FINAL ACTION
This is the fourth office action on the merits. This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 10/14/2026. Applicant has amended claims 1, 10, and 15-16. Claims 5, 10-13, 15, and 20 remain withdrawn from further consideration. Claims 1-4, 6-9, 16-17, and 19 are pending and examined.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 16-17, and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 13: “driver interface” is believed to be in error for --drive interface-- (see claim 1, line 9)
Claim 16, line 14: “driver interface” is believed to be in error for --drive interface-- (see claim 1, line 6)
Claim 17, line 2: “the separate handheld external driver” is believed to be in error for --the removable external driver-- (see claim 16, line 6)
Claim 19, lines 2 and 4-5: “the separate handheld external driver” (two instances) is believed to be in error for --the removable external driver-- (see claim 16, line 6)
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vanderveen (US 4,608,042: IDS reference), in view of Honstein (US 5,456,388).
Regarding claim 1, Vanderveen teaches (Fig. 3) an intravenous (IV) infusion set, comprising:
an infusion component (72);
a first IV tube coupled to a first inlet port (see annotated Fig. 3 on next page) of the infusion component (72);
a second IV tube coupled to an outlet port (see annotated Fig. 3 on next page) of the infusion component (72); and
a syringe interface (see annotated Fig. 3 on next page) coupled to a second inlet port (74) of the infusion component (72), the syringe interface comprising:
a housing (see annotated Fig. 3 below) configured to receive a syringe (18);
an outlet port (see annotated Fig. 3 below) coupled to (via needle 84) the second inlet port (74) of the infusion component (72); and
a plunger (80).
However, Vanderveen does not teach the specifics of the syringe interface comprising:
a drive interface coupling configured to receive a drive interface,
wherein the drive interface is configured to be rotated by a driver to slidably move the plunger within a body of the syringe to dispense a fluid from the syringe,
wherein the driver is a separate removable device disposed externally to the syringe interface and removable from the driver interface when the syringe interface is disposed on the second inlet port of the infusion component.
Honstein teaches (Figs. 1, 3, and 5) a syringe interface comprising:
a housing (110 – Fig. 1) configured to receive a syringe (20 – Fig. 1);
an outlet port (29 – Fig. 3); and
a drive interface coupling (45) configured to receive a drive interface (50 – Figs. 1 and 5),
wherein the drive interface (50) is configured to be rotated by a driver (54) to slidably move a plunger (25 – Fig. 1) within a body (21 – Figs. 1 and 5) of the syringe (20) to dispense a fluid (24) from the syringe (20) – (see col. 7, ll. 5-8 for a description of how the drive member 54 rotates the drive interface 50 to move plunger 25),
wherein the driver (54) is a separate removable device (Fig. 5 shows the driver 54 as a separate removable device) disposed externally to the syringe interface (as shown in Fig. 1, driver 54 is outside of the syringe interface components, which include syringe 20, drive interface coupling 45, and drive interface 50) and removable from the driver interface (50) – (Fig. 5 shows driver 54 as being removable from driver interface 50).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace Vanderveen’s syringe interface with Honstein’s syringe interface, because it has been held that a simple substitution of one known element (Honstein’s syringe interface as shown in Honstein, Fig. 1) for another (Vanderveen’s syringe interface as shown in Vanderveen, Fig. 3) to obtain predictable results (in this case, to provide an improved handheld injection device for metering small amounts of fluid material, as taught by Honstein, col. 3, ll. 57-59) was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007), MPEP 2143 (I)(B), therefore providing:
the driver (Honstein, 54) is removable from the driver interface (Honstein, 50) when the syringe interface (Honstein, 20) is disposed on the second inlet port (Vanderveen, 74) of the infusion component (Vanderveen, 72).
Regarding claim 6, Vanderveen, in view of Honstein, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 1, and the combination further teaches the drive interface (Honstein, 50) is provided as a removable component separated from the rest of the IV infusion set (Vanderveen, Fig. 3) – (Honstein’s Fig. 5 shows drive interface 50 as a removably separate element. When combined with Vanderveen’s IV infusion set, Honstein’s drive interface 50 would also be a removably separate element).
Regarding claim 7, Vanderveen, in view of Honstein, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 1, and the combination further teaches (Honstein, Figs. 1 and 5) the drive interface (50) is a removable component pre-coupled to the syringe interface (comprising syringe 20 and drive interface coupling 45) – (Fig. 5 shows drive interface 50 as a removably separate element; Fig. 1 shows drive interface 50 pre-coupled to the syringe interface).
Regarding claim 8, Vanderveen, in view of Honstein, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 1, and the combination further teaches (Honstein, Figs. 1 and 3) the outlet port (29) of the syringe interface (comprising syringe 20 and drive interface coupling 45) is configured to receive an outlet port (left most end of barrel 22) of the syringe (20) – (as shown in Figs. 1 and 3).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vanderveen (US 4,608,042: IDS reference), in view of Honstein (US 5,456,388), and in further view of Chelak (US 2019/0275312 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Vanderveen, in view of Honstein, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 1, and Vanderveen further teaches (Fig. 1) the at least one infusion component (70 would be another infusion component) comprises:
a fluid connector (16) configured to be coupled to a fluid container (14).
However, Vanderveen, in view of Honstein, does not teach a luer lock connector configured to be coupled to a catheter inserted into a patient.
Chelak teaches a similar IV infusion set (Fig. 2) comprising at least one infusion component (180) and a syringe interface (connects to 180 – see ¶ [0077], ll. 14-16), and further teaches:
a luer lock connector (164) configured to be coupled (via stabilization body 120) to a catheter (210) inserted into a patient (¶ [0068], ll. 1-3).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vanderveen, in view of Honstein, by including a luer lock connector configured to be coupled to a catheter inserted into a patient, in order to lock the catheter in place, as taught by Chelak (¶ [0068], ll. 5-8).
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vanderveen (US 4,608,042: IDS reference), in view of Chelak (US 2019/0275312 A1) and Honstein (US 5,456,388).
Regarding claim 16, Vanderveen teaches (Fig. 1) a method of using an intravenous (IV) set assembly, the method comprising:
coupling a first end (top end of 16) of an IV set (the IV set shown in Fig. 1) to a fluid container (14);
coupling a second end of the IV set to a patient (where it says “TO PATIENT”);
flowing fluid from the fluid container (14) to the patient (col. 6, ll. 49-50: “infusion of fluids to the patient from fluid source 14”); and
a syringe interface (see annotated Fig. 1 below) of the IV set;
placing a syringe (18) containing fluid (col. 3, l. 53: “fluid filled syringe 18”) within a housing (see annotated Fig. 1 below) of the syringe interface; and
a plunger (80 – shown in Fig. 3).
However, Vanderveen does not teach coupling the second end of the IV set to a catheter inserted into the patient.
Chelak teaches a similar IV set (Fig. 2) comprising at least one infusion component (180) and a syringe interface (connects to 180 – see ¶ [0077], ll. 14-16), and further teaches:
coupling a second end (164) of the IV set to a catheter (210) inserted into a patient (¶ [0068], ll. 1-3).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vanderveen by including a catheter, in order to provide regular administration of fluids or medications into the patient, as taught by Chelak (¶ [0004], ll. 1-4), therefore providing:
coupling the second end (Vanderveen, Fig. 1 where it says “TO PATIENT”) of the IV set to a catheter (Chelak, 210) inserted into the patient.
However, Vanderveen, in view of Chelak, does not teach coupling a removable external driver to a drive interface of the syringe interface of the IV set;
operating the removable external driver externally to the housing to rotate the drive interface of the syringe interface to slidably move the plunger within a body of the syringe;
dispensing the fluid from the syringe to the patient at a fluid flow rate based on the rotation of the drive interface of the syringe interface; and
removing the removable external driver from the driver interface.
Honstein teaches (Figs. 1, 3, and 5) placing a syringe (20 – Fig. 1) containing fluid (24) within a housing (110 – Fig. 1) of a syringe interface (comprising, 20, 45, 50, and 110), and further teaches:
coupling a removable external driver (54 – Fig. 5 shows the driver 54 as a separate removable device) to a drive interface (50 – Figs. 1 and 5) of the syringe interface;
operating the removable external driver (54) externally to the housing (110) – (as shown in Fig. 1, driver 54 is outside of housing 110) to rotate the drive interface (50) of the syringe interface to slidably move a plunger (25 – Fig. 1) within a body (21 – Figs. 1 and 5) of the syringe (20) – (see col. 7, ll. 5-8 for a description of how the drive member 54 rotates the drive interface 50 to move plunger 25); and
dispensing the fluid (24) from the syringe (20) to a patient at a fluid flow rate based on the rotation of the drive interface (50) of the syringe interface (col. 7, ll. 8-12: “Since piston 25 exerts hydrostatic pressure on adhesive 24 in bore 23 of barrel 22, this action causes precisely controllable amounts of adhesive to be expelled through bore 58 of small diameter outlet tube 29 located at the front of barrel 22”); and
removing the removable external driver (54) from the driver interface (50) – (Fig. 5 shows the driver 54 being removed from the driver interface 50).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace Vanderveen’s syringe interface with Honstein’s syringe interface, because it has been held that a simple substitution of one known element (Honstein’s syringe interface as shown in Honstein, Fig. 1) for another (Vanderveen’s syringe interface as shown in Vanderveen, Fig. 3) to obtain predictable results (in this case, to provide an improved handheld injection device for metering small amounts of fluid material, as taught by Honstein, col. 3, ll. 57-59) was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007), MPEP 2143 (I)(B), therefore providing the above method steps as outlined in Honstein.
Regarding claim 17, Vanderveen, in view of Chelak and Honstein, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 16, and the combination further teaches (Honstein, Fig. 1) operating the separate handheld external driver (54) to rotate the drive interface (50) of the syringe interface (comprising, 20, 45, 50, and 110) at one of a fixed speed and a variable speed (col. 7, ll. 5-12: “lead screw 50 and piston 25 may be advanced longitudinally with respect to insert 45 and barrel 22 of dispenser 20 by rotating thumbwheel 54 with respect to the barrel. Since piston 25 exerts hydrostatic pressure on adhesive 24 in bore 23 of barrel 22, this action causes precisely controllable amounts of adhesive to be expelled through bore 58 of small diameter outlet tube 29 located at the front of barrel 22”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and rewritten to overcome the claim objections listed above.
REASONS FOR ALLOWANCE
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The closest prior art of record, Honstein (US 5,456,388), does not teach a drive shaft of the driver. As shown in Figs 4-6 of Honstein, the driver 54 is merely a thumbwheel which couples to the drive interface 50 of the syringe interface. The thumbwheel 54 does not comprise a drive shaft.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding the new limitations in claims 1 and 16 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection, necessitated by Applicant's amendments. To the extent possible, Applicant's arguments have been addressed in the body of the prior-art rejections at the appropriate locations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HENRY NG/ /GERALD L SUNG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741 Examiner, Art Unit 3741