DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is the response to amendment filed 01/02/2026 for application 18/183299.
Claims 1-2, 4-7 and 9-13 are currently pending and have been fully considered.
Claims 3, 8 and 14-20 have been cancelled.
Claim 1 has been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE (USPGPUB 2022/0073440) in view of ABUDAWOUD (EP-3539652).
LEE teaches in paragraphs 5 and 144 catalytic reforming of naphtha to produce an aromatic feedstock. (catalytically reforming a naphtha feed stream to form a reformate stream)
One embodiment is taught in paragraphs 153-162.
C5+ reformate is used as an aromatic-containing feedstock 121, and is introduced into a splitter 101. In the splitter 101, the aromatic-containing feedstock 121 is split into a C7− hydrocarbon (specifically a C7− aromatic)-containing fraction 122 as an overhead stream, and a C8+ hydrocarbon (specifically a C8+ aromatic)-containing fraction 123 as a bottom stream. (separating the reformate stream into a C1-C7 hydrocarbon stream and a C8+ hydrocarbon stream)
At this time, the fraction 122 is transferred to a benzene/toluene extraction unit 102 to obtain a C6 and/or C7 aromatic-containing extract stream 124. As such, non-aromatic hydrocarbons, for example, paraffins and naphthenes may be separated as raffinates (not shown). (exposing the C1-C7 hydrocarbon stream to a first solvent in a solvent extraction unit to form a non-aromatic hydrocarbon stream and a C6-C7 aromatics stream)
A C6/C7 aromatic-containing fraction 125 from which unsaturated hydrocarbons have been reduced or removed is transferred to a benzene column 105, where a C6 aromatic-containing fraction 126 is discharged as an overhead stream, and a C7 aromatic-containing fraction 127 is discharged as a bottom stream. At this time, as the C6 aromatic-containing fraction 126 splits as the overhead stream may be a benzene-rich fraction, benzene may be recovered therefrom, and benzene with high purity may be recovered through an additional purification means or steps, if necessary.
Meanwhile, the C7 aromatic-containing fraction 127 discharged as the bottom stream of the benzene column 105 is transferred to a toluene column 106, where it is split into a C7 aromatic-rich fraction 128 as the overhead stream and a C8+ aromatic-rich fraction 129 as the bottom stream. (separating the C6-C7 aromatics stream into at least a toluene feed stream)
A C8+ hydrocarbon-containing fraction 134, in which unsaturated hydrocarbons have been reduced by the second hydrogenation unit 103, may be combined with the bottom stream 129 of the toluene column 106 and/or the fraction 143 recycled from the splitter 113 as described below, and may then be transferred to the xylene column 109. In the xylene column 109, the fraction 134 may be split into a xylene-rich fraction 135 as an overhead stream and a C9+ aromatic-containing stream 136 as a bottom stream. (separating the C8+ hydrocarbon stream into a C9+ hydrocarbon stream and a xylene stream comprising ortho-xylene, meta-xylene, and para-xylene)
The split xylene-rich fraction 135 is transferred to a para-xylene recovery unit 110, where para-xylene among C8 aromatics (i.e., mixed xylenes) is selectively split into a para-xylene-rich stream 137, and para-xylene is recovered therefrom. In this regard, an additional separation and/or purification means may be further provided in order to obtain high-purity para-xylene. Representative examples of such para-xylene recovery technology include Parex from UOP, Eluxyl from IFP, Aromax from Toray and the like. (separating the xylene stream in a p-xylene separation unit to form the para-xylene stream and a xylene isomer stream comprising ortho-xylene and meta-xylene)
The C8 aromatic-rich fraction 138 remaining after the para-xylene is separated from the xylene recovery unit 110 may contain mostly ortho-xylene and/or meta-xylene. The fraction 138 may be transferred to a xylene isomerization unit 111. (isomerizing the xylene isomer stream with an isomerization catalyst to produce a para- xylene rich stream)
A C9+ hydrocarbon (aromatic)-containing fraction 136, which is the bottom stream of the xylene column 109, is transferred to a C9+ column 112 and split into the C9 aromatic-containing fraction 139 as the overhead stream and a C10+ aromatic-containing fraction 140 as the bottom stream. At this time, the C9 aromatic-containing fraction 139 may be combined with the fraction 128 and introduced into the transalkylation unit 107 described above. (C9+ hydrocarbon stream comprising C12+ aromatic fractions)
The transalkylation unit 107 may involve conversion of the C7 aromatic-rich fraction 128, or a stream containing the C9 aromatic-containing stream 139 combined therewith, into C8 aromatic hydrocarbons. Specifically, in the transalkylation unit 107, at least one of disproportionation, transalkylation, and dealkylation, for example, disproportionation of toluene, transalkylation of toluene/C9 aromatic compounds, dealkylation of alkyl aromatics, and the like may be performed, and C8 aromatics (specifically, mixed xylenes) may be produced through the above-described reaction. The reaction in the transalkylation unit 107 may be performed using known reaction conditions and catalysts, and thus detailed descriptions thereof will be omitted.
ABUDAWOUD is relied on to teach the modifying the process to perform the transalkylation unit 107 with both C9 aromatic-containing fraction 139 as the overhead stream and a C10+ aromatic-containing fraction 140 without the separation from C9+ column 122.
ABUDAWOUD teaches a method of making BTX by reforming heavy reformate stream. ABUDAWOUD teaches in paragraph 2 that leftover fraction from catalytic reformate comprising C9+ aromatic compounds is referred to as a heavy reformate stream.
ABUDAWOUD teaches in paragraph 4 that the process allows for efficiently and effectively converting heavy reformate fractions into BTX compounds. Embodiments of the present disclosure are related to methods of making BTX compounds by feeding a heavy reformate stream to a reactor containing a composite zeolite catalyst to produce BTX compounds by simultaneously catalyzing transalkylation and dealkylation reactions.
ABUDAWOUD teach in paragraph 18 that the heavy reformate feed is fed into a reactor with hydrogen. (H2)
Combining the process that ABUDAWOUD teach with the process that LEE teaches would allow simplification of the process in LEE and allows for greater conversion of compounds and usage of the C10+ compounds.
LEE do not set limits on the ratio of toluene to the C9 in transalkylation unit 107. A ratio by weight of the toluene to the C9+ hydrocarbon of from 0.3 to 3 is well within one of ordinary skill in the art.
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). (upgrading the toluene feed stream and the C9+ hydrocarbon stream in a hybrid dealkylation/transalkylation unit with a hydrogen stream and a hybrid transalkylation/dealkylation catalyst to produce a product stream comprising para-xylenes, wherein a ratio by weight of the toluene feed stream to the C9+ hydrocarbon stream is from 0.3 to 3)
ABUDAWOUD is also relied on to teach the hybrid dealkylation/transalkylation catalysts.
ABUDAWOUD teach a composite catalyst for the method of producing benzene, toluene and xylene from a heavy reformate stream. The composite catalyst comprises a mixture of a desilicated mesoporous mordenite and ZSM-5, and in which the desilicated mesoporous mordenite, the ZSM-5, or both, comprise one or more impregnated metals. The composite catalyst is taught in the abstract to be able to catalyze the transalkylation reaction and the dealkylation reaction simultaneously to produce the benzene, toluene and xylene.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the composite catalyst taught in ABUDAWOUD for the transalkylation unit 107 taught in LEE.
ABUDAWOUD teach in paragraph 4 that the use of the composite catalyst taught in ABUDAWOUD efficient and effective conversion of heavy reformate fractions into BTX (benzene, toluene and xylene) compounds.
Regarding claim 2, ABUDAMOUD teaches in paragraphs 13 and 14 that heavy reformate stream comprises C9+ aromatics primarily. ABUDAMOUD further teaches that aromatics present in the heavy reformate stream may be converted to more valuable BTX compounds by dealkylaytion of C9+ alkylaromatics and/or transalkylation of benzene or toluene.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be led to recycle unreacted components in the product stream of LEE to improve product yield. (separating the product stream into additional non-aromatic hydrocarbon stream, additional C6-C7 aromatics stream, an unconverted C9 hydrocarbon fraction stream, an unconverted C10+ hydrocarbon fraction stream and unconverted C12+ aromatic fractions, and additional xylene stream and combining with the C9+ hydrocarbon stream into a combination and upgrading the combination in the hybrid dealkylation/transalkylation unit to form additional product stream)
Regarding claim 4, the C8 aromatic-containing product stream 130 resulting and discharged from the transalkylation is introduced into the first stabilizer 108 and is split into light hydrocarbons in the transalkylation product, for example, a C5− hydrocarbon-containing fraction 131 and a C6+ hydrocarbon (aromatic)-containing fraction 132. At this time, the fraction 132 may be recycled as described above, combined with the extract stream 124 discharged from the benzene/toluene extraction unit 102. The combination of extract stream 124 and fraction 132 would be sent to benzene column 105 where a C6 aromatic-containing fraction 126 is discharged as an overhead steam and a C7 aromatic containing fraction 127. The C6 aromatic-containing fraction 126 may be a benzene-rich fraction. The C7 aromatic containing fraction 127 is discharged to a toluene column 106 where a toluene-rich fraction can be recovered.
Combining fractions of the same compounds would be well within one of ordinary skill in the art. (combining the additional C6-C7 aromatics stream and the C6-C7 aromatics stream and separating the combined C6-C7 aromatics stream into additional toluene feed stream and a benzene-rich stream)
Regarding claim 5, non-aromatic hydrocarbons, for example, paraffins and naphthenes are taught in paragraph 154 to be separated as raffinates (not shown).
Combining fractions of the same compounds would be well within one of ordinary skill in the art. (combining the additional non-aromatic hydrocarbon stream with the non-aromatic hydrocarbon stream and combining the additional xylene stream with the xylene stream)
Regarding claim 6, the reaction in the transalkylation unit 107 is taught in paragraph 158 of LEE to be performed using known reaction conditions and catalysts, and thus detailed descriptions thereof will be omitted.
ABUDAWOUD teaches a composite catalyst that is a mixture of a desilicated mesoporous mordenite and ZSM-5, and in which the desilicated mesoporous mordenite, the ZSM-5, or both, comprise one or more impregnated metals. ABUDAWOUD teach in paragraph 35 that mordenite is the large pore transalkylation component and ZSM-5 is the medium pore dealkylation component. ABUDAWOUD further teaches in paragraph 35 that the weight ratio of desilicated mesoporous mordenite to ZSM-5 is from 1.5 to 4.0. ABUDAWOUD teach on paragraph 36 that the metal may be molybdenum. (the hybrid transalkylation/dealkylation catalyst comprises a solid zeolite composite and an active metal: the solid zeolite composite comprises a large pore mordenite and a medium pore ZSM-5 in a weight ratio of from 1:1 to 5:1 large pore mordenite to medium pore ZSM-5; and the active metal is selected from the group consisting of molybdenum, chromium, platinum, nickel, palladium, rhentum, or combinations thereof)
Regarding claim 7, ABUDAWOUD teach on paragraph 36 that the metal may be molybdenum. (the active metal of the hybrid transalkylation/dealkylation catalyst is molybdenum)
Regarding claim 13, the reaction in the transalkylation unit 107 is taught in paragraph 158 of LEE to be performed using known reaction conditions and catalysts, and thus detailed descriptions thereof will be omitted.
The conditions for the composite catalyst used in transalkylation are taught in paragraph 19 of ABUDAWOUD and include a temperature between 300 – 500 C and a pressure of 20 bar (2 MPa). An example is taught in paragraph 88 with a weight hourly space velocity (WHSV) of 10 per hour (hr-1). (transalkylation/dealkylation occurs at a temperature of from 300 °C to 480 °C, a pressure of from 1 MPa to 3 MPa, a liquid hourly space velocity of from 0.1 hr-1 to 10 hr-1, and with a hydrogen to feed ratio of from 1 to 6.)
A prima facie case of obviousness exists wherein the claimed ranges overlap.
Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE (USPGPUB 20220073440) in view of ABUDAWOUD (EP-3539652) as applied to claims 1-7 and 13 above, and further in view of CHEN et al. (USPGPUB 2012/0024754) and CORRADI et al. (USPGPUB 2015/0094508).
The above rejection of LEE in view of ABUDAWOUD is incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding claim 11, LEE teaches in paragraphs 5 and 144 catalytic reforming of naphtha to produce an aromatic feedstock. (catalytically reforming a naphtha feed stream to form a reformate stream)
CHEN teaches a multistage reforming process.
CHEN teaches in paragraph 4 that commonly used commercial reforming reactions often include a Group VIII metal, such as platinum or palladium, or a Group VIII metal plus a second catalytic metal, which acts as a promoter. Examples of metals useful as promoters include rhenium, tin, tungsten, germanium, cobalt, nickel, rhodium, ruthenium, iridium or combinations thereof. The catalytic metal or metals may be dispersed on a support such as alumina, silica, or silica-alumina.
Using known reforming catalysts for reforming naphthas to form the reformed naphtha used as feed for the process that LEE teaches for reforming naphthas would be well within one of ordinary skill in the art as they are known in the art and commonly used.
(the reforming catalyst comprises a support and a precious metal, the support comprising silica, alumina, or silica-alumina, and the precious metal comprising platinum, ruthenium, or both)
CORRADI et al. teach a method and system for producing xylene.
CORRADI et al. teach how to extract non-aromatic compounds with aromatic compounds.
The solvent used in the extractive distillation is taught in paragraph 20 of CORRADI et al. to comprises sulfolane. (the first solvent comprises sulfolane, n-methylpyrrolidone, di-methyl sulfoxide, n-formyl morpholine, polyglycol, or combinations thereof)
CORRADI et al. teach applying an isomerization catalyst to non para xylenes to convert to para xylenes.
The isomerization catalyst is taught in paragraph 29 to comprise examples of zeolites that include MOR which is mordenite. The isomerization catalyst includes or more of ruthenium (Ru), rhodium (Rh), palladium (Pd), osmium (Os), Iridium (Ir), and platinum (Pt).
Mesoporous ZSM-5 are ZSM-5 zeolite with pore sizes of between 2 nm to 50nm. CORRADI et al. teach ZSM-5 zeolites for isomerization.
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
(the isomerization catalyst comprises a support selected from the group consisting of a fluorinated zeolite, a mesoporous ZSM-5 zeolite, and a mesoporous mordenite zeolite; and an active metal selected from the group consisting of copper, nickel, molybdenum, tungsten, platinum, palladium, or combinations thereof)
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE (USPGPUB 2022/0073440) in view of ABUDAWOUD (EP-3539652) as applied to claims 1-2, 4-7 and 13 above, and further in view of MOHR (USPGPUB 2004/0029716).
The above rejection of LEE. in view of ABUDAWOUD is incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding claim 9, toluene and C9 aromatics compound is taught in paragraph 158 of LEE to convert into C8 aromatic hydrocarbons in transalkylation unit 107. Disproportionation is one of the reactions that is taught to occur in transalkylation unit 107.
LEE do not set limits on the ratio of toluene to the C9 compounds (C9 and C10+ compounds as modified by the combination of LEE with ABUDAWOUD) in transalkylation unit 107. A ratio by weight of the toluene to the C9+ hydrocarbon of from 0.3 to 1.5 is well within one of ordinary skill in the art.
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). (the ratio of the toluene feed stream to the C9+, hydrocarbon stream sent to the transalkylation unit 39 is from greater than 1.5 to 3)
ABUDAWOUD further teaches in paragraph 17 that toluene can further undergo disproportionation reactions leading to xylene and benzenes.
MOHR teaches tailored zeolite bound zeolite catalyst for hydrocarbon conversion. The zeolite bound zeolite finds application in hydrocarbon conversion processes, e.g., catalytic cracking, alkylation, disproportionation of toluene, isomerization, and transalkylation reactions.
MOHR teaches in paragraph 31, manufacture of paraxylene and benzene by the disproportionation of toluene. MOHR teaches in table 1 a catalyst with mordenite and ZSM-5 that is used for disproportionation of toluene. MOHR teaches that the catalyst may comprise catalytically active metals, including platinum.
Some amount of toluene might be used in a separate disproportation reactor such as the one taught in MOHR to further produce paraxylene and benzene.
Employing multiple known processes to produce para xylene from toluene would be well within one of ordinary skill in the art.
(the process further comprises sending at least a portion of the toluene feed stream to a disproportionation unit with a disproportionation catalyst to form additional xylene stream and a benzene-rich stream.)
Regarding claim 10, MOHR teaches in paragraph 31, manufacture of paraxylene and benzene by the disproportionation of toluene. MOHR teaches in Table 1 a catalyst with mordenite and ZSM-5 that is used for disproportionation of toluene. MOHR teaches that the catalyst may comprise catalytically active metals, including platinum.
Mesoporous ZSM-5 are ZSM-5 zeolite with pore sizes of between 2 nm to 50nm. MOHR teaches ZSM-5 zeolites.
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply a portion of the toluene from LEE to a disproportionation catalyst as taught by MOHR to improve the conversion of the desired paraxylenes. (the disproportionation catalyst comprises: a support selected from the group consisting of a mesoporous ZSM-5 zeolite and a mesoporous mordenite zeolite; and an active metal selected from the group consisting of copper, nickel, molybdenum, tungsten, platinum, palladium, or combinations thereof)
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE (USPGPUB 20220073440) in view of ABUDAWOUD (EP-3539652) and MOHR (USPGPUB 2004/0029716) as applied to claims 9 and 10 above, and further in view of CORRADI et al. (USPGPUB 2015/0094508).
The above discussions are incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding claim 12, the conditions for isomerization is taught in paragraph 28 of CORRADI et al. to be at a temperature of about 100°C. to about 500°C, a pressure from about 500 kPa to about 5,000 kPa, and a liquid hourly space velocity, and from about 0.5 to about 50 hr-1. (isomerization occur at a temperature of from 200°C to 540°C, pressure of from 1 MPa to 5 MPa, and a liquid hourly space velocity of from 0.1 hr-1to 20 hr-1)
A prima facie case of obviousness exists wherein the claimed ranges overlap.
MOHR teaches in paragraph 70 that the disproportionation of aromatics, e.g., the disproportionation of toluene, to make benzene and paraxylene. Typical reaction conditions include a temperature of from about 200° C. to about 760 ° C, a pressure of from about atmospheric to about 60 atmospheres (bar), and a WHSV of from about 0.1 hr to about 30 hr-1. (disproportionation occur at a temperature of from 200 °C to 540 °C, pressure of from 1 MPa to 5 MPa, and a liquid hourly space velocity of from 0.1 hr-1to 20 hr-1)
A prima facie case of obviousness exists wherein the claimed ranges overlap.
Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that LEE teaches away from sending C12+ aromatics directly to a hybrid dealkylation/transalkylation unit. Applicant notes that LEE teaches a trasalkylation unit 107 that equated to the hybrid dealkylation/transalkylation unit. Applicant argues that LEE teaches separation of a C9+ hydrocarbon (aromatic)-containing fraction and that LEE does not discuss what is done with the C10+ aromatic containing fraction.
Applicant argues that LEE teaches separation of the C10+ aromatics because of the teaching of CORRADI. Applicant notes that CORRADI teaches that C12+ aromatic fraction would lead to buildup and catalyst fouling
Applicant further argues that there is no motivation to combine LEE with ABUDAWOUD.
Applicant argues that one of ordinary skill in the art, considering the prior art as a whole would not be led to send C10+ fractions to the transalkylation units.
This is not persuasive as recognized by applicant, LEE teaches in paragraph 46 that a transalkylation unit for converting a fraction containing C6 aromatics, C7 aromatics, and/or C9+ aromatics, among the aromatic hydrocarbon-containing product separated from at least one separator.
LEE teaches multiple embodiments and it is recognized that LEE, in one embodiment that is elaborated do not show C9 as well as C10+ fractions directly fed into a transalkylation unit.
However, given the entirety of the teachings of LEE, it would be well within one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the embodiment of LEE based on LEE teaching that the transalkylation unit may be used to convert C9+ aromatics.
ABUDAWOUD is relied on to teach, modifying the process to perform the transalkylation unit 107 with both C9 aromatic-containing fraction 139 as the overhead stream and a C10+ aromatic-containing fraction 140 without the separation from C9+ column 122, is known in the art and the motivation to do so.
ABUDAWOUD teaches that leftover fraction from catalytic reformate comprising C9+ aromatic compounds is referred to as a heavy reformate stream. ABUDAWOUD teaches a method of making BTX by reforming heavy reformate stream by simultaneously catalyzing transalkylation and dealkylation reactions.
Combining the process that ABUDAWOUD teach with the process that LEE teaches would effectively simplification of the process in LEE and allows for greater conversion of compounds and usage of the C10+ compounds.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
LEE (WO-0038834) LEE teaches in the abstract a catalyst for the disproportionation/transalkylation of toluene and other C9 or higher aromatic compounds into mixed xylenes with a catalyst that comprises a carrier and a metal. The carrier is taught to comprise mordenite and ZSM-5 type zeolite. The metal is taught to include platinum. The catalyst is taught in to have an average pore diameter of 50 to 200 A. (mesoporous)
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MING CHEUNG PO/ Examiner, Art Unit 1771
/ELLEN M MCAVOY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771