DETAILED ACTION
This is the third office action on the merits. This office action is in response to the request for continued examination filed on 05/27/2026. Applicant has amended claims 1, 10, 16-17, and 19-20. Claims 5, 10-13, 15, and 20 remain withdrawn from further consideration. Claims 1-4, 6-9, 16-17, and 19 are pending and examined.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vanderveen (US 4,608,042: IDS reference), in view of Andersen (US 2015/0352288 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Vanderveen teaches (Fig. 3) an intravenous (IV) infusion set, comprising:
an infusion component (72);
a first IV tube coupled to a first inlet port (see annotated Fig. 3 on next page) of the infusion component (72);
a second IV tube coupled to an outlet port (see annotated Fig. 3 on next page) of the infusion component (72); and
a syringe interface (see annotated Fig. 3 on next page) coupled to a second inlet port (74) of the infusion component (72), the syringe interface comprising:
a housing (see annotated Fig. 3 on next page) configured to receive a syringe (18);
an outlet port (see annotated Fig. 3 on next page) coupled to (via needle 84) the second inlet port (74) of the infusion component (72); and
a plunger (80).
However, Vanderveen does not teach the specifics of the syringe interface comprising:
a drive interface coupling configured to receive a drive interface,
wherein the drive interface is configured to be rotated by a driver to slidably move the plunger within a body of the syringe to dispense a fluid from the syringe,
wherein the driver is a separate handheld device disposed externally to the syringe interface.
Andersen teaches (Figs. 2a-3b and 5a-5b) a syringe interface (see annotated Fig. 2a on next page) comprising:
a housing (140 – Figs. 2a-3b) configured to receive a syringe (Fig. 2a: comprising 10 and 13);
an outlet port (12 – Fig. 2a); and
a drive interface coupling (600 – Figs. 2a-3b) configured to receive a drive interface (700),
wherein the drive interface (700) is configured to be rotated by a driver (Figs. 5a-5b: comprising of drive member 500, gear wheels 255 and 505, and dose setting member 250, as well as other components as shown in annotated Fig. 2a on next page) to slidably move a plunger (13 – Fig. 2a) within a body (11 – Fig. 2a) of the syringe (10 and 13) to dispense a fluid (¶ [0065], l. 2: “drug filled cartridge”) from the syringe (10 and 13) – (see ¶ [0086] for a description of how the drive member 500 rotates the drive interface 700 to drive piston rod 800 to move plunger 13),
wherein the driver (250, 255, 500, and 505) is a separate handheld device (the driver components 250, 255, 500, and 505 shown in Figs. 5a-5b are shown together as a separate handheld device that is external to the syringe interface components 270, 275, 700, 705, etc. It is further noted that “handheld” is intended use, and the driver components in Figs. 5a-5b are capable of being held by human hands) disposed externally to the syringe interface (as shown in annotated Fig. 2a on next page, the annotated “Driver” is outside of housing 140 – see also Figs. 3a-3b, which shows the driver part 500 being separate and external to housing 140).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace Vanderveen’s syringe interface with Andersen’s syringe interface, because it has been held that a simple substitution of one known element (Andersen’s syringe interface as shown in Andersen, Fig. 2a) for another (Vanderveen’s syringe interface as shown in Vanderveen, Fig. 3) to obtain predictable results (in this case, to provide an improved handheld injection device that includes a dose setting mechanism allowing a user to set a desired dose to be injected, as taught by Andersen, ¶ [0087]) was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007), MPEP 2143 (I)(B).
Regarding claim 2, Vanderveen, in view of Andersen, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 1, and the combination further teaches (Andersen, Figs. 5a-5b) the drive interface (700) is configured to be coupled (via gear wheels 505 and 705) to a drive shaft (500) of the driver (shown in annotated Fig. 2 on previous page) and rotated by the drive shaft (500) of the driver (as described in ¶ [0106]).
Regarding claim 3, Vanderveen, in view of Andersen, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 2, and the combination further teaches (Andersen, Fig. 2a) the drive interface (700) is an integral part of the syringe interface (as shown in annotated Fig. 2a on previous page, drive interface 700 is assembled together with the syringe interface) and the drive shaft (500) is configured to be removably coupled to the driver (shown in annotated Fig. 2a on previous page) – (Fig. 3a shows drive shaft 500 as a removably separate element; Fig. 2a shows drive shaft 500 coupled to the driver).
Regarding claim 4, Vanderveen, in view of Andersen, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 2, and the combination further teaches (Andersen, Fig. 2a) the drive shaft (500) is an integral part of the driver (as shown in annotated Fig. 2a on previous page, drive shaft 500 is assembled together with the driver) and the drive shaft (500) is configured to be removably coupled (via gear wheels 505 and 705 – see Figs. 5a-5b) to the syringe interface (see annotated Fig. 2a on previous page) – (Fig. 3a shows drive shaft 500 as a removably separate element; Fig. 2a shows drive shaft 500 coupled to the driver).
Regarding claim 6, Vanderveen, in view of Andersen, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 1, and the combination further teaches the drive interface (Andersen, 700) is provided as a removable component separated from the rest of the IV infusion set (Vanderveen, Fig. 3) – (Andersen’s Fig. 3a shows drive interface 700 as a removably separate element. When combined with Vanderveen’s IV infusion set, Andersen’s drive interface 700 would also be a removably separate element).
Regarding claim 7, Vanderveen, in view of Andersen, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 1, and the combination further teaches (Andersen, Fig. 2a) the drive interface (700) is a removable component pre-coupled to the syringe interface (see annotated Fig. 2a on page 6) – (Fig. 3a shows drive interface 700 as a removably separate element; Figs. 2a show drive interface 700 pre-coupled to the syringe interface).
Regarding claim 8, Vanderveen, in view of Andersen, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 1, and the combination further teaches (Andersen, Fig. 2a) the outlet port (12) of the syringe interface (as shown in annotated Fig. 2a on page 6) is configured to receive an outlet port of the syringe (bottom end of 10).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vanderveen (US 4,608,042: IDS reference), in view of Andersen (US 2015/0352288 A1), and in further view of Chelak (US 2019/0275312 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Vanderveen, in view of Andersen, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 1, and Vanderveen further teaches (Fig. 1) the at least one infusion component (70 would be another infusion component) comprises:
a fluid connector (16) configured to be coupled to a fluid container (14).
However, Vanderveen, in view of Andersen, does not teach a luer lock connector configured to be coupled to a catheter inserted into a patient.
Chelak teaches a similar IV infusion set (Fig. 2) comprising at least one infusion component (180) and a syringe interface (connects to 180 – see ¶ [0077], ll. 14-16), and further teaches:
a luer lock connector (164) configured to be coupled (via stabilization body 120) to a catheter (210) inserted into a patient (¶ [0068], ll. 1-3).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vanderveen, in view of Andersen, by including a luer lock connector configured to be coupled to a catheter inserted into a patient, in order to lock the catheter in place, as taught by Chelak (¶ [0068], ll. 5-8).
Claims 16-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vanderveen (US 4,608,042: IDS reference), in view of Chelak (US 2019/0275312 A1) and Andersen (US 2015/0352288 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Vanderveen teaches (Fig. 1) a method of using an intravenous (IV) set assembly, the method comprising:
coupling a first end (top end of 16) of an IV set (the IV set shown in Fig. 1) to a fluid container (14);
coupling a second end of the IV set to a patient (where it says “TO PATIENT”);
flowing fluid from the fluid container (14) to the patient (col. 6, ll. 49-50: “infusion of fluids to the patient from fluid source 14”); and
a syringe interface (see annotated Fig. 1 on next page) of the IV set;
placing a syringe (18) containing fluid (col. 3, l. 53: “fluid filled syringe 18”) within a housing (see annotated Fig. 1 on next page) of the syringe interface; and
a plunger (80 – shown in Fig. 3).
However, Vanderveen does not teach coupling the second end of the IV set to a catheter inserted into the patient.
Chelak teaches a similar IV set (Fig. 2) comprising at least one infusion component (180) and a syringe interface (connects to 180 – see ¶ [0077], ll. 14-16), and further teaches:
coupling a second end (164) of the IV set to a catheter (210) inserted into a patient (¶ [0068], ll. 1-3).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vanderveen by including a catheter, in order to provide regular administration of fluids or medications into the patient, as taught by Chelak (¶ [0004], ll. 1-4), therefore providing:
coupling the second end (Vanderveen, Fig. 1 where it says “TO PATIENT”) of the IV set to a catheter (Chelak, 210) inserted into the patient.
However, Vanderveen, in view of Chelak, does not teach coupling a separate handheld external driver to a drive interface of the syringe interface of the IV set;
operating the separate handheld external driver externally to the housing to rotate the drive interface of the syringe interface to slidably move the plunger within a body of the syringe; and
dispensing the fluid from the syringe to the patient at a fluid flow rate based on the rotation of the drive interface of the syringe interface.
Andersen teaches (Figs. 2a-3b and 5a-5b) placing a syringe (Fig. 2a: comprising 10 and 13) containing fluid (¶ [0065], l. 2: “drug filled cartridge”) within a housing (140 – Figs. 2a-3b) of a syringe interface (see annotated Fig. 2a on next page), and further teaches:
coupling a separate handheld external driver (Figs. 5a-5b: comprising of drive member 500, gear wheels 255 and 505, and dose setting member 250, as well as other components as shown in annotated Fig. 2a on next page. Note that the driver components 250, 255, 500, and 505 shown in Figs. 5a-5b are shown together as a separate handheld device that is external to the syringe interface components 270, 275, 700, 705, etc. It is further noted that “handheld” is intended use, and the driver components in Figs. 5a-5b are capable of being held by human hands) to a drive interface (700) of the syringe interface;
operating the separate handheld external driver (250, 255, 500, and 505) externally to the housing (140) – (as shown in annotated Fig. 2a on next page, the annotated “Driver” is outside of housing 140 – see also Figs. 3a-3b, which shows the driver part 500 being separate and external to housing 140) to rotate the drive interface (700) of the syringe interface to slidably move a plunger (13 – Fig. 2a) within a body (11 – Fig. 2a) of the syringe (10 and 13) – (see ¶ [0086] for a description of how the drive member 500 rotates the drive interface 700 to drive piston rod 800 to move plunger 13); and
dispensing the fluid from the syringe (10 and 13) to a patient at a fluid flow rate based on the rotation of the drive interface (700) of the syringe interface (¶ [0113], ll. 11-13: “All this time the drive nut 700 rotates to drive forward the piston rod 800 resulting in the expelling of the drug through the attached needle”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace Vanderveen’s syringe interface with Andersen’s syringe interface, because it has been held that a simple substitution of one known element (Andersen’s syringe interface as shown in Andersen, Fig. 2a) for another (Vanderveen’s syringe interface as shown in Vanderveen, Fig. 3) to obtain predictable results (in this case, to provide an improved handheld injection device that includes a dose setting mechanism allowing a user to set a desired dose to be injected, as taught by Andersen, ¶ [0087]) was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007), MPEP 2143 (I)(B), therefore providing the above method steps as outlined in Andersen.
Regarding claim 17, Vanderveen, in view of Chelak and Andersen, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 16, and the combination further teaches (Andersen, Fig. 2a) operating the separate handheld external driver (see annotated Fig. 2 on previous page) to rotate the drive interface (700) of the syringe interface at one of a fixed speed and a variable speed (per ¶ [0113], the user applies a force on the injection button 300, which releases drive member 500 for rotation, thereby rotating drive nut 700 to drive forward piston rod 800 resulting in the expelling of the drug. ¶ [0114] recites “the expelling may be halted at any time by releasing pressure on the injection button 300. The expelling may be continued by renewed pressing down the injection button 300”).
Regarding claim 19, Vanderveen, in view of Chelak and Andersen, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 16, and the combination further teaches (Andersen, Fig. 5a-5b) coupling a first end of a drive shaft (in this case, it would be the left end of 500) to the separate handheld external driver (in this case, dose control member 350 would act as the driver, as shown in Fig. 3a);
coupling a second end of the drive shaft (right end of 500, where gear wheel 505 is located) to the drive interface (700) of the syringe interface;
and rotating the drive interface (700) via rotation of the drive shaft (500) of the separate handheld external driver (as discussed in ¶ [0086]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding the new limitations in claims 1 and 16 have been considered but are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s argument (pg. 7, last para. of REMARKS) that “As clearly shown in annotated Fig. 2a of Anderson, the entirety of the disclosed injection device 100 is enclosed in the housing (110,120,130,140). However, Anderson fails to disclose or suggest "the driver is a separate handheld device disposed externally to the syringe interface" as recited in amended independent claim 1”, this argument fails to recognize that the office action designated the housing of the syringe interface as ref. no. “140” only (cartridge housing part – see Andersen, ¶ [0081], l. 3). The elements with ref. nos. 110, 120, and 130 are not considered part of the housing of the syringe interface. See page 5 of this office action, which recites:
Andersen teaches (Figs. 2a-3b and 5a-5b) a syringe interface (see annotated Fig. 2a on next page) comprising:
a housing (140 – Figs. 2a-3b) configured to receive a syringe (Fig. 2a: comprising 10 and 13).
As evident in Fig. 3a, the cartridge housing 140 does not extend to the driver side labeled as “Driver” in annotated Fig. 2a.
Therefore, the driver, which comprises of components 250, 255, 500, and 505 as shown in Figs. 5a-5b, is then a separate handheld device that is separate/external to the syringe interface, which includes cartridge housing 140 as well as elements 270, 275, 700, and 705 shown in Figs. 5a-5b. Thus, it is clear that the driver is separate from the syringe interface. See also annotated Figs 5a and 5b below.
Furthermore, the driver is considered a handheld device because it is capable of being held by human hands.
Conclusion
/HENRY NG/Examiner, Art Unit 3741
/DEVON C KRAMER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3741