DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Valente et al. (Journal of Cleaner Production 333 (2022) 130013).
Regarding claim 1: Valente et al. teach a concrete composition comprising, based on dry weight: 63 wt% cement, 19 wt% rubber particles (RG), and 18 wt% fine aggregate (6 wt% RP and 12 wt% Admixtures); water in an amount of 29 wt% based on the water-to-cement ratio; and the composition is free of coarse aggregates (Table 1; RP25-RG75-OPC). Since the admixtures are in powder form (page 4), they are considered a fine aggregate, in addition to the RP.
Regarding claim 2: Valente et al. teach that the RG rubber particles have a particle size of 1-3 mm (0.04 to 0.12 inches) (page 4).
Regarding claim 3: Valente et al. teach ground tire rubber, which is styrene-butadiene rubber (page 4).
Regarding claim 5: Valente et al. teach a plasticizer in their Admixtures (page 4; Table 1).
Relevant Prior Art
Recycled tire rubber is known as styrene-butadiene rubber as taught by Sawyer et al. (2019/0203425) [0006], de Garennes et al (2017/0175343) [0022], and Varga (2016/0333906) [0011].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant alleges that the instant specification provides a definition for “fine aggregates”, and that it is limited to fine mineral aggregates. This is incorrect. No definition is provided in the instant specification. Paragraph [0082] discloses that “The aggregates, in general, can comprise…” and then lists mineral fillers. However, this is not a definition. Furthermore, the next paragraph teaches that “the fine aggregates present in the disclosed composition comprise any know aggregates…” [0083]. The instant claims are not limited to mineral fine aggregates. The applicant attempts to limit the fine aggregate in the example of Valente et al. to sand. This has been addressed above.
The applicant states that treating the RP simultaneously as the satisfying both the “rubber” limitation and the “fine aggregates” limitation improperly collapses distinct claim elements. This is not persuasive because RG are the rubber particles in Valente et al., and RP are the fine aggregates. They are separate components.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/JOHN E USELDING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763