DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/01/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-13, and 15-19, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharma et al. (US 2018/0121222 A1) in view of Lonappan (US 2014/0298345 A1).
Sharma and Lonappan were cited in the previous Office Action for different claims.
Regarding claim 1, Sharma teaches a computer system comprising:
a central processing unit (CPU) associated with a host computer, wherein the CPU comprises CPU functionality and on-chip enhanced CPU functionality, wherein the CPU functionality and the on-chip enhanced CPU functionality are present in the CPU concurrently ([0014] Hardware processor 120 may be one or more central processing units (CPUs), semiconductor-based microprocessors, and/or other hardware devices suitable for retrieval and execution of instructions stored in machine-readable storage medium, 130. Hardware processor 120 may fetch, decode, and execute instructions, such as 132-138, to control processes for determining virtual network function configurations. As an alternative or in addition to retrieving and executing instructions, hardware processor 120 may include one or more electronic circuits that include electronic components for performing the functionality of one or more instructions, e.g., a Field Programmable Gate Array (FPGA) or Application Specific Integrated Circuit (ASIC).; wherein the FPGA and ASIC correspond to the enhanced CPU functionality).
a virtualized first instance of the CPU ([0021] The virtualized hardware resources may include a variety of hardware resources to be allocated for performing the particular VNF, such as a number of virtual machines, a number of data processors, a speed of the data processors, an amount of memory, a speed of the memory, and data storage space available, to name a few.; Fig. 2, Infrastructure configuration A 216A) comprising: a configurable virtualized first instance of the CPU functionality, and a configurable virtualized first instance of the on-chip enhanced CPU functionality (Fig. 2, Infrastructure configuration 216A shows Option A: enabled, Option B: enabled, Option C: disabled, Option D: enabled, and Option E: disabled; [0023] Many different values may be available for each of virtualized hardware resources that comprise the resource configuration. For example, there may be many options for varying the number of virtual machines, processors, and/or processor cores, or for varying the values for processor speeds, memory capacity, memory speed, and/or data storage capacity.; [0032] The example data flow 200 depicts three different infrastructure configurations, 216A, 216B, and 216C, though more infrastructure configurations 216 may be tested. Each example infrastructure configuration includes a default resource configuration 215 that specifies default virtualized hardware resource allocation for the virtual machine(s) 220. For example, the default resource configuration 215 may specify that each infrastructure configuration 216 is to be tested on one virtual machine that includes 1 processor, 1 GB of memory, and 1 GB of data storage. Each example infrastructure configuration 216 depicts multiple infrastructure options and their status for each iteration, e.g., enabled or disabled.); and
a virtualized second instance of the CPU ([0021] The virtualized hardware resources may include a variety of hardware resources to be allocated for performing the particular VNF, such as a number of virtual machines, a number of data processors, a speed of the data processors, an amount of memory, a speed of the memory, and data storage space available, to name a few.; Fig. 2, Infrastructure configuration B 216B) comprising: a configurable virtualized second instance of the CPU functionality; and a configurable virtualized second instance of the on-chip enhanced CPU functionality (Fig. 2, Infrastructure configuration 216A shows Option A: disabled, Option B: enabled, Option C: enabled, Option D: enabled, and Option E: disabled; [0023] Many different values may be available for each of virtualized hardware resources that comprise the resource configuration. For example, there may be many options for varying the number of virtual machines, processors, and/or processor cores, or for varying the values for processor speeds, memory capacity, memory speed, and/or data storage capacity.; [0032] The example data flow 200 depicts three different infrastructure configurations, 216A, 216B, and 216C, though more infrastructure configurations 216 may be tested. Each example infrastructure configuration includes a default resource configuration 215 that specifies default virtualized hardware resource allocation for the virtual machine(s) 220. For example, the default resource configuration 215 may specify that each infrastructure configuration 216 is to be tested on one virtual machine that includes 1 processor, 1 GB of memory, and 1 GB of data storage. Each example infrastructure configuration 216 depicts multiple infrastructure options and their status for each iteration, e.g., enabled or disabled.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to understand the selectable processor cores to encompass the additional ASICs and FPGUs. Therefore, Sharma’s varying configurations of options/cores (ASICs or FPGA) to encompass the limitations of claim 1.
Sharma does not teach a virtualized-resource matching (VRM) algorithm configured to, for each resource request, responsive to a resource request and status information associated with the configurable virtualized first instance of the CPU functionality, the configurable virtualized first instance of the on-chip enhanced CPU functionality, the configurable virtualized second instance of the CPU functionality, and the configurable virtualized second instance of the on-chip enhanced CPU functionality, classify the resource request to a task type, select the virtualized first instance of the CPU, classify the resource request to a task type, enable or disable the configurable virtualized first instance of the CPU functionality, and enable or disable the configurable virtualized first instance of the on-chip enhanced CPU functionality based at least in part on the task type.
However, Lonappan a virtualized-resource matching (VRM) algorithm configured to, for each resource request, responsive to a resource request and status information associated with the configurable virtualized first instance of the CPU functionality, the configurable virtualized first instance of the on-chip enhanced CPU functionality, the configurable virtualized second instance of the CPU functionality, and the configurable virtualized second instance of the on-chip enhanced CPU functionality, classify the resource request to a task type, select the virtualized first instance of the CPU, classify the resource request to a task type, enable or disable the configurable virtualized first instance of the CPU functionality, and enable or disable the configurable virtualized first instance of the on-chip enhanced CPU functionality based at least in part on the task type (Abstract: Initially, a value representing a number of processor cores to be enabled within the computer system is received. The computer system includes multiple processors, and each of the processors includes multiple processor cores. Next, a scale variable value representing a specific type of tasks to be optimized during an execution of the tasks within the computer system is received. From a pool of available processor cores within the computer system, a subset of processor cores can be selected for activation. The subset of processor cores is activated in order to achieve system optimization during an execution of the tasks; [0004] IBM’s Capacity on Demand service. A service that allows cores of a processor to be activated on as needed basis by the user buying or leasing the additional resources.; [0006] Performance can be improved when the characteristics of a task to be performed on the additional cores are known, and corresponding processor cores are activated accordingly. In accordance with a preferred embodiment of the present invention, a value representing a number of processor cores to be enabled within a computer system is received. The computer system includes multiple processors, and each of the processors includes multiple processor cores. Next, a scale variable value representing a specific type of tasks to be optimized during an execution of the tasks within the computer system is received. From a pool of available processor cores within the computer system, a subset of processor cores can be selected for activation. The subset of processor cores is activated in order to achieve system optimization during an execution of the tasks.; [0012]; [0014]; [0015] A human system manager can use management console 18 to specify the above-mentioned task requirement to direct hypervisor 11 to enable the appropriate processor cores among processors 13a-13d within computer system 10. Wherein the hypervisor executes the functions of enabling and disabling based on task type, these functions are interpreted to correspond to the VRM algorithm; [0016] Starting at block 20, a management console, such as management console 18 from FIG. 1, awaits for a user, such as a human system manager, to enter a desired number of processors cores to be enabled, as shown in block 21. Next, management console 18 awaits for the user to enter a scale variable related to a desired task optimization, as depicted in block 22. The user can set the scale variable based on the task type. The scale variable can be set to a value ranging from 1 to the maximum number of processor cores within a processor. For example, if the user intends to optimize computer system 10 for processor-centric tasks, the scale variable should be set to a maximum value (i.e., maximum number of processor cores within one processor). On the other hand, if the user intends to optimize computer system 10 for I/O-centric tasks, the scale variable is set to a minimum value (i.e., 1). Otherwise, the scale variable can be set to a value at somewhere in the middle of its range.; [0017] Alternatively, instead of obtaining from a user for information such as a desired number of processors cores to be enabled and/or a scale variable related to a desired task optimization, those information can be automatically obtained from a historical database (not shown). The historical database keeps track of the number of processors cores enabled as well as the scale variable for each task that was being optimized in the past.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lonappan with the teachings of Sharma of enabling/disabling cores based on task type to optimize the execution of the task based on a scaling factor based on the task type. The modification would have been motivated by the desire of tailoring the computing supply based on the requirements of the workload.
Regarding claim 2, Sharma teaches process a resource request comprising a request to access one or more resources associated with the host computer, wherein the one or more resources associated with the host computer include the CPU, the virtualized first instance of the CPU, and the virtualized second instance of the CPU ([0008] To identify an infrastructure configuration that specifies which software and hardware features are to be used/enabled for virtual machines that perform a particular VNF, a device may iterate through various infrastructure configurations using a default resource configuration to identify an infrastructure configuration that meets certain performance thresholds and/or demonstrates improvement in performance. Similarly, a resource configuration that specifies the virtualized hardware resources to be used for performing a particular VNF may be identified by iterating through various resource configurations using the previously identified infrastructure configuration. The identified infrastructure and resource configurations may be associated with the particular VNF, in a manner designed to ensure that future deployments of the VNF use the identified infrastructure and resource configurations.; [0012]; [0022]).
In addition, Lonappan teaches further comprising a virtual machine manager (VMM) configured to execute the VRM algorithm to process a resource request comprising a request to access one or more resources associated with the host computer ([0012] The management of processors 13a-13d, memory devices 15 and storage subsystem 16 may be performed via a software tool known as a hypervisor 11. In addition, hypervisor 11 enables multiple operating systems to share the hardware resources within computer system 10 by allowing each operating system to "think" it has exclusive control of all the hardware resources within computer system 10. Hypervisor 11 allocates resources to each operating system and ensures the operating systems cannot interfere with each other. As part of its resource allocation function, hypervisor 11 can also enable and disable various resources within computer system 10.; [0017] Alternatively, instead of obtaining from a user for information such as a desired number of processors cores to be enabled and/or a scale variable related to a desired task optimization, those information can be automatically obtained from a historical database (not shown). The historical database keeps track of the number of processors cores enabled as well as the scale variable for each task that was being optimized in the past.; [0018] After the number of processor cores and the scale variable have been defined and entered into management console 18 by the user, management console 18 passes those parameters to a hypervisor, such as hypervisor 11 from FIG. 1, as shown in block 23. In turn, hypervisor 11 determines which processor cores in which processors to be enabled, as depicted in block 24, and then enables those processor cores accordingly, as shown in block 25. [0025] Hypervisor used for handling tasks).
Regarding claim 3, Lonappan teaches setting one or more flags of the virtualized first instance of the CPU ([0015] Once the allocation has been completed, hypervisor 11 saves that configuration in a non-volatile memory (not shown) so computer system 10 will have the correct configuration on subsequent boots until the next configuration change by the human system manager.).
Further, Lonappan teaches wherein the VMM is configured to enable or disable the configurable virtualized first instance of the CPU functionality and configurable virtualized first instance of the on-chip enhanced CPU functionality by setting one or more flags of the virtualized first instance of the CPU ([0013] Another software tool known as a management console 18 enables a human system manager to configure various system components as appropriate to various tasks computer system 10 is expected to perform. Management console 18 communicates system configuration changes to hypervisor 11 that performs the necessary component activation and deactivation.).
Regarding claim 4, Lonappan teaches wherein the VRM is further configured to fulfill the resource request (Abstract: a scale variable value representing a specific type of tasks to be optimized during an execution of the tasks within the computer system is received. From a pool of available processor cores within the computer system, a subset of processor cores can be selected for activation. The subset of processor cores is activated in order to achieve system optimization during an execution of the tasks.).
Regarding claim 5, Lonappan teaches wherein the VRM is further configured to: record a usage of the virtualized first instance of the CPU while fulfilling the resource request ([0017] The historical database keeps track of the number of processors cores enabled as well as the scale variable for each task that was being optimized in the past.).
Regarding claim 6, Sharma teaches wherein: the virtualized first instance of the on-chip enhanced CPU functionality comprises multiple types of the on-chip enhanced CPU functionality ([0014], [0021], [0023], [0032]).
In addition, Lonappan the VRM algorithm is further configured to enable one of multiple types of the virtualized first instance of the on-chip enhanced CPU functionality based at least in part on the task associated with the resource request ([0006], [0012], [0014-17]).
Regarding claim 8, it is a method type claim having similar limitations as claim 1 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 9, it is a method type claim having similar limitations as claim 2 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 10, it is a method type claim having similar limitations as claim 3 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 11, it is a method type claim having similar limitations as claim 4 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 12, it is a method type claim having similar limitations as claim 5 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 13, it is a method type claim having similar limitations as claim 6 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 15, it is a media/product type claim having similar limitations as claim 1 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 16, it is a media/product type claim having similar limitations as claim 2 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 17, it is a media/product type claim having similar limitations as claim 3 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 18, it is a media/product type claim having similar limitations as claim 4+5 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 19, it is a media/product type claim having similar limitations as claim 6 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 7, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharma and Lonappan as applied to claim 1, in further view of Durham et al. (US 2019/0004843 A1).
Durham was cited in the previous Office Action.
Regarding claim 7, Sharma nor Lonappan explicitly teach wherein the multiple types of the virtualized first instance of the on-chip enhanced CPU functionality comprise an accelerator on-chip enhanced CPU functionality and a compression on-chip enhanced CPU functionality.
However, Durham teaches wherein the multiple types of the virtualized first instance of the on-chip enhanced CPU functionality comprise an accelerator on-chip enhanced CPU functionality and a compression on-chip enhanced CPU functionality ([0017] In addition, the CPU 120 also includes a compression/encryption support block 122. The compression/encryption support block 122 may be embodied as any functional block, digital logic, microcode, or other component capable of performing memory replay prevention techniques using compressive encryption as described herein.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Durham with the teachings of Sharma and Lonappan to further define the types of additional processing/accelerating capabilities. The modification would have been motivated by the desire of combining known elements to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 14, it is a method type claim having similar limitations as claim 7 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 20, it is a media/product type claim having similar limitations as claim 7 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In Remarks, Applicant’s argue:
(I) It is respectfully submitted that the obviousness rejections of at least the independent claims are in error and should be withdrawn. The Examiner asserts that Sharma combined with Schuette and further in view of Lonappan and Durham renders obvious the claimed virtualized resource matching operation that selects and enables or disables on chip enhanced CPU functionality based on a task associated with a resource request. The Examiner relies on Sharma for virtualized hardware resources with options enabled or disabled and for the presence of FPGA or ASIC hardware alongside a CPU. The Examiner relies on Schuette for switching CPU modes based on workload efficiency. The Examiner adds Lonappan for a hypervisor executing resource allocation and Durham for identifying compression or encryption accelerator functionality. Even under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this combination does not teach or suggest the claimed per request task classification mapped to enabling or disabling specific on chip accelerator functionality within virtualized CPU instances.
Lonappan teaches that a hypervisor can enable a selected subset of processor cores based on a user specified number of cores and a scale variable related to optimization type and provides a mathematical allocation across processors. This is an activation for processor intensive versus I/O intensive tasks and does not disclose classification of a resource request by task and enabling or disabling on chip accelerator functionality such as AI compression or cryptography for a virtualized CPU instance. See Lonappan, Paragraphs [0012], [0018], and [0019].
Considering the combination, Sharma provides offline configuration discovery and
generic enable or disable of test options. Schuette provides a CPU mode toggle between hyper threading states based on spot checks. Lonappan provides hypervisor controlled core allocation based on a scale variable. Durham identifies an example of a compression or encryption support block. None of these references teaches or suggests a VRM algorithm that, responsive to a resource request and associated status across multiple virtualized instances, selects a particular virtualized CPU instance and classifies the resource request to a task type and then enables or disables the specific on chip enhanced CPU functionality in that instance based on that task to fulfill the request. The references do not disclose the claimed per request task aware matching of accelerator capability with enable or disable control of virtualized on chip enhanced portions of the CPU. The Examiner's rationale treats Schuette's hyper threading toggle as an equivalent to enabling or disabling on chip accelerator functionality in a virtualized environment, which is an error. Hyper threading mode selection is a CPU execution mode decision and is not virtualization of heterogeneous accelerator resources nor per request task classification. The Examiner also stretches Sharma's iterative test framework into a runtime scheduler that reacts to each resource request, which Sharma does not teach. Even under BRI, the claim terms on chip enhanced CPU functionality and VRM algorithm configured to select and enable or disable based at least in part on a task require that accelerator functionality decisions be tied to each resource request. Reading hyper threading mode toggling or generic core activation into on chip enhanced CPU functionality would be unreasonable and inconsistent with the claim context and the dependent claims that reference multiple enhanced functionality types such as accelerator and compression.
In view of the above, examiner respectfully submits the following:
As to point (I)
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (See highlighted sections above) are not recited in the rejected claim 1. Claim 1, recites “on-chip enhanced CPU functionality” but does not recite on-chip accelerator capability/functionality. Functionality such as accelerator and compression are recited in claim 7 and the applied art explicitly teaches this. The claimed limitation in claim 1 is taught by at least Sharma’s ASICs and FPGA which are well-known accelerators (See pertinent prior art section). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
While new grounds of rejection as presented above render arguments regarding Schuette moot, the references used were made of record for different claims in the previous Office Action and the mapping has been updated accordingly. Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant for at least the following reasons. Upon further consideration of the amendments and previously cited art, Examiner finds the combination of Sharma and Lonappan to teach the claim as amended. Lonappan teaches an improvement on IBM’s Capacity on Demand service. A service that allows cores of a processor to be activated on as needed basis by the user buying or leasing the additional resources. Lonappan states in at least [0006]
“Performance [of IBM Capacity on Demand] can be improved when the characteristics of a task to be performed on the additional cores are known, and corresponding processor cores are activated accordingly…Next, a scale variable value representing a specific type of tasks to be optimized during an execution of the tasks within the computer system is received. From a pool of available processor cores within the computer system, a subset of processor cores can be selected for activation. The subset of processor cores is activated in order to achieve system optimization during an execution of the tasks” (Emphasis added)
As such, the combination of Sharma and Lonappan teaches the new limitations as the number of core’s on a processor chip are enabled/disabled depending on the type of task being handled. Accordingly, Applicant argument is not persuasive.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Asaad et al. (US 2015/0046478 A1) teaches in [0025] “The accelerator 180 may be a field programmable gate array (FPGA), an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC), or other suitable device that is configured to perform specific processing tasks.”
/JORGE A CHU JOY-DAVILA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2195