DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Christmas (US 20190123501).
Regarding claim 1, Christmas teaches a speaker system (figure 1 item 100 defined in paragraph [0029] as a primary module. Paragraph [0025] discloses wherein the module may be a speaker) comprising:
a portable speaker including a first locking member (figure 1 item 110 a primary module. Figure 5 shows locking member, (interpreted as locking aperture) item 314 ); and
a charging base including a second locking member (figure 3 item 120 defined in paragraph [0029] as a secondary module),
wherein the first locking member is configured to slide in: a first direction relative to the second locking member to lock the first and second locking members together (figure 2 shows wherein the first locking member item 110 slides onto second locking member 120. Paragraph [0035] teaches wherein the locking members (connection posts 530) allow the device to slide into place to lock); and
a second direction, which is opposite to the first direction, relative to the second locking member to release the first locking member from the second locking member (figure 2 shows wherein the first locking member item 110 slides onto second locking member 120. Paragraph [0035] teaches wherein the locking members (connection posts 530) allow the device to slide into place to lock. Paragraph [0029] teaches wherein the device is rotated or slid in another direction to unlock from the base 120).
Figure 3 shows a speaker system with a charging base
Regarding claim 2, Christmas teaches the speaker system according to claim 1,
wherein: the portable speaker includes a recess portion that includes at least one inner side surface (figure 3 item 112 a recess defined in paragraph [0030] as an alignment depression. Figure 4 item 330 defined in [0033] as a receiving slot, item 334 defined as a recessed surface),
the second locking member includes: a protrusion portion extending from the charging base and insertable into the recess portion (figure 3 item 130 defined in paragraph [0032] as a connection post, which is insertable into recessed surface item 334); and
a locking groove disposed along at least one side surface of the protrusion (figure 3 item 134 defined in paragraph [0032] as a locking plate),
the first locking member includes a locking protrusion disposed along the at least one inner side surface of the recess portion (figure 4 item 314 defined in paragraph [0033] as a locking aperture), and
the at least one side surface opposes the at least one inner side surface in a locked state where the protrusion portion is disposed in the recess portion (figures 2 and 3 show wherein one side surface opposes the inner side surface in a locked state),
the locking groove allowing the first locking member to be slidable in the first and second directions (figure 2 shows wherein the first locking member item 110 slides onto second locking member 120. Paragraph [0035] teaches wherein the locking members (connection posts 530) allow the device to slide into place to lock. Paragraph [0029] teaches wherein the device is rotated or slid in another direction to unlock from the base 120).
Regarding claim 3, Christmas teaches the speaker system according to claim 2, wherein the first locking member is attachable to and detachable from the recess portion (figure 2 and 3 show wherein the first locking member, 110 is attachable and detachable from the recess portion).
Regarding claim 4, Christmas teaches the speaker system according to claim 2,
wherein: the at least one inner side surface of the recess portion includes a pair of inner side surfaces extending parallel to each other (figure 4 shows wherein the inner side surfaces are parallel),
the locking protrusion is disposed along each of the inner side surfaces of the recess portion (figure 3 shows the locking aperture which is recessed and receives the locking protrusion item 130),
the at least one side surface of the protrusion portion includes a plurality of pairs of side surfaces (shown in figure 3 the protrusion portion item 130 includes a plurality of side surfaces),
each of the plurality of pairs of side surfaces being parallel to each other (shown in figure 3 the protrusion portion item 130 includes a plurality of side surfaces parallel to each other),
the plurality of pairs of side surfaces extend in directions different from each other (shown in figure 3 the protrusion portion item 130 includes a plurality of side surfaces parallel to each other and extend in different directions), and
the locking groove is disposed along the plurality of pairs of side surfaces (figure 3 shows a locking groove a locking aperture 314 receiving a locking plate 134).
Regarding claim 5, Christmas teaches the speaker system according to claim 2, wherein a corner portion between adjacent two side surfaces of the protrusion portion is rounded (figure 3 shows protrusion item 134 with rounded corners).
Regarding claim 6, Christmas teaches the speaker system according to claim 2, wherein the locking groove is disposed entirely around the protrusion portion (figure 2 shows wherein the locking groove is disposed entirely around the protrusion portion as the device is locked to the base).
Regarding claim 7, Christmas teaches speaker system according to claim 1, wherein: the charging base includes a recess portion that includes at least one inner side surface, the first locking member includes: a protrusion portion extending from the portable speaker and insertable into the recess portion; and a locking groove disposed along at least one side surface of the protrusion, the second locking member includes a locking protrusion disposed along the at least one inner side surface of the recess portion, and the at least one side surface opposes the at least one inner side surface in a locked state where the protrusion portion is disposed in the recess portion, the locking groove allowing the first locking member to be slidable in the first and second directions (paragraph [0052] discloses wherein the protruding portions, interpreted as connection posts/pins, may be located on the speaker device (primary module) and the recessed portions, interpreted as receiving slots, may be located on the charging base (secondary module). Thus, the interface as disclosed above may be reversed based on a design choice. Figures 3, 4, and 5 show recessed portions 330, locking grooves 314, protrusions 130, and slidable portions connecting the charging base to the speaker device)
Regarding claim 8, Christmas teaches speaker system according to claim 7, wherein the locking protrusion is attachable to and detachable from the recess portion figure 2 and 3 show wherein the first locking member, 110 is attachable and detachable from the recess portion).
Regarding claim 9, Christmas teaches speaker system according to claim 7, wherein: the at least one inner side surface of the recess portion includes a pair of inner side surfaces extending parallel to each other (figure 4 shows wherein the inner side surfaces are parallel),
the locking protrusion is disposed along each of the inner side surfaces of the recess portion (figure 3 shows the locking aperture which is recessed and receives the locking protrusion item 130),
the at least one side surface of the protrusion portion includes a plurality of pairs of side surfaces (shown in figure 3 the protrusion portion item 130 includes a plurality of side surfaces),
each of the plurality of pairs of side surfaces being parallel to each other (shown in figure 3 the protrusion portion item 130 includes a plurality of side surfaces parallel to each other),
the plurality of pairs of side surfaces extend in directions different from each other (shown in figure 3 the protrusion portion item 130 includes a plurality of side surfaces parallel to each other and extend in different directions), and
the locking groove is disposed along the plurality of pairs of side surfaces (figure 3 shows a locking groove a locking aperture 314 receiving a locking plate 134).
Regarding claim 10, Christmas teaches the speaker system according to claim 7, wherein a corner portion between adjacent two side surfaces of the protrusion portion is rounded (figure 3 shows wherein the protrusion portion 130 is rounded) .
Regarding claim 11, Christmas teaches the speaker system according to claim 7, wherein the locking groove is disposed entirely around the protrusion portion (figure 2 shows wherein the locking groove is disposed entirely around the protrusion portion as the device is locked to the base).
Regarding claim 12, Christmas teaches the speaker system according to claim 1, further comprising a holding mechanism configured to hold the first locking member and the second locking member in a locked state (figure 3 shows an alignment post item 124 to hold the first locking member (primary module 110) and second locking member (secondary module 120) in place)
Regarding claim 14, Christmas teaches the speaker system according to claim 7, wherein a size of the charging base, viewed from a surface of the charging base on which the second locking member is disposed, is smaller than a size of the portable speaker, viewed from a surface of the portable speaker on which the first locking member is disposed (figure 3 shows wherein the charging base 120 is smaller than the portable speaker 110).
Regarding claim 15, Christmas teaches the speaker system according to claim 1, wherein: the charging base includes a first connection terminal disposed on one side of the charging base, the portable speaker includes a second connection terminal disposed on one side of the portable speaker, and the first connection terminal contacts the second connection terminal in a locking state where the first locking member is locked to the second locking member (figure 4 wherein a first connection terminal is interpreted as a contact pad item 416. The contact pads connect to second connection terminals, interpreted as pins 526 on the second locking member 520).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christmas (US 20190123501) in view of Brandenburg (US 20090015198).
Regarding claim 13, Christmas teaches the speaker system according to claim 7, but does not explicitly teach wherein: the first direction extends downward in a vertical direction, and the second direction extends upward in the vertical direction.
Brandenburg teaches wherein: the first direction extends downward in a vertical direction, and the second direction extends upward in the vertical direction (shown in figure 12 wherein a first device item 1 is connected to a second device item 21 in a vertical upwards direction).
The Christmas and Brandenburg references are analogous art because both systems include a charging base or docking station for a portable device which may be attached or detached by an interface connection.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the LaFountain, Lackey and Aboado references with the locking system of the Brandenburg reference so that the device may be more securely aligned with the charging base.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Brandenburg reference in paragraph [0007] wherein a the charging base may be securely aligned.
Brandenburg figures 12 and 13 show two attachable and detachable devices for charging.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Us 20150036858 A1 Cube Speaker/Amplifier Aboabdo; Eyad
Us 10571964 B2 Docking Connector Mobile Electronic Devices Barnett; David B.
Us 20230134450 A1 Belt Audio System Barnhart; Eric
Us 20100081473 A1 Orientation in Docked Environments Chatterjee; Manjirnath Et Al.
Us 20210152000 A1 Support Base Chu; Wen-Chih Et Al.
Us 20140287801 A1 Protective Shell And Charging Device Ho; Chih Feng
Us 11548451 B2 Mobile Device Mounting System Jankura; Robb Et Al.
Us 20050280394 A1 Adapter For A Power Tool Battery Kubale, Mark Et Al.
Us 20250357772 A1 Sterile Battery Charging Device Lackey; Michael J.
Us 20170187206 A1 Portable Device-Powering System Lafountain; Judd Eric Et Al.
Us 20050255895 A1 Adaptable Charging Cradle Lee, Yang-Jic Et Al.
Us 20060139001 A1 Power Cell And Charger Assembly Lin; Chun-Hsiao
Us 20080035808 A1 Stand For Supporting A Display Rawlings; Scott Et Al.
Us 20250107753 A1 Guiding Charging Sippola; Kent Et Al.
Us 20230146663 A1 Charging Stand For Electronic Equipment Zhao; Yuewu
Us 11063456 B2 Adaptor And Power Station Zhu; Hong Et Al.
ALEXIS BOATENG PACHECO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/ALEXIS B PACHECO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859