DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 14-19 are pending:
Claims 1-13 and 20 have been cancelled.
Claims 14-19 are rejected.
Response to Amendments
Amendments filed 02/02/2026 have been entered. Amendments to the claims overcome §102 rejection but do not overcome double patenting rejections and §103 rejections as previously set forth in non-final Office mailed 10/01/2025.
Amendments have necessitated new grounds of rejection using prior art of record.
Response to Arguments
Arguments filed 02/02/2026 have been entered. Arguments were fully considered.
On pg. 4 of Applicant’s arguments, Applicant argues that:
Rejection of Claims Under35 USC §102
Claim 14 stands rejected under 35 USC §102 over Reiser. In view of the amendments to claim 14 to incorporate elements of claim 16 therein, Applicants respectfully submit that the rejection of claim 14 under 35 USC §102 is overcome and must be withdrawn.
This argument is persuasive therefore the §102 rejection is withdrawn.
On pg. 4 of Applicant’s arguments, Applicant argues that:
Rejections of Claims Under 35 USC §103
Claims 18 and 19 stand rejected under 35 USC § 103 as being unpatentable over Reiser in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Pub. No. 2012/0018387 to Solomon. Notably, claims 15 and 16 are free but for the obviousness-type double patenting rejection over the '829 patent. With claim 14 being amended to incorporate elements of claim 16 therein, Applicants respectfully submit that claim 14 now presents patentable subject mailer over the prior art, particularly over Reiser. In particular, within the teachings of Reiser, it is critical that an emulsion of oleaginous material be formed by aspirating liquid oleaginous material into a moving stream of water (see ABSTRACT of Reiser). Conversely, claim 14 as amended recites the film-forming composition to be in a solid form chosen from granules or pellets. The Examiner has already recognized this distinguishing feature of the recited subject mailer as being distinct from the teachings of Reiser such that Applicant respectfully submits that claim 14, as amended, presents patentable subject matter over the cited art. Applicant respectfully submits that the remaining claims all depend
from allowable claim 14 such that all presented claims are in condition for allowance.
This argument is not persuasive because amended claim 14 includes only a portion of claim 16. Original claim 16 included all the limitations of claims 14 and 15. The scope of amended claim 14 was not previously considered and broader than original 16 therefore claim 14 presents new issues which necessitates new search and consideration.
With respect to Applicant’s arguments that “claim 14 now presents patentable subject mailer over the prior art, particularly over Reiser. In particular, within the teachings of Reiser, it is critical that an emulsion of oleaginous material be formed by aspirating liquid oleaginous material into a moving stream of water (see ABSTRACT of Reiser)”, this argument is not persuasive because the active material in Reiser is normally solid and can be powdered, melted or dissolved (Reiser, see C2/L35-45, C6/L45-55, C6/L70-75 and C9/L15-30). While Reiser does not teach explicitly teach applying the composition in the form of granules or pellets, these solid forms are conventionally well known in the art; specifically, Solomon teaches that the solid composition may be of any form including granular form (see ¶463).
Furthermore, as stated in ¶27 of the instant specification, the film-forming composition is in liquid form or solid form; therefore, solid form in either as a pellet or granule does not offer any new or unexpected results.
The §103 rejection of Reiser in view of Solomon is maintained.
Double Patenting
Claims 14-16 and 18-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 10,370,829. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims read on the instant claims.
Regarding claim 14, the patent claims recite a method of managing an oilfield water storage system (see patent claims 1 and 13), wherein the method comprises: applying a film-forming composition comprising a surface spreading agent to a water holding pond of the oilfield water storage system (see patent claims 1 and 13), wherein the film-forming composition is in a solid form chosen from granules or pellets (this feature is either obvious or anticipated by the patent claims, see patent claims 1-13).
Regarding claim 15, the patent claims recite the method of claim 14, wherein applying a film-forming composition comprises applying the film-forming composition further comprising a dissolution agent and a densifying agent (see patent claim 13), wherein the densifying agent has a density greater than water and also greater than the surface spreading agent to provide the film-forming composition with a density greater than water (see patent claim 13).
Regarding claim 16, the patent claims recite the method of claim 15, wherein the film-forming composition is applied to release at least a portion of the surface spreading agent from beneath a surface of the water in the water holding pond (see patent claim 5).
Regarding claim 18, the patent claims recite the method of claim 14, further comprising applying a buoyant, water soluble indicator (a dissolution agent chosen from calcium hydroxide, hydrated lime, or a combination thereof, see patent claims 5 and 13) different from the film-forming composition to a surface of the water after applying the film-forming composition to the water holding pond (see patent claims 5 and 13).
Regarding claim 19, the patent claims recite the method of claim 18, wherein the buoyant, water soluble indicator is applied at least 30 minutes after applying the film-forming composition to the water holding pond (this limitation is obvious in light of “wherein the film-forming composition includes a sufficient amount of the densifying agent to render the film-forming composition denser than water” as recited in claims 5 and 13; the application time is a result effective variable).
The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
Claim 17 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 10,370,829 in view of Reiser (USPN 3,528,764) and by evidence of Noweck (Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry, see NPL attached in 892). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims read on the instant claims.
Regarding claim 17, the patent claims recite the method of claim 16.
The patent claims do not recite the step of adding a surface protectant agent to the water holding pond, wherein the surface protectant agent has a specific gravity lower than that of the surface spreading agent and wherein the surface protectant agent forms a surface protectant layer over the surface spreading layer in the water storage pond.
In a related field of endeavor, Reiser teaches a method and apparatus for retarding evaporation from water surfaces (see ABS) comprising the step of adding a surface protectant agent (oleaginous material is a fatty alcohol having from 14 to 22 carbon atoms, see C3/L1-10) to the water holding pond (aspirating liquid oleaginous material into a moving stream of water to disperse the oleaginous material therein), wherein the surface protectant agent has a specific gravity lower than that of the surface spreading agent (oleaginous which is a fatty alcohol having 14-22 carbon atoms has a density < 1 g/cm3 by evidence of Noweck; see Table 1 for density of fatty alcohols having 6-22 C atoms and §2.1 on pg. 118 of Noweck) and wherein the surface protectant agent forms a surface protectant layer over the surface spreading layer in the water storage pond (this is an inherent characteristic of the oleaginous material).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of the patent claims by incorporating a surface protectant agent (i.e. oleaginous material) as disclosed by Reiser because it provides the benefit of stabilizing oil-and-water mixtures.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reiser (USPN 3,528,764) in view of Solomon (US 2012/0018387).
Regarding claim 14, Reiser teaches a method of managing an oilfield water storage system (on-land and open water sites, see ABS), wherein the method comprises: applying a film-forming composition comprising a surface spreading agent (individual particulate aggregations of the composition, complemented by enhanced film-spreading capability of an amorphous form of the higher fatty alcohol constituent) to a water holding pond of the oilfield water storage system (on-land and open water sites, see ABS).
Reiser suggests that the composition can be applied in a solid form (see C2/L35-45, C6/L45-55, C6/L70-75 and C9/L15-30); however does not explicitly teach the composition as a granule or pellet.
In a related field of endeavor, Solomon teaches a method for controlling water evaporation (see ABS) wherein the solid composition may be of any form including granular form (see ¶463).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the effective filing date of the invention to modify the composition of the Reiser by applying the composition in granular form as disclosed by Solomon because solid forms typically more compact which allow for ease of transport and reduce storage costs. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Regarding claim 18, Reiser teaches the method of claim 14.
Reiser does not teach the step of applying a buoyant, water soluble indicator different from the film-forming composition to a surface of the water after applying the film-forming composition to the water holding pond.
In a related field of endeavor, Solomon teaches a method for controlling water evaporation (see ABS) comprising the step of applying a buoyant, water soluble indicator (hydrated lime, see ¶411) different from the film-forming composition to a surface of the water after applying the film-forming composition to the water holding pond (the water soluble indicator in light of the instant specification can be hydrated lime therefore would be different than the film-forming composition recited in the claims and different than what is disclosed by Reiser).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of the Reiser by incorporating a buoyant, water soluble indicator (i.e. hydrated lime) of Solomon because it is aids in controlling the undesirable growth of algae in the water body.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Reiser and Solomon teaches the method of claim 18.
The combination of Reiser and Solomon does not teach wherein the buoyant, water soluble indicator is applied at least 30 minutes after applying the film-forming composition to the water holding pond.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of the Reiser (as modified by Solomon) by incorporating the buoyant, water soluble indicator is applied at least 30 minutes after applying the film-forming composition to the water holding pond because it is obvious to optimize the application effectiveness to efficiently control the amount of algae growth in the water body with a reasonable expectation of success. The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EKANDRA S. MILLER-CRUZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773