DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-17 are presented for examination.
This Office Action is in response to submission of documents on May 19, 2026.
Rejection of claims 1-17 under the doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting.
Interpretation of claims 1-17 under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as using functional language.
Rejection of claims 1-15 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
Rejection of claims 1-17 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to point out and clearly describe what the inventor regards as the invention.
Rejection of claims 1-17 under 35 U.S.C. 101 for being directed to unpatentable subject matter.
Rejection of claims 1-3, 14, and 16-17, and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Stoner in view of Pacheco.
Rejection of claims 4-5, 12-13, and 15 and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Stoner in view of Pacheco and Chandra.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 9/12/2024, 8/14/2025, 1/30/2026, 2/06/2026, 4/17/2026, and 5/19/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No.11,361,202. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
U.S. Pat App. No. 18/183,533 (the present application)
U.S. Pat. No. 11,361,202
1. A predictive analytics system comprising:
a plurality of datasets received from a corresponding plurality of data sources, wherein at least one of the plurality of stored datasets includes first sensor data derived from direct observation of activity within an environment, and
wherein the plurality of datasets is selected from the group consisting of agricultural, fishing, mining, lumber harvesting, environmental, and ecological datasets;
a data preparation module, including a processing device, configured to assign metadata to the datasets; and
at least one of the following:
(a) a predictive analytics module, including a processing device, configured to train first and second machine learning models using the datasets as a source of predictor variables based on the assigned metadata for each of the machine learning models, and to use historical information regarding a metric of economic activity as a target variable,
wherein the first and second machine learning models differ in at least one of machine learning model type and assigned metadata; and
(b) a hypothesis generating and testing system (HGTS) that trains the first and second machine learning models, selects the predictor variables for the machine learning models, and determines the leading indicator using the assigned metadata for the machine learning models;
the HGTS includes an analytics engine configured to perform one or more of the following:
assign first and second statistical metrics to the first and second machine learning models;
store the assigned metadata, the first machine learning model, and the predictor variables in a primary database in response to determining that the statistical metric assigned to the first machine learning model meets a predetermined level; and
store the assigned metadata, the second machine learning model, and the predictor variables in a second, probationary database in response to determining that the second machine learning model exhibits a statistical metric that does not meet a predetermined level; and
select between the first and second machine learning models based on their respective statistical metric.
1. A predictive analytics system comprising:
a plurality of datasets received from a corresponding plurality of data sources, wherein at least one of the plurality of datasets includes first sensor data derived from direct observation of activity within an environment;
[wherein the first sensor data includes imaging data documenting transportation activity in the environment, the transportation activity is selected from the group consisting of: (a) the type and activity of aircraft; (b) the type and activity of vehicles, (c) the type and activity of marine vessels, and (d) the type and activity of trains; and]
a data preparation module, including a processing device, configured to and assign metadata to the stored datasets;
at least one predictive analytics module, including a processing device, configured to train first and second machine learning models using the stored datasets as a source of predictor variables based on the assigned metadata for each of the machine learning models, and to use historical information regarding a metric of economic activity as a target variable; and
[wherein the metadata includes at least: data collection methods for the first sensor data; data preparation methods for the first sensor data; and at least one of accuracy, precision, or resolution of the first sensor data.]
a publishing module, including a processing device, configured to provide, to one or more subscribers, selected model information and output data including a leading indicator of the target variable based on the trained machine learning model and contemporaneous information received from at least one of the data sources;
a hypothesis generating and testing system (HGTS) that performs training the machine learning models, selecting the predictor variables for the machine learning models, and determining the leading indicator using the assigned metadata for the machine learning models;
the HGTS including an analytics engine configured, for each of the first and second machine learning models, to:
(a) compile and rank-order data correlations for the machine learning models based on statistical significance of the data correlations;
(b) store the assigned metadata, the first machine learning model, and the predictor variables in a primary database in response to determining that the first machine learning model exhibits a statistically significant data correlation;
(c) store the assigned metadata, the second machine learning model, and the predictor variables in a second, probationary database in response to determining that the second machine learning model exhibits a correlation that is not statistically significant but is above a minimum correlation value; and
(d) select between machine learning models based on their respective data correlations;
wherein the first and second machine learning models differ in at least one of: machine learning model type and assigned metadata;
wherein the first sensor data includes imaging data documenting transportation activity in the environment, the transportation activity is selected from the group consisting of: (a) the type and activity of aircraft; (b) the type and activity of vehicles, (c) the type and activity of marine vessels, and (d) the type and activity of trains; and
wherein the metadata includes at least: data collection methods for the first sensor data; data preparation methods for the first sensor data; and at least one of accuracy, precision, or resolution of the first sensor data.
Claims 2-15 of the present application claim features that are obvious in view of “wherein the first sensor data includes imaging data documenting transportation activity in the environment, the transportation activity is selected from the group consisting of: (a) the type and activity of aircraft; (b) the type and activity of vehicles, (c) the type and activity of marine vessels, and (d) the type and activity of trains,” as recited in claim 1 of the ‘202 Patent, and one or more of the features recited in claims 2-10 of the ‘202 Patent. Claims 16-17 of the present application claim features that are obvious in view of claims 2-11 of the ‘202 Patent.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a data preparation model…configured to assign” in claim 1.
“a predictive analytics model…configured to train” in claim 1.
“an analytics engine configured to perform” in claim 1 and 16.
“a publishing module configured to provide” of claim 2 and 17.
The terms “configured to” are equivalent to “means for” and include a nonce word (“configured”) that is modified by functional language (“to”). For each of these limitations, the terms “model,” “engine,” and “module” do not indicate a specific structure to perform the functions that each are configured to perform.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-17 are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as including functional language. The Specification is absent a structural description of “a data preparation model,” “a predictive analytics model,” “an analytics engine,” and a “publishing module.” Because “models,” “engines,” and “modules” do not have an inherent structure, claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing the written description requirement.
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitations “a data preparation model,” “a predictive analytics model,” “an analytics engine,” and a “publishing module” invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
There is insufficient antecedent basis for the following:
Claim 1 recites “the leading indicator.”
Claim 2 recites “a leading indicator.”
Claims 3-5 recite “agricultural attributes.”
Claim 4 and 7 recite “the observed behaviors.”
Claims 6-8 recite “fishing or aquacultural attributes.”
Claims 9-11 recite “mining, lumber harvesting, land development, road building or construction attributes.”
Claim 12 recites “the set of attributes.”
For the purposes of examination, these terms will be interpreted to mean the “datasets” that are recited in claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 recites “This data may include the visual appearance of individual machines, equipment, vessels or groups in the environment.” This inclusion of the additional sentence results in an improper claim form. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to judicial exceptions without significantly more. The claims recite mathematical calculations and mental processes. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements that are recited in the claims are extra-solution activities that do not integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because courts have found that the steps of retrieving and storing data are not significantly more than a judicial exception.
Claim 1
Step 1: The claim is directed to a process, falling under one of the four statutory categories of invention.
Step 2A, Prong 1: The claim 1 limitations include (bolded for abstract idea identification):
Claim 1
Mapping Under Step 2A Prong 1
1. A predictive analytics system comprising:
a plurality of datasets received from a corresponding plurality of data sources, wherein at least one of the plurality of stored datasets includes first sensor data derived from direct observation of activity within an environment, and
wherein the plurality of datasets is selected from the group consisting of agricultural, fishing, mining, lumber harvesting, environmental, and ecological datasets;
a data preparation module, including a processing device, configured to assign metadata to the datasets; and
at least one of the following:
(a) a predictive analytics module, including a processing device, configured to train first and second machine learning models using the datasets as a source of predictor variables based on the assigned metadata for each of the machine learning models, and to use historical information regarding a metric of economic activity as a target variable, wherein the first and second machine learning models differ in at least one of machine learning model type and assigned metadata; and
(b) a hypothesis generating and testing system (HGTS) that trains the first and second machine learning models,
selects the predictor variables for the machine learning models, and
determines the leading indicator using the assigned metadata for the machine learning models;
the HGTS includes an analytics engine configured to perform one or more of the following: assign first and second statistical metrics to the first and second machine learning models;
store the assigned metadata, the first machine learning model, and the predictor variables in a primary database in response to determining that the statistical metric assigned to the first machine learning model meets a predetermined level; and
store the assigned metadata, the second machine learning model, and the predictor variables in a second, probationary database in response to determining that the second machine learning model exhibits a statistical metric that does not meet a predetermined level; and
select between the first and second machine learning models based on their respective statistical metric.
Abstract Idea: Mental Process
Selecting a particular dataset from a plurality of datasets is a mental process that can be performed by a human by observing data from the datasets and evaluating the content of the datasets to select the plurality of datasets that match particular criteria. See e.g., MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), Subsection III.
Abstract Idea: Mental Process
Assigning data to a set is a mental process that can be performed by a human. For a given dataset, a human can choose what metadata to associate with the set and set appropriate indicators to create the association. See e.g., MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), Subsection III.
Abstract Idea: Mathematical Calculations
Training a machine learning model includes using mathematical calculations and algorithms to compute model parameters. See USPTO Guidelines, Example 47. Further, the Specification is silent as to any alternate manner in which the models are trained. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), Subsection I.
Abstract Idea: Mathematical Calculations
Training a machine learning model includes using mathematical calculations and algorithms to compute model parameters. See USPTO Guidelines, Example 47. Further, the Specification is silent as to any alternate manner in which the models are trained. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), Subsection I.
Abstract Idea: Mental Process
Selecting variables to utilize for a particular purpose is a mental process that can include observing the possible variables and through evaluation and judgment, select those variables that best fit the intended purpose. See e.g., MPEP 2106.04(a)(2).
Abstract Idea: Mental Process
Determining a leading indicator based on metadata is a mental process that can be performed by a human, such as by evaluating the data and identifying trends in the data that support a particular indicator as a leading indicator. See e.g., MPEP 2106.04(a)(2).
Abstract Idea: Mental Process
Assigning a metric to a model is a mental process that can be performed by a human by evaluating each model and, based on known statistical metrics, choose a metric based on judgment and opinion. See e.g., MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), Subsection III.
Abstract Idea: Mental Process
Selecting a machine learning model that has a metric that indicates that it is better suited for a task than another model is a mental process that can be performed by a human by evaluating the metrics and selecting the corresponding model with the better metric (e.g., more accurate model, faster model). See e.g., MPEP 2106.04(a)(2).
Step 2A, Prong 2: The claim 1 limitations recite (bolded for additional element identification):
Claim 1
Mapping Under Step 2A Prong 2
1. A predictive analytics system comprising:
a plurality of datasets received from a corresponding plurality of data sources, wherein at least one of the plurality of stored datasets includes first sensor data derived from direct observation of activity within an environment, and
wherein the plurality of datasets is selected from the group consisting of agricultural, fishing, mining, lumber harvesting, environmental, and ecological datasets;
a data preparation module, including a processing device, configured to assign metadata to the datasets; and
at least one of the following:
(a) a predictive analytics module, including a processing device, configured to train first and second machine learning models using the datasets as a source of predictor variables based on the assigned metadata for each of the machine learning models, and to use historical information regarding a metric of economic activity as a target variable, wherein the first and second machine learning models differ in at least one of machine learning model type and assigned metadata; and
(b) a hypothesis generating and testing system (HGTS) that trains the first and second machine learning models,
selects the predictor variables for the machine learning models, and
determines the leading indicator using the assigned metadata for the machine learning models;
the HGTS includes an analytics engine configured to perform one or more of the following: assign first and second statistical metrics to the first and second machine learning models;
store the assigned metadata, the first machine learning model, and the predictor variables in a primary database in response to determining that the statistical metric assigned to the first machine learning model meets a predetermined level; and
store the assigned metadata, the second machine learning model, and the predictor variables in a second, probationary database in response to determining that the second machine learning model exhibits a statistical metric that does not meet a predetermined level; and
select between the first and second machine learning models based on their respective statistical metric.
The system is specified as including one or more processors, which are generic computer components that do not integrate the recited judicial exceptions into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
The limitation is directed to the extra-solution activity of data gathering. The limitation does not impose meaningful limits on the claim and thus is minimally or tangentially related to the invention. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
Storing data (i.e., transmitting data) is an extra-solution activity that does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The limitation does not recite, with specificity, how the data is provided and therefore does not improve the functioning of a computer. See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II).
Storing data (i.e., transmitting data) is an extra-solution activity that does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The limitation does not recite, with specificity, how the data is provided and therefore does not improve the functioning of a computer. See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II).
Step 2B: Regarding Step 2B, the inquiry is whether any of the additional elements (i.e., the elements that are not the judicial exception) amount to significantly more than the recited judicial exception. Reciting generic computer components and receiving and storing data are limitations that courts have found do not amount to significantly more than the recited judicial exception. See Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank, 573 U.S. 208, 221, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1982-83 (2014), Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 70, 175 USPQ 673, 676 (1972), Ultramercial, Inc. v. Hulu, LLC, 772 F.3d 709, 112 USPQ2d 1750 (Fed. Cir. 2014); Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 119 USPQ2d 1739 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Intellectual Ventures I v. Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (using a telephone for image transmission); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network); Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1356, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1743-44 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Intellectual Ventures I v. Symantec, 838 F.3d 1307, 1327, 120 USPQ2d 1353, 1366 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Internet Patents Corp. v. Active Network, Inc., 790 F.3d 1343, 1348, 115 USPQ2d 1414, 1417 (Fed. Cir. 2015).
Accordingly, claim 1 is rejected for being directed to unpatentable subject matter.
Claim 2
Claim 2 recites a publishing module configured to provide, to one or more subscribers, selected model information and output data including a leading indicator of the target variable based on the selected machine learning model and contemporaneous information received from at least one of the data sources. Providing and outputting information is the extra-solution activity of data transmission, which is an additional element that does not integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application. Accordingly, claim 2 is rejected for being directed to unpatentable subject matter.
Claim 3
Claim 3 recites wherein the set of agricultural attributes includes at least one of: (1) farmland or ranchland data, (2) crop turning, planting, weeding, fertilizing, watering, maintenance, harvesting, transportation, processing data, (3) soil, crop, or environmental data that can be collected from a plurality of sensing devices from in the ground, at ground level, aerial or satellite image data, (3) analytics information that can be inferred to represent health or yield of crops, orchards, land, livestock, ranches or other harvestable goods, (4) connections or correlations to other datasets that have associated information about an identified plot of land, region, or collective of farms, orchards, or ranches, and the weather events, weather trends, adjacent events or development information that could impact crop or harvest quantity or quality, and (5) connections or correlations to other datasets that provide regulatory, compliance, permitting data. Collecting data is an extra-solution activity that does not integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application. Accordingly, claim 3 is rejected for being directed to unpatentable subject matter.
Claim 4
Claim 4 recites wherein the agricultural attributes include information associated with the observed behaviors, activity or movement within individuals farms or parcels of land and groups of farms or collective regions of land in the environment. The claim merely specifies a type of data and does not add any additional elements that would integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application. Accordingly, claim 4 is rejected for being directed to unpatentable subject matter.
Claim 5
Claim 5 recites wherein the agricultural attributes include at least one of: area of land monitored, type or breed of crop, method of crop planting, maintenance, harvesting, and type or kind of equipment used. The claim merely specifies a type of data and does not add any additional elements that would integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application. Accordingly, claim 5 is rejected for being directed to unpatentable subject matter.
Claim 6
Claim 6 recites wherein the set of fishing or aquaculture attributes includes (1) fresh water or sea water fishing, hatcheries, fish, shellfish, crustacean, or mammal farm area data, (2) harvesting, farming, maintenance, harvesting, transportation, processing data, (3) fresh or sea water or environmental data that can be collected from a plurality of sensing devices from in the water, at water level from the water body or adjacent land area, aerial or satellite image data, (3) analytics information that can be inferred to represent health of the environment or health of the animals, yield of fish farming, netting, trapping activity, (4) connections or correlations to other datasets that have associated information about an identified area of water, region, or collective of fish farms, harvesting or netting areas, and the weather events, weather trends, adjacent events or development information that could impact fish harvest quantity or quality, and (5) connections or correlations to other datasets that provide regulatory, compliance or permitting data. Collecting data is an extra-solution activity that does not integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application. Accordingly, claim 6 is rejected for being directed to unpatentable subject matter.
Claim 7
Claim 7 recites wherein the fishing or aquacultural attributes includes information associated with the observed behaviors, activity or movement within individuals farms or vessels or areas within a body of water and groups of areas, groups of farms or collective regions of water in the environment. The claim includes an additional judicial exception of a mental process. Obeserving behaviors, activity, and/or movement is a mental process that can be performed by a human by, for example, traveling to a location and observing what is taking place. Accordingly, claim 7 is rejected for being directed to unpatentable subject matter.
Claim 8
Claim 8 recites wherein the fishing or aquacultural attributes includes at least one of: area of water monitored, type or breed of fish, shellfish, crustacean, or mammal; farming, maintenance, harvesting, methods; and type, kind, model, origin of the fishing vessel, boat, troller, or other harvesting and processing equipment used. The claim merely specifies a type of data and does not add any additional elements that would integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application. According, claim 8 is rejected for being directed to unpatentable subject matter.
Claim 9
Claim 9 recites wherein the set of mining, lumber harvesting, land development, road building or construction attributes includes (1) open surface or underground or under ocean mining area data, (2) earth moving, leveling, maintenance, redirecting of water bodies, forested areas, rezoning, transportation, construction or material processing data, (3) forest, marshland, prairie, fresh or sea water or other environmental data that can be collected from a plurality of sensing devices from in the water, at water level from the water body or adjacent land area, at soil or land level, aerial or satellite image data, (4) analytics information that can be inferred to represent health of the environment or health of the forest in the lumber harvesting area, health of the land in or adjacent to the activity, (5) connections or correlations to other datasets that have associated information about an identified area of water, land, region, or collective of forests, mines, development areas, and the weather events, weather trends, forest fires, adjacent events or development information that could impact mining, lumber harvest, development quantity or quality, and (6) connections or correlations to other datasets that provide regulatory, compliance or permitting data. The claim merely specifies a type of data and does not add any additional elements that would integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application. Accordingly, claim 9 is rejected for being directed to unpatentable subject matter.
Claim 10
Claim 10 recites wherein the mining, lumber harvesting, construction or land development attributes includes information associated with the observed behaviors, activity or movement within individual people, machines, businesses, or vessels or areas within an area or groups of areas, groups of mines, forests. developments or collective regions in the environment. The claim merely specifies a type of data and does not add any additional elements that would integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application. Accordingly, claim 10 is rejected for being directed to unpatentable subject matter.
Claim 11
Claim 11 recites wherein the mining or lumber harvesting includes at least one of: area monitored, type or lumber, plant matter, soil, earth, material being harvested or mined; mining, maintenance, harvesting methods; and type, kind, model. origin of the harvesting, mining, transportation and processing equipment used. This data may include the visual appearance of individual machines, equipment, vessels or groups in the environment. The claim merely specifies a type of data and does not add any additional elements that would integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application. Accordingly, claim 11 is rejected for being directed to unpatentable subject matter.
Claim 12
Claim 12 recites wherein the set of attributes is correlated to location services associated with the individuals, machines, vessels engaging in transportation, harvesting, mining, farming, fishing, earth-moving or any other activity in the environment which may also include identifying characteristics of the individuals, machines, equipment, vessels. The claim merely specifies a type of data and does not add any additional elements that would integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application. Accordingly, claim 12 is rejected for being directed to unpatentable subject matter.
Claim 13
Claim 13 recites wherein the datasets include a temporal sequence of images selected from the group consisting of aerial images of fishing, mining, harvesting, development areas, construction areas, ecological regions, wherein the ecological regions comprise forests, prairies, marshes, water sources, tributaries, rivers, water bodies, and irrigation systems. The claim merely specifies a type of data and does not add any additional elements that would integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application. Accordingly, claim 13 is rejected for being directed to unpatentable subject matter.
Claim 14
Claim 14 recites wherein the statistical metric is based on compiling and rank-ordering data correlations for the first and second machine learning models and determining statistical significance of the data correlations. Compiling and ranking data correlations is a mental process that includes evaluation of the correlations and grouping of the correlations according to judgments and opinion of the human. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), Subsection III. Accordingly, claim 14 is rejected for being directed to unpatentable subject matter.
Claim 15
Claim 15 recites wherein the models are used to track historical information of individual or collective farms, fishing regions, lumber harvesting regions, areas of mining, development or construction activity, water bodies, tributaries, water sources or any other region of interest in a plurality of environments and to predict at least one of the reactions, behaviors, and business, environmental or ecological outcomes of a set or subset of the activities. Tracking historical information is a mental process that can be performed by a human through observation and evaluation. Accordingly, claim 15 is rejected for being directed to unpatentable subject matter.
Claim 16
Claim 16 recites a method that is substantially the same as the system of claim 1. Accordingly, for at least the same reasons as claim 1, claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 for being directed to unpatentable subject matter.
Claim 17
Claim 17 recites substantially the same imitations as claim 2. Accordingly, for at least the same reasons as claims 2, claims 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 for being directed to unpatentable subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 14, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Stoner, et al., (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0066217) in view of Pacheco, et al., (“A methodological framework using statistical tests for comparing machine learning based models applied to fault diagnosis in rotating machinery”).
Claim 1
Stoner discloses:
A predictive analytics system comprising:
Climate data analytics module 114 may be configured to predict the performance of one or more companies based on a predicted environmental state. Stoner at [0039].
a plurality of datasets received from a corresponding plurality of data sources,
One or more environmental data sources 108 may be representative of one or more computer systems hosting environmental data. Such environmental data sources 108 may include, but are not limited to governmental and international organizations and their databases such as the United States Energy Information Administration (US EIA), the International Monetary Fund's World Economic Outlook (IMF WEO), the US Department of Energy (DOE), the United Nations (UN), the International Energy Agency (IEA), and the National Air and Space Administration's Goddard Institute for Space Studies (NASA GISS). Stoner at [0042].
wherein at least one of the plurality of stored datasets includes first sensor data derived from direct observation of activity within an environment, and wherein the plurality of datasets is selected from the group consisting of agricultural, fishing, mining, lumber harvesting, environmental, and ecological datasets;
Climate data integrator 116 may be configured to receive climate related data from one or more environmental data sources 108. As illustrated, organization computing system 104 may be in communication with one or more environmental data sources 108. Stoner at [0041].
“Climate related data” is analogous to “ecological data sets.”
Climate data integrator 116 may retrieve from one or more environmental data sources 108 climate or environmental data such as atmospheric carbon dioxide levels, global surface temperatures, gross domestic product (GDP), population, energy intensity of GDP, carbon intensity of energy, carbon dioxide emissions from energy, measures of the effect of technological progress on energy, measures of the effect of energy price on energy intensity, cost by electrical source, electrical generation by energy source, and fraction of revenue put into process research and development by energy source. Stoner at [0043].
One or more of the listed environmental data originates from direct measurement (i.e., with some type of sensor).
a data preparation module, including a processing device, configured to assign metadata to the datasets; and at least one of the following1:
Climate module 130 may be configured to receive climate data from climate data integrator 116. In some embodiments, climate module 130 may simulate the future price, supply, and demand for energy sources using data received from climate data integrator 116. Stoner at [0051].
(a) a predictive analytics module, including a processing device, configured to train first and second machine learning models using the datasets as a source of predictor variables based on the assigned metadata for each of the machine learning models, and to use historical information regarding a metric of economic activity as a target variable, wherein the first and second machine learning models differ in at least one of machine learning model type and assigned metadata; and
In one embodiment, the system may focus on impacts of climate change on equity portfolios using machine learning and artificial intelligence to model climate change related risks. The system may assist in determining changes in future energy subsector investments all the while considering capital expenditures, cost of infrastructure investments, and carbon emissions. Stoner at [0010].
The disclosed method can be utilized to train more than one machine learning model (i.e., the “first and second machine learning models”) and utilize different metadata (i.e., “differ in…assigned metadata”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the claimed invention, to utilize the process of focus the machine learning models (i.e., train a first machine learning model using one or more of the disclosed potential types of metadata and a second machine learning model using one or more different disclosed potential types of metadata) because the training is essential the same process except for the training data used in the training process. Motivation to use the same process includes ensuring that the machine learning models have comparable training methods, thus ensuring that selection between the two machine learning models is not skewed by different training methods.
(b) a hypothesis generating and testing system (HGTS) that trains the first and second machine learning models, selects the predictor variables for the machine learning models, and determines the leading indicator using the assigned metadata for the machine learning models;
In one embodiment, the system may focus on impacts of climate change on equity portfolios using machine learning and artificial intelligence to model climate change related risks. The system may assist in determining changes in future energy subsector investments all the while considering capital expenditures, cost of infrastructure investments, and carbon emissions. Stoner at [0010].
The disclosed method can be utilized to train more than one machine learning model (i.e., the “first and second machine learning models”) and utilize different metadata (i.e., “differ in…assigned metadata”).
“Assisting in determining changes” is analogous to selecting output of the machine leaning model (i.e., training to “consider capital expenditures”) to determine the selected output.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the claimed invention, to utilize the process of focus the machine learning models (i.e., train a first machine learning model using one or more of the disclosed potential types of metadata and a second machine learning model using one or more different disclosed potential types of metadata) because the training is essential the same process except for the training data used in the training process. Motivation to use the same process includes ensuring that the machine learning models have comparable training methods, thus ensuring that selection between the two machine learning models is not skewed by different training methods.
Stoner does not appear to disclose:
the HGTS includes an analytics engine configured to perform one or more of the following:
assign first and second statistical metrics to the first and second machine learning models;
store the assigned metadata, the first machine learning model, and the predictor variables in a primary database in response to determining that the statistical metric assigned to the first machine learning model meets a predetermined level; and
store the assigned metadata, the second machine learning model, and the predictor variables in a second, probationary database in response to determining that the second machine learning model exhibits a statistical metric that does not meet a predetermined level; and
select between the first and second machine learning models based on their respective statistical metric.
Pacheco, which is analogous art to the claimed invention, discloses:
the HGTS includes an analytics engine configured to perform one or more of the following: assign first and second statistical metrics to the first and second machine learning models;
we present a methodological procedure as a generalization of the proposal presented in [11] to perform statistics based multi-comparisons between machine learning models. In an attempt to bring a systematic framework for statistic comparisons to a wider audience of practitioners, this paper aims at contributing with: (i) A set of activities depicted by well specified UML diagrams, to outline the systematic integrated framework emphasizing the paths to use the parametric and non-parametric statistic tests, (ii) The analysis of the effect of feature selection algorithms on different classifiers (models)… Pacheco at pg. 1, col. 2.
Comparisons between machine learning models includes assigning metrics to each model.
store the assigned metadata, the first machine learning model, and the predictor variables in a primary database in response to determining that the statistical metric assigned to the first machine learning model meets a predetermined level; and
A proposed ranking process to get the best model when a multiple comparison is performed. Pacheco at pg. 2, col. 1.
Getting the best models is analogous to storing the model with the highest statistical metric.
store the assigned metadata, the second machine learning model, and the predictor variables in a second, probationary database in response to determining that the second machine learning model exhibits a statistical metric that does not meet a predetermined level; and
Friedman test is used to evaluate the feature selection results with 30 independent runs. The p-values are reported in Table II, from this table we notice that the hypothesis of equality is rejected for all the data reduction methods, with a p-value lower than pF=0.05. In consequence, a post-hot procedure must be applied to detect the feature selection methods that present statistical differences for each model. Pacheco at pg. 5, col. 1.
A p-value of lower than pF=.05 is analogous to storing the statistical model with the lower statistical measure apart from the model with the highest statistical measure.
select between the first and second machine learning models based on their respective statistical metric.
Pid goes through a pairwise comparison allowing the winner method in the pair(s) to be detected. A ranking process is executed based on the number of times that a method Mj is selected as the winner; the method that get the highest score is considered as the best MiBest, which in turn is associated to a set of observation OiBest for the model by using the algorithm Ai. Pacheco at pg. 3, col. 2.
Pacheco is analogous art to the claimed invention because both are related to finding a model with a statistical metric that satisfies a threshold of efficacy (i.e., accuracy). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to combine the statistical comparison of Pacheco with the leading indicator determination of Stoner to result in a system that can identify a statistical model that is best suited for the determination. Motivation to combine includes improved accuracy of the ultimately selected model by testing other models and selecting the most appropriate model for the determination of the leading indicator.
Claim 2
Stoner discloses:
a publishing module configured to provide, to one or more subscribers, selected model information and output data including a leading indicator of the target variable based on the selected machine learning model and contemporaneous information received from at least one of the data sources.
Accordingly, GUI 1300 provides an integrated interface that allows users to filter stock information based on climate risk scores and ranking, as well as more traditional financial variables. Stoner at [0144].
Claim 3
Stoner discloses:
wherein the set of agricultural attributes includes at least one of: (1) farmland or ranchland data, (2) crop turning, planting, weeding, fertilizing, watering, maintenance, harvesting, transportation, processing data, (3) soil, crop, or environmental data that can be collected from a plurality of sensing devices from in the ground, at ground level, aerial or satellite image data, (3) analytics information that can be inferred to represent health or yield of crops, orchards, land, livestock, ranches or other harvestable goods, (4) connections or correlations to other datasets that have associated information about an identified plot of land, region, or collective of farms, orchards, or ranches, and the weather events, weather trends, adjacent events or development information that could impact crop or harvest quantity or quality, and (5) connections or correlations to other datasets that provide regulatory, compliance, permitting data.
One or more environmental data sources 108 may be representative of one or more computer systems hosting environmental data. Such environmental data sources 108 may include, but are not limited to governmental and international organizations and their databases such as the United States Energy Information Administration (US EIA), the International Monetary Fund's World Economic Outlook (IMF WEO), the US Department of Energy (DOE), the United Nations (UN), the International Energy Agency (IEA), and the National Air and Space Administration's Goddard Institute for Space Studies (NASA GISS). Stoner at [0042].
Claim 14
Pacheco discloses:
wherein the statistical metric is based on compiling and rank-ordering data correlations for the first and second machine learning models and determining statistical significance of the data correlations.
A ranking process is executed based on the number of times that a method Mj is selected as the winner; the method that get the highest score is considered as the best MiBest, which in turn is associated to a set of observation OiBest for the model by using the algorithm Ai. Pacheco at pg. 3, col. 1.
Claims 16 and 17
Claims 16 and 17 disclose a method that is substantially the same as the method performed by the system disclosed in claim 1. Accordingly, for at least the same reasons and based on the same prior art as claims 1 and 2, claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Stoner in view of Pacheco.
Claims 4-5, 12-13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. as being obvious over Stoner in view of Pacheco and Chandra, et al., (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2019/0331832).
Claim 4
Stoner and Pacheco do not appear to disclose:
wherein the agricultural attributes include information associated with the observed behaviors, activity or movement within individuals farms or parcels of land and groups of farms or collective regions of land in the environment.
Chandra discloses:
wherein the agricultural attributes include information associated with the observed behaviors, activity or movement within individuals farms or parcels of land and groups of farms or collective regions of land in the environment.
The farmer may also use an AV to perform overflies of the area to create videos which are sent to the gateway. The gateway may compress the video and sensor data into summarized precision maps of the farm. Chandra at [0113].
Chandra is analogous art to the claimed invention because both are related to using datasets related to human activities in environmental settings and analyzing the datasets. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to combine Chandra with Stoner and Pacheco to result in a system that utilizes data captured by sensors in the environment and performs the leading indicator analysis disclosed in Stoner to result in a system that utilizes the sensor data to train one or more machine learning models. Motivation to combine includes better versatility of the analysis by identifying multiple types of activities and objects in an environment, thus resulting in better and more accurate leading and predictive indicators.
Claim 5
Stoner and Pacheco do not appear to disclose:
wherein the agricultural attributes include at least one of: area of land monitored, type or breed of crop, method of crop planting, maintenance, harvesting, and type or kind of equipment used.
Chandra discloses:
wherein the agricultural attributes include at least one of: area of land monitored, type or breed of crop, method of crop planting, maintenance, harvesting, and type or kind of equipment used.
Embodiments herein may use deep learning to predict these physical characteristics using less expensive sensors in a geographical region. Some embodiments may forecast future values for some physical characteristics. These future values may give a farmer insight into what is currently happening on the farm, but also what to expect in the future. The farmer may then use this data to inform actions to be taken on the farm, such as watering, planting, harvesting, fertilizing, spraying, or the like. Chandra at [0027].
Claim 12
Stoner and Pacheco do not appear to disclose:
wherein the set of attributes is correlated to location services associated with the individuals, machines, vessels engaging in transportation, harvesting, mining, farming, fishing, earth-moving or any other activity in the environment which may also include identifying characteristics of the individuals, machines, equipment, vessels.
Chandra discloses:
wherein the set of attributes is correlated to location services associated with the individuals, machines, vessels engaging in transportation, harvesting, mining, farming, fishing, earth-moving or any other activity in the environment which may also include identifying characteristics of the individuals, machines, equipment, vessels.
The aerial vehicle 502 includes an imaging device 520 that captures one or more images of the geographic area 400. The aerial vehicle 502 may include an autonomous or manned aerial vehicle. The aerial vehicle 502 may include a drone, airplane, balloon, satellite, power glider, or the like. In some embodiments, the aerial vehicle 502 is not needed. Instead of using the aerial vehicle 502 to produce an image, an image may be produced by a user on the ground or another structure, such as a tower or building. The location on the ground, tower, or building may provide a vantage point at which the geographic area 400 may be within a field of view of the camera 522. Chandra at [0071].
Claim 13
Stoner and Pacheco do not appear to disclose:
wherein the datasets include a temporal sequence of images selected from the group consisting of aerial images of fishing, mining, harvesting, development areas, construction areas, ecological regions, wherein the ecological regions comprise forests, prairies, marshes, water sources, tributaries, rivers, water bodies, and irrigation systems.
Chandra discloses:
wherein the datasets include a temporal sequence of images selected from the group consisting of aerial images of fishing, mining, harvesting, development areas, construction areas, ecological regions, wherein the ecological regions comprise forests, prairies, marshes, water sources, tributaries, rivers, water bodies, and irrigation systems.
Other current area mapping and analysis applications may rely on the use of videos taken from aerial vehicles (AVs) such as drones (i.e., unmanned aerial vehicles (UAVs)) or helicopters performing a flyover of an area to provide video data for a detailed map. However, a video taken from an AV may not provide actual ground data. For example, in agricultural applications videos taken from AVs do not have detailed information about actual soil health, such as moisture content, temperature, or acidity level. In these applications that use an AV, a dense deployment of sensors would be needed to provide actual accurate ground data about the area. Chandra at [0108].
Claim 15
Stoner and Pacheco do not appear to disclose:
wherein the models are used to track historical information of individual or collective farms, fishing regions, lumber harvesting regions, areas of mining, development or construction activity, water bodies, tributaries, water sources or any other region of interest in a plurality of environments and to predict at least one of the reactions, behaviors, and business, environmental or ecological outcomes of a set or subset of the activities.
Chandra discloses:
wherein the models are used to track historical information of individual or collective farms, fishing regions, lumber harvesting regions, areas of mining, development or construction activity, water bodies, tributaries, water sources or any other region of interest in a plurality of environments and to predict at least one of the reactions, behaviors, and business, environmental or ecological outcomes of a set or subset of the activities.
The feature 202A corresponds to air temperature (A.T.), feature 202B corresponds to relative humidity (R.H.), feature 202C corresponds to dewpoint (D.P.), feature 202D corresponds to soil moisture (S.M.), feature 202E corresponds to soil temperature (S.T.), feature 202F corresponds to wind average (W.A.), feature 202G corresponds to wind gust (W.G.), feature 220H corresponds to rainfall (R.F.), feature 202I corresponds to predicted weather (P.W.), and feature 202J corresponds to leaf wetness (L.W.). All, or just a subset, of the features 202A-202J may be used by the NN 108 to produce the physical characteristics 116. For example, in determining a current or past solar radiation (S.R.), leaf wetness, or evapotranspiration (E.T.), the features 202A-202I may be used. In another example, in determining a future L.W., S.M., or S.T. all, or a subset, of the features 202A-202G and 202J may be used as input. Chandra at [0054].
The NN 108, as previously discussed, may include one or more NN layers. The NN 108 may include one or more encode layers. The NN 108 may include one or more classification layers. The NN 108 may be trained based on historical A.T., R.H., D.P., S.M., S.T., W.A., W.G., R.F., or the like, data for which there is known S.R., L.E., or E.T. data. For training the NN 108 to predict future values, historical data with known future S.M., S.T., or L.W. data. Chandra at [0055].
Examiner’s Note
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101, under the doctrine of double patenting, and under 35 U.S.C. 103. However, claims 6, 9, and 15 are recited as requiring all of the enumerated sources and types of data that are included in the claim. For example, in order for claim 6 to be rendered obvious by one or more references, the references must disclose all of “(1) fresh water or sea water fishing, hatcheries, fish, shellfish, crustacean, or mammal farm area data, (2) harvesting, farming, maintenance, harvesting, transportation, processing data, (3) fresh or sea water or environmental data that can be collected from a plurality of sensing devices from in the water, at water level from the water body or adjacent land area, aerial or satellite image data, (3) analytics information that can be inferred to represent health of the environment or health of the animals, yield of fish farming, netting, trapping activity, (4) connections or correlations to other datasets that have associated information about an identified area of water, region, or collective of fish farms, harvesting or netting areas, and the weather events, weather trends, adjacent events or development information that could impact fish harvest quantity or quality, and (5) connections or correlations to other datasets that provide regulatory, compliance or permitting data.” Claim 9 includes similar language. Thus, if claims 6 and/or 9 were incorporated into claims 1 and 16, all pending claims would be allowable under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Conclusion
JOSEPH MORRIS
Examiner
Art Unit 2188
/JOSEPH P MORRIS/Examiner, Art Unit 2188
/RYAN F PITARO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2188
1 As recited, one of the “predictive analytics module” and the “HGTS” is optional. Accordingly, the steps recited as being performed by the “HGTS” are also optional. Accordingly, the step of “assign…,” the steps of “store…,” and the “select” step, all of which are interpreted as being performed by the “HGTS,” are optional steps. Therefore, the claim may be rendered obvious or anticipated by one or more prior art references even if the HGTS and its functionality are not taught by the reference(s).