Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species 1, Mo5SiB2 refractory metal intermetallic in the reply filed on 2 December 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2 December 2025.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 14 March 2023. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makineni et al, Synthesis and stabilization of a new phase regime in a Mo-Si-B based alloy by laser-based additive manufacturing (document cited by applicant; hereinafter “Makineni”), in view of US 20090011266 A1 (hereinafter “Cochran”).
Regarding claim 1, Makineni teaches a method of making a Mo-Si-B alloy (see title). Makineni teaches that it is desired to form an alloy containing T2 particles (Mo5SiB2) along with a molybdenum phase (see 1. Introduction). Makineni teaches that the additive manufacturing techniques can be used to generate the material (See p. 32). Makineni teaches that the method includes melting pure Mo Si and B powders that have been milled (See 2. Experimental). Makineni teaches that the powder is deposited onto a substrate (see 2.1 Alloy formation by laser melting). Makineni teaches that the additive manufacturing machine is used to melt the powder via laser beam (2.1 Alloy formation by laser melting). Makineni teaches that this forms a molybdenum phase and intermetallic T1 and T2 (see 3.1 Identification of phases by X-ray diffraction (XRD).
Makineni does not teach that the process includes a mixture including a nitride or SiC compound. Makineni teaches that the method includes melting pure Mo Si and B powders that have been milled (See 2. Experimental).
Cochran teaches a method of forming intermetallic composited (See title). Cochran teaches a molybdenum silicon boride material (see abstract, SUMMARY). Cochran teaches that this includes the T2 phase (See [0010]-[0013] and [0028]). Cochran teaches that the method includes use of a mixed powder including silicon nitride and boron nitride with molybdenum powders by milling (see [0025]). Cochran teaches that the mixture of powders is reacted by subjecting it to a heat source (see [0025]-[0028]). Cochran teaches that this generates a composite of Mo and T2 ([0028]-[0032]). Cochran teaches that the starting nitrides generate nitrogen partial pressure which facilitates the reaction at temperature, and allows for microstructural control over the product ([0032]-[0033]).
It would have been an obvious matter to the skilled artisan at time of filing to have used the additive manufacturing approach of Makineni, but to have altered the method as by using the starting powders of Cochran, because Cochran teaches that the starting nitrides generate nitrogen partial pressure which facilitates the reaction at temperature, and allows for microstructural control over the product ([0032]-[0033]).
Regarding claims 2-3, Makineni in view of Cochran is applied to the claim as stated above. Cochran teaches to use Si3N4 (see SUMMARY, [0032]-[0033]).
Regarding claim 4, Cochran teaches that the starting nitrides generate nitrogen partial pressure which facilitates the reaction at temperature, and allows for microstructural control over the product ([0032]-[0033]).
Regarding claim 5-7, Makineni teaches that this forms a molybdenum phase and intermetallic T1 and T2 (see 3.1 Identification of phases by X-ray diffraction (XRD)).
Cochran also teaches that the use of the nitride materials generates a composite of Mo and A15 and T2 ([0028]-[0032]).
Regarding claim 16, Makineni in view of Cochran is applied to the claim as stated above. Cochran teaches to use Mo, BN, and Si3N4 (see SUMMARY, [0032]-[0033]). Cochran teaches the T2 and A15 phases be generated from this mixture (See [00287]-[0032]). The limitations of the claim would have naturally flowed from following the suggestions of the prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20220016699 A1 and US 10865467 B2 teach manufacturing refractory alloys with additive manufacturing. US 10894290 B1 teaches manufacturing MoSiB composites. US 20200406345 A1 teaches additive manufacturing of MoSiB alloys. US 9994937 B1 teaches to make MoSiB alloys with silicon nitride and boron nitride powders.
CHRISTOPHER S. KESSLER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1734
/CHRISTOPHER S KESSLER/ Examiner, Art Unit 1759