DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/14/2023, 3/24/2023, and 10/12/2023 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement s are being considered by the examiner. Claim Objections Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informality: In line 6, “first though hole” should read, “first through hole.” Appropriate correction is required. Claim s 12 -15 are o bjected to because of the following informality: In line 3, “an control board” should read, “a control board.” Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Akai (JP 2018054860 A, April 5, 2018), hereinafter Akai, in view of Hasegawa et al. (US 5093764 A, March 3, 1992), hereinafter Hasegawa . Regarding claim 1 , Akai teaches a manipulator, comprising: a light source that emits light (Akai ¶0007: "One example of an effect-enhancing device includes a plurality of light source units that emit light") ; a rotatable member that is rotatable around an axis (Akai ¶0013: "The movable shaft 306 of the rotary encoder 301") ; and an operation member having a substantially disk shape, attached to the rotatable member so as to be rotatable together with the rotatable member (Akai ¶0013: "The movable shaft 306 of the rotary encoder 301 passes through the fitting hole 308 of the L-shaped fitting 104 and is fixed to the wheel hole 307 of the wheel 102.") , the operation member including a light guide member that guides light incident from the light source (Akai ¶0007: "One example of an effect-enhancing device includes a plurality of light source units that emit light, a wheel containing a light guide member having a plurality of light guide regions that guide the light emitted from the plurality of light source units") , and a wheel member arranged on one plate surface side of the light guide member (Akai ¶0013: "As shown in the exploded assembly diagram of Figure 3, the wheel unit 101 has a light guide member 103, consisting of four fan-shaped light guide regions 103 (#1), 103 (#2), 103 (#3), and 103 (#4), assembled (or attached with transparent adhesive) to, for example, the left side of the wheel 102 when viewed from the front side of the instrument.") . Akai does not explicitly disclose that the rotatable member has a holding portion that holds the light guide member. However, Hasegawa suggests that the rotatable member has a holding portion that holds the light guide member ( Hasegawa col. 2, lines 54-64: "According to the present invention, the outer knob 2 is connected to the outer shaft 21 through the inner knob light guide 4. The inner knob light guide 4 is formed, for example, from a transparent member such as resin and is formed as a whole into a cylindrical configuration in which the outside diameter is substantially matched to that of the inner knob 3. On one end of the guide 4, the outer shaft 21 is connected to an inner diameter portion 4a by a well known knurling construction as a connecting method of this kind, for example.") . It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the manipulator of Akai by adding the holding portion of Hasegawa to enhance visibility at night ( Hasegawa col. 2, lines 6-9). Regarding claim 2 , Akai (in view of Hasegawa ) teaches a manipulator comprising the features of claim 1 as discussed above. Hasegawa further teaches that the holding portion of the rotatable member has a first contact surface that contacts the light guide member ( Hasegawa col. 2, lines 61-64: "On one end of the guide 4, the outer shaft 21 is connected to an inner diameter portion 4a by a well known knurling construction as a connecting method of this kind, for example.") , and the light guide member has a second contact surface that contacts the first contact surface ( Hasegawa col. 2, lines 61-64: "On one end of the guide 4, the outer shaft 21 is connected to an inner diameter portion 4a by a well known knurling construction as a connecting method of this kind, for example.") . Regarding claim 3 , Akai (in view of Hasegawa ) teaches a manipulator comprising the features of claim 2 as discussed above. Hasegawa further teaches that the holding portion is a shaft-shaped member rotatable around the axis ( Hasegawa col. 2, lines 48-49: "The outer knob 2 is connected, for example, to an outer shaft 21 of a variable resistor 20") , and the first contact surface is provided in the shaft-shaped member ( Hasegawa col. 2, lines 61-64: "On one end of the guide 4, the outer shaft 21 is connected to an inner diameter portion 4a by a well known knurling construction as a connecting method of this kind, for example.") , wherein the light guide member has a first through hole through which said shaft-shaped member is inserted ( Hasegawa col. 2, lines 57-62: "The inner knob light guide 4 is formed, for example, from a transparent member such as resin and is formed as a whole into a cylindrical configuration in which the outside diameter is substantially matched to that of the inner knob 3. On one end of the guide 4, the outer shaft 21 is connected to an inner diameter portion 4a") , and wherein the second contact surface is provided within an opening of the first th r ough hole ( Hasegawa col. 2, lines 61-64: "On one end of the guide 4, the outer shaft 21 is connected to an inner diameter portion 4a by a well known knurling construction as a connecting method of this kind, for example.") . Regarding claim 4 , Akai (in view of Hasegawa ) teaches a manipulator comprising the features of claim 3 as discussed above. Akai further teaches that the light guide member guides the incident light in radial directions (Akai ¶0014: "As shown in the side view of Figure 4(b), the light guide members 103, for example, made of acrylic, are arranged adjacent to each other so as to cover, for example, the left side of the wheel 102 when viewed from the front of the instrument, and each consists of four light guide regions 103(#1), 103(#2), 103(#3), and 103(#4) that are formed in a fan shape extending from the center of the wheel hole 307 of the wheel 102 toward the circumference.") . Hasegawa further suggests that the second contact surface is arranged at a position that does not overlap the light source in the radial directions ( Hasegawa col. 2, line 61 - col. 3, line 4: "On one end of the guide 4, the outer shaft 21 is connected to an inner diameter portion 4a by a well known knurling construction as a connecting method of this kind, for example. A flange-like outwardly flared portion 4b is provided so as to project outwardly toward the light source 24 from a suitable position on the outside diameter side. An outer edge portion 4c of the outwardly flared portion 4b is opposed to the light source 24 so that even when the outer knob 2, which is connected to, the inner knob light guide 4, is rotated to any position, light from the light source 24 can be introduced into the inner knob light guide 4.") . Regarding claim 5 , Akai (in view of Hasegawa ) teaches a manipulator comprising the features of claim 3 as discussed above. Hasegawa further teaches that the first contact surface and the second contact surface are orthogonal to an axial direction of the shaft-shaped member ( Hasegawa col. 2, lines 61-64: "On one end of the guide 4, the outer shaft 21 is connected to an inner diameter portion 4a by a well known knurling construction as a connecting method of this kind, for example." Hasegawa fig. 2, reproduced below, teaches that the contact surfaces on ref. nos. 21 and 4a are orthogonal to an axial direction of the shaft-shaped member.) . Regarding claim 6 , Akai (in view of Hasegawa ) teaches a manipulator comprising the features of claim 4 as discussed above. Hasegawa further teaches that the first contact surface and the second contact surface are orthogonal to an axial direction of the shaft-shaped member ( Hasegawa col. 2, lines 61-64: "On one end of the guide 4, the outer shaft 21 is connected to an inner diameter portion 4a by a well known knurling construction as a connecting method of this kind, for example." Hasegawa fig. 2, reproduced above , teaches that the contact surfaces on ref. nos. 21 and 4a are orthogonal to an axial direction of the shaft-shaped member.) . Regarding claim 7 , Akai (in view of Hasegawa ) teaches a manipulator comprising the features of claim 3 as discussed above. Akai further teaches that the wheel member has a second through hole through which the shaft-shaped member is inserted, and the shaft-shaped member is inserted into the second through hole (Akai ¶0013: "The movable shaft 306 of the rotary encoder 301 passes through the fitting hole 308 of the L-shaped fitting 104 and is fixed to the wheel hole 307 of the wheel 102.") . Regarding claim 8 , Akai (in view of Hasegawa ) teaches a manipulator comprising the features of claim 4 as discussed above. Akai further teaches that the wheel member has a second through hole through which the shaft-shaped member is inserted, and the shaft-shaped member is inserted into the second through hole (Akai ¶0013: "The movable shaft 306 of the rotary encoder 301 passes through the fitting hole 308 of the L-shaped fitting 104 and is fixed to the wheel hole 307 of the wheel 102.") . Regarding claim 9 , Akai (in view of Hasegawa ) teaches a manipulator comprising the features of claim 5 as discussed above. Akai further teaches that the wheel member has a second through hole through which the shaft-shaped member is inserted, and the shaft-shaped member is inserted into the second through hole (Akai ¶0013: "The movable shaft 306 of the rotary encoder 301 passes through the fitting hole 308 of the L-shaped fitting 104 and is fixed to the wheel hole 307 of the wheel 102.") . Regarding claim 10 , Akai (in view of Hasegawa ) teaches a manipulator comprising the features of claim 6 as discussed above. Akai further teaches that the wheel member has a second through hole through which the shaft-shaped member is inserted, and the shaft-shaped member is inserted into the second through hole (Akai ¶0013: "The movable shaft 306 of the rotary encoder 301 passes through the fitting hole 308 of the L-shaped fitting 104 and is fixed to the wheel hole 307 of the wheel 102.") . Regarding claim 11 , Akai (in view of Hasegawa ) teaches a manipulator comprising the features of claim 1 as discussed above. Akai further teaches that the wheel member and the light guide member are affixed to each other by an adhesive (Akai ¶0013: "As shown in the exploded assembly diagram of Figure 3, the wheel unit 101 has a light guide member 103, consisting of four fan-shaped light guide regions 103 (#1), 103 (#2), 103 (#3), and 103 (#4), assembled (or attached with transparent adhesive) to, for example, the left side of the wheel 102 when viewed from the front side of the instrument."). Akai (in view of Hasegawa ) does not explicitly disclose double-sided adhesive tape. Examiner takes official notice that using double-sided adhesive tape is well-known in the art. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the manipulator of Akai by adding double-sided tape to affix the light guide to the wheel (Akai ¶0013). Regarding claim 12 , Akai (in view of Hasegawa ) teaches a manipulator comprising the features of claim 1 as discussed above. Akai further teaches a control board connected to the manipulator (Akai ¶0020: "In Figure 6, the electronic keyboard instrument 500 has a configuration in which a CPU (Central Processing Unit) 601, a ROM (Read-Only Memory) 602, a RAM (Random Access Memory) 603, a timer 604, a sound source LSI (Large-Scale Integrated Circuit) 605 to which a waveform ROM 606 is connected, a key scanner 607 to which the keyboard 501 and the switch panel 502 of Figure 5 are connected, individual A/D (Analog/Digital) converters 608 and D/A (Digital/Analog) converters 612 to which the pitch bend wheel unit 101a and modulation wheel unit 101b of Figure 5 are connected, and an LCD controller 609 to which the LCD 505 of Figure 5 is connected, are each connected to a system bus 612.") and causing electronically synthesized sound to be generated and output (Akai ¶0020: "Furthermore, the digital musical waveform data output from the sound source LSI 605 is converted into an analog musical waveform signal by the D/A converter 610, amplified by the amplifier 611, and then output from a speaker or output terminal (not shown).") . Regarding claim 13 , Akai (in view of Hasegawa ) teaches a manipulator comprising the features of claim 2 as discussed above. Akai further teaches a control board connected to the manipulator (Akai ¶0020: "In Figure 6, the electronic keyboard instrument 500 has a configuration in which a CPU (Central Processing Unit) 601, a ROM (Read-Only Memory) 602, a RAM (Random Access Memory) 603, a timer 604, a sound source LSI (Large-Scale Integrated Circuit) 605 to which a waveform ROM 606 is connected, a key scanner 607 to which the keyboard 501 and the switch panel 502 of Figure 5 are connected, individual A/D (Analog/Digital) converters 608 and D/A (Digital/Analog) converters 612 to which the pitch bend wheel unit 101a and modulation wheel unit 101b of Figure 5 are connected, and an LCD controller 609 to which the LCD 505 of Figure 5 is connected, are each connected to a system bus 612.") and causing electronically synthesized sound to be generated and output (Akai ¶0020: "Furthermore, the digital musical waveform data output from the sound source LSI 605 is converted into an analog musical waveform signal by the D/A converter 610, amplified by the amplifier 611, and then output from a speaker or output terminal (not shown).") . Regarding claim 14 , Akai (in view of Hasegawa ) teaches a manipulator comprising the features of claim 3 as discussed above. Akai further teaches a control board connected to the manipulator (Akai ¶0020: "In Figure 6, the electronic keyboard instrument 500 has a configuration in which a CPU (Central Processing Unit) 601, a ROM (Read-Only Memory) 602, a RAM (Random Access Memory) 603, a timer 604, a sound source LSI (Large-Scale Integrated Circuit) 605 to which a waveform ROM 606 is connected, a key scanner 607 to which the keyboard 501 and the switch panel 502 of Figure 5 are connected, individual A/D (Analog/Digital) converters 608 and D/A (Digital/Analog) converters 612 to which the pitch bend wheel unit 101a and modulation wheel unit 101b of Figure 5 are connected, and an LCD controller 609 to which the LCD 505 of Figure 5 is connected, are each connected to a system bus 612.") and causing electronically synthesized sound to be generated and output (Akai ¶0020: "Furthermore, the digital musical waveform data output from the sound source LSI 605 is converted into an analog musical waveform signal by the D/A converter 610, amplified by the amplifier 611, and then output from a speaker or output terminal (not shown).") . Regarding claim 15 , Akai (in view of Hasegawa ) teaches a manipulator comprising the features of claim 4 as discussed above. Akai further teaches a control board connected to the manipulator (Akai ¶0020: "In Figure 6, the electronic keyboard instrument 500 has a configuration in which a CPU (Central Processing Unit) 601, a ROM (Read-Only Memory) 602, a RAM (Random Access Memory) 603, a timer 604, a sound source LSI (Large-Scale Integrated Circuit) 605 to which a waveform ROM 606 is connected, a key scanner 607 to which the keyboard 501 and the switch panel 502 of Figure 5 are connected, individual A/D (Analog/Digital) converters 608 and D/A (Digital/Analog) converters 612 to which the pitch bend wheel unit 101a and modulation wheel unit 101b of Figure 5 are connected, and an LCD controller 609 to which the LCD 505 of Figure 5 is connected, are each connected to a system bus 612.") and causing electronically synthesized sound to be generated and output (Akai ¶0020: "Furthermore, the digital musical waveform data output from the sound source LSI 605 is converted into an analog musical waveform signal by the D/A converter 610, amplified by the amplifier 611, and then output from a speaker or output terminal (not shown).") . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Enter examiner's name" \* MERGEFORMAT PHILIP SCOLES whose telephone number is (703)756-1831. The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday-Friday 8:30-4:30 ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Dedei Hammond can be reached on FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-270-7938 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /PHILIP G SCOLES/ Examiner, Art Unit 2837 /DEDEI K HAMMOND/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837