DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-3 and 5 in the reply filed on 1/5/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the groups are not independent and distinct. This is not found persuasive because the groups are independent and distinct for the reasons set forth in the restriction requirement of 12/4/2025. The composition of Group I is deemed useful in a final product that is not the article of Group II.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 6-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 1/5/2026.
Claim Status
The status identifiers of claim 6-15 and 20 must be changed to Withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: “chlorusulfonate polyethylene” is a typographical error. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 is indefinite for the following reasons:
The limitation “about” in claims 1 and 2 is indefinite. The metes and bounds are unclear. The instant specification provides three different ranges for the term [0053].
The limitation “substantially free” is indefinite. The metes and bounds are unclear. The instant specification provides five different ranges for the term [0059].
Claims 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Natural rubber and natural polyisoprene are the same rubber component.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Valente et al. (Journal of Cleaner Production 333 (2022) 130013).
Regarding claim 1: Valente et al. teach a concrete composition comprising, based on dry weight: 63 wt% cement, 19 wt% rubber particles (RG), and 18 wt% fine aggregate (6 wt% RP and 12 wt% Admixtures); water in an amount of 29 wt% based on the water-to-cement ratio; and the composition is free of coarse aggregates (Table 1; RP25-RG75-OPC). Since the admixtures are in powder form (page 4), they are considered a fine aggregate, in addition to the RP.
Valente et al. also teach another example that meets the claim. Valente et al. teach a concrete composition comprising, based on dry weight: 63 wt% cement, 13 wt% rubber particles (RG), and 12 wt% fine aggregate (RP); water in an amount of 31 wt% based on the water-to-cement ratio; and the composition is free of coarse aggregates (Table 1; RP50-R50-OPC). The amount of 13 wt% is about 15 wt%. "About" permits some tolerance. At least about 10% was held to be anticipated by a teaching of a content not to exceed about 8% In re Ayers, 154 F2d 182, 69 U.S.P.Q. 109 (C.C.P.A. 1946).
Regarding claim 2: Valente et al. teach that the RG rubber particles have a particle size of 1-3 mm (0.04 to 0.12 inches) (page 4).
Regarding claim 3: Valente et al. teach ground tire rubber, which is styrene-butadiene rubber (page 4).
Regarding claim 5: Valente et al. teach a plasticizer in their Admixtures (page 4; Table 1).
Relevant Prior Art
Recycled tire rubber is known as styrene-butadiene rubber as taught by Sawyer et al. (2019/0203425) [0006], de Garennes et al (2017/0175343) [0022], and Varga (2016/0333906) [0011].
Contact Information
/JOHN E USELDING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763