a)); and
wherein the post is actuated from the first position to the second position by increase in pressure on a pressure surface (14) of a plunger (11) by manual operation (Figs 1, 4-5; [0024-25, 29-30).
Heinz does not teach the actuation of the post by an increase in pressure of a proximal volume of the hollow body.
However, Cupicha teaches a pneumatically operated syringe (Fig 22) that includes certain modifications at the proximal end in order to facilitate pneumatic operation. For example, the syringe includes a post (122) that is actuated from a first position to a second position by an increase in pressure of a proximal volume (302, 320), thereby providing more uniform, consistent, and controlled injections while still preventing contamination of the medication being administered ([0003]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the manually operated plunger syringe of Heinz to be pneumatically operated as taught by Cupicha in order to provide more uniform, consistent, and controlled injections while preventing contamination of the medication being administered (Cupicha, [0003]).
Regarding claim 2, Heinz in view of Cupicha teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Heinz further teaches the post being configured to transition from the first position in the static state, in which no axial force is applied by the post to the distal wall, into the second position in the advancing state, in which the axial force is applied to the distal wall by the post (Figs 4-5; the left side of Figs 4-5 is a “rest state”; [0039, 41] while the right side is an actuated state).
Regarding claim 4, Heinz in view of Cupicha teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Heinz further teaches the axial force is applied distally and the axial stretching is in a distal direction (Figs 4-5).
Regarding claim 14, Heinz in view of Cupicha teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Heinz further teaches a flange (21 in Fig 4 and analogous feature in Fig 5) disposed proximally of the stopper (Figs 4-5), the flange having a radial cross-section greater than a radial cross-section of a proximal end of the interior cavity (Figs 4-5), the flange configured to axially engage the stopper in the advancing state (Figs 4-5).
Regarding claim 15, Heinz in view of Cupicha teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Heinz further teaches the post longitudinally extends an axial distance greater than an axial depth of the interior cavity (Figs 4-5), and engagement of the flange with the stopper limits distal stretching of the distal wall to a predefined amount from the axial force applied to the distal wall (Figs 4-5).
Regarding claim 16, Heinz in view of Cupicha teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Heinz further teaches the post further comprising a skirt (21 in Fig 4, and analogous feature in Fig 5; skirt defined as a part or attachment serving as a rim, border, or edging per Merriam Webster Dictionary) extending radially from the post (Figs 4-5).
Additionally, Cupicha teaches the pneumatically operated syringe (Fig 22) including a shortened post (122) having proximal sealing skirts (of 110; e.g. 116, 112, 114, or 118) on the post, separate from the stopper sealing function (130, 134), in order to enable pneumatic actuation of the syringe (via 202, 204, 302, 320; Fig 24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the syringe post of Heinz (in view of Cupicha) to be a shortened post with sealing skirts at the proximal end as taught by Cupicha, in order to enable the syringe to be actuated pneumatically (Figs 22-24) instead of using a manually operated plunger arrangement, thereby providing more uniform, consistent, and controlled injections while preventing contamination of the medication being administered ([0003]).
Regarding claim 17, Heinz in view of Cupicha teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Heinz does not teach the skirt is configured to seal against the sidewall (the skirt in Figs 4-5 depicted as being spaced from the syringe hollow body sidewall).
However, Cupicha teaches the pneumatically operated syringe (Fig 22) including a shortened post (122) having proximal sealing skirts (of 110; e.g. 116, 112, 114, or 118) on the post, separate from the stopper sealing function (130, 134), in order to enable pneumatic actuation of the syringe (via 202, 204, 302, 320; Fig 24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the syringe post of Heinz (in view of Cupicha) to be a shortened post with sealing skirts at the proximal end as taught by Cupicha, in order to enable the syringe to be actuated pneumatically (Figs 22-24) instead of using a manually operated plunger arrangement, thereby providing more uniform, consistent, and controlled injections while preventing contamination of the medication being administered ([0003]).
Regarding claim 18, Heinz in view of Cupicha teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Heinz further teaches the post being more rigid than the stopper (in order for the post to deform the stopper while the post does not deform under the same force/pressure, per Figs 4-5).
Regarding claim 19, Heinz in view of Cupicha teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Heinz further teaches the first radial pressure applied by the primary wall against the sidewall provides an aseptic barrier (the hermetic seal of the stopper against the sidewall is sufficient to establish an aseptic barrier).
Regarding claim 21, Heinz in view of Cupicha teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above.
Heinz further teaches an interior surface of the primary wall includes raised surface features (Figs 4-5 above; including 27 in Fig 5) protruding radially inwardly into the interior cavity (Figs 4-5).
Regarding claim 22, Heinz in view of Cupicha teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Heinz further teaches a longitudinal extent of the post is an axial length greater than an axial depth of the interior cavity (Figs 4-5).
Regarding claim 23, Heinz in view of Cupicha teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Heinz in view of Cupicha as discussed so far, does not teach the post is disposed on a secondary stopper, the skirt extends radially from the secondary stopper, and the increase in pressure of the proximal volume acts upon the secondary stopper to actuate the post from the first position to the second position.
However, Cupicha further teaches the proximal end of the pneumatically operated syringe having a modified post/plunger (122) disposed on a secondary stopper (110), the skirt extends radially from the secondary stopper (Fig 1), and the increase in pressure of the proximal volume acts upon the secondary stopper to actuate the post from a first position (Fig 24) to a second position (Fig 25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the syringe post of Heinz (in view of Cupicha) to be a shortened post with sealing skirts at the proximal end as taught by Cupicha, in order to enable the syringe to be actuated pneumatically (Figs 22-24) instead of using a manually operated plunger arrangement, thereby providing more uniform, consistent, and controlled injections while preventing contamination of the medication being administered ([0003]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 14, Applicant argues that Heinz does not explain any of the claimed dimensional relationships in Heinz’s written disclosure and Heinz does not indicate the drawings are drawn to scale, thus Heinz cannot teach the claimed dimensional relationship of: “the flange having a radial cross-section greater than a radial cross-section of a proximal end of the interior cavity”.
However, what is stated in MPEP2125(I-II) is that:
Drawings and pictures can anticipate claims if they clearly show the structure which is claimed. In re Mraz, 455 F.2d 1069, 173 USPQ 25 (CCPA 1972). However, the picture must show all the claimed structural features and how they are put together. Jockmus v. Leviton, 28 F.2d 812 (2d Cir. 1928).
When the reference is a utility patent, it does not matter that the feature shown is unintended or unexplained in the specification. The drawings must be evaluated for what they reasonably disclose and suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art.
When the reference does not disclose that the drawings are to scale and is silent as to dimensions, arguments based on measurement of the drawing features are of little value. However, the description of the article pictured can be relied on, in combination with the drawings, for what they would reasonably teach one of ordinary skill in the art
In this case, the Figs 4-5 in Heinz clearly show the flange being much greater in radial cross-section than the proximal end of the interior cavity as well as all the structural features and how they are put together. Although Heinz does not directly remark on the dimensions of the flange and the interior cavity radial cross-sections, Heinz is a utility patent and it does not matter that these dimensions are unexplained, or even if they were unintended. One of ordinary skill, especially given the level of detail in the drawing, would have understood that the claimed relative dimensional relationship exists in Figs 4-5 of Heinz. Finally, the claimed relative dimensional relationship does not require any ruler measurements to ascertain. It is merely a comparison of relative size that can be clearly ascertained from a Drawing of sufficient detail. Nevertheless, there is also sufficient discussion in Heinz to support the determination that Figs 4-5 teach the flange (shoulder 21) radial cross-section is larger than the interior cavity (defined by the internal boundary of the stopper/sealing element 17) radial cross-section at the proximal end in [0033], which states:
“Only once a shoulder 21 butts against the rear end 19 of the sealing element 17 toward the end of the initial movement (see view B) is the sealing element 17 forced to follow a continued movement of the plunger 11”.
This functional requirement is enough to support the conclusion that the radial cross-section of the flange is greater than the interior cavity radial cross-section in order for the flange/shoulder to abut and force axial movement of the stopper/sealing element.
Regarding claim 15, Applicant argues that the functional limitation of “engagement of the flange with the stopper limits distal stretching of the distal wall to a predefined amount from the axial force applied to the distal wall” cannot be taught by a Drawing.
Without conceding to the validity of this argument, paragraph [0033] is now further recited in the rejection to further support what is shown in the Drawings, i.e.: that the flange abutting the stopper in the second position (specifically toward the end of the initial movement), by definition, limits the axial stretching of the stopper (that occurs during the initial movement after the post contacts the distal wall), including its distal wall.
Regarding claim 16, Applicant argues that the interpretation of shoulder 21 as the claimed skirt is not properly construing the term “skirt” in light of the specification because Applicant argues the specification uses “skirt” “consistently to denote an elastomeric structure that extends radially and engages the sidewall to form a seal”.
However, the paragraphs [0007, 0028, 57, 61] from Applicant’s Specification (discussing the skirt) are not sufficient to establish such a definition. Any such characteristics of the skirt are always mentioned as an optional “may” (e.g. in [0028], “The skirt may be configured to seal against the sidewall and may comprise an elastomeric material”). Thus, there is no clear definition set forth in the Specification for the term skirt.
Furthermore, the office action’s interpretation of the term “skirt” under its plain meaning of “a part or attachment serving as a rim, border, or edging” as defined by Merriam Webster Dictionary is consistent with Applicant’s use in the Specification. That is, Applicant’s skirt(s) are also a part or attachment serving as a rim, border, or edging. The additional characteristics Applicant wishes to attribute to the term skirt amount to additional limitations that Applicant wishes to import from the Specification. However, this is specifically prohibited by MPEP2111.01(II).
If Applicant wishes for the term skirt to be interpreted as “an elastomeric structure that extends radially and engages the sidewall to form a seal”, such limitation should be amended into the claim.
Applicant further asserts that the shoulder (21) is interpreted as the flange in claim 14 and then the skirt in claim 16.
However, claim 16 does not depend from claim 14, thus the same element can be used to read on both without contradiction.
Regarding claim 18, Applicant argues that the rigidity of the plunger and its sealing element are not described in Heinz’s written disclosure and the Office must supply a basis in fact or technical reasoning to support the finding that the post must be more rigid than the stopper in order for the post to deform the stopper in Heinz.
However, the fact and technical reasoning for the assertion that Figs 4-5 teach the post being more rigid than the stopper, is that the post deforms the stopper. Perhaps the additional detail that the post does not deform while deforming the stopper is also necessary to include in the technical reasoning, and this has been added to the rejection above. Note, rigidity is, by definition, an object’s ability to resist deformation in response to an applied force. Given the same force being applied to both post and stopper (via the post at the distal wall), deformation of the stopper and not the post, indicates the post is more rigid than the stopper.
Regarding claim 19, Applicant argues that the hermetic seal of the stopper in Heinz is not sufficient to teach the claimed aseptic barrier because Heinz states that “the contact pressure may no longer be sufficient in this sense after the initial movement, i.e., no longer be sufficient to keep the syringe permanently leak-proof”.
However, the claim recites only: “the first radial pressure applied by the primary wall against the sidewall provides an aseptic barrier”. Thus, only in the first state, at the first radial pressure, must the primary wall provide the aseptic barrier with the sidewall. Heinz teaches this in [0011]: “In the rest state, the syringe is also leak-proof over a relatively long period of time, which is achieved by virtue of the fact that the sealing element rests against the inner wall of the cylinder with sufficient contact pressure”. Note, the definition of an aseptic barrier is something along the lines of “a material placed between an aseptic area, such as an operative incision, and areas which harbor microorganisms with the purpose of preventing the spread of bacteria into the sterile zone” (per JAM Surgery Vol.87 No.2 Article title Aseptic Barriers, Abstract, paragraph 1). But even this article recognizes that “[s]uch barriers are in widespread use, yet criteria for their efficiency are barely existent”. Even non-sealed barriers such as gloves, gowns, and drapes are classified as aseptic barriers. The leak-proof seal of Heinz in the first position certainly qualifies as an aseptic barrier.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues that Heinz in view of Cupicha does not teach the amended claim because Heinz does not teach the claimed actuation by increased fluid volume, and Cupicha does not teach the claimed seal/post structures.
However, this amounts to an argument against the references individually when the rejection is under 103 and based on the combination of Heinz in view of Cupicha. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
For example, Applicant argues that Cupicha’s post is secured at both ends to the skirt and the piston head member and thus the post cannot move relative to the piston head member. However, Cupicha is not required to teach such details at the distal end of the post as the relative motion of the post and piston head end because Heinz already teaches these details.
Applicant further argues that the rationale for combination of Heinz in view of Cupicha (i.e. in order to provide more uniform, consistent, and controlled injections while preventing contamination of the medication being administered) is not supported because: 1) Heinz already professes the same benefit of uniformity for its manual mechanism, and 2) Heinz has no driving fluid and thus does not need a method of preventing driving fluid leakage from contaminating the medicament.
However, the uniformity of injection achieved by Heinz is different from the uniformity and consistency of injection referenced by Cupicha. Heinz is referring to improved uniformity of medicament ejection at the beginning of a single injection by reducing the effect of static friction. Cupicha is referring to the uniformity, consistency, and controllability of injection that is achievable by using a pneumatically controlled injection system, which is capable of supplying a constant or other precisely controllable profile of injection pressure over the entire course of the injection and across multiple injections. Manual injection is subject to human error as humans do not have precise or accurate pressure sensors to monitor and adjust applied pressure for injection.
The mention of sealing and leak prevention was included in the motivation statement of obviousness because it was included in Cupicha’s statement of technical advantages of Cupicha over existing systems and to demonstrate that the modification of the manual driving in Heinz with pneumatic driving as taught by Cupicha would not introduce a leakage or cross-contamination issue.
Applicant further argues that the proposed modification would render the primary reference unsatisfactory for its intended purpose, or changes its principle of operation because: 1) “[s]ubstituting a pressurized proximal volume for the manual pressure surface of Heinz would further displace the mechanism upon which Heinz depends”; 2) “initial movement of Heinz is carried out when pressure is exerted upon a pressure surface at the rear end of the plunger; the position of the sealing element during that movement is determined solely by the static friction between the sealing element and the inner wall of the cylinder”; and 3) “the syringe returns independently to the rest position as soon as no pressure is exerted upon the pressure surface”.
It is unclear what argument is being made in the first two points. If Applicant is arguing that the physical structure of Heinz would be altered by the proposed modification in view of Cupicha, note that the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). Based on the similar distal end structures of the syringes of Hainz and Cupicha, on of ordinary skill in the art would understand how to modify the proximal end of Hainz’s syringe to use pneumatic actuation as taught by Cupicha. The resulting syringe of Heinz in view of Cupicha would still translate the post as required by Hainz to provide uniform injection to a patient. Thus, modification of Heinz in view of. Cupicha does not change or destroy the intended purpose and principle operation of Heinz.
The third point appears to reference an optional alternative embodiment of Heinz involving an additional elastic element to pretension the plunger against axial translation in the distal direction. This feature is an optional alternative and not required by Heinz. Thus there is no issue in omitting it for the combination of Heinz in view of Cupicha to read on the claims.
Regarding claim 17, Applicant argues that the skirt of Cupicha is not “carried upon a post which advances into the interior cavity of a stopper and bears against the distal wall of that cavity”.
However, the post and stopper limitations are already taught by Heinz and need not be addressed by Cupicha. The skirt of Cupicha is applied to the post of Cupicha. This concept/structure is then applied to the post of Heinz to modify Heinz for pneumatic actuation.
Regarding claim 23, Applicant is arguing that Heinz does not teach the claimed subject matter taught by Cupicha and Cupicha does not teach the claimed subject matter taught by Heinz. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). This line of argument is already further addressed above in various claims.
The remaining arguments repeat previous arguments and are considered fully addressed by the above discussion.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/STEPHANIE SEBASCO CHENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741