DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1 and 4-10 are pending. Claims 2-3 are canceled. Claim 10 remains withdrawn.
In view of the amendment, filed 11/28/2025, the following objections and rejections are withdrawn from the previous Office Action mailed 09/05/2025:
Specification and claim objections
Claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103
New grounds of rejection are made in response to claim amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okazaki et al., US 20200230880 A1, in view of Simpson et al., US 20200324484 A1, and Komano et al., JP 2005315488 A (references of record, the translation of Komano provided 09/05/2025 is referenced below)
Regarding claim 1, Okazaki discloses an additive manufacturing apparatus (lamination molding apparatus 100, Fig. 1, for producing a three-dimensional molded object by laminating layers, [0022]), comprising:
A build table (molding table 5, Figs. 1 and 5), on which a material layer is formed by supply of material powder (the object is laminated on the molding table, [0025], via application of a material layer of powder, [0024]);
An irradiator (irradiator 13, Fig. 1), irradiating the material layer with an energy beam and forming a solidified layer (to irradiate a portion of the material layer with a laser beam to form the solidified layer, [0033]);
A temperature adjuster (temperature adjusting unit 74, Fig. 5, [0044]), comprising a heater (including heating unit 75 including a heater 75a, [0045]-[0046]) that heats the build table (“heating,” for adjusting the temperature of the molding table 5, [0044]) to a predetermined set temperature (configured for being heated to, e.g., 300°C, [0046]; heating temperature T1, [0067]) and a first cooler (cooling unit 76 including cooler 76a, [0045]-[0046]) that cools the build table (“cooling,” for adjusting the temperature of the molding table 5, [0044]), and
A control device (controller that controls elements of the apparatus, [0035], [0047]).
Okazaki discloses the cooler 76a utilizing a circulated refrigerant and that the cooling unit is configured to be cooled to a specific temperature by the cooler ([0046]). Okazaki describes the heating and cooling of the molding table 5 being repeated during molding ([0060]), where specific heating and cooling temperatures are applied via the molding table, the heating (T1) and cooling (T2) temperatures being related such that T2 is less than T1 ([0060], [0067]-[0069]). Okazaki does not explicitly disclose a refrigerant circulation device adjusting a temperature of the refrigerant and circulating the refrigerant between the refrigerant circulation device and the first cooler; and the control device is configured to control the temperature of the refrigerant supplied from the refrigerant circulation device based on the predetermined set temperature.
In the analogous art, Simpson discloses an additive manufacturing apparatus (Abstract, Fig. 1) including a temperature-controlled baseplate 120 of a support assembly 100 (Fig. 1, [0022]-[0023]). Simpson teaches providing the system with a refrigerant circulation device (coolant supply system 200 for supplying coolant to cooling channels 170 within baseplate 120, [0026]-[0034]), for adjusting a temperature of a refrigerant (configured to bring the coolant to an appropriate temperature, [0030]-[0031]) and circulating the refrigerant between the refrigerant circulation device and the baseplate cooler (coolant being flowed along coolant loop 160 to and from the cooling channels 170 of the baseplate 120, Fig. 1, [0120]). Simpson teaches a control configuration such that a temperature of the refrigerant supplied from the refrigerant circulation device is controlled ([0035]) based, e.g., on a setpoint temperature associated with the support assembly 100 ([0038], [0055]), where the system enables selective regulation of a temperature of the support assembly 100 and a build component ([0022]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Okazaki to include a refrigerant circulation device adjusting a temperature of a refrigerant and circulating the refrigerant between the refrigerant circulation device and the first cooler, and the control device configuration to control a supply refrigerant temperature which is a temperature of the refrigerant supplied from the refrigerant circulation device based on the predetermined set temperature, in order to provide a suitable mechanism for providing the circulating refrigerant described by Okazaki at an appropriate temperature for performing the desired cooling at a temperature lower than the heating temperature and to provide the capability of selectively regulating a temperature of the build table and a given build object, as taught by Simpson.
The combination as set forth above did not address controlling the supply refrigerant temperature specifically by manipulating cooling capacity of the refrigerant circulation device. However, controlling a temperature of the refrigerant coolant (Simpson: chilling coolant, [0030]) by a heat exchanger such as a refrigerator as taught by Simpson necessarily involves manipulating a cooling capacity of the device (an ability to cool the coolant fluid) in order to actively and predictably change the temperature of the coolant using the device as described. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further specify the supply refrigerant temperature is controlled by manipulating the cooling capacity of the refrigerant circulation device based on the predetermined set temperature in order to predictably control the temperature of the refrigerant using the cooling device as taught by Simpson.
Modified Okazaki does not specifically disclose that the refrigerant circulation device has a low load mode and a high load mode as an operation mode; the control device comprising a high load duration time setting part and a mode switcher; the high load duration time setting part sets a high load duration time being a duration time per operation of the refrigerant circulation device in the high load mode; the mode switcher switches the operation mode based on the predetermined set temperature and the high load duration time, wherein the refrigerant circulation device adjusts the temperature of the refrigerant with higher cooling capacity in the high load mode than in the low load mode.
In the analogous art directed to controlling cooling capacity of a refrigeration device in line with thermal load to accurately control supply temperature of a cooling medium ([0010]-[0011], [0037]), Komano discloses a refrigerant circulation device for supplying refrigerant to an object to be cooled (refrigeration system 10, Fig. 1, [0037]-[0040]) including a controller having a cooling capacity control section configured to adjust cooling capacity by increasing or decreasing the cooling capacity of the cooler ([0047]-[0048]). Komano discloses that cooling capacity of the cooler is increased in response to a relatively high heat load of the object ([0060]-[0061], Figs. 2A and 2C) and shows that cooling capacity is correspondingly decreased (drop at Fig. 2C) relative to a decreased heat load (drop at Fig. 2A). As such, Komano discloses the device has a low load mode and a high load mode as an operation mode, and the refrigerant circulation device adjusts the temperature of the refrigerant with higher cooling capacity in the high load mode than in the low load mode. As the corresponding cooling capacity configuration associated with the high load is engaged for a controlled operation time (Figs. 2A and 2C), the mode is switched between increased and decreased cooling capacity (Fig. 2C), and the mode is switched corresponding to the duration of the high load (Figs. 2A and 2C), Komano therefore discloses the control device comprises a high load duration time setting part and a mode switcher, where the high load duration time setting part sets a high load duration time being a duration time per operation of the refrigerant circulation device in the high load mode, and the mode switcher switches the operation mode based on the high load duration time.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coolant system of the combination as taught by Komano such that the refrigerant circulation device has a low load mode and a high load mode as an operation mode; the control device comprising a high load duration time setting part and a mode switcher; the high load duration time setting part sets a high load duration time being a duration time per operation of the refrigerant circulation device in the high load mode; the mode switcher switches the operation mode based on the high load duration time, and the refrigerant circulation device adjusts the temperature of the refrigerant with higher cooling capacity in the high load mode than in the low load mode, in order to enable the cooling capacity of the refrigeration device to follow fluctuations in the thermal load of the object to be cooled, thereby improving temperature accuracy of the supplied cooling medium (Komano, [0011]).
Komano does not specifically state that the mode switcher switches the operation mode based also on a predetermined set temperature (heating temperature); however, in implementing the combination wherein the cooling in Okazaki in view of Simpson is based on the set temperature of the heating and the high load duration time is associated with a higher thermal load of the object, then it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further specify that the mode switcher switches the operation mode based on the set temperature in addition to the high load duration time since the heating temperature is directly associated with the corresponding thermal load of the object and return temperature, Komano teaches the cooling capacity is controlled such that it is changed in accordance with the thermal load ([0011], [0060]-[0061], Fig. 2), and Okazaki teaches the cooling should be initiated after the heating and at a temperature lower than the heating temperature ([0060]-[0061], [0067]-[0069]). In other words, the set temperature of the heating was evidently a relevant variable in controlling the corresponding cooling capacity to subsequently perform cooling to a specific temperature, particularly since the intended cooling temperature was related to the set heating temperature, as disclosed by Okazaki.
Regarding claim 9, modified Okazaki discloses the additive manufacturing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the refrigerant circulation device is a chiller (Simpson: heat exchanger such as a refrigerator, chills coolant, [0030]).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okazaki et al., US 20200230880 A1, in view of Simpson et al., US 20200324484 A1, and Komano et al., JP 2005315488 A, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yamamoto, JP 2005007736 A (translation provided 09/05/2025 referenced below).
Regarding claim 4, modified Okazaki discloses the additive manufacturing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the refrigerant circulation device and the first cooler are connected by a refrigerant supply path for supplying the refrigerant to the first cooler (Simpson: coolant loop 160, Fig. 1). The combination did not address the refrigerant supply path is provided with a refrigerant supply valve; the control device comprises a refrigerant supply controller configured to control supply of the refrigerant to the first cooler by opening and closing the refrigerant supply valve.
Simpson further teaches the coolant loop 160 being provided with a refrigerant supply valve (actuatable coolant valve 222, Fig. 1, [0032]) by which flow of the coolant can be regulated by selective actuation ([0032]) to restrict and permit a flow of the coolant ([0056]), and wherein a coolant supply system controller is configured to control the valve to control a flow rate and/or temperature of coolant flowing through the system ([0035], [0057]). Selective actuation of a flow control valve to permit or restrict flow is understood to correspond to opening and closing the valve.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the refrigerant supply system of the combination such that the refrigerant supply path is provided with a refrigerant supply valve; the control device comprises a refrigerant supply controller; the refrigerant supply controller is configured to control supply of the refrigerant to the first cooler by opening and closing the refrigerant supply valve, in order to facilitate selective regulation and corresponding flow rate and/or temperature control of the coolant, as taught by Simpson.
Okazaki specifically discloses the cooling to the cooling temperature T2 is performed after the solidified layer forming and the heating to the heating temperature T1 ([0067]-[0068]), i.e., there is no disclosed requirement for coolant flow until heating is finished. As such, it follows that coolant flow is not performed, i.e., the coolant supply valve being closed, until after the high load mode (the time of high cooling capacity being required once heating is stopped and cooling is to begin) starts, i.e., the switching from low to high load mode being performed prior to the flow of refrigerant to the first cooler. The combination as set forth above discloses the valve being opened at the appropriate time by the refrigerant supply controller (Simpson, [0035], [0057]). The combination as set forth above discloses the mode switcher being configured to switch the refrigerant circulation device from the low load mode to the high load mode (higher cooling capacity, Komano, Figs. 2A-2C) but does not specifically address the configuration to do so with the refrigerant supply valve closed; and the refrigerant supply controller being configured to open the supply valve and start the supply of the refrigerant to the first cooler after a predetermined standby time has passed since the switching is performed.
In the analogous art of temperature control of a heated and cooled mold element including controlled circulation of a cooled refrigerant (Abstract), Yamamoto discloses heating and subsequently cooling a mold ([0023]-[0025]) wherein the analogous refrigerant supply valve 3 is opened only once heating is stopped so as to circulate the pre-cooled refrigerant and provide controlled cooling ([0021], [0025]). In the meantime, the refrigerant can be stored and the temperature controlled outside of the mold ([0021]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control configuration of the combination to specify the refrigerant supply valve was closed until the appropriately cooled refrigerant was to be supplied for the controlled cooling, i.e., the switching to the high load mode being performed with the refrigerant supply valve closed, and the controller was configured to open the refrigerant supply valve and start the supply of the refrigerant to the first cooler, such that the refrigerant at the cooled temperature was provided only once heating was stopped and the build table required cooling, as desired by Okazaki and taught by Yamamoto. In implementing the combination, once cooling to T2 is to be performed according to Okazaki, i.e., upon completion of the solidification and heating, the refrigerant supply controller would then have been configured to open the refrigerant supply valve and start the supply of the refrigerant to the first cooler with the refrigerant at the appropriate (cooled) temperature. As there would necessarily be an amount of time required to cool the refrigerant according to the high load mode, open the valve from a closed position, and thereby supply the temperature-controlled refrigerant along the flow path to the first cooler so that the cooling could be successfully performed, it further follows that the opening/supply starting is performed after a predetermined standby time has passed since the switching to the high load mode. The combination would have been beneficial to effectively perform the controlled cooling after the solidification and heating, as desired by Okazaki and disclosed by Yamamoto, with the coolant flow appropriately directed and the coolant capacity appropriately increased to achieve the intended cooling, as taught by Simpson, Komano, and Yamamoto.
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okazaki et al., US 20200230880 A1, in view of Simpson et al., US 20200324484 A1, and Komano et al., JP 2005315488 A, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Oda et al., JP 2021115625 A (Espacenet translation provided 09/05/2025 referenced below).
Regarding claim 5, modified Okazaki discloses the additive manufacturing apparatus according to claim 1, and Okazaki discloses the irradiator comprises a laser oscillator that outputs the energy beam (laser light source 42, Fig. 2, [0033]-[0034]; in line with the presently disclosed laser oscillator 51, instant Fig. 6, [0040]).
Simpson discloses the coolant supply system can be used to cool another manufacturing device of the apparatus in addition to the build platform ([0011]), where the circulation device can be configured to additionally circulate coolant to the other manufacturing device or along multiple paths (Fig. 1). The combination does not disclose a second cooler that cools the laser oscillator; and the refrigerant circulation device circulates the refrigerant between the refrigerant circulation device and the second cooler.
In the analogous art, Oda discloses an additive manufacturing apparatus ([0001]) wherein cooling water is provided via a chiller to a laser oscillator in order to cool the laser oscillator ([0017], Fig. 1). As shown by Oda, a laser oscillator is a heat source ([0017]) and therefore providing the capability to cool the laser oscillator would have been expected to assist in maintaining a desired temperature and/or avoiding overheating.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of the combination to include a second cooler that cools the laser oscillator; and the refrigerant circulation device circulates the refrigerant between the refrigerant circulation device and the second cooler in order to provide the capability of cooling the heat-generating laser source, as taught by Oda, and to thereby maintain its temperature and/or avoid overheating.
Regarding claim 6, modified Okazaki discloses the additive manufacturing apparatus according to claim 5. The combination does not specifically disclose a temperature monitor monitoring the temperature of the refrigerant supplied to the second cooler.
Simpson further teaches providing a temperature monitor configured to measure a temperature of the coolant supplied by the coolant supply system (coolant temperature sensor, [0039]) so that the coolant supply system controller can generate control signals at least partially responsive to the coolant temperature ([0039], [0055]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the apparatus to include a temperature monitor monitoring the temperature of the refrigerant supplied to the second cooler in order to provide the capability of controlling the coolant supply system at least partially based on the supplied coolant temperature, as taught by Simpson.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okazaki et al., US 20200230880 A1, in view of Simpson et al., US 20200324484 A1, and Komano et al., JP 2005315488 A, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kobayashi et al., US 20210156890 A1 (of record).
Regarding claim 7, modified Okazaki discloses the additive manufacturing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the control device is configured to control the refrigerant supply temperature based on the predetermined set temperature (per claim 1).
Simpson discloses the control configuration to control the coolant supply temperature based on a temperature of the build table ([0035], [0038], Fig. 1). The combination as set forth above does not disclose the control configuration to control the refrigerant supply temperature based also on the volume of the build table.
In the analogous art of controlled cooling of an object support plate that is heated and additionally cooled via coolant flow through a stage ([0005], [0031]-[0033]), Kobayashi teaches that the thickness of the cooled plate is directly related to its heat capacity, such that a smaller thickness (therefore a smaller volume) results in a smaller heat capacity and the temperature of the plate is more easily raised/lowered ([0069]). Accordingly, Kobayashi teaches that the volume of the plate is related to its ability to be cooled to the desired temperature.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further specify controlling the refrigerant supply temperature based also on the volume of the build table since the combination intends to adjust the temperature of the build table by the supply of the refrigerant and the volume of the build table was a known parameter influencing the rate at which the temperature of the structure can be adjusted, as shown by Kobayashi.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okazaki et al., US 20200230880 A1, in view of Simpson et al., US 20200324484 A1, and Komano et al., JP 2005315488 A, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Naware, US 20160096326 A1 (of record).
Regarding claim 8, modified Okazaki discloses the additive manufacturing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the control device is configured to control the refrigerant supply temperature based on the predetermined set temperature (per claim 1). The combination as set forth above does not disclose the control configuration to control the refrigerant supply temperature based also on a height of a build object of the build table.
In the analogous art, Naware discloses temperature control of an additive manufacturing build plate including cooling mechanisms (Abstract) and teaches a control configuration to set the temperature based on factors including part geometry and dimensions in order to determine the appropriate heating or cooling for the respective temperature controlled element ([0033]). For a three-dimensional object built additively in layers, as in Okazaki and Naware, the part geometry/dimensions would necessarily include a height.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further specify controlling the refrigerant supply temperature based on a height of a build object on the build table in order to account for the part geometry to determine and apply the appropriate temperature control, as taught by Naware.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/28/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues (pp. 11-12) that Komano discloses the mode switching is based on actual measured changes in the heat load by detecting a temperature change, which is a reactive control, and to the contrary, the present application is based on a predetermined set temperature and a predetermined duration time, which is a “predictive” control, where the control system employs a “feedforward” temperature control strategy. Applicant states that before the onset of cooling stage under high heat load, the refrigerant circulation device is switched to a high load mode for “pre-cooling” based on known heating parameters and subsequently the refrigerant that has reached the target temperature is instantly injected into the cooling system at a precise timing.
This argument is not found persuasive. Regardless of whether the mode is switched in Komano based on a measured change, it is still “based on” the high load duration time and the heating temperature – each of these variables directly affects the detected return temperature and the corresponding switching (e.g., Komano Fig. 2(A)-(C)). Furthermore, the argued limitation was not addressed solely by Komano; the combination as a whole was shown to render obvious the switching based additionally on the predetermined set temperature (the heating temperature) of Okazaki. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). The cooling in Okazaki in view of Simpson is based on the set temperature of the heating and the high load duration time is associated with a higher thermal load of the object; as such, a configuration of the mode switcher to switch the operation mode based on the set temperature in addition to the high load duration time would have been obvious since the heating temperature is directly associated with the corresponding thermal load of the object and return temperature, Komano teaches the cooling capacity is controlled such that it is changed in accordance with the thermal load ([0011], [0060]-[0061], Fig. 2), and Okazaki teaches the cooling should be initiated after the heating and at a temperature lower than the heating temperature ([0060]-[0061], [0067]-[0069]). In other words, the set temperature of the heating was clearly a relevant variable in controlling the corresponding cooling capacity to subsequently perform cooling to a specific temperature, particularly since the intended cooling temperature was related to the set heating temperature, as disclosed by Okazaki. As the relationships between these variables is shown by the references, and the intended effect of the combination is to perform the controlled cooling in response to the heating to the set heating temperature for an amount of time, there are no unexpected results apparent from performing the mode switching “based” on these variables. To the contrary, the references show that the heating temperature and high load time would have been relevant parameters correlated to both thermal load and corresponding cooling capacity requirements.
The examiner notes that the present specification is not limited to feedforward or predictive control and describes both feedback and feedforward control being utilized according to the invention. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., a predictive or feedforward control strategy, switching before onset of a cooling stage/pre-cooling) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.L.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1754
/SUSAN D LEONG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1754