DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites “the first sidewall and the bottom plate are provided with an insertion plate, an elastic bolt, and a slot that fit one another, the insertion plate being provided with an insertion hole.” It is unclear if the claim requires that the first side wall and bottom plate each require an insertion plate, an elastic bolt, and a slot that fit one another or if the sidewall and the bottom plate can have any of insertion plate, an elastic bolt, and a slot, but not necessarily all.
Claim 5 is further indefinite for reciting “an insertion plate, an elastic bolt, and a slot that fit one another.” It is unclear what is required to fit with each other. For example, it is unclear how an elastic bolt would be fitted in an insertion plate or how a slot would fit into an elastic bolt or plate. The remainder of the claim body already defines which element fits into another and this recitation adds confusion as to whether each of those element have to “fit one another.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN110424779 to Yin et al. (“Yin”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2004/0045225 to Weiss (“Weiss”). All references are made with respect to Yin unless otherwise noted.
Regarding claims 1 and 20, Yin discloses a shielding device, comprising: a bottom plate 300/420; a first sidewall 110/410 (right side), a bottom end of the first sidewall being inserted into the bottom plate (bottom ends of 110 inserted into channel 421); a second sidewall 110/410 (left side), a bottom end of the second sidewall being inserted into the bottom plate (bottom ends of 110 inserted into channel 421 of portion 420); a top cover 200, the top cover having one side (left side) inserted into the second sidewall (left end of 200 is inserted into recess 412 of portion 410); a front door 122 connected to respective one ends of the bottom plate 300, the first sidewall 110/410 (right side), the second sidewall 110/410 (left side), and the top cover 200; and a rear plate 120 connected to respective other ends of the bottom plate, the first sidewall, the second sidewall, and the top cover.
Yin does not disclose that the top cover having one side rotatably connected to the first sidewall.
Weiss discloses a modular structure for booths wherein a plate (Weiss 10b) can be rotatably connected to another plate (Weiss 10a) via pivotable connectors (Weiss 28) to facilitate assembly (Weiss, par 0044).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the shielding device of Yin to have one panel (the top cover) having one side rotatably connected to another panel (the first sidewall) as taught in Weiss with a reasonable expectation of success because it would facilitate assembly by simplifying motion required for connection. Moreover, the method step required in claim 20 would be necessarily performed in unboxing and assembling the structure of Yin as modified by Weiss.
Claim(s) 2-4 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin in view of Weiss as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2021/0116728 to Miyazaki et al. (“Miyazaki”).
Regarding claim 2, Yin in view of Weiss does not disclose that the top cover is provided with an electronic device, and an outer surface of the first sidewall is provided with an input terminal, the input terminal being connected with the electronic device through a wire.
Miyazaki discloses a shielding device wherein a top cover is provided with an electronic device (Miyazaki 24a), and an outer surface of the first sidewall is provided with an input terminal (Miyazaki 21), the input terminal being connected with the electronic device through a wire (Miyazaki par 0067-0068; devices 24a and 21 communicate with each other).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the shielding device of Yin to have the top cover is provided with an electronic device, and an outer surface of the first sidewall is provided with an input terminal, the input terminal being connected with the electronic device through a wire as taught in Miyazaki with a reasonable expectation of success because it would facilitate use of the space in assessing if the device is available to use by a user.
Regarding claim 3, Yin in view of Weiss and Miyazaki discloses that the electronic device is one or more of a fan, a lamp, a speaker, and a camera (Miyazaki 24a).
Regarding claim 4, Yin in view of Weiss and Miyazaki does not disclose that an inner surface of the first sidewall is provided with an output terminal, the output terminal being electrically connected to the input terminal.
Miyazaki further discloses a shielding device wherein an inner surface of a first sidewall (Miyazaki 20D) is provided with an output terminal (Miyazaki 21B), the output terminal being electrically connected to the input terminal.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the shielding device of Yin to have an inner surface of the first sidewall is provided with an output terminal, the output terminal being electrically connected to the input terminal as taught in Miyazaki with a reasonable expectation of success because it would facilitate use of the space in assessing if the device is needed by another user in queue.
Regarding claim 19, a shielding device, comprising: a bottom plate a bottom plate 300/420; a first sidewall 110/410 (right side), and the first sidewall 110/410 (right side) being connected to the bottom plate 300/420; a second sidewall 110/410 (left side), the second sidewall being connected to the bottom plate 300/420; a top cover, the top cover 200 having one connected to the second sidewall,; a front door 122 connected to respective one ends of the bottom plate, the first sidewall, the second sidewall, and the top cover; and a rear plate 120 connected to respective other ends of the bottom plate, the first sidewall, the second sidewall, and the top cover.
Yin does not disclose that the top cover having one side rotatably connected to the first sidewall, an outer surface of the first sidewall being provided with an input terminal, and the top cover being provided with an electronic device, the electronic device being connected to the input terminal through a wire.
Weiss discloses a modular structure for booths wherein a plate (Weiss 10b) can be rotatably connected to another plate (Weiss 10a) via pivotable connectors (Weiss 28) to facilitate assembly (Weiss, par 0044).
Miyazaki discloses a shielding device wherein a top cover is provided with an electronic device (Miyazaki 24a), and an outer surface of the first sidewall is provided with an input terminal (Miyazaki 21), the input terminal being connected with the electronic device through a wire (Miyazaki par 0067-0068; devices 24a and 21 communicate with each other).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the shielding device of Yin to have one panel (the top cover) having one side rotatably connected to another panel (the first sidewall) as taught in Weiss with a reasonable expectation of success because it would facilitate assembly by simplifying motion required for connection. Moreover, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the shielding device of Yin to have the top cover is provided with an electronic device, and an outer surface of the first sidewall is provided with an input terminal, the input terminal being connected with the electronic device through a wire as taught in Miyazaki with a reasonable expectation of success because it would facilitate use of the space in assessing if the device is available to use by a user.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 6-18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None of the prior art, alone or in obvious combination absent hindsight, discloses applicant’s invention as required by claims 5, 6, and 13. In particular, the cited prior arts do not teach the first sidewall or the second sidewall comprises a plate body and an insertion plate extending from the plate body, the insertion plate being provided with an insertion hole, and the bottom plate is provided with a slot and an elastic bolt, the elastic bolt being at least partially exposed in the slot, and after the insertion plate extends into the slot, the elastic bolt fitting the insertion hole. The closest prior art (see cited reference US11773585 to Cysewski) discloses a plate body 110 and an insertion plate 108 extending from the plate body. However, the insertion plate does not have a hole nor does a bottom plate 112 have an elastic bolt in its slot. Moreover, other prior arts (see WO2018115834, US20230061113) that disclose a panel with an insertion plate inserted onto a slot of another panel also do not disclose elastic bolts fitting into an insertion hole in the insertion plate.
Conclusion
/CHRISTINE T CAJILIG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3633