DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Rejection Under 101:
Applicant's arguments filed 02/03/2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant argues that the wearable equipment including a sensor adapted to detect a mental health parameter, an actuator to provide treatment… vibrations, sounds, or heat as amended in the claim is neither organizing human activity nor mathematical concepts.
In response to Applicant’s argument, while the claim recites wearable equipment including a sensor and an actuator, limitations are recited at a high level of generality that it amounts to carrying out the abstract idea with the use of the wearable device. Examiner notes that the limitation reciting a smartwatch or jewelry is not actively recited. See the updated rejection in light of the amendments.
Applicant argues that the hardware elements arranged and operating as specifically recited in claim 1 clearly provide a practical application. A smartwatch and jewelry are not known to provide vibrations, soothing sounds, and heat to treat mental health for a selected party, which is an improvement of the wearable equipment and mental health treatment.
In response to Applicant’s argument, as discussed above, the smartwatch and jewelry are not positively recited. Thus, a particular machine argument falls short. The additional elements (bolded below) do not amount to a practical application but rather they amount to invoking the use of computers and other machinery as tools to carry out the abstract idea and adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea. See the updated rejection for further clarification.
Rejection Under 103:
Applicant's arguments filed 02/03/2026 have been fully considered. Applicant argues that the prior art does not teach the amended claims. Specifically, the Sobol reference does not teach the wearable equipment… including a sensor adapted to detect at least one mental health parameter….” In response to Applicant’s argument, Sobol teaches the limitations at issue. See below for the updated rejection and further clarification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-3, 5-12, 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1 of the Alice/Mayo Test
Claims 1-3, 5-9 are drawn to a system, which is within the four statutory categories (i.e. apparatus). Claims 10-12, 14-15 are drawn to a method, which is within the four statutory categories (i.e. process). Claims 16-20 are drawn to a non-transitory computer readable medium, which is within the four statutory categories (i.e. manufacture).
Step 2A of the Alice/Mayo Test - Prong One
The independent claims recite and abstract idea. For example, claim 1 (and substantially similar with independent claim 10, 16) recites:
An equipment management system implemented via a back-end application computer server of an enterprise, comprising:
(a) a mental health equipment data store that contains electronic records associated with a plurality of mental health equipment identifiers, and, for each mental health equipment identifier, a communication address and associated equipment parameters;
(b) a risk relationship data store that contains electronic records associated with a plurality of parties having risk relationships with the enterprise, and, for each party, a party identifier, at least one mental health equipment identifier, and mental health data;
(c) the back-end application computer server, coupled to the mental health equipment data store and the risk relationship data store, including:
a computer processor,
a computer memory coupled to the computer processor and storing instructions that, when executed by the computer processor, cause the back-end application computer server to:
associate a selected equipment identifier in the mental health equipment data store with a selected party having a risk relationship with the enterprise, wherein the selected equipment identifier is associated with wearable equipment associated with at least one of a smartwatch and jewelry, the wearable equipment including a sensor adapted to detect at least one mental health parameter, and an actuator adapted to provide treatment,
update the risk relationship data store with the selected equipment identifier,
collect selected mental health data via the sensor in the wearable equipment for the selected party in accordance with the communication address of the selected equipment identifier,
input the selected mental health data to a predictive model algorithm,
automatically execute the actuator of the wearable equipment based on an output of the predictive model algorithm, wherein execution of the actuator provides at least one of: vibrations, soothing sounds, and heat to the selected party; and
automatically execute a treatment workflow for the selected party based on an output of the predictive model algorithm; and
(d) a communication port coupled to the back-end application computer server to facilitate an exchange of data with a remote device to support interactive user interface displays that provide information about the treatment workflow.
These underlined elements recite an abstract idea that can be categorized, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, to cover the management of personal behaviors or interactions (i.e., following rules or instructions), but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, but for the equipment management system, back-end application computer server, computer processor, computer memory coupled to the computer processor and storing instructions, mental health equipment data store, risk relationship data store, communication port, user interface, wearable equipment including sensor and actuator, predictive model algorithm, the limitations in the context of this claim encompass following rules to determine the person’s risk relationship and to execute a treatment workflow for the person based on their mental health data analysis. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers management of personal behavior or interactions but for the recitation of generic computer components, then the limitations fall within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. See MPEP § 2106.04(a).
Dependent claims recite additional subject matter which further narrows or defines the abstract idea embodied in the claims (such as claims 2-3, 5-9, 11-12, 14-15, and 17-20 reciting particular aspects of the abstract idea).
Step 2A of the Alice/Mayo Test - Prong Two
For example, claim 1 (and substantially similar with independent claim 10, 16) recites:
An equipment management system implemented via a back-end application computer server of an enterprise, comprising: (merely invokes use of computer and other machinery as a tool as noted below, see MPEP 2106.05(f))
(a) a mental health equipment data store that contains electronic records associated with a plurality of mental health equipment identifiers, and, for each mental health equipment identifier, a communication address and associated equipment parameters; (merely invokes use of computer and other machinery as a tool as noted below, see MPEP 2106.05(f))
(b) a risk relationship data store that contains electronic records associated with a plurality of parties having risk relationships with the enterprise, and, for each party, a party identifier, at least one mental health equipment identifier, and mental health data; (merely invokes use of computer and other machinery as a tool as noted below, see MPEP 2106.05(f))
(c) the back-end application computer server, coupled to the mental health equipment data store and the risk relationship data store, including: (merely invokes use of computer and other machinery as a tool as noted below, see MPEP 2106.05(f))
a computer processor, (merely invokes use of computer and other machinery as a tool as noted below, see MPEP 2106.05(f))
a computer memory coupled to the computer processor and storing instructions that, when executed by the computer processor, cause the back-end application computer server to: (merely invokes use of computer and other machinery as a tool as noted below, see MPEP 2106.05(f))
associate a selected equipment identifier in the mental health equipment data store with a selected party having a risk relationship with the enterprise, wherein the selected equipment identifier is associated with wearable equipment associated with at least one of a smartwatch and jewelry, the wearable equipment including a sensor adapted to detect at least one mental health parameter, and an actuator adapted to provide treatment, (merely invokes use of computer and other machinery as a tool as noted below, see MPEP 2106.05(f))
update the risk relationship data store with the selected equipment identifier,
collect selected mental health data via the sensor in the wearable equipment (merely invokes use of computer and other machinery as a tool as noted below, see MPEP 2106.05(f)) for the selected party in accordance with the communication address of the selected equipment identifier,
input the selected mental health data to a predictive model algorithm, and (merely invokes use of computer and other machinery as a tool as noted below, see MPEP 2106.05(f))
automatically execute the actuator of the wearable equipment based on an output of the predictive model algorithm, wherein execution of the actuator provides at least one of: vibrations, soothing sounds, and heat to the selected party; and (merely invokes use of computer and other machinery as a tool as noted below, see MPEP 2106.05(f))
automatically execute a treatment workflow for the selected party based on an output of the predictive model algorithm; and
(d) a communication port coupled to the back-end application computer server to facilitate an exchange of data with a remote device to support interactive user interface displays that provide information about the treatment workflow. (merely invokes use of computer and other machinery as a tool as noted below, see MPEP 2106.05(f)) and (merely insignificant extrasolution activity steps as noted below, see MPEP 2106.05(g))
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, other than the abstract idea per se, because the additional elements amount to no more than limitations, which:
amount to mere instructions to apply an exception (such as recitations of the equipment management system, back-end application computer server, computer processor, computer memory coupled to the computer processor and storing instructions, mental health equipment data store, risk relationship data store, communication port, user interface, wearable equipment including sensor and actuator, predictive model algorithm, thereby invoking computers as a tool to perform the abstract idea, see applicant’s specification [0032], [0046]-[0050], [0060], [0071], see MPEP 2106.05(f))
add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea (such as recitation of displaying information about the treatment workflow on the interactive user interface displays, see MPEP 2106.05(g))
Dependent claims recite additional subject matter which amount to limitations consistent with the additional elements in the independent claims (such as claim 2, 11 recites further defining the equipment identifier, which is part of the abstract idea; claim 3, 12, 17 recites further defining the equipment identifier, which is part of the abstract idea; claim 5, 14 recites further defining the wearable device, which amounts to invoking computers as a tool to perform the abstract idea; claim 6, 15 recites further defining the treatment workflow, which is part of the abstract idea; claim 7, 18 recites further defining an enterprise, which is part of the abstract idea; claim 8, 19 recites further defining the risk relationship, which is part of the abstract idea; claim 9, 20 recites further defining the communication address, which is part of the abstract idea. And claims 2-3, 5-9, 11-12, 14-15, and 17-20 additional limitations which generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use). Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation and do not impose a meaningful limit to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Step 2B of the Alice/Mayo Test for Claims
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to discussion of integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply an exception and adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea. Additionally, the additional elements, other than the abstract idea per se, amount to no more than elements which:
amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields (such as using the equipment management system, back-end application computer server, computer processor, computer memory coupled to the computer processor and storing instructions, mental health equipment data store, risk relationship data store, communication port, user interface, wearable equipment including sensor and actuator, predictive model algorithm, e.g., Applicant’s spec describes the computer system with it being well-understood, routine, and conventional because it describes in a manner that the additional elements are sufficiently well-known that the specification does not need to describe the particulars of such elements to satisfy 112a. (See Applicant’s Spec. [0032], [0046]-[0050], [0060], [0071]); using a wearable device with sensors and an actuator, e.g., see specifications of Sobol et al. (US 2021/0319894), DeFrank et al. (US 2020/0118164); storing electronic records in a mental health equipment data store or a risk relationship data store, e.g., storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv); using the equipment management system, back-end application computer server, computer processor, computer memory coupled to the computer processor and storing instructions, mental health equipment data store, risk relationship data store, communication port, user interface, e.g., merely adding a generic computer, generic computer components, or a programmed computer to perform generic computer functions, Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int’l, 134 S. Ct. 2347, 2358-59, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1983-84 (2014).
adding insignificant extrasolution activity to the abstract idea, for example mere data gathering, selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated, and/or insignificant application. The following represent examples that courts have identified as insignificant extrasolution activities (e.g. see MPEP 2106.05(g)): displaying information about the treatment workflow on the interactive user interface displays, e.g., outputting or providing access to the information, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321 and MPEP 2106.05(g)(3)).
Dependent claims recite additional subject matter which, as discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, besides furthering the abstract idea, amount to invoking computers as a tool to perform the abstract idea and are generally linking the abstract idea to a particular field of environment. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation. Therefore, the claims are not patent eligible, and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-12, 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lovejoy (US 10395217) in view of Sobol et al. (US 2021/0319894) and Lafever et al. (WO 2018/201009).
Regarding claim 1, Lovejoy discloses an equipment management system implemented via a back-end application computer server of an enterprise, comprising:
(b) a risk relationship data store that contains electronic records associated with a plurality of parties having risk relationships with the enterprise, and, for each party, a party identifier, at least one mental health equipment identifier, and mental health data; (Lovejoy Fig. 1 and corresponding text; col. 9 ln. 52-53 discloses In FIG. 4, process 400 begins at step 402, when a processor of the claim processing server determines that a record for a user in a first database has a status change from available to unavailable. The status change of the record occurs when a user interface on a user computer is used to input data by the user who interacts with the computer-based personnel management system {the recognition of a user interaction with a user computer is construed as identifying the equipment to input the data}; col. 10 ln 67 – col. 11 ln 5 discloses the claim processing server may provide a list of questions to the user. The set of questions generally relate to name, age, and demographic information such as gender, date of birth, and state of residence. The set of questions may further include health related information such as height, weight, and a general health status… The inputs provided by the user are stored by the processor of the claim processing server in the internal database).
(c) the back-end application computer server, coupled to the mental health equipment data store and the risk relationship data store, including: (Lovejoy col. 4 ln. 48-63 discloses FIG. 1 is an exemplary system architecture 100 of a computer-based personnel management system, according to an embodiment. In one embodiment, the system architecture 100 may be owned by an insurance company. The system architecture 100 includes one or more internal databases (for simplicity of explanation only one internal database 102 is shown), one or more external databases 104 (for simplicity of explanation only one external database 104 is shown), a server 108 (Claim Processing Server) comprising the necessary hardware and software to implement the aforementioned database and management system elements, and a plurality of client computing devices, such as a first client computing device 114 (user computer), a second client computing device 116 (administrator computer), and a third client computing device 118, among other components. {the server is construed as the backend server owned by the insurance company}; col. 5 ln. 55-63 FIG. 2 is an exemplary server device 200 in which one or more embodiments of the present disclosure operate. In one embodiment, the server device 200 includes a bus 202, an input/output (I/O) device 204, a communication interface 206, a memory 208, a storage device 210, and a central processing unit 212. In another embodiment, the server device 200 includes additional, fewer, different, or differently arranged components than those illustrated in FIG. 2)
a computer processor, (Lovejoy col. 5 ln. 55-63 FIG. 2 is an exemplary server device 200 in which one or more embodiments of the present disclosure operate. In one embodiment, the server device 200 includes a bus 202, an input/output (I/O) device 204, a communication interface 206, a memory 208, a storage device 210, and a central processing unit 212. In another embodiment, the server device 200 includes additional, fewer, different, or differently arranged components than those illustrated in FIG. 2)
a computer memory coupled to the computer processor and storing instructions that, when executed by the computer processor, cause the back-end application computer server to: (Lovejoy col. 6 ln. 41-44 The server device 200 may perform these operations in response to the central processing unit 212 executing software instructions contained in a computer-readable medium, such as the memory 208)
input the selected mental health data to a predictive model algorithm, and (Lovejoy col. 4 ln 6-19 The system and method embodiments of the computer-based personnel management system are further configured to analyze the obtained medical data related to the user using a predictive modeling analysis. The predictive modeling analysis may involve using predictive modeling to find circumstances to which a user may be susceptible. As used herein, the phrase “predictive model” might refer to any class of algorithms that are used to understand relative factors contributing to an outcome, estimate unknown outcomes, discover trends, and/or make other estimations based on a data set of factors collected across prior trials. In an embodiment, the predictive model may refer to methods such as logistic regression, decision trees, neural networks, linear models, and/or Bayesian models.; col. 9 ln. 52-53 In FIG. 4, process 400 begins at step 402, when a processor of the claim processing server determines that a record for a user in a first database has a status change from available to unavailable. The status change of the record occurs when a user interface on a user computer is used to input data by the user who interacts with the computer-based personnel management system)
automatically execute a treatment workflow for the selected party based on an output of the predictive model algorithm; and (Lovejoy col. 4 ln. 20-27 The system and method embodiments of the computer-based personnel management system are further configured to develop a return to work strategy for the user upon receiving the disability claim request from the user. The return to work strategy may involve activities such as determining the psychological state of the user, treating the user, monitoring the user, and helping the user to return to the workplace as quickly as possible.; col 4 ln. 30-36 depending on the present psychological stage of the user, the return to work strategy may be developed by one healthcare entity while another healthcare entity may carry out the return to work strategy. In yet another embodiment, the insurance policy provider and the healthcare management provider may cooperate in developing and carrying out the return to work strategy.; col. 9 ln. 5-11 In one example, the set of weighted variables may include diagnosis variable, behavioral health variable, event variable, and pharmacy variable. The claim processing module 304 then determines based on the determined stage, and the set of weighted variables in the predictive model, a score indicative of likelihood of the user returning to workplace within a predetermined time period.; col. 9 ln. 12-22 the claim processing module 304 generate a web page for display on a web browser of an administrative computer of the administrator that comprises a set of action items for the user based on either the calculated score or the determined stage of the user or both. In one example, the set of action items comprises a task for the user to enter a substance abuse program, a task to consult a mental health practitioner, and/or a task to take a specific drug.
(d) a communication port coupled to the back-end application computer server to facilitate an exchange of data with a remote device to support interactive user interface displays that provide information about the treatment workflow. (Lovejoy col. 9 ln. 12-22 the claim processing module 304 generate a web page for display on a web browser of an administrative computer of the administrator that comprises a set of action items for the user based on either the calculated score or the determined stage of the user or both. In one example, the set of action items comprises a task for the user to enter a substance abuse program, a task to consult a mental health practitioner, and/or a task to take a specific drug).
Lovejoy does not appear to explicitly disclose the following, however, Sobol teaches it is old and well known in the art of healthcare data processing to have:
(a) a mental health equipment data store that contains electronic records associated with a plurality of mental health equipment identifiers, and, for each mental health equipment identifier, and associated equipment parameters; (Sobol [0002] The present disclosure relates generally to a wearable electronic device and corresponding system for monitoring one or more of location, environmental, activity and physiological (LEAP) data of a wearer of the device [0060] According to a fourth aspect of the present disclosure, a method of monitoring an individual with a wearable electronic device is disclosed. The method includes configuring at least one of a network base station, a network server and an application server to receive at least one component or portion of LEAP data that corresponds to the individual and that has been transmitted by the wearable electronic device over a cellular-based LPWAN signal, performing at least one security operation upon the received data and transmitting the received data that has been subjected to the at least one security operation to at least one of the wearable electronic device and a remote computing device. [0180] portions of the wearable electronic device 100 that correspond to the first wireless communication sub-module 175A—while used primarily for receiving BLE beacon 200 signals to determine location—may also be used to receive configuration parameters and firmware updates from a suitably-equipped mobile device such as that which will be discussed in conjunction with FIGS. 4 and 5)
associate a selected equipment identifier in the mental health equipment data store with a selected party having a risk relationship with the enterprise, (Sobol [0066] In one form, an embodiment of the fifth aspect may further include having the machine code further cause the machine to use at least a portion of the LEAP data in order to determine whether an individual associated with the machine is at an increased risk of developing an adverse health condition)
wherein the selected equipment identifier is associated with wearable equipment associated with at least one of a smartwatch and jewelry, the wearable equipment including a sensor adapted to detect at least one mental health parameter, and an actuator adapted to provide treatment (Sobol [0205] The wearable electronic device 100 may also be equipped with notifiers configured to provide the patient with any alert generated by the logic device 173. These notifiers can be in the form of any technology that would catch the attention of the patient or caregiver to bring attention to the fact that he or she is aware that the processor 173A has received information that may correspond to a change in status of the patient, as well as other alerts, such as whether the patient could be in danger. Some exemplary notifiers include vibration (i.e., haptic) motors, LED lights and an audio speaker such a speaker 173G. Thus, in one form, the wearable electronic device 100 is to be able to play spoken voice, music, or sound that may be used to help comfort an elderly wearer of the device, particularly a wearer who may be suffering from ADRD [0206] when the wearable electronic device 100 is embodied as a bandage, the various electronic modules, chips, systems and related components (such as those shown in FIG. 2F and that may include one or more of the previously-mentioned processor 173A, memory 173B, bus 173C, input/output 173D and machine code 173E that in one form is stored on memory 173B), as well as a presently-shown display 173F and speaker 173G, may be substantially encased in order to give the wearable electronic device 100 water-proof (or at least water-resistant) properties [0003] Alzheimer's Disease and Related Dementia (ADRD) – corresponds to a decline in mental ability severe enough to interfere with one's daily life [0004] One problem in caring for those suffering from ADRD is that they may become confused of their surroundings and tend to wander and get lost. If these individuals are not located in a timely manner, they are at risk of injury. To compound the problem, many of the individuals suffering from ADRD will not have the mental acuity to remember their name, place of residence or other identifying indicia even in the event that they do wander and encounter someone trying to assist them [0345] ADRD symptoms may also include psychological changes such as the previously-discussed agitation, as well as anxiety, depression, hallucinations, inappropriate behavior, paranoia and personality changes… causes of ADRD may include anoxia, brain tumors, high blood pressure, infections and immune disorders, lack of physical and social activity, metabolic problems and endocrine abnormalities, normal-pressure hydrocephalus, nutritional deficiencies, poisoning, reactions to medications, smoking, subdural hematomas, unhealthy dietary habits and vitamin D deficiencies [0159] wearable electronic device 100 is configured to be worn on the wrist of the patient such that it defines a band or related wristwatch-like form factor)
collect mental health data via the sensor in the wearable equipment (Sobol [0178] physiological sensors 121C used to collect physiological data may include those configured to acquire heart rate, breathing rate, glucose, blood pressure [0159] wearable electronic device 100 is configured to be worn on the wrist of the patient such that it defines a band or related wristwatch-like form factor)
automatically execute the actuator of the wearable equipment based on an output of the predictive model algorithm, wherein execution of the actuator provides at least one of: vibrations, soothing sounds, and heat to the selected party (Sobol [0169] In one form, the wearable electronic device 100 may be used in conjunction with a model (such as a machine learning model as discussed in more detail later) to compute predicted outcomes derived from the data being acquired [0205] The wearable electronic device 100 may also be equipped with notifiers configured to provide the patient with any alert generated by the logic device 173. These notifiers can be in the form of any technology that would catch the attention of the patient or caregiver to bring attention to the fact that he or she is aware that the processor 173A has received information that may correspond to a change in status of the patient, as well as other alerts, such as whether the patient could be in danger. Some exemplary notifiers include vibration (i.e., haptic) motors, LED lights and an audio speaker such a speaker 173G {motor construed as actuator}. Thus, in one form, the wearable electronic device 100 is to be able to play spoken voice, music, or sound that may be used to help comfort an elderly wearer of the device, particularly a wearer who may be suffering from ADRD)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of healthcare data processing, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lovejoy to incorporate a mental health equipment data store that contains electronic records associated with a plurality of mental health equipment identifiers, and, for each mental health equipment identifier, and associated equipment parameters; associate a selected equipment identifier in the mental health equipment data store with a selected party having a risk relationship with the enterprise, wherein the selected equipment identifier is associated with wearable equipment associated with at least one of a smartwatch and jewelry, the wearable equipment including a sensor adapted to detect at least one mental health parameter, and an actuator adapted to provide treatment; collect mental health data via the sensor in the wearable equipment; automatically execute the actuator of the wearable equipment based on an output of the predictive model algorithm, wherein execution of the actuator provides at least one of: vibrations, soothing sounds, and heat to the selected party, as taught by Sobol, in order to track patient interactions and better analyze the data to determine manifesting symptoms associated with the patient’s disease and help support and treat their symptoms. See Sobol [0005]-[0007], [0205].
Lovejoy-Sobol does not appear to teach the following, however, Lafever, teaches it is old and well known in the art of healthcare data processing to:
a communication address (Lafever [0230] The systems, methods and devices provide a dynamically changing environment in which related parties may want to share data at one moment but not at the next moment…. Additional, unnecessary information may be, for example, the true identity of the Data Subject or related party, mailing addresses, email addresses, previous online actions, or any other information not necessary for an unrelated party with respect to a specific action, activity, process or trait with respect to a Data Subject or related party)
update the risk relationship data store with the selected equipment identifier, (Lafever [0246] For example, without embodiment of the invention, static identifiers conventionally associated with a mobile device may enable mobile application providers and other third parties to aggregate information pertaining to use of the mobile device; and by aggregating the data on use of the mobile device, application providers and other third parties may obtain information which may include but not be limited to information related to the device user's frequent physical locations, calling habits, content preferences, and online transactions that they could not obtain through data from any one time interaction with the device user. [0261] he privacy server may then associate various attribute combinations back with particular Data Subjects, as well as update and store the attribute combinations in the aggregated data profile for the Data Subject in the secure database(s))
collect selected mental health data for the selected party in accordance with the communication address of the selected equipment identifier, (Lafever [0230] The systems, methods and devices provide a dynamically changing environment in which related parties may want to share data at one moment but not at the next moment…. Additional, unnecessary information may be, for example, the true identity of the Data Subject or related party, mailing addresses, email addresses, previous online actions, or any other information not necessary for an unrelated party with respect to a specific action, activity, process or trait with respect to a Data Subject or related party; [0246] For example, without embodiment of the invention, static identifiers conventionally associated with a mobile device may enable mobile application providers and other third parties to aggregate information pertaining to use of the mobile device; and by aggregating the data on use of the mobile device, application providers and other third parties may obtain information which may include but not be limited to information related to the device user's frequent physical locations, calling habits, content preferences, and online transactions that they could not obtain through data from any one time interaction with the device user).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of healthcare data processing, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lovejoy-Sobol, as modified above, to incorporate a communication address; update the risk relationship data store with the selected equipment identifier; arrange to collect selected mental health data for the selected party in accordance with the communication address of the selected equipment identifier, as taught by Lafever, in order to protect the patient’s privacy while improving human health through disease discoveries. See Lafever [04]-[05].
Regarding claim 2, Lovejoy-Sobol-Lafever teaches the system of claim 1, Lovejoy further teaches wherein the selected equipment identifier is based on at least one of: (i) a request from a party, (ii) a request from an entity associated with the party and an enterprise, and (iii) an analysis of mental health data. (Lovejoy col. 10 ln 67 – col. 11 ln 5 the claim processing server may provide a list of questions to the user. The set of questions generally relate to name, age, and demographic information such as gender, date of birth, and state of residence. The set of questions may further include health related information such as height, weight, and a general health status… The inputs provided by the user are stored by the processor of the claim processing server in the internal database.; col. 4 ln. 20-27 The system and method embodiments of the computer-based personnel management system are further configured to develop a return to work strategy for the user upon receiving the disability claim request from the user. The return to work strategy may involve activities such as determining the psychological state of the user, treating the user, monitoring the user, and helping the user to return to the workplace as quickly as possible).
Regarding claim 3, Lovejoy-Sobol-Lafever teaches the system of claim 1, Sobol further teaches wherein the selected equipment identifier is associated with at least one of: (i) a smartphone, (ii) a smartwatch, (iii) augmented reality glasses, (iv) a virtual reality display, (v) an application, and (vi) a web site. (Sobol [0060] According to a fourth aspect of the present disclosure, a method of monitoring an individual with a wearable electronic device is disclosed. The method includes configuring at least one of a network base station, a network server and an application server to receive at least one component or portion of LEAP data that corresponds to the individual and that has been transmitted by the wearable electronic device over a cellular-based LPWAN signal, performing at least one security operation upon the received data and transmitting the received data that has been subjected to the at least one security operation to at least one of the wearable electronic device and a remote computing device).
Regarding claim 5, Lovejoy-Sobol-Lafever teaches the system of claim 1, Sobol further teaches wherein the wearable equipment is associated with at least one of: (i) a bracelet, (ii) a ring, (iii) a vest, (iv) a headband, (v) a pillow, (vi) a mattress, (vii) a dongle, (viii) an identification credential, and (ix) a safety device. (Sobol [0159] wearable electronic device 100 is configured to be worn on the wrist of the patient such that it defines a band or related wristwatch-like form factor).
Regarding claim 6, Lovejoy-Sobol-Lafever teaches the system of claim 1, Lovejoy further teaches wherein the treatment workflow is associated with at least one of: (i) an application, (ii) a return-to-work strategy, (iii) a referral, and (iv) an employee assistance program. (Lovejoy col. 4 ln. 20-27 The system and method embodiments of the computer-based personnel management system are further configured to develop a return to work strategy for the user upon receiving the disability claim request from the user. The return to work strategy may involve activities such as determining the psychological state of the user, treating the user, monitoring the user, and helping the user to return to the workplace as quickly as possible).
Regarding claim 7, Lovejoy-Sobol-Lafever teaches the system of claim 1, Lovejoy further teaches wherein the enterprise comprises an insurance company and each party comprises an employee of a business. (Lovejoy col. 4 ln. 20-27 The system and method embodiments of the computer-based personnel management system are further configured to develop a return to work strategy for the user upon receiving the disability claim request from the user. The return to work strategy may involve activities such as determining the psychological state of the user, treating the user, monitoring the user, and helping the user to return to the workplace as quickly as possible).
Regarding claim 8, Lovejoy-Sobol-Lafever teaches the system of claim 7, Lovejoy further teaches wherein the risk relationship is associated with at least one of: (i) an insurance policy, (ii) workers’ compensation, (iii) long term disability, and (iv) short term disability. (Lovejoy col. 4 ln. 34-36 the insurance policy provider and the healthcare management provider may cooperate in developing and carrying out the return to work strategy.; col. 9 ln. 58-60 The customer data inputted by the user may include a request for disability insurance claims).
Regarding claim 9, Lovejoy-Sobol-Lafever teaches the system of claim 1, and Lafever further teaches wherein at least one communication address is associated with at least one of: (i) a telephone number, (ii) an email address, (iii) an Internet Protocol (“IP”) address, and (iv) Internet of Things (“IoT”) information. (Lafever [0230] The systems, methods and devices provide a dynamically changing environment in which related parties may want to share data at one moment but not at the next moment…. Additional, unnecessary information may be, for example, the true identity of the Data Subject or related party, mailing addresses, email addresses, previous online actions, or any other information not necessary for an unrelated party with respect to a specific action, activity, process or trait with respect to a Data Subject or related party).
Regarding claim 10, recites substantially similar limitations as those already addressed in the rejection of claim 1, and, as such, is rejected for similar reasons as given above.
Regarding claim 11, recites substantially similar limitations as those already addressed in the rejection of claim 2, and, as such, is rejected for similar reasons as given above.
Regarding claim 12, recites substantially similar limitations as those already addressed in the rejection of claim 3, and, as such, is rejected for similar reasons as given above.
Regarding claim 14, recites substantially similar limitations as those already addressed in the rejection of claim 5, and, as such, is rejected for similar reasons as given above.
Regarding claim 15, recites substantially similar limitations as those already addressed in the rejection of claim 6, and, as such, is rejected for similar reasons as given above.
Regarding claim 16, recites substantially similar limitations as those already addressed in the rejection of claim 1, and, as such, is rejected for similar reasons as given above.
Regarding claim 17, recites substantially similar limitations as those already addressed in the rejection of claim 3, and, as such, is rejected for similar reasons as given above.
Regarding claim 18, recites substantially similar limitations as those already addressed in the rejection of claim 7, and, as such, is rejected for similar reasons as given above.
Regarding claim 19, recites substantially similar limitations as those already addressed in the rejection of claim 8, and, as such, is rejected for similar reasons as given above.
Regarding claim 20, recites substantially similar limitations as those already addressed in the rejection of claim 9, and, as such, is rejected for similar reasons as given above.
Conclusion
/AMANDA R. COVINGTON/Examiner, Art Unit 3686
/RACHELLE L REICHERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3686